Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of restrictions Part II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

They don’t need to check

And they don’t lock people into a hotel on Australia, contrary to popular belief. That’s only if you don’t have a place to self isolate. They do checks and impose fines

Thats not true hotel isolation is mandatory for all Australians in all states wether they haven’t or have got a place to isolate, I know this because I live here and it’s a known fact.

From midnight, March 28, all Australian travelers returning from overseas have been forced into two-week quarantine–in a luxury hotel.

Following the country’s decision to close its borders to foreign tourists last month, tough new coronavirus measures mean Australians coming from abroad can no longer live out their mandatory 14-day self-isolation in the comfort of their own homes.

https://www.forbes.com/sites/tamarathiessen/2020/04/04/australian-travelers-complain-about-5-star-hotel-quarantine/

There are exceptions like this one and for government personnel etc

https://www.watoday.com.au/national/western-australia/billionaire-kerry-stokes-exempted-from-strict-quarantine-rules-after-arriving-in-perth-from-aspen-by-private-jet-20200422-p54mbo.html

Enforced overseas Isolation and proper testing is what broke the back of the virus in Australia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,858 ✭✭✭✭road_high

LiquidZeb wrote: »
    ONLY 6 MONTHS!!! DO YOU WANT TO KILL EVERY SINGLE OLD PERSON IN THE COUNTRY?!!! JUST STAY AT HOME AND WATCH NETFLIX STUPID!!!

#staythe****athome lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭SNNUS

If many people go to them at the same time and don`t wear masks or gloves they become a likely breeding ground for spread of the virus.

I read today that there have been clusters associated with green glass recycling bins. I'm up for a 3 month lockdown to fix these clusters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,014 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

At least the whiners are happy with the lockdown now. It makes sense why they want it kept. Keep yukking it up boyos.

Brilliant thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,228 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

You must be in a very bad way if you a bicycle to go 100m

He doesn't want to pick up toxic sweat off the pavement, it's understandable.

Remember Kermit de Frog told us that we can die from sweat that Joggers leave behind on the the footpaths
    The CMO yesterday was not impressed with the amount of people running.

The OP wonders why looks are being given.

When you run you sweat and pant. This is not good for anyone within feet of you running by if you happen to be infected.

I fully expect jogging to be banned in the coming days incidentally. It won't be allowed continue, nor should it.

You can go a while without jogging. It's not a requirement.

People need some cop on and a sense of perspective.

You won't be flabbing out because you can't go for a jog for a while.

Just go for a walk. 4 km is a perfectly good walk.

pjohnson wrote: »
    At least the whiners are happy with the lockdown now. It makes sense why they want it kept. Keep yukking it up boyos.

Brilliant thread.

Sounds about right. Because your fixated desire to extend lockdown is certainly not based on any sense of common sense or reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,277 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

He doesn't want to pick up toxic sweat off the pavement, it's understandable.

Remember Kermit de Frog told us that we can die from sweat that Joggers leave behind on the the footpaths

Exactly. Anyway everyone can relax, I am determined to only buy cans in future to save us from all this drama. 4 x Galway bay cans and 4 x Zywiec tonight.
    Bottoms up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

I think the 5k limit is to ban large public events like concerts. Or sports events. I think if there's gaa or soccer matches in 2020. They will be held behind closed door ors
    With no fans allowed. I would not go to a concert now
    Even if I got a free ticket. I think we will have so social distancing for another 12 months. Ireland is 40 times worse than new Zealand. In terms of no of deaths per million. And new Zealand is still in lock down
    We have a problem with people coming here by air
    Travellers should be at least tested for high tempeture
    No one is allowed to travel to New Zealand at the moment

SNNUS wrote: »
    I read today that there have been clusters associated with green glass recycling bins. I'm up for a 3 month lockdown to fix these clusters.

I’ve heard if you stand at least 2 m from the bottle bank and aim the bottles at the opening while wearing a mask you can’t catch covid. So long as you don’t do it for >15 mins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭SNNUS

Exactly. Anyway everyone can relax, I am determined to only buy cans in future to save us from all this drama. 4 x Galway bay cans and 4 x Zywiec tonight.
    Bottoms up.

Zywiec is epic stuff! In a can obviously due to bottle bank issues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,014 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

road_high wrote: »
    Sounds about right. Because your fixated desire to extend lockdown is certainly not based on any sense of common sense or reality.

What?

I dont have a "fixated desire" road high. I wanted things done responsibly.

Responsibility isnt something that suits certain types of people and combined with an inability to follow simple instructions.

The ones that will cause an extension are the ones deciding its already over. While ye cry about others who can actually follow instructions.

But its always the welfare or gardai or media or someone else to blame. Never ever yourselves. And your "expert" opinion is always best.

Ye guys are the gift that keeps giving.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

LiquidZeb wrote: »
    Hey Cork boy I need to go up to my recycling bin. Just checking if that's ok with you?

Only if you thoroughly scrub and disinfect the bin cover after using it. Potential of transmission of infection to the refuse collectors is high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 864 ✭✭✭jams100

do you think people arent seeking help because of COV-19.
    People can seek help for heart attacks etc this has been emphasised, I know people are afraid of catching virus but it's up to people to not ignore issues like that.

My issue is with diagnostics, completely stopped right now. What if someone has breast cancer right now? Well they won't know cause breast check is closed, I don't think radiotherapy etc for cancer patients is ongoing either but could stand corrected on that.

We've paid €115 million per month for these private hospitals, which is/was fair enough a good idea at the time, but now, these hospitals are empty. Why the f**k don't we cancel that contract even if we have to pay 20 or 30 million to do so and let them return to normal an example of a decision that could be taken tomorrow but probably won't. Sigh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

Only if you thoroughly scrub and disinfect the bin cover after using it. Potential of transmission of infection to the refuse collectors is high.

When was the last time u used a bottle bank, cause u don’t even have to touch abin to put ur bottles in there. There’s a little flap at the entrance and u fire them in.

God u are so full of sh*t it’s becoming comical at this stage.

Bottoms up.

Higher risk of used cans spreading the virus than bottles actually. Best avoided.

SNNUS wrote: »
    Zywiec is epic stuff! In a can obviously due to bottle bank issues

Yes it's a 5.6%er. I never did get the thing at the side that's supposed to change colour when it's cold though, it doesn't seem to work for me ever.

Greater risk of used cans spreading the virus than bottles actually. Best avoided.

So clearly we're all drinking and having a laugh now. Locked-down isn't so bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,621 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Greater risk of used cans spreading the virus than bottles actually. Best avoided.

What would you suggest is safe these days? Obviously cycling is out of the question, cans, going to the bin without disinfecting it

Strumms wrote: »
    We noticed that there were people breaking into the locked tennis courts in my local park to play tennis. The courts had been closed and locked in line with restrictions. But fence hoppers... my friend happened to mention this to somebody with council connections and the nets were all removed today when i went over... you are literally having to babysit knuckle draggers with zero abilty to understand the magnitude of their behaviour just after a cure for their inability to sit around and understand and be team players.

We are blessed to have people like your friend in this world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,280 ✭✭✭con747

OH dropped into Aldi Kinnegad on way home from work at 8.30pm and there was nobody at the front door counting people in to observe the limit of shoppers and nobody giving hand sanitiser to people entering. Inside the shop she said families were shopping and there was no social distancing being observed by most people, she decided to leave but could not safely because all the tills were open which she had never seen before so had to wait and try queue at a distance to other shoppers who were queuing as they did before this outbreak. She mentioned all of this to the cashier who just let it go over her head with no valid explanation. I did report it to the gardai in Mullingar because it is a serious slip in a major supermarkets standards during this outbreak.

Don't expect anything from life, just be grateful to be alive.

fin12 wrote: »
    When was the last time u used a bottle bank, cause u don’t even have to touch abin to put ur bottles in there. There’s a little flap at the entrance and u fire them in.

Useful suggestion for you. Maybe it would be a good idea to properly read the comment of the poster I was replying to before making smart arse replies. He clearly mentioned his own recycling bin in his post not a bottle bank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,776 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

con747 wrote: »
    OH dropped into Aldi Kinnegad on way home from work at 8.30pm and there was nobody at the front door counting people in to observe the limit of shoppers and nobody giving hand sanitiser to people entering. Inside the shop she said families were shopping and there was no social distancing being observed by most people, she decided to leave but could not safely because all the tills were open which she had never seen before so had to wait and try queue at a distance to other shoppers who were queuing as they did before this outbreak. She mentioned all of this to the cashier who just let it go over her head with no valid explanation. I did report it to the gardai in Mullingar because it is a serious slip in a major supermarkets standards during this outbreak.

Close two tills, one employee giving sanitizer the other managing the Q. Yes it’s inconvenient to Q longer but if longer AND safer it’s preferable to on your way to an efficient death or serious illness.

fin12 wrote: »

There's about 15 levels of parody going on here, I am not sure who is taking the P*ss out of who.

Realistically the lockdown has reached a type of exhaustion. Its a natural reaction. We were told the aim was to reach an RO of 1. We smashed that in a short time period due to people being incredibly disciplined. Now the guys in charge are patronising us with more s##t about stay at home. The issue is most people know staying at home wont effect the nursing home issue. Thats a f##k up by Dr Holey. Also Mr Harris said during the week that we have had 18 previous Covid virus and that lost a lot of credibility for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭Spencer Brown

My mother works for an organisation that runs residential facilities. They had a house tested recently as 3 people had qualifying symptoms.

10 of 12 had it between staff and residents. None had to be hospitalised and 6 were completely asymptomatic.

Strumms wrote: »
    We noticed that there were people breaking into the locked tennis courts in my local park to play tennis. The courts had been closed and locked in line with restrictions. But fence hoppers... my friend happened to mention this to somebody with council connections and the nets were all removed today when i went over... you are literally having to babysit knuckle draggers with zero abilty to understand the magnitude of their behaviour just after a cure for their inability to sit around and understand and be team players.

PaddyGreen parody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,137 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

how many deaths is lifting restrictions worth?

How many deaths is not lifting restrictions worth should be the question.

My mother works for an organisation that runs residential facilities. They had a house tested recently as 3 people had qualifying symptoms.

10 of 12 had it between staff and residents. None had to be hospitalised and 6 were completely asymptomatic.

The nursing home scandal will turn out to be a massive stain on Leo and Simon.
    They were looking in the wrong place for the virus (similar to Bandit Luke looking at the sweat left by joggers on the footpaths).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,612 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

niallo27 wrote: »
    How many deaths is not lifting restrictions worth should be the question.

there'll be less overall with restrictions in place than without, so ...

gradual lifting starting on 5th of May is the way to go

Doesn't surprise me. These lot have been lavished with a sales monopoly the past age so why bother with all that. People will have to come in anyhow and will make no difference to the most important thing- their bottom line.
    If i hear another one of their patronising adverts :mad: