Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 4.0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Panda Killa

Zzippy wrote: »
    Stockpile bog roll to barter for food after the apocalypse, be grand...

Stockpile koka noodles...2 birds one stone!

FACECUTTR wrote: »
    He is definitely a sativa guy.

nGMrD.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,003 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Buer wrote: »

I'm more excited about my homebrewing equipment which is on order though. Off the gargle for 2.5 months now and decided I'll go back on it when my first batch of beer is ready which will probably be another 6 weeks or so from now. Relatively cheap to start out with a beer kit which is essentially brewing for idiots and will give me about 40 pints.

We should all strive to be more like Buer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Avocado?! In this climate?!

I'm not bothering to do any growing at this point. Using the time at home to get some projects done. Dug the garden out over the Easter break so the wife might have a shot at planting something now but I'll move onto something else for now. Hoping to redo the paving slabs on paths in the back. Just need to get a place that will deliver a few tonnes of hardcore and the slabs....

I'm more excited about my homebrewing equipment which is on order though. Off the gargle for 2.5 months now and decided I'll go back on it when my first batch of beer is ready which will probably be another 6 weeks or so from now. Relatively cheap to start out with a beer kit which is essentially brewing for idiots and will give me about 40 pints.

I would love nothing more than this right now but just dont have any space for it. Have been storing up loads of links to recipes and how tos so that as soon as I can fit it in somewhere I'm good to go. Enjoy it and let us know how you get on.

EDIT: To join together 2 conversations, I've even been looking at how to grow hops for my eventual brewing days. It can be done but takes a year or two of growing. And they need shelter from strong winds etc. Anyone any experience of this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,878 ✭✭✭b.gud

The last tweet in this thread is beautiful

https://twitter.com/DublinAirport/status/1249990114274574336?s=19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Good response but it's scary to read some of the responses below (vast minority, in fairness). There's a mix of conspiracy theorists and, well, heartless monsters who want family members/citizens thrown to the wolves in another country without any support rather than have them land back in Ireland.

When mental health professionals say that you shouldn't follow the news too much, it's this sort of rubbish that I think people need to avoid. Toxic BS where people are looking to scaremonger or foster division on the whole situation. Give me 24 hour coverage on RTE/BBC/Sky rather than one hour or reading Twitter/FB.

• Administrators Posts: 55,122 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Avocado?! In this climate?!

I'm not bothering to do any growing at this point. Using the time at home to get some projects done. Dug the garden out over the Easter break so the wife might have a shot at planting something now but I'll move onto something else for now. Hoping to redo the paving slabs on paths in the back. Just need to get a place that will deliver a few tonnes of hardcore and the slabs....

Where’d you order your home brew from?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

FB and Twitter are cesspits of misinformation. It's amazing how quickly a lot of people will believe any oul ****e on them

• Subscribers Posts: 43,266 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

It's gas, those gemmaroids are so quick to come out and shout "hoax" and see conspiracy theories in everything. Yet we'll jump both feet first into any old sh!te she said despite it being easily verified.

I think it's just a consequence of a certain minority of humans having a predisposition towards conspiracies, and the net giving them a platform.

While GoD is most probably suffering some kind of mental illness, she is at the same time vile, dangerous and reprehensible in what she posts and should be called out on it every single time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

Anyone else use wall plugs to hard wire internet connections to a computer? My wired (via wall plugs) Virgin internet drops occasionally on my desktop. Switch to Wifi, no issues. Then wired comes back within a minute or so. Happens a lot lately and I'm wondering is the issue the wall plugs or the router. It use to do it on my previous computer a lot too but that didn't have WiFi so wasn't able to switch and continue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

Synode wrote: »
    Anyone else use wall plugs to hard wire internet connections to a computer? My wired (via wall plugs) Virgin internet drops occasionally on my desktop. Switch to Wifi, no issues. Then wired comes back within a minute or so. Happens a lot lately and I'm wondering is the issue the wall plugs or the router. It use to do it on my previous computer a lot too but that didn't have WiFi so wasn't able to switch and continue.

I used to use them. The performance degraded to where it was dropping every few minutes, so I f*cked them out and just got a really long ethernet cable through the house. I recall reading up on it at the time, and it can depend on a few things (the homeplugs themselves and the wiring in the house, apparently) and it's a fairly well known thing to happen.

[edit, I accidentally a word]

• Administrators Posts: 55,122 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Yes they can be dodgy yokes.

awec wrote: »

Crowd of gringos up in Randalstown:

https://www.geterbrewed.ie/

There has been a very clear drop in the availability of brew kits and equipment though since I started looking into it. Ended up having to piece my kit together from various sections rather than buy one of the full starter kits as they were sold out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,212 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

I spent my summers working in either one cousins farm...or another's orchard....so... when I got my own house....looked at the large back garden, and knew exactly what I was going to do ....
    Concrete the whole fckin thing over...8 years later and it's the best move I ever made

Thats my kind of gardening. Going to do a complete overhaul of the backyard this summer. I plan on paving it and having a few low maintenance plants around the edges. She wanted to have some lawn, until I pointed out that she would have to mow it. Then the lawn became pointless and unnecessary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

I've always been tempted to give the home brewing a go but at the moment I'm buying directly from Irish craft beer breweries that I like.

In particular White Hag; they've a session IPA called Little Fawn that I really like. Their delivery has been pretty quick as well, all things considered. Some beer from Whiplash is next on the list, I think.

(Mods, hope this is ok? I've no affiliation, but not sure what the rules are around posting this).

aloooof wrote: »
    I've always been tempted to give the home brewing a go but at the moment I'm buying directly from Irish craft beer breweries that I like.

In particular White Hag; they've a session IPA called Little Fawn that I really like. Their delivery has been pretty quick as well, all things considered. Some beer from Whiplash is next on the list, I think.

(Mods, hope this is ok? I've no affiliation, but not sure what the rules are around posting this).

The White Hag coffee stout (Black Sow) is an absolutely lovely drink. Big fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

molloyjh wrote: »
    The White Hag coffee stout (Black Sow) is an absolutely lovely drink. Big fan.

They've a salted caramel pastry stout (??) at the moment. I ordered a case of their sours, got a notion when the weather was fine last Friday, but have never had them before. Wouldn't be for everyone, I'd imagine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Panda Killa

They've a salted caramel pastry stout (??) at the moment. I ordered a case of their sours, got a notion when the weather was fine last Friday, but have never had them before. Wouldn't be for everyone, I'd imagine.

Nicest apple sour I've tried is Olans Tart, by Kinnegar...
    White Hag have a couple of tasty lemon sours too

Coffee flavoured stout??? Salted caramel pastry stout! WTF!!! Apple and lemon flavoured beers?? Whatever happened to just having a nice cold lager or a pint of Guinness?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,741 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Are they the Virgin ones? We ended up scrapping two sets we were using and running cat5e throughout the house in the past couple of weeks. Horrible interference lately (presumably due to the amount of devices being used in the house all the time). It's a pain in the arse running the cable (in our case we had to do it outdoors as well) and terminating them, but it's well worth it to save the hassle and headache

Kinnegar is my weapon of choice. They just make fantastic beers across the board. About 5 years ago, my wife got me a selection of beers from McHugh's on my birthday including their Rustbucket ale. My world changed that day.

Hope Brewing in Kilbarrack do some great beers too. Nice to see a local beer get some traction in the market and start to pop up in off licences around the place in recent times.

There are some great options out there in Ireland at this point but the giants introducing the likes of Hop House or Cute Hoor have to have hurt them significantly. I know a good few micro breweries went under in the last few years after the emergence of such beers. The price is also always going to prevent them from reaching a wider market. White Hag have some lovely options but, even buying directly from them, it's not exactly dirt cheap. A case of 24 x 330ml is going to cost €60. Hope sell their cans for €3.33 in McHugh's on the Kilbarrack Road despite being literally 600m from the shop.

They're never going to compete with the likes of Guinness or Heineken but obviously that's not their market either. However, it must be difficult to attract many new customers in when those guys can offer a crate of their basic beer for €20-€25 in Tesco.

I used to use them. The performance degraded to where it was dropping every few minutes, so I f*cked them out and just got a really long ethernet cable through the house. I recall reading up on it at the time, and it can depend on a few things (the homeplugs themselves and the wiring in the house, apparently) and it's a fairly well known thing to happen.

[edit, I accidentally a word]

It's a known issue on powerline devices. It's an unfortunate side effect of sharing a LAN with dishwasher. I have to reboot it maybe once every 2 weeks. It's a trade off I'm willing to take being at the top of the house. I'd hate to have cat 5 cables running all over the place.

Yeah_Right wrote: »
    Coffee flavoured stout??? Salted caramel pastry stout! WTF!!! Apple and lemon flavoured beers?? Whatever happened to just having a nice cold lager or a pint of Guinness?

There are some really good, tasty beers out there. Then there's weird for the sake of weird. Most of those ones are limited editions that they put out for a run and then they're rarely seen again. I don't think they'd ever gain any traction in the market and I'd say shops only buy in a case or two.

Nice to try as a novelty but you'd never sit there and have 5 or 6. In fairness, you probably wouldn't sit in and have 5 or 6 of a good few microbrewery beers unless your aim was to get p*ssed.

On a hot summer afternoon (either of the ones we get annually are suitable), it's hard to beat an ice cold lager. Put me sitting in 30C in a square in Spain or Italy and I'll be more than happy with a pint of San Miguel. Put me in a snug in Mayo in November and I'd be hard pushed to go for anything other than a pint of Guinness.

But put me at home on a Friday evening and the kids are gone to bed and I want to relax and watch Leinstertainment? Then I'm all over the microbrews and the pursuit of hoppyness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,741 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

It's a known issue on powerline devices. It's an unfortunate side effect of sharing a LAN with dishwasher. I have to reboot it maybe once every 2 weeks. It's a trade off I'm willing to take being at the top of the house. I'd hate to have cat 5 cables running all over the place.

You'd be surprised how easy it is to hide/pin thin cat5e against a skirting board or up a wall without it being really noticeable. Takes a bit of effort though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,003 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Whiplash are fantastic. Consistently great beer. Also like Trouble Brewing, Wicklow Wolf, Ballykilcavan, Blacks of Kinsale and Rascals.
    Brewery in Sligo(?) Hopfully had a beer called Love for Sale which was lovely but I haven't seen it in ages.

I haven't drank a pint of Guinness from the London Irish sponsorship carry on with Diageo. Sticking it to them with my business of usually drinking about 4 or 5 pints of it a month...their loss.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

https://craftcentral.ie are doing deliveries for a fiver. Kinnegar sours are great. Larkins IPA is class. That is all.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,118 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

awec wrote: »

You wouldn't have heard of it

There are some really good, tasty beers out there. Then there's weird for the sake of weird. Most of those ones are limited editions that they put out for a run and then they're rarely seen again. I don't think they'd ever gain any traction in the market and I'd say shops only buy in a case or two.

Nice to try as a novelty but you'd never sit there and have 5 or 6. In fairness, you probably wouldn't sit in and have 5 or 6 of a good few microbrewery beers unless your aim was to get p*ssed.

On a hot summer afternoon (either of the ones we get annually are suitable), it's hard to beat an ice cold lager. Put me sitting in 30C in a square in Spain or Italy and I'll be more than happy with a pint of San Miguel. Put me in a snug in Mayo in November and I'd be hard pushed to go for anything other than a pint of Guinness.

But put me at home on a Friday evening and the kids are gone to bed and I want to relax and watch Leinstertainment? Then I'm all over the microbrews and the pursuit of hoppyness.

The bit in bold makes me think; Buer, my kind of people.
    The rest of it makes me think; shut up Buer!

Maybe its something about having kids that makes people go for microbreweries and weird beer. I can only think of one of my childless friends who is into all that rubbish but he was always a slave to the latest trends.

I'm a firm believer that the only time fruit should be near a beer is the lime in a bottle of Corona while my toes are in water and my ass is on the sand.

As for other strange flavours of beer, unless its a boilermaker, a depth charge or an Irish carbomb, GTFO.

Damn I want a beer :mad:

I always liken the "why cant you just drink normal beer" type argument to food. Sure pork steak might be nice, but its nicer marinated in cider. Why have the simple thing when you can combine it with something else to make it even nicer.

Coffee stouts are quite common and is a flavour combination that works. Like pork steaks and cider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

I haven't drank for about two weeks. Not missing it at all. Drinking on video calls just didn't do it for me.

The first beer when this is over will taste mighty though.