Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XVI- 21,983 in ROI (1,339 deaths) 3,881 in NI (404 deaths)(05/05)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭keynes

Indeed. I don’t even know why people think knowing the number of coronaviruses identified is so important here. How does that affect his handling of this situation?

It was in fact a very revealing remark. It exemplified how easily he could just "make stuff up" and purport to have expertise on an issue he knows nothing about. His additional remark about the absence of a vaccine for the 18 other coronaviruses was especially troubling in this regard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

Don't forget the US vape lung thingy which is also being linked back to covid now according to some media reporting.

Surely xrays on them Vapers would have showed damage to lungs like the covid19 damage.

Scientists traced the origins of the virus to a particular type of bat to a part of China.

Unless if its biological warfare at play here with a made up virus from that lab in wuhan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭MipMap

bekker wrote: »
    Missed it, what was answer please?
    https://www.pscp.tv/rtenews/1djxXQpZmPBKZ
    25 minutes in.
    Answer was waffle IMO.

I definitely had Covid 19 last September. A dry cough, high temperature, no sense of smell or taste. It came on suddenly after a massive session of Guinness, jaegar bombs and a duck Cantonese. Fecking Chinese!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

fullstop wrote: »
    If there were abnormally high death rates then too, then yes you could. Otherwise, no.

The stuff I’m referring to was probably American.

But it could have been here earlier than February if it took time to get into nursing homes. There were cases in Cork on the 4th of March that are still unaccounted for AFAIK?

It’s entirely possible it could have been here in January surely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2020/apr/22/trump-hydroxychloroquine-study-coronavirus

Donald Trump and conservative supporters have backed away from hyping the controversial drug hydroxychloroquine as a potential cure for the coronavirus. Fox News staffers have also pivoted from promoting the anti-malarial drug.

The dial-back came as a new report showed that a recent US trial of hydroxychloroquine had not gone well – and before a senior government doctor who led efforts to produce a Covid-19 vaccine told the New York Times he believed he was sacked because he pressed for rigorous testing of the supposed treatment.

giphy.gif

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

owlbethere wrote: »
    Its getting so much more harder to believe them Chinese case numbers. Their first case was in November and 2 months later they lock down at 1000 cases.

Here at home we got our first confirmed case on the first of March or there abous. We are about 6 weeks I'm down the line from the first case and we have over 16000 cases.

Yep it's like an alternative universe where China exist compared to an awful lot of other countries

Estimates of the true numbers of cases and deaths there go as high as 40 times more than the "official" figures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,483 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Full body condoms? Not a bad idea!
    Frank Drebin swears by them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭domrush

The stuff I’m referring to was probably American.

But it could have been here earlier than February if it took time to get into nursing homes. There were cases in Cork on the 4th of March that are still unaccounted for AFAIK?

It’s entirely possible it could have been here in January surely.

Entirely possible it could have been here in very small numbers towards the end of January Rayne.

But some posters saying that we had large numbers requiring doctors treatment in November is outlandish!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,185 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Trump has never heard of Hydroxychloroquine

For all the doubters I had it back in September and I have the pictures to prove it

19ea630014dd4aae2d3986a3c227e5d6.jpg

screen-shot-2012-01-18-at-11-32-04-am.png

You can't take it away from me!

September would have been too early for a flu.

Would you be interested in going for an xray? Surely an xray would show if you have covid19 lungs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

keynes wrote: »
    It was in fact a very revealing remark. It exemplified how easily he could just "make stuff up" and purport to have expertise on an issue he knows nothing about. His additional remark about the absence of a vaccine for the 18 other coronaviruses was especially troubling in this regard

I would be amazed if Harris ever considered himself to be a virology expert.

As somebody who used to work in science, I could not care less about him not knowing how this virus got its name. It’s pretty unimportant. Knowing how many other coronaviruses have been identified - also not hugely important. What is important is what useful information has been gleaned from studying them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

domrush wrote: »
    Entirely possible it could have been here in very small numbers towards the end of January Rayne.

But some posters saying that we had large numbers requiring doctors treatment in November is outlandish!

Perhaps but given that the R0 of this virus appears to be so high now when left uncontrolled it makes me really think it was not here until late february. I think if it had been here since January I dont see how it could have spread so slowly..and then so fast in March. But then again the news of the deaths of those people in California weeks before the first confirmed death in the US makes me think otherwise

Trump has never heard of Hydroxychloroquine

I'm not watching him tonight. I just can't. Not any more. Is that what he said? He said before that he's not a doctor but he had a good feel about it?

Fcuking eejit of a man. He must be well minded in the white House the fact he's not coming down sick with the virus.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

wakka12 wrote: »
    Perhaps but given that the R0 of this virus appears to be so high now when left uncontrolled it makes me really think it was not here until late february

Multiple antibody test studies are now coming out showing that asymptomatic or very mild infection are far greater than previously known

I'm not watching him tonight. I just can't. Not any more. Is that what he said? He said before that he's not a doctor but he had a good feel about it?

Fcuking eejit of a man. He must be well minded in the white House the fact he's not coming down sick with the virus.

He denied know the guy in charge of vaccines that was fired

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭bekker

MipMap wrote: »
    https://www.pscp.tv/rtenews/1djxXQpZmPBKZ
    25 minutes in.
    Answer was waffle IMO.
    Thanks,

If there is a specific reason for a declassification then it is known at the time it is announced as a declassification and the reason should be identified, otherwise as you say it's waffle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

keynes wrote: »

It confirms what many suspect. When wall to wall news was coming out of Wuhan he wasn't paying attention. The fact he doesn't know why its called covid 19 is just pathetic.

Stheno wrote: »
    Multiple antibody test studies are now coming out showing that asymptomatic or very mild infection are far greater than previously known

Far greater but still not very high..imo anyway. The tests in LA and San Diego showed 5.2% at the very highest, obviously much more than has been confirmed but its not a very big percent of the population. It was also a very biased study, skewed towards testing people who believed they had had COVID already.

The other test that I know of is the German one in Gangelt and that is a very hard hit epicentre town and only revealed infection rates of 15% , not very high for an epicentre either

Far greater but still not very high..imo anyway. The tests in LA and San Diego showed 5.2% at the very highest, obviously much more than has been confirmed but its not a very big percent of the population. It was also a very biased study, skewed towards testing people who believed they had had COVID already.

5.2% of the population is what you mean were found to have had it, is that right?

He denied know the guy in charge of vaccines that was fired

I'm not missing much so. Just, more bullsh1t from the senile old man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭domrush

Perhaps but given that the R0 of this virus appears to be so high now when left uncontrolled it makes me really think it was not here until late february. I think if it had been here since January I dont see how it could have spread so slowly..and then so fast in March. But then again the news of the deaths of those people in California weeks before the first confirmed death in the US makes me think otherwise

I agree, however when dealing in very small numbers statistical error is much larger. I think it is unlikely but it is possible it was here in late Jan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭bekker

Its getting so much more harder to believe them Chinese case numbers. Their first case was in November and 2 months later they lock down at 1000 cases.

Here at home we got our first confirmed case on the first of March or there abous. We are about 6 weeks I'm down the line from the first case and we have over 16000 cases.
    Just stop and think for a moment, their first case of what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,147 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

September would have been too early for a flu.

Would you be interested in going for an xray? Surely an xray would show if you have covid19 lungs.

Confirmed not covid

Xray+of+kermit+the+frog+xray+of+kermit+the+froghttplachanecom_2f3878_3883019.jpg

5.2% of the population is what you mean were found to have had it, is that right?

Yes.
    5.2% was the very highest estimate though, bare in mind. I think it was a range of 2-5%

EDIT: Not even that high, 4.2% was the highest estimate based on that study
    'Fifty antibody tests were positive—about 1.5%. But after adjusting the statistics to better reflect the county’s demographics, the researchers concluded that between 2.49% and 4.16% of the county’s residents had likely been infected.
    '

https://www.sciencemag.org/news/2020/04/antibody-surveys-suggesting-vast-undercount-coronavirus-infections-may-be-unreliable

It confirms what many suspect. When wall to wall news was coming out of Wuhan he wasn't paying attention. The fact he doesn't know why its called covid 19 is just pathetic.

This is so weird to me. Why is the understanding the name important? When I was working with different bacteria and bacterial strains, their names were of little interest to me. They’re named after all kinds of different things - years, sequentially, whatever. It’s just a name. You have to call them something. We didn’t dwell on why they were called what they were because it wasn’t of much interest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

I would be amazed if Harris ever considered himself to be a virology expert.

As somebody who used to work in science, I could not care less about him not knowing how this virus got its name. It’s pretty unimportant. Knowing how many other coronaviruses have been identified - also not hugely important. What is important is what useful information has been gleaned from studying them.

I'm not political and what we're going through should be above politics, but he is THE MINISTER FOR HEALTH! He never was and still is not, fit to be a minister. He should be a laughing stock for saying this were it not so very serious. There is nothing to be gained at the moment from going after him, but I hope to Hell that they are keeping him away from serious decisions. And anybody who defends him is putting party before pandemic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

This is so weird to me. Why is the understanding the name important? When I was working with different bacteria and bacterial strains, their names were of little interest to me. They’re named after all kinds of different things - years, sequentially, whatever. It’s just a name. You have to call them something. We didn’t dwell on why they were called what they were because it wasn’t of much interest.

But would you have inferred false information from the names?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,667 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Surely xrays on them Vapers would have showed damage to lungs like the covid19 damage.

The damage was similar. One teenager had to get a lung transplant because of it. They had traced it back to some additive in certain vapes though, pretty sure they know it wasn't caused by a virus. Also the vaping illness mainly affected young people which the opposite of covid19

But it’s also because symptoms of EVALI are similar to those of flu and other respiratory illnesses — including cough, shortness of breath, chest pain, fever, fatigue, and hazy spots on an X-ray.

“It is currently very hard for us to tell the difference between pneumonia and vaping related lung injury,” said Dr. Alicia Briggs, chair of pediatrics at Norwalk Hospital and a pediatric hospitalist at Connecticut Children’s

polesheep wrote: »
    I'm not political and what we're going through should be above politics, but he is THE MINISTER FOR HEALTH! He never was and still is not, fit to be a minister. He should be a laughing stock for saying this were it not so very serious. There is nothing to be gained at the moment from going after him, but I hope to Hell that they are keeping him away from serious decisions. And anybody who defends him is putting party before pandemic.

I don’t know why that makes not knowing exactly what the virus name means important. What’s important is what is discovered about it. Viruses and bacteria are just given names, using different systems. Nobody who works with them gives the names much thought because it’s not that interesting or important.