Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XVI- 21,983 in ROI (1,339 deaths) 3,881 in NI (404 deaths)(05/05)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭Scotty #

Some interesting news coming from New York this evening.

3000 randomers tested for antibodies.

13.9% positive overall.

21% positive in city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,869 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Getting sick of all this now, after May 5th I'm going back up to Galway and I don't care if restrictions aren't lifted, will fight the bloody Guards if I have to to get back up to Galway, I need to restock some green and going mad without it, don't know anyone at all in Bandon and going fcuking spare I am.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Brazil reports over 400 new deaths today. It is by far the most deaths any non western country has reported in a single day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,184 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

wakka12 wrote: »
    Brazil reports over 400 new deaths today. It is by far the most deaths any non western country has reported in a single day

Yeah well they have an imbecile in charge so it's not surprising.

You don't want to be the last country holding the can when the rest have this under control in terms of trade and travel restrictions with your country either!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,194 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Getting sick of all this now, after May 5th I'm going back up to Galway and I don't care if restrictions aren't lifted, will fight the bloody Guards if I have to to get back up to Galway, I need to restock some green and going mad without it, don't know anyone at all in Bandon and going fcuking spare I am.

Is that more than 2km, say it for a shop :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭Mic 1972

I went out for my daily walk at 7.30pm.

Again, like last night, and in complete contrast to last week, numerous groups of teenage girls, teenage couples, couple of lads walking along together with a football etc. etc.

All these seemingly innocuous things, but they are probably not family members and they are all going back to their respective households with unknown consequences.

At least with 2 family members they are living together anyway so there is no extra transmission risk.

And it is mainly young people that don't seem to give a fúck. Even though their family members at home that are older may pay a higher price.

Things will have to chance if we want to get out of this, I never see any garda around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

Was listening to a doctor on CNN earlier who said they are convinced the virus has been circulating in the community in the US since December.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,565 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

You should have bought a few plants and lights when this started and you'd be all set now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭timmy_mallet

derossi wrote: »
    To be honest, as she was a cancer patient we/I tried to keep her right. We where told that an illness might kill her. I tried my best to ask all calling to the house that they should use the handwash. This was before all this, I was told that if my Mum has an infection then no cancer treatment. I tried to do what we are doing now but people kept coming and no hand washing or whatever. She was taking in and in the end she had a high temp and couldnt breath. Thats all.

That's awful, sorry to hear that.

And, sorry, I'm not asking you, it was the response to your post that the poster was wondering about the stories of possible COVID19 before the 'official' start of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,194 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

My God man...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,640 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

www.bristolpost.co.uk/news/bristol-news/polce-driver-spliff-caught-weston-4042546

Police tell driver 'popping out for a spliff not an essential journey'

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

BanditLuke wrote: »
    Was listening to a doctor on CNN earlier who said they are convinced the virus has been circulating in the community in the US since December.

So very possible it was here too. With travel so easily to and from America, it would have to be here as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,640 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    503 errors again

only 503? lucky you...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

Simon Harris on prime time was basically saying they need more testing and once they broaden the criteria to test as much as possible to find as much people and get them isolated.

To be completely honest I think many people have tuned off Simon Harris. No fault of Simon but he has that voice that people tend to ignore after a while. He repeats himself a lot which is on purpose but doesn't help matters. He kinda sounds like he is having a daily moan. I imagine people reach for the remote when Simon comes on now.

Like any good hurling team, people need to hear a stronger voice or different voices more often. For example Leo and Coveney could do a little more to change the record. Or maybe get in some other strong characters to get the message across e.g. Roy Keane, Tommy Tiernan, Donal Lenihan, George Hook, Marty Morrissey, Joe Brolly, Pat Short etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,194 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Fine Gaeler trying to talk down to a medical professor on the tonight show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭Shelly66

A relative passed from covid today . Released from hospital last Wednesday told to wear mask at home in case ! had been in for weeks only to be brought in again 5 days later Sunday with covid 19. Within 4 days she deteriorated and died. Was elderly with underlying health issues.

Her son who has been caring for her is not getting tested? Gp said to call if he gets symptoms and he said the nurse on ward today also said unless he has symptoms he doesn’t need to be tested. I find this very hard to understand, I fully expect him to get it he also has asthma, he was in full close proximity for Days looking after her. How can he not be tested? What about contract tracing is it only if you have symptoms

Miike wrote: »
    I've never had a 'flu' do so much psychosocial damage in my life. The only people I've interacted with in over 6 weeks are patients and colleagues at work or the two times I've been to a supermarket. I've had NO human interaction outside of that, because of a 'flu'? I've had to move out of my family home, to not see them again for an indeterminate amount of time because of the risk I bring home a virus that could literally kill them in a matter of days. Do you have any notion of what kind of damage that does to a person? It's not a roll of the dice for me, it's reality.

It's people like you, Timmy, who are largely going to be responsible for perpetuating situations like mine and so many others. I hope your pint or whatever is worth it.

Not sure why you think I want to go for a pint, I've never mentioned anything about pubs reopening. And would not be advocating for that, the longer the alcohol doesn't get consumed the better for public health in general.

I dont want to create a league table of psychological stress, and while I can empathise with your situation, I'm sure there are many others feeling a great strain too.

Some people are comfortable with the risk, some aren't, im not certain why that's hard to understand.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

To be completely honest I think many people have tuned off Simon Harris. No fault of Simon but he has that voice that people tend to ignore after a while. He repeats himself a lot which is on purpose but doesn't help matters. He kinda sounds like he is having a daily moan. I imagine people reach for the remote when Simon comes on now.

Like any good hurling team, people need to hear a stronger voice or different voices more often. For example Leo and Coveney could do a little more to change the record. Or maybe get in some other strong characters to get the message across e.g. Roy Keane, Tommy Tiernan, Donal Lenihan, George Hook, Marty Morrissey, Joe Brolly, Pat Short etc etc

Tommy Tiernan, Pat Shortt to get a message across??? They're comedians.

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    I don't know if you're just deliberately trying to be obtuse or are genuinely oblivious to the infection rates and mortality levels of this virus. Your comments, if nothing else, are insulting to the posters here who have lost family and friends to C19 .

I'm just thankful that most real people are not like you.

I'm not oblivious to any of it. Many people are comfortable with it. To suggest they are inhumane or lack empathy is ridiculous. I certainly do not. People are comfortable with viruses living in the community all the time. Here is another one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭bekker

Arghus wrote: »
    Josepha Madigan on VM fronting for FG, OMG, she wouldn't even make a substitute bridge club VP. Had to switch it off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭frillyleaf

wakka12 wrote: »

The poor people having to live over there. Must be absolutely terrifying for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,772 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

I'm not oblivious to any of it. Many people are comfortable with it. To suggest they are inhumane or lack empathy is ridiculous. I certainly do not. People are comfortable with viruses living in the community all the time. Here is another one.

Yep. It's just like any other virus.

Who is on? I can’t watch it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,590 ✭✭✭Azatadine

That was as bad as I've seen. Cringeworthy from her.

Azatadine wrote: »
    That was as bad as I've seen. Cringeworthy from her.

Can anyone post a link

Shelly66 wrote: »
    A relative passed from covid today . Released from hospital last Wednesday told to wear mask at home in case ! had been in for weeks only to be brought in again 5 days later Sunday with covid 19. Within 4 days she deteriorated and died. Was elderly with underlying health issues.

Her son who has been caring for her is not getting tested? Gp said to call if he gets symptoms and he said the nurse on ward today also said unless he has symptoms he doesn’t need to be tested. I find this very hard to understand, I fully expect him to get it he also has asthma, he was in full close proximity for Days looking after her. How can he not be tested? What about contract tracing is it only if you have symptoms

I'm very sorry for your loss, the son should be tested, I thought asthma was high risk and also a contact with a confirmed case meant automatic testing

Why was she released from hospital?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Miike

Not sure why you think I want to go for a pint, I've never mentioned anything about pubs reopening. And would not be advocating for that, the longer the alcohol doesn't get consumed the better for public health in general.

I dont want to create a league table of psychological stress, and while I can empathise with your situation, I'm sure there are many others feeling a great strain too.

Some people are comfortable with the risk, some aren't, im not certain why that's hard to understand.

My point is not to create any kind of league table, of any description. Nor, am I finding it hard to understand that people are "comfortable with the risk". My point is that people who are "comfortable" with the risk are ignorant and dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Is this actually a serious post? I hope it's not...