Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of restrictions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Breezin

road_high wrote: »
    I think it's the first time ever in their meaningless lives that they think they have some little control over others. If you're long term unemployed/under employed by choice this lockdown had many benefits as validation of their laziness. If you do very little bar go up and down to Tesco and the offie/take aways then the impact would be fairly minimal.
    Can spot the types on social media. Usually with a very classy "Staythe****athome" strap line on their profiles.

So true! The contagion of the STFAH little Hitlers is quite a thing. Not sure it's confined to the unemployed though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,105 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

awec wrote: »
    Non-emergency hospital treatment is going to be very limited in either scenario I would think. The priority for the next few years will be maximising capacity for covid to try minimise the restrictions required in society.

We’re still going to be very restricted compared to what we deem normality, but it’ll be a more sustainable level rather than what we have today. A better balance between safety and the need to get people working again.

We won't need any restrictions on anyone if the virus isn't circulating. Not sealing our borders has been the huge mistake in this lockdown and not having them welded shut by the 5th of may will be the worst mistake of all. We have to forget about foreign travel and tourists for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,102 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

awec wrote: »
    Non-emergency hospital treatment is going to be very limited in either scenario I would think. The priority for the next few years will be maximising capacity for covid to try minimise the restrictions required in society.

We’re still going to be very restricted compared to what we deem normality, but it’ll be a more sustainable level rather than what we have today. A better balance between safety and the need to get people working again and society functioning again.

It’ll take many months of gradual change to figure out what this new reality is, it’s not going to happen instantly at the start of May.

Yeah I suppose that's what we're looking at. Years of this kind of thing. It's incredible to think some people imagine we'll go back to relative normality next month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,886 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Breezin wrote: »
    So true! The contagion of the STFAH little Hitlers is quite a thing. Not sure it's confined to the unemployed though.

No definitely not just them. But generally people that live fairly closed lives with limited educational and career experiences. They feel on one level this is a leveller. I can see it from the comments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

The phrase 'misery loves company' is very apt.

These past few weeks has really been an eye-opener at the amount of people with absolutely nothing of value on their lives, constantly logged onto social media and braying for tighter and tighter lockdowns.

They need to realise the rest of us are not going to live in their fear-caves with them

There is a cohort in modern society that already live their lives in a kind of lockdown. OCD is rampant among them. They welcome a general lockdown where everyone is in the same boat. It is a strange feature of the human race that we often take comfort in knowing that others are in the same boat. This cohort has ben shouting loudly and getting lots of attention for a few weeks now, but the wheel is turning and we'll soon be back to some level of normality.

polesheep wrote: »
    There is a cohort in modern society that already live their lives in a kind of lockdown. OCD is rampant among them. They welcome a general lockdown where everyone is in the same boat. It is a strange feature of the human race that we often take comfort in knowing that others are in the same boat. This cohort has ben shouting loudly and getting lots of attention for a few weeks now, but the wheel is turning and we'll soon be back to some level of normality.

Yes interestingly that cohort are the ones shouting to extend the lockdown. That is what I am talking about, they take selfish comfort bringing the rest of us down to their level of sub existence.
    To me this isn't living, I find it dreafuL, wasteful and can't wait for it to end as per medics advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,377 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Yes interestingly that cohort are the ones shouting to extend the lockdown. That is what I am talking about, they take selfish comfort bringing the rest of us down to their level of sub existence.
    To me this isn't living, I find it dreafuL, wasteful and can't wait for it to end as per medics advice.

Who is shouting to extend the lockdown? I've not seen that anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

No offence to your Mrs specifically but a big part of me is furious about this. We're all doing this for vulnerable people and old people are the biggest vulnerable group. It's not about not wanting to use technology, it's their civic duty to figure it the fcuk out so they can at least do their bit to help save the nation.

Big part of me thinks that if old people couldn't be arzed learning to use an app to help get through the COVID crisis, they they can shape up or ship out.

Anyone who couldn't be arzed to learn to use an app that will help get us through this crisis, is no addition to the country.

Do old people even realise that they're the main group were doing all this for? The entire nation putting everything on hold, mainly for them. Bet they can't wait to get back out and vote for the same old political parties that will shaft the young and really stick the boot in after everyone gave up so much to keep them safe.

I really hope old people get with programme and learn to use the bloody app.

It would be a logistically nightmare, a lot of the older generation do not even have up to date smartphones, plus this app your talking about would be dependent on gps data being on the whole time which is massively battery heavy and data heavy, then do you really want your every step traced. You might say you are fine with it, but hundreds of thousands would not be. It would be impossible to enforce.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

Unfortunately, it's everywhere in society. The lowest common denominator approach. We see it in education, TV, literature, etc. We seem to be going through a period that is the opposite of the Enlightenment.

We won't need any restrictions on anyone if the virus isn't circulating. Not sealing our borders has been the huge mistake in this lockdown and not having them welded shut by the 5th of may will be the worst mistake of all. We have to forget about foreign travel and tourists for a while.

Do you intend on blocking all exports and imports in and out of the country as well, this is what sealing our borders will do.

Get onto social media- Indo, Journal.ie etc all the usual suspects. I suspect they'll become more vocal once early May draws nearer.

The app was a non runner, was it scarlet fever or something they used to mark peoples foreheads so you'd know someone has had it. That requires a ridiculous amount of fast testing in this day and age though.

There is about 73 thousand posts in this forum saying the lockdown will not be relaxed on may the 5th.

Yeah I suppose that's what we're looking at. Years of this kind of thing. It's incredible to think some people imagine we'll go back to relative normality next month.

I don't know if anyone is advocating a total lifting of protective measures. Most here are seeking a rethink of the draconian sledgehammer approach that our government has taken.

We can see now, comparing with Sweden, that the policy here has been a massive over-reaction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

niallo27 wrote: »
    It would be a logistically nightmare, a lot of the older generation do not even have up to date smartphones, plus this app your talking about would be dependent on gps data being on the whole time which is massively battery heavy and data heavy, then do you really want your every step traced. You might say you are fine with it, but hundreds of thousands would not be. It would be impossible to enforce.

Yes yes battery heavy so you keep saying.

I would have absolutely no problem with my every step being traced tbh if it's for the benefit of us all.

Unfortunately, it's everywhere in society. The lowest common denominator approach. We see it in education, TV, literature, etc. We seem to be going through a period that is the opposite of the Enlightenment.

Controversial and not PC to say- but probably a function of our massive welfare states and whom it favours as regards reproducing children/offspring. The better educated are having less children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I don't know if anyone is advocating a total lifting of protective measures. Most here are seeking a rethink of the draconian sledgehammer approach that our government has taken.

We can see now, comparing with Sweden, that the policy here has been a massive over-reaction.

Comparing to other coutnries it's not, presenting the hypothesis that comparing nations is a fallacy.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Do you intend on blocking all exports and imports in and out of the country as well, this is what sealing our borders will do.

No just people. You can still come in but expect to spend at least 14 days locked into an apartment somewhere on arrival.
    It's the only way to kill the virus, if it's not active in the population it's not active, it's really that simple.
    It sure beats lockdowns, I've no issue with not being allowed leave the island.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

There is nothing draconian about it. People are still out and about with no temperature checks or mask enforcement. It is a soft lockdown.

BanditLuke wrote: »

I would have absolutely no problem with my every step being traced tbh if it's for the benefit of us all.

I would. That's a massive invasion of privacy and liberty and who knows how it would be used. No thanks, Gardai asking people where they're going is more than enough for me. Don't need my phone doing that too and feeding to others.

There is nothing draconian about it. People are still out and about with no temperature checks or mask enforcement. It is a soft lockdown.

All non essential business focred to close. Travel severely restricted via legislation. Of course this is draconian.
    I'd gladly take temp checks if it meant liberty could return.

I think it's a good thing that there is a rise in community spirit in response to a real threat. That's what the Brits miss most about their lovely war (!) but it also is what brought about the 20th century's political advances.

The danger with community spirit is that we have these self-selecting zealots who are first in the queue to get measured for a vigilante uniform. The STFAH at home merchants, as described earlier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,102 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Ah look, Zuckerberg knows where most people are all the time anyway. If we can give government temporary permission to have that kind of data to get through the current situation, yeah I'd be OK with that. Honestly, I'd also be OK with compelling other people to give the same information for the same time - all dependant on it being very useful to get through the situation

I'd extend the same sentiment to those who are more precious about their data a an the safety of the nation. They, along with anyone who can't be bothered to learn to use an app, can shape up or ship out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭Mic 1972

Correct. So much drama for not being able to go to the pub or have bbqs

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,045 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

I imagine there's massive legal hurdles to enforcing a app, right up potentially to a constitutional level. Even if the legal issues are cleared, you'll have people saying they :

* can't afford a phone with GPS
    * can't work it for whatever reason
    * can't afford a data plan that they'd say they need
    * turning their phone's GPS off and claiming, if questioned, that their GPS stopped working or their phone's battery died

Enforcing that is going to be a nightmare and some of those objectors will be the very ones who would openly flout any social distancing recommendations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭Mic 1972

Everybody wants to go back to normality, what's your point exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,260 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

I would have no problem either , if it means I can see my family I dont care what app they use .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Gael23 wrote: »
    There are hundreds of empty hospital beds in the system which makes these restrictions harder to take
    Gael23 wrote: »
    My understanding was that the reason for these measure was to protect hospitals but there turns out to be plenty of capacity

These comments shows how fooking little you know and it is the type of comments the dump the restrictions brigade chomp on about.

Acute hospitals have pushed some existing patients out to other hospitals.
    Firstly to make room and also to prevent existing patients possibly contracting the virus.
    This is a two edged sword since the patients may already have it and then be actually a carrier into a non acute hospital.

Also elective treatment in hospitals have been almost totally cut so you have no new admissions and the admittance from A&E has fallen off a cliff since every Tom, Dick and Mary is not now being sent to A&E by GPs.

And ordinary hospital bed numbers was never going to be the issue.
    All you were ever going to really give a patient at a normal ward bed was oxygen from a flowmeter.
    Maybe attachment to a portable vent if you had one to spare.

It is ICU beds that was and are going to be the issue.
    And it is what the Dept of Health, HSE, government and anyone with a bit of cop on are trying to ensure are not overrun.

That was what happened in Italy and why doctors had to triage patients basically consigning those older ones to death as they simply did not have the capacity to help them.

It is shyte like this being uttered by eejits that haven't a clue, that is resulting in yet more eejits chomping at the bit to open everything back up.

I am not allowed discuss …

Mic 1972 wrote: »
    Correct. So much drama for not being able to go to the pub or have bbqs

Or go to work, school or college.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭easypazz

Or go to work, school or college.

Or the forest, or the beach or swimming pool.