Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Detailing chat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,342 ✭✭✭limnam

**** me Autobrite shipping charge to here @ £15 is expensive if your only buying something small. You can't even purchase their foam cannons from Amazon as they won't ship to Ireland or even the North.

Use Address pal or similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,504 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

Plenty of Autobrite stockists, might find cheaper shipping. Anytime I've order from UK companies shipping has been £12 or there abouts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Debub

Hi - anyone tried Blok51 in NI for delivery? they are coming out cheaper for a few things that I want to order

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭deisedav

Debub wrote: »
    Hi - anyone tried Blok51 in NI for delivery? they are coming out cheaper for a few things that I want to order

Yes usually very fast delivery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭Technique

deisedav wrote: »
    Yes usually very fast delivery

Get all my stuff from them. Usually delivered in two days to Donegal.

thanks deisedav / Technique

any recommendations on a shampoo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sexual Chocolate

limnam wrote: »
    Use Address pal or similar.

That seems the best option and cheaper. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭deisedav

Debub wrote: »
    thanks deisedav / Technique

any recommendations on a shampoo?

Bilt hamber auto wash is a good one and very economical. If you want more suds chemical guys mr pink is good too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sexual Chocolate

And Autobrite have run out of lances just after I set up my Address Pal. God knows when they'll have them back as there supposedly made in Italy.

I seen Amazon have one called Detailers United for about £26 but a few people have mentioned in the reviews about assembly and having to use gaffer tape on the threads or something. Bit off putting.

Want to keep the budget under €40 ideally for one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,690 ✭✭✭✭vectra

And Autobrite have run out of lances just after I set up my Address Pal. God knows when they'll have them back as there supposedly made in Italy.

I seen Amazon have one called Detailers United for about £26 but a few people have mentioned in the reviews about assembly and having to use gaffer tape on the threads or something. Bit off putting.

Want to keep the budget under €40 ideally for one.

Here you go > https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Autobrite-Direct-Heavy-Duty-Snow-Foam-Lance-Karcher-Fitting-K-Series-K4-K5/323864937692?epid=18034415061&hash=item4b67dac4dc:g:AHIAAOSwy1ZdSWI5&shqty=1&isGTR=1#shId

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭Duff

What do ye lads make of this bundle? https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/16-Piece-Duren-Dual-Action-DA-240v-Random-Orbital-Polisher-Sander-Kit/391860865678

It's for a friend who has seen my detailing escapades recently on social media and asked me to help him find a ''cheap but good polisher''. Reason I linked that one is because it comes with 3 different backing plates included which would be handy. Would 600W be enough power for paint correction? He would be more of a weekend warrior than an enthusiast so don't think he'd budget for a DAS 6 Pro or similar :pac:

Duff wrote: »
    What do ye lads make of this bundle? https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/16-Piece-Duren-Dual-Action-DA-240v-Random-Orbital-Polisher-Sander-Kit/391860865678

It's for a friend who has seen my detailing escapades recently on social media and asked me to help him find a ''cheap but good polisher''. Reason I linked that one is because it comes with 3 different backing plates included which would be handy. Would 600W be enough power for paint correction? He would be more of a weekend warrior than an enthusiast so don't think he'd budget for a DAS 6 Pro or similar :pac:

I just had a look over on detailingworld and several members have bought them seem very happy with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

vectra wrote: »
    I just had a look over on detailingworld and several members have bought them seem very happy with them.

What's the pad quality like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭Duff

Cheers Vectra. Yeah, I think it looks a good bit of kit and with a few decent pads should be enough for paint correction.

What's the pad quality like?

No Idea Dave. But the guys that have them are happy.
    I can't imagine them being the best, but I guess to start with and buy a few hex pads later on to improve wouldn't be such a bad thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Wailin

Went to make an account with detailingworld recently and they refused me! Gave a list of possible reasons of which none applied to me. Weird!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Peter T

Anyone here have much experience with a foam gun that connects just to a hose ? The lock down has me out of reach from my lance and power washer. Was thinking of buying a foam gun that works off the garden hose to keep my tied over for the next few weeks.

Peter T wrote: »
    Anyone here have much experience with a foam gun that connects just to a hose ? The lock down has me out of reach from my lance and power washer. Was thinking of buying a foam gun that works off the garden hose to keep my tied over for the next few weeks.

Usually pretty crap and even worse if your mains water pressure is low.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭RoryMurphyJnr

Wailin wrote: »
    Went to make an account with detailingworld recently and they refused me! Gave a list of possible reasons of which none applied to me. Weird!

Same thing happened to me, stick with it and you'll get in eventually

Usually pretty crap and even worse if your mains water pressure is low.

That bad ? I wasn't expecting anything on par with the lance but surely could build enough foam to help lift the dirt before washing ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭Northern Monkey

Wailin wrote: »

I’ve had the same thing but got sorted today by sending them a message on Facebook. Search for “detailing world page”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,504 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

That bad ? I wasn't expecting anything on par with the lance but surely could build enough foam to help lift the dirt before washing ?

Maybe a pump sprayer and pre wash might be better option

Just found what I needed. Thanks PsychoPete

The first and last time I used one attached directly to a garden hose was years ago and it was pretty bad. The stuff just dribbled from the nozzle. I used Meguiars Hyper Wash which worked perfectly in a proper lance.

The one below is a "proper" one whereas the one I used was a cheap plastic yoke.

PsychoPete wrote: »
    Maybe a pump sprayer and pre wash might be better option

Exactly what I was about to suggest.

PsychoPete wrote: »
    Do you have any protection on the car ? Normally takes me a few minutes and one towel to dry the car. Trying to dry an unprotected car is a bit of a pain

sorry absolutely newbie - so not sure what 'protection' actually means. When I had bought the car it was nice and shiny, great beading. But my daily commute is a 100 km round rip on back roads and the car gets mucky the very next day that I wash it. I used the 'Turtle Wax Sealant Hyrdrophobic' in October, looks like that has now washed off, no beading at all these days. I don't seem to get the car clean enough to apply it again. I have now bought a snow foam attachment for my pressure washer and will be using foam/shampoo/fall out moreover/De-Tar etc to see how better I get on. Till now I was only doing 2 bucket shampoo and pressure wash. Hopefully will be get enough confidence to use a clay bar sometime this summer as the car looks like it needs one. Thanks for reading and replying - this is all quite fascinating

"Protection" means wax, sealant etc. You should clay the car as soon as you can otherwise any protection (such as the Turtle Wax you mentioned) is being applied to the bonded contaminants and it never lasts as long or gives proper beading. You need to remove these contaminants and allow the protection to bond to the clean paint. This will allow the protection to work better and last longer.

I would however bin the Turtle Wax and use a product such as Gtechniq C2V3 instead. Same idea; spray on, spread with a cloth and buff with a separate cloth.

"Protection" means wax, sealant etc. You should clay the car as soon as you can otherwise any protection (such as the Turtle Wax you mentioned) is being applied to the bonded contaminants and it never lasts as long or gives proper beading. You need to remove these contaminants and allow the protection to bond to the clean paint. This will allow the protection to work better and last longer.

I would however bin the Turtle Wax and use a product such as Gtechniq C2V3 instead. Same idea; spray on, spread with a cloth and buff with a separate cloth.

thanks - but I have a question because I am a bit confused. Someone I knew who used to do detailing in UK had told me that I should try and avoid claying a car (especially on black paint) as Clay will always scratch the paint. Only do it (very carefully) if I am getting it machine polished immediately after - is that correct?

The only reason that I haven't used Clay till now is that I am scared of scratching the paint

You're right in a way, claying should always be done before machine polishing but machine polishing isn't always done after claying. Lots of people clay their car every 6 months and don't machine polish. Use a good lubricant (like Dodo Juice Born Slippy) and it'll be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

You're right in a way, claying should always be done before machine polishing but machine polishing isn't always done after claying. Lots of people clay their car every 6 months and don't machine polish. Use a good lubricant (like Dodo Juice Born Slippy) and it'll be fine.

Also don't press hard and keep an eye for grit build up on the bar....