Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of restrictions Part II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭gauchesnell

sterz wrote: »
    Seemed to have disappeared the last week where I'm based. Heavy-ish presence a few weeks back but don't see them around any more.

Gardai out now near me - same checkpoint all the time. Roads very busy now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,824 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Mic 1972 wrote: »
    The garda are doing their job, not need to have a go at them

I'd say some of the lockdown brigade would love to live in a police-state.

Hopefully the travel restrictions get lifted soon to allow ye pursue your dream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,228 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Doesn't look too busy hre for a Friday evening

https://twitter.com/laoneill111/status/1253720287142653952

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭sterz

Gardai out now near me - same checkpoint all the time. Roads very busy now

Checkpoints still the same here but was talking about Gardai walking around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

Not everyone has your mentality thankfully.

I don’t care cause I certainly wouldn’t want to have ur mentality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,215 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

this time last week everyone was positive about Dr Tonys message on the late late and felt we were on course but now its seems were slowly going back to square 1 :(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

Today I did my first proper bit of exercise since all this started. I walked 9.5km in 90mins. And I am planning to do this most days from now in the early morning before I login to ‘work’ from home, because I reckon I have put on 1 stone since this started.
    The walk itself is a loop walk from my place, and is more or less all within the 2km from my village as the crow flies. It’s Dublin but fairly rural, and as I’m no crow with the roads route the full loop was 9.5km.
    My question is, if I run (walk) into a police checkpoint will the crow flies answer prevent me from being arrested?? I didn’t even really encounter any people during this walk this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 864 ✭✭✭jams100

Is this coronavirus really that bad?
    1,014 deaths ÷ How many days? (40) = 25
    (Each death a tragedy)
    On average 170 baby's are born everyday. I get the deaths couldve been more if not for the restrictions. Median age is about 82, this sounds terrible i know but would many of those people who died of corona virus die this year anyway?
    Are we storing up more deaths from suicides/cancers which aren't being diagnosed etc?
    I personally feel journalists should be probing more, they all seem to ask the same questions each day. Look any decision thats taken will be hard but the easier decision in my opinion is to extend the lockdown, is it the right decision? I think no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,277 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Went to bottle bank about an hour ago and there was traffic everywhere. I think people will be out and about more and more from now on, unless they threaten heavy fines or something like they're doing in some countries.

sterz wrote: »
    Checkpoints still the same here but was talking about Gardai walking around.

thats true actually...was loads. They seem to have vanished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,621 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

jams100 wrote: »
    (Each death a tragedy)
    On average 170 baby's are born everyday. I get the deaths couldve been more if not for the restrictions. Median age is about 82, this sounds terrible i know but would many of those people who died of corona virus die this year anyway?
    Are we storing up more deaths from suicides/cancers which aren't being diagnosed etc?
    I personally feel journalists should be probing more, they all seem to ask the same questions each day. Look any decision thats taken will be hard but the easier decision in my opinion is to extend the lockdown, is it the right decision? I think no

The classification of death is an interesting one. Doctors are now able to diagnose Covid death if they just think a patient had Covid. Terminally ill/end of life patients dying previously with influenza, pneumonia etc did not necessarily state cause of death

(Each death a tragedy)

do you think people arent seeking help because of COV-19.

My question is, if I run (walk) into a police checkpoint will the crow flies answer prevent me from being arrested?? I didn’t even really encounter any people during this walk this morning.

If you walk to Kerry you wont be arrested. You will be directed to turn around under the government directive.
    Now the most pressing issue for you will be when Sharon from Portlaoise hears about this on Facebook, and tells you to STFAH

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

PTH2009 wrote: »
    this time last week everyone was positive about Dr Tonys message on the late late and felt we were on course but now its seems were slowly going back to square 1 :(:(

I was at the local shop today and there were a group of 4 cyclists all jammed together drinking coffee and eating rolls at an outdoor table with no social distancing whatsoever. Disgraceful selfish behaviour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

(Each death a tragedy)

We don't have journalism in this country. We have fanboys of whoever happens to be flavour of the month and never a contrary question asked. Just ask Jack Charlton.

I was at the local shop today and there were a group of 4 cyclists all jammed together drinking coffee and eating rolls at an outdoor table with no social distancing whatsoever. Disgraceful selfish behaviour.

Id say they all were from the same house so its ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭bloopy

Mic 1972 wrote: »
    The garda are doing their job, not need to have a go at them

Unless the Gardaí believed that the OP's friend had committed, or was about to commit, an offence listed in the Offences Against the State Acts or was carrying drugs, then searching someones car for 'non essential' items is most definitely a step beyond their legal remit.
    Even the Garda higher ups would not be best pleased to have frontline Gardaí overstepping their bounds - it builds bad blood with the community and general public at large.

Id say they all were from the same house so its ok

No they were not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Went to bottle bank about an hour ago and there was traffic everywhere. I think people will be out and about more and more from now on, unless they threaten heavy fines or something like they're doing in some countries.

Not sure where you are in the country but I drove bray to dublin city centre for work today, a few more cars on the road but absolutely nothing major. Still did the drive up the n11 in 20 mins. Unheard of for morning and evening rush hour.

Out for a walk now on Bray seafront and you could have the roads to yourself if you wanted.

Unless this surge in traffic is only in certain places, just haven't seen it on my journey.

I know dublin bus said journeys are up, any bus I saw coming through the city had at most 3 or 4 people on it and any route going cross city up o Connell street is boarded by gardai at the GPO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭bettyoleary

So its 50/50 who they may harm today prob spread covid whilst at the café and cause an accident on the road following coffee by riding 4 a breast on a narrow busy road. Suppose its more 80 covid/20 road as roads are quiet at moment:o

No they were not.

Its possible they all left from the same house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭Spencer Brown

The bottle bank? Hardly essential FFS? (JOKE)

P.S They're probably saying the exact same thing about you. The lack of self awareness is astonishing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,824 ✭✭✭facehugger99

The bottle bank? Hardly essential FFS? .

Since the pubs closed, trips to the bottle bank have become essential.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,277 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

P.S They're probably saying the exact same thing about you. The lack of self awareness is astonishing.

I was on a bicycle, if that makes it any better. I was only commenting on the volume of car traffic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭LiquidZeb

In case you haven't realized Monk is one important guy. No one should be out on his roads without his express permission. Plebs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Jurgen Klopp

Seriously it's not necessary. No need to be consuming alcohol if it leads to unnecessary trips.

Stay at home, make a cup of tea and stick on Netflix.

If many people go to them at the same time and don`t wear masks or gloves they become a likely breeding ground for spread of the virus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭LiquidZeb

No they were not.

Did you ask them? Hope they told you to feck off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Jurgen Klopp

Ah here it's like something from a Carry On sketch

If many people go to them at the same time and don`t wear masks or gloves they become a breeding ground for spread of the virus.

Read elsewhere today that if you get stuck for a mask going to the bottle bank you can improvise by wearing a sanitary pad as a makeshift mask.