Covid19 Part XV - 15,251 in ROI (610 deaths) 2,645 in NI (194 deaths) (19/04) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,666 ✭✭✭✭briany

Trump with the gloves off from the outset.

Playing a morose numbers competition with other countries [x]

Accusing China of lying about their death figures [x]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

Christy42 wrote: »
    At no point where we told that 15000 would be happening. It was described as a worst case scenario. Then doom merchants ran with it as guaranteed fact.

It is very very likely there was in fact 15000 cases here by the end of March but they didn't have the test or lab capacity to find them.

Theres a general rule of thumb, deaths × 100 to give you total infections. So whatever deaths were late march/early April, multiply by 100.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

Trump Buzzword Bingo (updated)

-Great
    -Greatest
    -Big/Bigger/Biggest
    -Ventilator
    -Fantastic
    -Incredible
    -FEMA
    -Tremendous
    -Beautiful
    -Phenomenal
    -Spectacular
    -Strong
    -Army Corps of Engineers
    -Working Very Hard
    -rich
    -Like nobody ever seen before
    -Fake nuzz
    -2.2 Million Deaths
    -Who would have thought
    -People can’t believe
    -Amazing
    -Like you wouldn't believe/ thought possible
    -Billions and billions and billions
    -Brilliant
    -We have/are the best...
    -in history
    -Believe me
    -My gut
    -Number 1 in the world
    -look at the numbers
    -They're doing a great job
    -This country is great
    -nobody like us, not even close
    -CHI-NAH
    -Hidden/Invisible Enemy
    -WHO
    -We are not happy about it
    -Good shape
    -Powerful
    -Millions
    -Take advantage of us
    -best in the world
    -more than any other country in the world (usually a lie)
    -A lotta people are saying/somebody said (followed by misinformation from Fox News)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

$350billion spent, an expensive problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,811 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

He's calling it "The Plague"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

The King Of Ventilators.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭Curious_Case

"More than double (pause) that's more than 2 times actually"

There's no stopping this man, he's on fire tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,666 ✭✭✭✭briany

Whatever number of deaths the U.S. is at by November, Trump's going to call it a huge win, and claim that it would have been double under 'Crooked Hillary'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭ElTel

deisedevil wrote: »
    How does anyone know that what number of cases there really was by the end of the month? The testing has been, and still is, no where near good enough to give a true reflection of positive cases nationwide. Even now, despite what they are saying publically through the media, nursing homes are still having to wait ages to even get a swab done on suspected cases and are being told no swab for nurses who were in contact with suspected cases, just go home for two weeks. The testing situation has never been anything like what we keep being told it would be. It's a case of over promising and under delivering time and time again. The positive case numbers have never meant a whole lot at all and our ICU numbers are the best indication of how well our restriction measures are working o would think.

I was expecting Ireland by now to be lab testing for other counties given our concentration of pharma companies. It's frustrating that these tests need special reagents/chemicals that are proprietary/secret recipes? which makes ramping up testing quickly impossible. I don't know if (similar to PPE issues) this is because of a lack of stock or these things have a use by date.

There was talk of an Irish company working on the reagent problem but have not heard anything since.

Hopefully large scale testing is part of the world's arsenal come the next pandemic war.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

awec wrote: »
    You must not have been following this thread from the start.

Ireland could announce a proven cure for Covid19 tomorrow and BanditLuke and others would be telling us all how awful it is. Total disaster.

May I present another head in the sand merchant.

They told us there was nothing to worry about when Wuhan was happening.
    We didn't need to stop flights to and from hotspots like Italy, NY and London.
    And when deaths here reached 10, 20, 30 a day we were doing great.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    Report it then!

No I won`t do that. But if anyone there spreads or contracts the virus and gets sick or worse they will have to deal with the consequences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,049 ✭✭✭growleaves

We have the best ventilators.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,382 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Wibbs wrote: »
    1) I emphasised in my area and others may differ. I live on the effin road in question and yes a week ago traffic was noticeably lighter. And when I posted that there was a car passing by every few seconds. It's tailed off now, but it's anything but a ghost road(I just now took a minute as a guide and 8 cars passed my gaff in that time). Jaysus, I'll have to effin record it next. :D A mate's take on it - and he noticed it too. His area would be far lighter in traffic normally and it's pretty much dead now - is maybe because the same road has six supermarkets within ten minutes of it and it's shopping traffic. I reckon that's it. It does tend to die right back around 9-10 and doesn't kick off in the mornings until after 10. 10:30 for the dipsos. 12:30 tomorrow. :D

Oh and by the way, in case of any further misconceptions, I have no issue with this. I'm happier to see more traffic. It feels more "normal" and that's a good thing and you couldn't be any more "socially distant" than tootling along in a car. And yes I do think restrictions should be lifted and more businesses like DIY shops and the like should be open. If supermarkets and pet shops can be open and not cause any issues, I don't see why similarly sized places couldn't be up and running. Now I would very much prefer if they added masks/mouth and nose covering in such places, like they do in many places on the continent that are starting back up again, but the gov and the HSE and many Irish folks seem to have a very negative view on that, so pigs might fly.

I think you may be right about the 6 supermarkets.

Very possibly people reacting to the long queues during the day by shopping at the later hours.

Agree about hardwares/DIY and would add garden centres. All subject to similar restrictions to supermarkets. Would give people the gear to keep busy and occupied.

Trump coming across like a half assed loan shark demanding payment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,479 ✭✭✭Be right back

growleaves wrote: »
    We have the best ventilators.

I would hate to see his worst ones!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,331 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

"More than double (pause) that's more than 2 times actually"

There's no stopping this man, he's on fire tonight
    I'm old enough to remember Ronnie Reagan in his later days as the US president and how rambling and even oddball he could be at times and regardless of his political stance that poor bugger ended up with Alzheimers a few years after. But Trump, jaysus... I give two hoots about 'Murican politics as it looks like a horribly partisan sh1tshow at that level, cannot understand why so many outside of the States gets so wound up about him and if I were American faced with the choice of Hillers or the Trump I'd have likely stayed home that day. But... jesus he is at once entertaining, scary and farcical all at the same time in a way no US President has been. That lad in the Philippines would be his match, and the other guy(s) in various Fcukknowswheristans, but...

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

He is manic tonight... the delusions of grandeur and blaming everyone else.

Someone forgot to medicate him !

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,331 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Trump coming across like a half assed loan shark demanding payment
    Fair play K, you've pretty much nailed the man's entire shtick in one sentence.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Around my area is quiet as it's a quiet estate with a lot of older people

In the town I live in you're normally be lucky to get parking on the main st but i was there yesterday and no problem

There are a few more people about but about 40% what youd normally see.

One thing that's changed in my area significantly since last week is that a lot of the pubs and restaurants announced last week that they were going to do takeaway/ delivery and that seems to have taken off, one of the more popular places in my area could not cope with orders so perhaps that's part of it?

That said there doesn't seem to be many people not doing social distancing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,814 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

This is a very sad time for people with relatives in nursing homes.
    My wife was passing our local nursing home this evening and she saw a man standing on the roof of his car looking over the wall. He was talking to someone on his phone, obviously a close relative who was in the garden, and the tears were running down his face.
    There are obviously plenty of people like him. Very sad indeed.

God, he's such a jackass :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Danzy wrote: »
    Many very frail and elderly people die within hours of contracting it, hardly showing symptoms.

Yes so sad, dying without even getting to hospital for any help or treatment, it hits some so fast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,341 ✭✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

He's calling it "The Plague"

well, it is A plague, and its the most notable one around at the moment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

God, he's such a jackass :D

I hate him. The world is facing a pandemic and all he can think of is the financial markets. If Leo stood up and spoke like that putting the banks and markets ahead of the health, safety and wellbeing of the nation, he would be fcuked out from it.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Have the US figures jumped massively due to adding in presumed cases?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,651 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

well, it is A plague, and its the most notable one around at the moment

Technically it's not. Plagues are bacterial diseases.

Stheno wrote: »
    Have the US figures jumped massively due to adding in presumed cases?

They have been adding them in at the end of the day over recent days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

"Phenomenal tests"

Please, trump, you pr1ck, shut your mouth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,341 ✭✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    Technically it's not. Plagues are bacterial diseases.

there's a plague of locusts in east Africa at the minute...

noun: plague;
    a contagious bacterial disease characterized by fever and delirium, typically with the formation of buboes ( bubonic plague ) and sometimes infection of the lungs ( pneumonic plague ).

any contagious disease that spreads rapidly and kills many people.

an unusually large number of insects or animals infesting a place and causing damage.

a thing causing trouble or irritation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

community transmission accounts for 52%, close contact accounts for 43%, travel abroad accounts for 5%