Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The UK response to Covid-19 [MOD WARNING 1ST POST]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,107 ✭✭✭Christy42

blinding wrote: »
    A Country that has had Berti Ahern, John Bruton, Jack Lynch, Leo Varadkar as Taoiseach is in no position to caste aspirations about the Political leaders of Other Countries. A Country that has had FFG in Government so often should show some self awareness when criticising Politicians or Political Parties in Other countries. These people probably would not rise above County Councillor in other Countries !

Ah the old UK is fine because you are not allowed talk about them.

That list are all miles and miles above Boris.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,392 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

A Country that has had Berti Ahern, John Bruton, Jack Lynch, Leo Varadkar as Taoiseach is in no position to caste aspirations about the Political leaders of Other Countries. A Country that has had FFG in Government so often should show some self awareness when criticising Politicians or Political Parties in Other countries. These people probably would not rise above County Councillor in other Countries !

Each of those three had more principles than Johnson. By a country mile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,752 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

Each of those three had more principles than Johnson. By a country mile.

I would include Ahern as well. He was certainly flawed in his personal financial arrangements and has a chequered record but he did a good job with the Peace Process for example. Streets ahead of the buffoon Johnson. I wouldn't put Johnson in charge of anything, he's totally untrustworthy, it's a joke that a country the size of the UK has that dangerous idiot as their Prime Minister.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,462 ✭✭✭blinding

Christy42 wrote: »
    Ah the old UK is fine because you are not allowed talk about them.

That list are all miles and miles above Boris.
    As I said they would be County Councillors at best in Britain.

How would cream rise up the dirty buckets of FFG ? ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,136 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

And? So what? Is your point that the UK are actually doing a great job? What is the point of these comparisons in relation to the UK Covid situation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

"FFG" is up there with "MSM" as a reason to just blank out the rest of the post.

---

Lynch was out on his ear not long after the give away of 1977 which murdered the country. And to be fair to him he continued Lemass's reform agenda somewhat beforehand.

What did Bruton and Varadkar do to ya?

To criticise Bruton on a personal level is one thing ("greatest day of my life" comments and all that), but his time in power was incredibly successful and almost unimpeachable.

Haughey is a noticeable absentee in your list.

---

What was the alternative though to the two biggest parties? Or do you just like to use "FFG" to seem edgy?

---

It's remarkable how defensive you're getting on behalf of the British electorate. So it can't be Bruton's softness to unionism that you dislike or that you're an SFer? Hmmmmmmmmmm... Would it be an anti-EU bias you're displaying here?

Anyway...

Leroy42 wrote: »
    And? So what? Is your point that the UK are actually doing a great job? What is the point of these comparisons in relation to the UK Covid situation?
    I am just pointing out that people from a country that has had leaders from FFG are in no position to caste aspirations at the Leaders of other Countries. Surely a modicum of self awareness is a good thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭bob mcbob

Ok lets talk about Dominic Raab, Priti Patel, Matt Hancock, Rishi Sunak. Their qualifications for the highest offices of state in the UK. What are their skills - competence - no, experience - no, being the Brexitest of all - undoubtably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,752 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

How did a buffoon like Johnson, a dangerous fúckin idiot end up as the UK Prime Minister so? A jumped up shock jock hack, it would be like electing John Waters as Taoiseach.

bob mcbob wrote: »
    Ok lets talk about Dominic Raab, Priti Patel, Matt Hancock, Rishi Sunak. Their qualifications for the highest offices of state in the UK. What are their skills - competence - no, experience - no, being the Brexitest of all - undoubtably.
    Rich Sunak has not done a bad job considering he had to take that position because Sajid Javid was getting carried away with himself as Chancellor even before he had hardly got his feet in the Door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

I dunno did anyone read the account of the ppe stockpile warehouse that was in yesterday's guardian. Some interesting stuff in it, like the fact that the stockpile was being managed by a german firm initially, then an American one and just in past couple of weeks sold to a French one. Should such a key operation like that really be outsourced?

Anyway the key bit for me was how the stockpile had been organised in anticipation of a flu epidemic so wasnt prepared for what was to come. "We've had to create a whole new logistics network, essentially from scratch," Matt Hancock says.

They had that dry run in 2016, Op Cygnus, that told them what to look out for. Yet they still allowed the stockpile to deteriorate because they bet on it never being needed. Just a bit of flu, they thought, right up after it was patently clear they were horribly wrong.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2020/apr/22/revealed-private-firm-running-uk-ppe-stockpile-was-sold-in-middle-of-pandemic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,136 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

I am just pointing out that people from a country that has had leaders from FFG are in no position to caste aspirations at the Leaders of other Countries. Surely a modicum of self awareness is a good thing.

Oh if only that were to be true. But again so what. We could have had the worst leaders ever in the world, we could all be living in mud huts and drinking sewage water. But we have, factually, dealt with this crisis better than the UK have.

And since we are talking about the UK Covid situation, it much be an appalling vista that a country as backward as Ireland, so broken as to elected those you listed, as now outperforming the seemingly unimpeachable UK.

That is the question you should be asking. If FFG are the disaster you think them to be, how much worse are the UK government that such a rotten group is outperforming them.

Rich Sunak has not done a bad job considering he had to take that position because Sajid Javid was getting carried away with himself as Chancellor even before he had hardly got his feet in the Door.

Sunak been ok alright, puts himself across calmly and confidently. But jeez, its some low bar being set.

"FFG" is up there with "MSM" as a reason to just blank out the rest of the post.

---

Lynch was out on his ear not long after the give away of 1977 which murdered the country. And to be fair to him he continued Lemass's reform agenda somewhat beforehand.

What did Bruton and Varadkar do to ya?

To criticise Bruton on a personal level is one thing ("greatest day of my life" comments and all that), but his time in power was incredibly successful and almost unimpeachable.

Haughey is a noticeable absentee in your list.

---

What was the alternative though to the two biggest parties? Or do you just like to use "FFG" to seem edgy?

---

It's remarkable how defensive you're getting on behalf of the British electorate. So it can't be Bruton's softness to unionism that you dislike or that you're an SFer? Hmmmmmmmmmm... Would it be an anti-EU bias you're displaying here?

Anyway...
    Jeez I forgot about Haughey:eek::eek::eek:

And Yeez are throwing Stones at the Brits re; Leaders:eek::eek::eek:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,961 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Sunak been ok alright, puts himself across calmly and confidently. But jeez, its some low bar being set.

It'll be interesting going forward as he has come across as being competent and effective while Johnson has bungled this from day one.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

Getting carried away how?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭timetogo1

This is just another example of whataboutery. Every country has had leaders that have done stupid / incompetent stuff. Does that mean nobody can criticise a UK leader. I don't think Boards takes it's rules from you.

How about you open a thread and complain about the Irish leaders there. The title of this thread is "The UK response to Covid-19"

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,961 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

He refused to be Cummings' puppet by handing over autonomy over choosing his advisors.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

Jeez I forgot about Haughey:eek::eek::eek:

And Yeez are throwing Stones at the Brits re; Leaders:eek::eek::eek:

We are criticising one "leader" in particular. The one who's been on a sick note for the last while.

As much as I loathe Haughey, I tell you what, he's the sort of pig-headed as$ you would want in your corner for this sort of crisis.

He refused to be Cummings' puppet by handing over autonomy over choosing his advisors.

Aye I remember that. The thing is, that's not my definition of getting carried away. Surprised that it is anyone's. So I want to know what Blinding means by that statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

I dunno did anyone read the account of the ppe stockpile warehouse that was in yesterday's guardian. Some interesting stuff in it, like the fact that the stockpile was being managed by a german firm initially, then an American one and just in past couple of weeks sold to a French one. Should such a key operation like that really be outsourced?

Well, considering they outsourced a Covid testing centre to an accounting firm...

It'll be interesting going forward as he has come across as being competent and effective while Johnson has bungled this from day one.

He's about the only threat i could see to johnson down the line, dont see gove in the picture at all. Which could be something for him to be wary of, given how ruthless we know those in charge are. Rory Stewart is the one politician impressing me at the moment, what a loss he's been.

Leroy42 wrote: »
    Oh if only that were to be true. But again so what. We could have had the worst leaders ever in the world, we could all be living in mud huts and drinking sewage water. But we have, factually, dealt with this crisis better than the UK have.

And since we are talking about the UK Covid situation, it much be an appalling vista that a country as backward as Ireland, so broken as to elected those you listed, as now outperforming the seemingly unimpeachable UK.

That is the question you should be asking. If FFG are the disaster you think them to be, how much worse are the UK government that such a rotten group is outperforming them.
    Republic of Ireland = tiny little country , are the demographic of the republic of Ireland the same as Britain. Many people in Britain had small families or no children ( could be said that this is a big mistake particularly in the present situation )

Many more big Cities including London with Public Transport that was perfect for spreading Covid-19.

Comparing the Republic of Ireland to Britain re; Covid -19 is an absolutely pointless exercise.

We will really have to wait until down the line when Countries have collected all the statistics to see what the overall increase in deaths is.

People are jumping to all sorts of conclusions on very questionable statistics from very many different Countries . Of course this does not suit the Anti-British Agenda on this Thread by some Posters.

It would not be the First time in Britain that the Chancellor and British Prime Minister were at odds . Many times overly ambitious Chancellors have come to loggerheads with Prime Ministers in Britain.

Sajid Javid had already fallen foul of this and had to have his head politically removed . Good move by Boris and Co.

Republic of Ireland = tiny little country , are the demographic of the republic of Ireland the same as Britain. Many people in Britain had small families or no children ( could be said that this is a big mistake particularly in the present situation )

Many more big Cities including London with Public Transport that was perfect for spreading Covid-19.

Comparing the Republic of Ireland to Britain re; Covid -19 is an absolutely pointless exercise.

We will really have to wait until down the line when Countries have collected all the statistics to see what the overall increase in deaths is.

People are jumping to all sorts of conclusions on very questionable statistics from very many different Countries . Of course this does not suit the Anti-British Agenda on this Thread by some Posters.

Why is it anti-British to criticise the incompetence of the UKGOV?

just because you don't like it. Why are you so defensive of them? They can mind themselves.

I don't see you over in the Trump thread complaining about everyone being anti-American because of their criticism of the incompetence of DJT and his Admin!

Coming in here sometimes is like trying to run the gauntlet of a load of Eoghan harris and Ruth Dudley-Edwards' wannabes. it's pathetic.

We get it. You think they're doing a tremendous job and we should stop criticising the poor Brits.

timetogo1 wrote: »
    This is just another example of whataboutery. Every country has had leaders that have done stupid / incompetent stuff. Does that mean nobody can criticise a UK leader. I don't think Boards takes it's rules from you.

How about you open a thread and complain about the Irish leaders there. The title of this thread is "The UK response to Covid-19"
    How come ye are so fragile when yer’e jumped to conclusions are challenged ? ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,337 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

What the actual **** is after happening to this thread.

Déjà vu all over again today ... Bertie Ahern may have a lot to answer for, but the UK response to Covid-19 is not one of his faults. :rolleyes:

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Well, considering they outsourced a Covid testing centre to an accounting firm...

Wonder if tests that are done but then lost will still count towards the 100,000 target. But this all goes back to Hancocks statement about starting from scratch. That would have been ok in January or early Feb but you can't be getting into april and still saying it. Just rubbish excuses for incompetence.

It would not be the First time in Britain that the Chancellor and British Prime Minister were at odds . Many times overly ambitious Chancellors have come to loggerheads with Prime Ministers in Britain.

Sajid Javid had already fallen foul of this and had to have his head politically removed . Good move by Boris and Co.

So not being dictated to how to do your job now is "getting carried away"?

I see.

Is there anything that Johnson and his acolytes have done that you disagree with it or is everything truly been as great as you are making it out to be?