Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it just me or have SF vanished?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Mortelaro

McMurphy wrote: »
    Are you even slightly suggesting his opinion on the nursing homes is incorrect? No skirting around the edges of the answer - a simple yes or no will do, and I stand over my comparison.
    It's just an opinion
    As for the comparison with Maurice McCabe,you'll have to elaborate with facts,not spoof
    He has spoke out against the regime - is character assassination now the M.O?
    The Regime?
    Are you writing a Clancy novel
    You don't need to look very far on this site to discover McCabe was only a disgruntled loose canon when he emerged to speak ill of what was going on at the top.

Atom bomb and Lough Neagh my hole - you sir can get the fcuk up the yard.

You dont like opinions contrary to your own
    When you come across those or are contradicted and have no answer,you just try F and blind your way out of it
    That much I have discovered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Mortelaro wrote: »
    It's just an opinion
    As for the comparison with Maurice McCabe,you'll have to ela6with facts,not spoof

You dont like opinions contrary to your own
    When you come across those or are contradicted and have no answer,you just try F and blind your way out of it
    That much I have discovered

You did skirt around the edge and not answer.

Now feign shock at the word fcuk.

Lol.

You did skirt around the edge and not answer.

Now feign shock at the word fcuk.

Lol.

I said it was an opinion
    Now you back up the Maurice McCabe accusation instead of spoofing

I said it was an opinion
    Now you back up the Maurice McCabe accusation instead of spoofing

I Asked you if you thought his opinion was wrong, you said it was just an opinion - no sh1t Sherlock pass me the smelling salts..

As for McCabe - he was also only a disgruntled loose canon with an axe to grind with an opinion at the beginning too to some on here.

What more proof would you like?

I get that it's prob a tough and thankless job spending all day defending the more often than not ineptness of this caretaker regime, but your asking for proof of things the world and it's dog already know about.

Marcus de Brun has criticised some aspects of the handling of this pandemic, posters on the internet are for some reason mentioning that he wrote a piece on herd immunity. And what? Are we to discount everything or anything else he says now? You suggest he is just a disgruntled gp with an opinion.

A short time ago Varadkar made claims about a mortuary in Waterford which he was later forced to issue a grovelling apology on, admitting he got it wrong. I don't think that's got anything to do with his thoughts on the health pandemic we now face, if I did everytime he releases s statement or reads someone else's carefully penned script - are we to say "isn't he the ex medic who made untrue claims about the mortuary in Waterford" course not.

Maurice McCabe spoke out about some aspects of the higher echelons of the Gardai and misconduct and corruption among lower ranks. People on the internet tried to discredit him as some crackpot loose canon with an axe to grind, and there was a legal strategy to discredit him.

McCabe only had opinions and accusations at the beginning too.

I repeat, Lough Neagh and atom bombs my hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,935 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Where are yous going to find 20billion in that??

Prsi is generally regarded as an income tax,as is usc.....telling people yous not increasing income tax and ramping up either of them is a bullshh1t half truth move??

Cant speak for rest of country,but busineeses were already closing up in my local town due to high rates,and given the amount of illegal fags about and home drinking that geos on (even before lockdown),i qs if we are not already at tipping point as regards how much can be got from those sectors

Though id love to see suger,hugge tax on take aways (junk food etc) aswell as alcohol tax move to a unit alcohol rate vs flat rate

I am just pointing out what they said, incidentally they did say no increase in USC as well as income tax, but they didn’t say no increase in PRSI.

I wasn’t talking about business rates, we say see domestic rates again, there are plenty of ways to raise money if you are inventive.

blanch152 wrote: »
    I am just pointing out what they said, incidentally they did say no increase in USC as well as income tax, but they didn’t say no increase in PRSI.

I wasn’t talking about business rates, we say see domestic rates again, there are plenty of ways to raise money if you are inventive.

I dont think theres 20 billion to take out of econmy tbh

Like lads were ready to lose their sh1t at 4 billion shinnerz proposed to fund their manifesto (out of what was thrivibg ecommy)....now we're all down for taking 20 billion out....wild

Are you even slightly suggesting his opinion on the nursing homes is incorrect? No skirting around the edges of the answer - a simple yes or no will do, and I stand over my comparison.

You don't need to look very far on this site to discover McCabe was only a disgruntled loose canon with an axe to grind etc etc when he emerged to speak ill of what was going on at the top.

There was even a legal strategy to try and discredit him FFS.

Atom bomb and Lough Neagh my hole - you sir can get the fcuk up the yard.

So you agree with Dr. de Brun that the lockdown should be lifted so that resources can be prioritised to protect nursing homes, while the rest of us pursue a herd immunity strategy?

Yes or no?

This is not a Maurice McCabe issue, this is a difference of medical opinion, if you choose one opinion, choose it.

I dont think theres 20 billion to take out of econmy tbh

Like lads were ready to lose their sh1t at 4 billion shinnerz proposed to fund their manifesto....now we're all down for taking 20 billion out....wild

Who said we were taking 20 billion out of the economy, that was your number, not mine.

The deficit is projected at 20 billion (well 23)

Unless your planning to borrow to fund current spending....which would be hilariously hypocritical of you to critise shinnerz for proposing it previously??

The deficit is projected at 20 billion (well 23)

Unless your planning to borrow to fund current spending....which would be hilariously hypocritical of you to critise shinnerz for proposing it previously??

Economic growth will close a lot of the gap.

I Asked you if you thought his opinion was wrong, you said it was just an opinion - no sh1t Sherlock pass me the smelling salts..

As for McCabe - he was also only a disgruntled loose canon with an axe to grind with an opinion at the beginning too to some on here.

What more proof would you like?

I get that it's prob a tough and thankless job spending all day defending the more often than not ineptness of this caretaker regime, but your asking for proof of things the world and it's dog already know about.

Marcus de Brun has criticised some aspects of the handling of this pandemic, posters on the internet are for some reason mentioning that he wrote a piece on herd immunity. And what? Are we to discount everything or anything else he says now? You suggest he is just a disgruntled gp with an opinion.

A short time ago Varadkar made claims about a mortuary in Waterford which he was later forced to issue a grovelling apology on, admitting he got it wrong. I don't think that's got anything to do with his thoughts on the health pandemic we now face, if I did everytime he releases s statement or reads someone else's carefully penned script - are we to say "isn't he the ex medic who made untrue claims about the mortuary in Waterford" course not.

Maurice McCabe spoke out about some aspects of the higher echelons of the Gardai and misconduct and corruption among lower ranks. People on the internet tried to discredit him as some crackpot loose canon with an axe to grind, and there was a legal strategy to discredit him.

McCabe only had opinions and accusations at the beginning too.

I repeat, Lough Neagh and atom bombs my hole.

you are spoofing on a Mccabe comparison for manufactured drama

As regards the Gp's opinions, they are his
    You know I don't agree,
    You are spoofing too that me not agreeing wasn't already clear and in some poor attempt to camouflage the fact I asked you to back up your impossible to back up claim

My opinion is ,the emergency has been Sudden,we are not doing too bad relatively given that
    No drama,sorry about that

Not before september....im going off figures supplied by dept of finance,which have accounted for pent up demand (defict for 2021 put at 13 billion btw)

What are you basing,yours on??

Not before september....im going off figures supplied by dept of finance,which have accounted for pent up demand (defict for 2021 put at 13 billion)

Oh sorry, I didn’t realise that you were equating a once in a century emergency with the implementation of the Sinn Fein manifesto, but now that I think about it, I realise that they are the same thing.

Hmmm.....except im not,(try to.concentrate kid)?

Il ask again......are you dispite years of lambasting SF for similar proposal,now saying we should borrow to fund current spending??

Because your plan to stick few quid on excise duty hasnt a hope in jaysus of raising 20 billion

Not before september....im going off figures supplied by dept of finance,which have accounted for pent up demand (defict for 2021 put at 13 billion btw)

The bulk of this years CBD increase not being added to next year because growth is predicted to be 7% ish and most of those on covid 19 payments will be back in work-ending that drain
    Meanwhile Ireland's super reputation in the markets means we can borrow for capital projects ie for stimulus

you are spoofing on a Mccabe comparison for manufactured drama

I'll bite. Spoofing what about exactly?

Just a heads up, I may not get to answer you until morning, 12hr day at work today and prob the same tomorrow, early start certainly - home time dictated by what comes up during the day.

Either way I'm not losing sleep over this, but lay out any inaccuracies you feel I have made about McCabe, I'll be back to address them in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,071 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Are you aware what is going on at the moment?

The bulk of this years CBD increase not being added to next year because growth is predicted to be 7% ish and most of those on covid 19 payments will be back in work-ending that drain
    Meanwhile Ireland's super reputation in the markets means we can borrow for capital projects ie for stimulus

I am going solely off dept finance figires,which outline the 23 billion this year and 13 billion deficits next year

I have no issue,with borrowing to build/fund things of value....but i think its gross hyprocrisy to critise 1 crowd for doing it,and everyone fall blindly inline cheerlead when another deos it??

A wee bit of consistancy is least anyone can expect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,331 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

Whelo79 wrote: »
    Can you still not muster up an answer to the question, no?

I can, and its an easy answer.

SF can either, support the current care-taker government in its efforts to try and beat this pandemic or if they think they cannot do that, try and form an alternative working government.

It.is.that.simple

What people don't appreciate is the opposition by tweet style of politics that some SF TD's are engaging in.
    Some are peddling falsehoods and fake news on twitter
    Some are peddling fear on twitter
    Some are giving out about a possible FF/FG arrangement (while doing nothing to form an alternative may I add)

And that is not even mentioning their vocal MAGA type Trumpian supporters online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,331 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

No mark, all I was doing was commenting on the reported number of deaths and how they were the highest in a single day,.

No, you were trying to use the death of 77 people as a wedge to drive home some political points.

Pretty much all your posts are like this lately, and I believe if it meant more damage to FG you would secretly like the death rate to be even higher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭all about the mane

markodaly wrote: »
    No, you were trying to use the death of 77 people as a wedge to drive home some political points.

Pretty much all your posts are like this lately, and I believe if it meant more damage to FG you would secretly like the death rate to be even higher.

Not even secretly.

When it was pointed out that the figures were not from the one day, he went on to say 'but if they were from the one day'!

Wishing for the worst. Absolutely pathetic.

Not even secretly.

When it was pointed out that the figures were not from the one day, he went on to say 'but if they were from the one day'!

Wishing for the worst. Absolutely pathetic.

I think I'll somehow get over yours and our resident partitionist corpse wavers opinion of me,
    It'll be a struggle no doubt, but means must. /Rolls eyes

Lest we forget the title and the purpose of the thread, MLMD was on with Ivan Yates last night, and was trending on twitter soon after.

There doesn't seem to be much appetite from the Greens/Socdems or labour at taking the judas gold and becoming scapegoats, the last I was reading a rural group of independents voiced some interest in making themselves available, which includes (wait for it) MHR + DHR who has straight off said no to any notion of raising carbon taxes (greens gone) and Michael Collins, who was responsible for pulling the rug from under FG last time (a cork man by the name of Michael Collins, some irony) and Matty McGrath.

I don't see any problems down the line with any of them lads if they get them onboard. /Sarcasm.

Blanch to start the official canonisation of them all in 1.....2......3.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,343 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

Lest we forget the title and the purpose of the thread, MLMD was on with Ivan Yates last night, and was trending on twitter soon after.

There doesn't seem to be much appetite from the Greens/Socdems or labour at taking the judas gold and becoming scapegoats, the last I was reading a rural group of independents voiced some interest in making themselves available, which includes (wait for it) MHR + DHR who has straight off said no to any notion of raising carbon taxes (greens gone) and Michael Collins, who was responsible for pulling the rug from under FG last time (a cork man by the name of Michael Collins, some irony) and Matty McGrath.

I don't see any problems down the line with any of them lads if they get them onboard. /Sarcasm.

I can imagine Healy-Rae, "we will be putting farty cints on a litre of deeshel and pitril, but takin the tax of tha drink you can have a few pints and drive home afterwards no bother".

Tbf FG are about to put em into power

Though i always felt,if mikey healy-rae got a bit of media training/backing of a larger party,he would make a reasonably good politian

Danny healy-rae shouldnt be anywhere near leinster house alright mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,343 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

Tbf FG are about to put em into power

Though i always felt,if mikey healy-rae got a bit of media training/backing of a larger party,he would make a reasonably good politian

Danny healy-rae shouldnt be anywhere near leinster house alright mind

These men aren't to be taken lightly, very successful business men and they have Co Kerry sown up.

FF have been in terminal decline since their father left his post as director of elections

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

markodaly wrote: »
    I can, and its an easy answer.

SF can either, support the current care-taker government in its efforts to try and beat this pandemic or if they think they cannot do that, try and form an alternative working government.

It.is.that.simple

What people don't appreciate is the opposition by tweet style of politics that some SF TD's are engaging in.
    Some are peddling falsehoods and fake news on twitter
    Some are peddling fear on twitter
    Some are giving out about a possible FF/FG arrangement (while doing nothing to form an alternative may I add)

And that is not even mentioning their vocal MAGA type Trumpian supporters online.

Fine Gael are vastly more like trump than SF. Sure wasn't leo himself joking about fixing wind mill planning permission for the Donald?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

There doesn't seem much interest from any of those parties at being government. If they reject the current proposals I would like to see them finally create an alliance with SF for the next v election.

Otherwise what's the point in them.....

Let's also remember SF said in the debates they also don't believe in a carbon tax, its not all the Healy Rae's.

I think I'll somehow get over yours and our resident partitionist corpse wavers opinion of me,
    It'll be a struggle no doubt, but means must. /Rolls eyes

Ah yes, the last refuge of the defeated Sinn Fein argument - label those who differ as partitionists.

You know it used to upset me, it is both a lie and derogatory, however I have since come to see it as representing QED for dismissal of the latest nonsensical republican argument.