Covid19 Part XV - 15,251 in ROI (610 deaths) 2,645 in NI (194 deaths) (19/04) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,040 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Yep. And the daughter told me they were having picnics at the foot of the Rock of Cashel last weekend.

Hope you told her to cop on?

Ace2007 wrote: »
    The next of Kin would/should be made aware of the situation in the nursing home at anyone time.

So, just FYI, no they definitely are not stating anything about the virus to next of kin- the next of kin is elderly too- but I believe there's no onus on the nursing home to tell people that the virus is within the building (but quite happy to be corrected if I'm wrong here)- at least none that i know of- obviously if the client does get covid-19, then yes, next of kin will be informed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,573 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

is_that_so wrote: »
    Allegedly! Where are the pics?

Go to your local park and see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭coastwatch

No true, they know what the people want!

Yes, all of this to end.
    So do we all.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

Mic 1972 wrote: »
    There is a green in front of my house, some neighbors are having a chat right now...

Jesus H Christ. Whatever next :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,366 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Hope you told her to cop on?

She was on her way home from work and saw them there.

So, just FYI, no they definitely are not stating anything about the virus to next of kin- the next of kin is elderly too- but I believe there's no onus on the nursing home to tell people that the virus is within the building (but quite happy to be corrected if I'm wrong here)- at least none that i know of- obviously if the client does get covid-19, then yes, next of kin will be informed.

I would still think if next of kin asked the question, the nursing home would have to tell them if any resident had the virus - purely on the basis that no resident is a prisoner, and if they knew they may have the option of moving out.

I was basing my original comment on a private nursing homes communication and assumed it was standard practice as why would they bother telling people otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

No need to as it's beside the Garda station. Don't imagine what annoys you is widespread. To quote the CMO again, it's most people doing most things most of the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,544 ✭✭✭Martina1991

owlbethere wrote: »
    What's the story about contact tracing? Has it failed here in Ireland? I know someone who had to go to hospital 2 weeks ago. The person is now sick, waiting on a test. Not once was she called and notified and asked to isolate in case she was infected.

Contact tracing is performed on positive cases and contacts of known positive cases.
    If they're still waiting on a test why would they be contacted when their status is unknown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Hobgoblin11

I went out for a 5k cycle yesterday there were teenagers everywhere out breaking the curfew

Dundalk, Co. Louth

I went out for a 5k cycle yesterday there were teenagers everywhere out breaking the curfew
    What did you see again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭Red for Danger

Well, restrictions are still in place and will be till 5th May. Numbers going into hospital and ICU are stable, a key factor, testing system aiming to get to 48 hour turnaround and go back to the looser case definition. Meanwhile planning underway to decide how to get out of this, hopefully from the 5th May. And it's another lovely day!

Yeah maybe we're doing the right thing or maybe not, maybe just exhausting ourselves and money before the race has begun.
    Hard to say!don't think anyone knows.
    In 8 weeks or 7 years time we'll look back and it might appear as if some countries were spot on in their approach or it might be obvious they were luckiest or everyone might end up in the exact same boat.
    Who knows!

What did you see again?

you know it's 2km radius??

Everyone is pretty much 2 metres apart in mine. It might look busy, but when you look closer you see that social distancing is being observed

Yeah maybe we're doing the right thing or maybe not, maybe just exhausting ourselves and money before the race has begun.
    Hard to say!don't think anyone knows.
    In 8 weeks or 7 years time we'll look back and it might appear as if some countries were spot on in their approach or it might be obvious they were luckiest or everyone might end up in the exact same boat.
    Who knows!
    Stay positive!:)

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

There has been nothing close to a lockdown in Ireland and people are crying about loosing their minds.

That would be because of the memos you mentioned about the "community spread being huge"...
    Just heard there is new memos going around in the HSE today the community spread is huge and the restrictions aren't working.

They are calling vulnerable people who aren't over 70 encouraging them to cocoon.
    Unfortunately it appears to be true. I found the memo floating around myself. :eek:;)

509806.png

No need to as it's beside the Garda station. Don't imagine what annoys you is widespread. To quote the CMO again, it's most people doing most things most of the time.

Oh did it come across as if I was annoyed?

I was replying to someone saying this is a lockdown. I pointed out that local parks are packed.

It's not a lockdown.

you know it's 2km radius??
    Yeah, I am more amused at the distance cycled and how the outraged poster was also "breaking the curfew".

Everyone is pretty much 2 metres apart in mine. It might look busy, but when you look closer you see that social distancing is being observed

Why are people calling it a lockdown then?

Positive George out today in spots!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Allegedly! Where are the pics?

I would be shocked if your local park is not very busy,honestly. Im not one to make a big fuss of this as I think most people generally keep distance and even at that a few extra infections isnt going to make much of a difference in the grand scheme of things but my two local parks which I passed through today were the absolute busiest I've ever seen them in my life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Simon Harris getting grayer by the day.

The stress on all front line workers dealing first hand with Covid-19 will haunt the world for a generation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,553 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

wadacrack wrote: »

No wonder more cases picked up. They had been testing 50k a day previously. 70k today. So 20k more for about 2k more cases

Simon Harris getting grayer by the day.

The stress on all front line workers dealing first hand with Covid-19 will haunt the world for a generation.

Yes he's completely out of his depth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,651 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Why are people calling it a lockdown then?

Because they're wrong. It isn't a lockdown and was never supposed to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Paddygreen

BanditLuke wrote: »
    Madness. Mark my words restrictions aren't going anywhere and will need to be properly enforced.

On the spot fines for first time offenders. Electronic tagging for repeat offenders. Tazer for anyone who diaobeys or doesn't comply immediately with law enforcement. The possibility of detention/internment camps for repeat offenders should also be explored. There are several possibilities that could be used for such a purpose, the marts are closed for example and could quickly be turned into secure detention facilities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Yes he's completely out of his depth

Everyone in to world is out of their depth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭Iamabeliever

Cycling - unnecessary evil?
    Don't see the point in putting yourself at risk
    Seems only logical to ban it

I would still think if next of kin asked the question, the nursing home would have to tell them if any resident had the virus - purely on the basis that no resident is a prisoner, and if they knew they may have the option of moving out.

I was basing my original comment on a private nursing homes communication and assumed it was standard practice as why would they bother telling people otherwise.

You've raised a good point Ace2007.

In my particular case, I think the elderly next of kin (spouse) is probably better off not knowing this information- it would just be too stressful. I'm pretty certain they haven't asked the question or at least I'm pretty certain the nursing home (which is private) hasn't said anything to him on covid-19 being present there in the home. I imagine they wish to limit panic and anxiety to relatives.

I actually don't know what the best practice is here in this situation- tell all next of kin many patients have died due to covid and others are affected or only communicate with those relatives who have patients/clients affected by the illness? Wouldn't mind a definitive answer if anyone out there has this knowledge and works in the industry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,948 ✭✭✭statto25

quokula wrote: »
    Other illnesses still exist. People still get the flu. Being sick doesn't automatically mean you must have this particular virus.

You don't say. My point is these tests took over 2 weeks for results to come back. One of these people visited hospital with the symptoms as they already have a serious medical condition and were very worried. A nurse and doctor told them they were sure they had it bit obviously couldn't confirm until the test came back.