Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XVI- 21,983 in ROI (1,339 deaths) 3,881 in NI (404 deaths)(05/05)Read OP

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 263 ✭✭PatrickSmithUS

Could everyone who voted for relaxing the 2km travel restricion as their priority please go back and change it to reopen the creches?

Thanks for that,

Yours a disgruntled dad of two under three years old who is working at home with his wife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 548 ✭✭✭ek motor

speckle wrote: »
    thats crazy about the test. offeringr a few quick suggestions which you may have thought about already.
    A. ring lab back and report the situation.
    (then in no particular order.)
    1. time to contact media.
    2. time to make your t.d. work.
    3. ring the garda and use covid legislation to your advantage.
    4. ring your solictor.
    5. ring hiqa etc.

hope one of these might help your situation. If you need help finding numbers/ emails for the above, let me know and i will try.
    cant believe they said shes over the worst of it like its just a common cold. aaargh.

Solid advice. Sorry to hear about that about your relatives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭Gynoid

ek motor wrote: »
    It has been cited here as well

Originally posted by spookwoman:

https://academic.oup.com/jid/article/191/4/499/937208

Yes I saw that. Thanks. It does associate some coronaviruses with Kawasaki, in the case of the articles SARS. It is a 2005 publication. Just wondering if there are other reports of this inflammatory condition in children associated with Covid 19.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

It is very important for people to get confirmation that a loved one has tested positive, however, the fact of a positive test should not materially impact treatment in any way as suspect cases should be treated as positive until confirmed otherwise.
    If in the situation mentioned the nursing home passed information that the patient is improving is that not positive. Its not a cold or flu, but even still, the vast majority of patients of all ages will recover.

Ringing the guards or hiqa or whoever because of a delay in receiving tests results is an overreaction of the highest degree when these resources are under strain as it is.
    firstly, we dont know if the patient did receive a test. Are the nursing home telling the truth. The had no test number why not.?
    Is the client receiving the best care if they are thinking, sure its grand shes over the worse of it. remember what happened to boris johnson. And we do know that some people feel better then rapidly go downhill. Also in older people the symptoms can be different to regular viral symptoms or even be a silent killer. Are the patients lungs heart etc going to be checked out for lasting damage. Did they get to even see a doctor at all. Not good enough in some nursing homes.
    And by the way I did say ring the lab first. And in no particular order the rest of the list.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Xertz wrote: »
    There are plenty of devices which will be approved to all of the above and comply or exceed them. You’ll get effectively the same devices meeting multiple standards for use in big markets. The US and EN standards tend to dominate globally anyway, so most others will just be a local adaptation, or direct copy of one or the other.

All I’m saying is that the standards applicable in Europe are normally European standards.

The US even started to accept Chinese KN95 as there was a shortage of N95 masks.

There’s no need to turn this into some political EU thing. “Needs must” in a crisis and things will be used that are available.

The EU even dropped the requirement to certify certain short supply medical equipment as per usual rules a few weeks ago - so US, Chinese and other devices can be placed on the market if that’s all that’s what’s available.

https://www.mhc.ie/latest/insights/covid-19-eu-relaxes-rules-to-allow-critical-medical-devices-to-be-placed-on-the-market

The downside of it is very much as per your user name, buyer beware! Especially with equipment from unknown and unfamiliar sources.

No worries, I get what you are saying regarding standards. I've been harping on about use of REUSABLE Respirators.

3M the company who makes some of the best masks etc prepared a doc to explain the benefits of this approach. We should heed the advice. TLDR: 1 mask can be used per one worker per wave of pandemic. Significant cost savings etc. Increased protection. Less demand generated. Filters don't need to be changed. It really is a no brainer.

This issue isn't going away. We are not solving the problem. Someone really needs to look at it. Again no other country is doing this with exception of few hospitals in Italy AFAIK.

http://www.3m.co.uk/intl/uk/ohes/segments/healthcare/(9666a)OH_ReusableTechBulletin_lft.pdf
    Reduced Product Costs

As 3M half masks are reusable, one mask can be issued per worker per pandemic wave. 3MTM 6035 P3R filters are also reusable, and one pair is considered to have enough capacity to last a pandemic wave. When compared with disposable respirators which are discarded after every shift, or between patients, total product purchase costs for reusable respirators are likely to be considerably lower.

Reduced Storage Costs

Linked to the above, the storage volumes and costs required are often substantially reduced by choosing a reusable respirator option.

Reduced Fit Testing Resource

The Department of Health guidance states that “every user should be fit tested and trained in the use of the respirator.” The 3MTM 7500 Series Reusable Half Mask is supplied in three sizes and features a pliable, silicone face seal, meaning that a successful fit test result is much more likely to be achieved first time across the vast majority of face shapes and sizes. This eliminates the extra time and resource involved in retesting a wearer to an alternative respirator shape, as can happen when issuing disposable respirators.

http://www.3m.co.uk/intl/uk/ohes/segments/healthcare/(9666a)OH_ReusableTechBulletin_lft.pdf

Gynoid wrote: »
    Yes I saw that. Thanks. It does associate some coronaviruses with Kawasaki, in the case of the articles SARS. It is a 2005 publication. Just wondering if there are other reports of this inflammatory condition in children associated with Covid 19.

This article deals specifically with the inflammatory response caused by Covid-19 in children. I have not read it.

https://www.nature.com/articles/s41390-020-0881-y

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,121 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Could everyone who voted for relaxing the 2km travel restricion as their priority please go back and change it to reopen the creches?

Thanks for that,

Yours a disgruntled dad of two under three years old who is working at home with his wife.

:) People are really fed up looking after their mothers' grandchildren at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

An interesting read from NYTimes on the benefits and issues with current antibody testing.

https://www.nytimes.com/2020/04/26/health/can-antibody-tests-help-end-the-coronavirus-pandemic.html

speckle wrote: »
    firstly, we dont know if the patient did receive a test. Are the nursing home telling the truth. The had no test number why not.?
    Is the client receiving the best care if the thing sure its grand shes over the worse of it. remember what happened to boris johnson. And we do know that some people feel better than rapidly go downhill. Also in older people the symptoms can be different to regular viral symptoms or even be a silent killer. Are the patients lungs heart etc going to be checked out for lasting damage. Did they gey to even see a doctor at all. Not good enough in some nursing homes.

If the nursing home are lying about patients getting a test, the management should be dismissed immediately and HIQA / HSE should take over the running. However we do not know that. A care provider should be treating the condition and not changing treatment based on Covid-19.From reading the thread this patient is about 80, therefore any respiratory infection could have potentially fatal impact. Close monitoring of the patients condition should proceed irrespective of whether they have Covid-19 or not, as with very old people there is always the possibility to deteriorate rapidly when dealing with infection. In addition, most reputable care homes should be treating all suspect cases as Covid-19 until confirmed otherwise, in which case the is no reason anyone's care should suffer just because a test result has not come back.

It is understandable that frustration would build within families of those in this situation, however its the standard of care we should be holding the homes to account for, not the fact of a test been confirmed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

If the nursing home are lying about patients getting a test, the management should be dismissed immediately and HIQA / HSE should take over the running. However we do not know that. A care provider should be treating the condition and not changing treatment based on Covid-19.From reading the thread this patient is about 80, therefore any respiratory infection could have potentially fatal impact. Close monitoring of the patients condition should proceed irrespective of whether they have Covid-19 or not, as with very old people there is always the possibility to deteriorate rapidly when dealing with infection. In addition, most reputable care homes should be treating all suspect cases as Covid-19 until confirmed otherwise, in which case the is no reason anyone's care should suffer just because a test result has not come back.

It is understandable that frustration would build within families of those in this situation, however its the standard of care we should be holding the homes to account for, not the fact of a test been confirmed.
    I think there is a degree of acceptance, almost automatic in some quarters, that what nursing homes say is gospel. There is a whole range of human suffering and emotion in there and a need to blame somebody for how it seems to have transpired. The HSE/government become the easy target there and they may well not come of it too well in post-crisis review but they are only a part of the story. As always the truth is in there somewhere and any review needs to look at everything, including systemic issues within that sector.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Deaths are being massively underreported worldwide. No need to be a statistician to see the difference yoy.

In all the countries analysed except Denmark, excess deaths far outnumbered the official coronavirus death tolls. The accuracy of official death statistics from the virus is limited by how effectively a country is testing people to confirm cases. Some countries, including China, have retrospectively revised up their death tolls from the disease.
    https://www.ft.com/content/6bd88b7d-3386-4543-b2e9-0d5c6fac846c

511028.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,393 ✭✭✭ZX7R

rm212 wrote: »
    SO told me about this news today (I’ve put it through translate so people can read), makes you worried about lifting measures...

One person infected 22 people out of a group of 26 contacts traced after kindergartens reopened.

https://translate.googleusercontent.com/translate_c?depth=1&nv=1&pto=aue&rurl=translate.google.com&sl=auto&sp=nmt4&tl=en&u=https://www.nrk.no/rogaland/flere-barn-smittet-av-koronavirus-i-karmoy-1.14996082&usg=ALkJrhgnWwUe7AGuq0RJoP88QMFNopYzWQ

I'm not saying that the article is false,
    But the same journalist had an article about a week ago nearly word for word the same that a creche in South Korea was infected the exact same way , same numbers of children ECT

Gynoid wrote: »

stayed up most of night trying to check this just in.
    https://www.hsj.co.uk/acute-care/exclusive-national-alert-as-coronavirus-related-condition-may-be-emerging-in-children/7027496.article

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

So Italy is allowing bars and restaurants to fully open in June. It will be interesting to see what type of distancing measures they apply if any.

Italian bars are very different to Irish pubs though. Predominantly table service, without the throngs of people queuing at the bar

Agreed. We have had relations in nursing homes and hospices were the care and communication has been brillant but as a nation we have to remember that all are not so. What we have seen on prime time etc before will not stop just because we are in the midst of a pandemic even when most staff are trying their best. Individually and as a nation we have a duty of care to our most vunerable and the weight should not be for the families to bear alone to.
    The cmo has already been asked re problems with communication around tests results and treatment regarding some nursing homes.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

Italian bars are very different to Irish pubs though. Predominantly table service, without the throngs of people queuing at the bar

True, and I think Irish pubs, if opened, will probably have some type of similar stipulation. Tables only would be a straightforward distancing measure I guess. Though they'd have to allow the stools at the bar at least :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭DevilsHaircut

'We describe the case of a 6-month-old infant admitted and diagnosed with classic Kawasaki disease (KD), who also screened positive for COVID-19 in the setting of fever and minimal respiratory symptoms.'

https://hosppeds.aappublications.org/content/hosppeds/early/2020/04/06/hpeds.2020-0123.full.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Wow NZ seems to have completely eliminated Covid19 from their islands.

Incredible, it really is a good benchmark to judge a country by, anyone thinking of moving after all this I would look at the CV19 performance table.

I predict Spain will probably be the last (by a factor of years) to get this sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,056 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

In case anyone has not seen this a nice story on many levels.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Global death toll could be 60% higher than reported, according to the FT.

https://www.ft.com/content/6bd88b7d-3386-4543-b2e9-0d5c6fac846c

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,106 ✭✭✭Christy42

So where do we think we are?

EU has had rapidly dropping infection rates and are slowly removing restrictions. Maybe too soon, maybe not.

However our own individual rates don't seem massively lower to me but it depends on when a lot of the testing was done. Plus we are very linked to the UK which has cometely messed this up and does not seem to have any improvement so any relaxation of our rules could lead to further infection from that direction.

In further afield places NZ doesn't affect us much but they have done a good job. The US, similar to the UK has made a complete mess of it all. They currently have more total cases than the EU in spite of less testing and a lower population.

For our own restrictions I am unsure except for the fact I should not be the one making the call.

Christy42 wrote: »
    So where do we think we are?

EU has had rapidly dropping infection rates and are slowly removing restrictions. Maybe too soon, maybe not.

However our own individual rates don't seem massively lower to me but it depends on when a lot of the testing was done. Plus we are very linked to the UK which has cometely messed this up and does not seem to have any improvement so any relaxation of our rules could lead to further infection from that direction.

In further afield places NZ doesn't affect us much but they have done a good job. The US, similar to the UK has made a complete mess of it all. They currently have more total cases than the EU in spite of less testing and a lower population.

For our own restrictions I am unsure except for the fact I should not be the one making the call.

According to the Irish Independent this morning, it looks like very few, if any restrictions will be lifted after the weekend, as there is still a concerning number of new cases.

https://www.independent.ie/world-news/coronavirus/lockdown-to-be-extended-amid-concern-at-high-number-of-new-cases-39158724.html

Global cases have exceeded 3 million according to Worldometers. Thats over 2 million increase so far this month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,950 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

I didn't read much over the weekend but how are we doing world wide,
    Is it slowing down or speeding up ?

This weekend you could tell people rightly or wrongly are starting to feel relaxed, there seemed to be people every where,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,528 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

No chance of any restrictions being lifted. Spain have volunteered themselves as the new European guinea pigs and anybody with a bit of cop on will wait four weeks and see where they are at and how serious the second wave is.

I didn't read much over the weekend but how are we doing world wide,
    Is it slowing down or speeding up ?

This weekend you could tell people rightly or wrongly are starting to feel relaxed, there seemed to be people every where,

Steadily increasing on a global scale, some variance between countries obviously. USA will surpass 1 million cases today.

https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/

Have a look here for the trajectory of the global 'curve'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,149 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Rose of Tralee cancelled

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭bettyoleary

ek motor wrote: »
    According to the Irish Independent this morning, it looks like very few, if any restrictions will be lifted after the weekend, as there is still a concerning number of new cases.

https://www.independent.ie/world-news/coronavirus/lockdown-to-be-extended-amid-concern-at-high-number-of-new-cases-39158724.html
    I don't see we have done very much different than the UK except perhaps not working on a vaccine which we will all be holding our arms out for if and when the UK develop it. Think of that.