Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XVI- 21,983 in ROI (1,339 deaths) 3,881 in NI (404 deaths)(05/05)Read OP

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Miike wrote: »
    Gloves if used properly negate fomite transmission at some level. Masks aren't widely available and are expensive (2 significant barriers).

You have to change gloves after everything you touch. You're not going to find a surgeon using one pair of gloves the minute they clock in until they clock out. One pair of gloves=more infection/cross contamination and this is alot of what I'm seeing in shops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,636 ✭✭✭the.red.baron

Speak Now wrote: »
    What's with all the New Zealand comparisons?

A country 3 or 4 times our size so way more sparsely populated than us.

Over 2000 km from nearest neighbour while we have a land border with a shower that chanced their arm with hard immunity initially.

They didn't go skiing in Italy

The population density is a red herring really, unless say you are Hong Kong levels, so city Vs city, they have masses of empty space, massive mountains, about 1 million live in the south 3 or 4 in the north

Very similar to here in the north island

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭ziggyman17

In Ireland?

Dublin..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭RugbyLad11

poppers wrote: »
    For a health system that we are told is 3rd world our deaths/case identifed is really good when compared to countries that are supposed to be superior

Counrty deaths/case
    Uk 13.6%
    Us 5.6%
    Spain 10%
    Italy 13%
    Germany 3.6%
    Sweeden 12%
    Ire 4.5% rising to 5.5% if probablecases are counted.

And the US is not doing too bad either but yet everyone seems to love complaining about trump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,174 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

ziggyman17 wrote: »
    :D:D A bingo party where I live tonight, around 150 adults and kids gathered together, with dj decks and all having drinks, they were settled in for the night and then after 2 hours the police arrive and put a stop to the madness.........

Was it two hours after you phoned the police or two hours from it began?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,536 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Build a field hospital in the car park. It’s not rocket science. Isolate them and monitor.

What the fuq are you talking about? It was some mystery army base a minute ago.

They don't need a hospital. Why would 1000s of returning citizens need a hospital?

Someone has been playing too many video games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,450 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Who would have the remotest interest in international travel until there's a vaccine - not much social distancing possible in an airport, let alone on a plane?

When international borders reopen and travel resumes then yeah I wont have an issue getting on a plane, be it next summer or whenever that might be.

Not going to sit around and wait for a vaccine for god knows how long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭keynes

This is the crux of it

We can be good Paddies and Patricia’s all we like

If the virus is being imported through dublin airport what’s the point.

Clusters will keep happening. Rinse and repeat.

It's amazing that people are obsessing over their neighbours having a chat, while apparently oblivious to the airport traffic that will resume in a few weeks (increased by the fact we're one of the very few countries without any restrictions whatsover, instead offering "guidance" and "advice")

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,487 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Brazilian justice minister has resigned (resignation not directly COVID related unlike the heath minister) so it appears their government faces collapse in the middle of this.

Not the best timing. Maybe it's better to get rid of Bolsanaro sooner rather than later though!

Good.

Jim_Hodge wrote: »

I never phoned the police, I actually enjoyed the music, but the social distancing was non existent, but I never mix with those people so it was not my business to phone the police, I look after myself and my family, if other adults cannot follow the same rules that I do, well then it is their own business...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

:D:D A bingo party where I live tonight, around 150 adults and kids gathered together, with dj decks and all having drinks, they were settled in for the night and then after 2 hours the police arrive and put a stop to the madness.........

Regular occurance according to someone I know in Oliver Bond flats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,046 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Boggles wrote: »
    What the fuq are you talking about? It was some mystery army base a minute ago.

They don't need a hospital. Why would 1000s of returning citizens need a hospital?

Someone has been playing too many video games.

Boggles lad as you say, it all depends on how serious you want to deal with this virus

I am saying ALL irish passport holders should be quarantined for 14 days on an army base. Non Irish refused entry to Ireland and sent back.

The army base Monitored by doctors and released only if clear from virus.

This is the best way to deal with it.

Happy to hear alternative solutions.

RugbyLad11 wrote: »
    And the US is not doing too bad either but yet everyone seems to love complaining about trump

Yet AGAIN...if they even counted all c19 deaths, let alone probables….

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

What? Forever? Not gonna happen.

If we have to live with this virus, we need to wear face masks. We're told face masks are just for sick people to stop them spreading their germs. It's asymptomatic and pre-symtomatic people and this is the problem. They are spreading their germs without even knowing it. And yes we wear masks until we get this under control, if that's next year or two years or 10 years when they might have a vaccine.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,487 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

keynes wrote: »
    It's amazing that people are obsessing over their neighbours having a chat, while apparently oblivious to the airport traffic that will resume in a few weeks (increased by the fact we're one of the very few countries without any restrictions whatsover, instead offering "guidance" and "advice")

It's crazy.
    Why are they so hesitant to restrict travel even now.

It contrasts with NZ approach, I was listening today on rte radio about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,246 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

These type of gatherings are not allowed at the moment so it does not matter who phoned the gardai or if anyone did.

The main thing is gardai breaking them up which is good to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,919 ✭✭✭GM228

Yet AGAIN...if they even counted all c19 deaths, let alone probables….

US started counting probables as part of the official death toll from the 14th.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭joe_99

Not comparible.

We are a micro state compared to the States. One hot spot in Ireland and our numbers would go through the roof. A hot spot in the States is disguised easily by its vast population e.g. NY.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭RugbyLad11

Who would have the remotest interest in international travel until there's a vaccine - not much social distancing possible in an airport, let alone on a plane?

Someone in another threads parent say "What's the point in living if you can't live?"

There might be no vaccine for a few years so are you going to stay locked inside for the duration?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,246 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

GM228 wrote: »
    US started counting probables yesterday.

Do you have a linky? No discernible change in figures I can make out today from previous and nothing has been added retrospectively.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭zinfandel

US started counting probables as part of the official death toll yesterday.

Are they going to back date them??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,919 ✭✭✭GM228

Do you have a linky? No discernible change in figures I can make out from previous.

Yes, the CDC:-

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/cases-updates/cases-in-us.html
    *Total cases includes 2,937 probable cases and total deaths includes 5,365 probable deaths.
    As of April 14, 2020, CDC case counts and death counts include both confirmed and probable cases and deaths. This change was made to reflect an interim COVID-19 position statement issued by the Council for State and Territorial Epidemiologists on April 5, 2020. The position statement included a case definition and made COVID-19 a nationally notifiable disease.

It came in from the 14th after the definitions in the US changed just like the rest of the world this week, here's the CSTE guidance:-

https://cdn.ymaws.com/www.cste.org/resource/resmgr/2020ps/interim-20-id-01_covid-19.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

My boyfriend just came back from a run and said there’s about twenty teenagers up the road all gathered on the green drinking and smoking joints. Im after calling the guards on the lot of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,067 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Someone in another threads parent say "What's the point in living if you can't live?"

There might be no vaccine for a few years so are you going to stay locked inside for the duration?

If people are so childish as to be able to forgo pleasure or fun for a few months or a year or two, then life is going to kick the living shi7 out of them.

I never phoned the police, I actually enjoyed the music, but the social distancing was non existent, but I never mix with those people so it was not my business to phone the police, I look after myself and my family, if other adults cannot follow the same rules that I do, well then it is their own business...

They why complain that the police Gardaí took two hours to end it?

It's not your neighbours' own business. It's everybody's interest s because they can transmit the virus elsewhere and delay easing of restrictions and the impact on the economy.
    You should have reported it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭joe_99

US started counting probables as part of the official death toll yesterday.

Was it back dated?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,046 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

My boyfriend just came back from a run and said there’s about twenty teenagers up the road all gathered on the green drinking and smoking joints. Im after calling the guards on the lot of them.

Fully agree. Ppl like this will spread the thing further and Of course likely delay any relaxation of the restrictions.

These type of gatherings are not allowed at the moment so it does not matter who phoned the gardai or if anyone did.

I fully agree but the OP couldn't be bothered.

exactly, I did not ring the gardai, because I do not mix with those people and it would not effect me or my family, but they should be grown up enough to know that at the moment you can not have a gathering like that, It pains me to say it, but it is always the same sort of people that think they are above everything, I would be deeply offended if I have had a close family member or friend that that had caught this virus and died all the while these sort go on like everything is grand,,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,536 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Boggles lad as you say, it all depends on how serious you want to deal with this virus

I am saying ALL irish passport holders should be quarantined for 14 days on an army base. Non Irish refused entry to Ireland and sent back.

The army base Monitored by doctors and released only if clear from virus.

This is the best way to deal with it.

Happy to hear alternative solutions.

Jesus Titty Christ we do not have an "army base" to cater for 1000s of people.

Also housing 1000s of people in one place during a pandemic is one of the dumbest things I think I have ever heard.

It's up there with drinking toilet duck.