Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are you following the Lockdown rules?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

Yes, they are going out to exercise. Driving to a point within the 2km doesn't go against that. It doesn't create a greater risk of transmission which is the fundamental reason.

Is exercise limited to walking as well? Where I used to live, the house was on a terrace with no garden and on a road . If I'd had a child when I was there, would I not be allowed to drive them to the green area for exercise or would I have to tell them that they would have to walk up and down the street?

While driving they are not exercising, so they are not out for a legitimate reason while driving for that trip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,313 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

I'm following the rules as best I can. I'm still working & have to enter people's homes to make emergency repairs. I'm essential. I take every precaution that I can & I follow HSE guidelines. Unfortunately there are some right thicks on this planet that can't follow a few simple rules and keep their distance as I work.

I go to the local Centra and that's about it. I'm in the house the rest of the time. I do follow the rules and guidelines. If I get it or spread it, it will be because of homeowners that won't follow simple rules while I am there

EDIT: Went to vote but no option covers essential workers. I fully follow the rules but I'm out of the house 5 hours or more per day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,782 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

While driving they are not exercising, so they are not out for a legitimate reason while driving for that trip.

Still doesn't answer the element of intent it does against. The basis for the guidance is to minimise risk of transmission. If the poster has to drive 1km to exercise within the guidelines, nothing about that drive goes against the principles of the guidance because they are not creating a bigger risk of transmission than they would have had they walked there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,193 ✭✭✭screamer

Fully. I shop once a week on click and collect so never even inside the shop, and I have my freezer stocked. I’d be happy to shop even less frequently if I had storage for it. Stay home, kids in garden, no walks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

Still doesn't answer the element of intent it does against. The basis for the guidance is to minimise risk of transmission. If the poster has to drive 1km to exercise within the guidelines, nothing about that drive goes against the principles of the guidance because they are not creating a bigger risk of transmission than they would have had they walked there.

The intent is to be inside your home unless you are out for a listed exception. Brief exercise is an exception. Driving to the point where you take the brief exercise is not an exception.

We are going around in circles here. If you want to interpret it differently, that is your choice. But I can’t see any circumstances where this specific driving is a valid exclusion and you haven’t changed my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭paddythere

I observe the restrictions entirely apart from the 2km exercise restriction. I have my routes that I always run and I dont see any reason why I should have to stay within 2km of my house when running, in fact I think it would probably be counter-productive to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Irish_rat

Have to go to the office one day a week but try to limit distance and number of people within distance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,180 ✭✭✭1huge1

Fully,I go to the shop maybe twice a week at most.

Then maybe a short walk by myself or a run with one of my neighbours every 2 days. He lives alone but we still keep at least 2 metres from each other when we are running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

I wouldn't begrudge someone who lives on a main road driving 1km to the local park , but in Sandymount for instance they closed the local sea front car parks on the assumption that you can walk there, if you parking there you probably drove from outside the area.

If you are quantifying national risks, less car journeys mean less accidents and less headaches for the emergency and health services. if you have 2 million cars and lets say they make 2 unnecessary journeys a week, over a month that's ~16m unnecessary trips, there is an accident or 2 or possible fatality in there somewhere.

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,822 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

paddythere wrote: »
    I observe the restrictions entirely apart from the 2km exercise restriction. I have my routes that I always run and I dont see any reason why I should have to stay within 2km of my house when running, in fact I think it would probably be counter-productive to do so.

Just out interest if you met a Garda are you going to be honest with him\her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭SusanC10

SusanC10 wrote: »
    Which is a pity. Where we live the road immediately outside is not safe for walking especially with the Kids. However if I drive a short distance, the footpath starts and a short walking loop is possible. According to the 2kmfromhome App thing - all of this is within 2km.

I have been exercising using my husband's exercise equipment and doing some gardening.

I haven't left home from March 12th until today when I cracked and drove to the Bottle Bank alone. Which is against the rules.

Btw - I haven't actually driven to go for that walk yet. It was part of a discussion with my Husband after I came back from the bottle bank. Before today, I had thought that I was ok with not leaving our house and garden.

paddythere wrote: »

There is a reason - it’s what you’re supposed to do. But yeah suit yourself with the rules, it’s what we all seem to do best and why all this won’t work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,782 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

The intent is to be inside your home unless you are out for a listed exception. Brief exercise is an exception. Driving to the point where you take the brief exercise is not an exception.

We are going around in circles here. If you want to interpret it differently, that is your choice. But I can’t see any circumstances where this specific driving is a valid exclusion and you haven’t changed my opinion.

Again, that's not the intent. There's a reason that goes beyond being indoors. And driving 1km to facilitate exercise that may not otherwise be possible does not increase the risk.

But we're going around in circles...East is East etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Snails pace

I get the shopping delivered to the house and I can work away inside my own gate. Putting in more hours because there's nothing else to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭frillyleaf

I’m just curious as to why some people are breaking guidelines as most seem to be doing what we’ve been asked.

I’m not referring to people caring for other people or children etc as they have genuine reasons. Other people may live in the middle of nowhere and it may not be safe for them to walk near their homes perhaps if there are no paths etc. I’m not referring to cases such as this.

I’m referring to people that are just not taking heed of restrictions due to ‘boredom’ or ‘complacency’ who don’t seem to have a genuine reason.

Most people I know are doing what has been asked which is great to see as I understand this can be challenging at times. I understand it can be isolating etc.

However I’m surprised by some people I know who just don’t seem to be able to respect the guidelines for even just a few weeks. These people usually have cop on but they aren’t doing as they’ve been asked and don’t seem to understand they shouldn’t be calling into other people’s houses or meeting people. They still are but they think it’s ok if they ‘social distance’. They don’t think they are breaking guidelines but it can’t be any more clear.

For example, some of my family are still calling into my parents just to catch up and out of boredom. Both parents live in different houses. They are completely independent but due to unhealthy lifestyles they wouldn’t do well if the caught Covid19. I’ve explained to family members that they have underlying conditions so it would be better not to go into their homes but they are still dropping in. They think it’s ok as they wear a mask and gloves. They also feel it’s ok to stay there as they ‘stay 6 foot apart’. One parent particular has had a lot of health issues lately and even had a week stay in hospital a month ago to figure out what was going on. (this person is completely independent so siblings aren’t calling in to help etc)

Over the last couple of days one sibling was passing by my house and asked to drop in for cup of tea and said we could maintain social distancing and stay 6ft apart. I explained that I’d rather wait until restrictions are lifted and suggested we video call instead. During the week I asked one parent not to call up to house with Easter eggs, explained they would be a lovely treat when this was over in and would rather if the video called instead out of respect for people fighting this.

Yesterday they arrived up with the eggs and I had to explain I’d rather wait till after this has passed over to take them.

I’m just curious why it is so difficult for some to just do what they’ve been asked in world when we have so much entertainment and good communications though video calls etc.

Maybe they don’t think anything will happen to them? The people I know doing this also are complaining about the economy and saying we should be doing what Sweden is doing. I don’t understand the mentality.

Maybe other countries can handle this differently depending on their healthcare system but i feel ours needs time hence the restrictions in place.

I just wonder why some can’t do as they’ve been asked.

A lot of Irish people will always have the attitude of suiting themselves because “be grand”. It’s always been prevalent before this and is only amplified now.

I feel that most people are being really good and will be able to look back and feel they did their best. I just don’t understand my family being like this. We have relatives in nursing homes both of which have cases of covid in them. I’m quite surprised that they felt they weren’t breaking restrictions calling into each other if they kept 6 foot apart

You cannot legislate for ignorance and and/or entitlement. As the late John Prine sang, "that's the way the world goes round". One has to co-exist with these people for better or worse.

Yes I think it’s the sense of entitlement or that they are above everyone else.

frillyleaf wrote: »
    Yes I think it’s the sense of entitlement or that they are above everyone else.

That’s definitely the case with all those bastards that went holidaying this past weekend. Pure entitlement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭GinSoaked

Trying hard here. If I was to go to church and absolve my sins then I'd have to admit I have been talking to the neighbors in their garden and I go to two supermarkets when I go out shopping once a week. Otherwise all good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

It's not just Irish people. Aussie beaches have been busy, Kiwi rugby teams training when they shouldn't be, multiple house parties in the UK had to be broken up by police, Spanish and French cops had to practically batter people to keep them indoors when restrictions came into effect and Italy has to deal with looters on the rise. We're not that bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

It seems like some people just think the rules only apply to others but not them, and that they are somehow the exception. There is probably also a sense of "oh sure I'm only in my 30's / 40's etc. so even if I get it so what" - most people don't care that much about others. Look at the way we went on about loo roll. :o

We are abiding by restrictions, working from home, avoiding shops except for necessities, exercising locally and basically have seen nobody else for over a month.

GinSoaked wrote: »
    Trying hard here. If I was to go to church and absolve my sins then I'd have to admit I have been talking to the neighbors in their garden and I go to two supermarkets when I go out shopping once a week. Otherwise all good.

You aren’t breaking guidelines. You’re doing what you’ve been asked to do.

Antares35 wrote: »
    It seems like some people just think the rules only apply to others but not them, and that they are somehow the exception. There is probably also a sense of "oh sure I'm only in my 30's / 40's etc. so even if I get it so what" - most people don't care that much about others. Look at the way we went on about loo roll. :o

We are abiding by restrictioms, working from home, avoiding shops except for necessities, exercising locally and basically have seen nobody else for over a month.

When I hear these people complaining about damage to the economy I’m even more surprised. One of them was giving out that people’s kids are going too close to them when out on a walks and I had to point out that they themselves are breaking guidelines. I don’t understand it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭GinSoaked

frillyleaf wrote: »
    You aren’t breaking guidelines. You’re doing what you’ve been asked to do.

Shouldn't really be going to two supermarkets when I could get all my shopping in one :o But I do go early in the morning when there are very few people around where I shop.

It's not just Irish people. Aussie beaches have been busy, Kiwi rugby teams training when they shouldn't be, multiple house parties in the UK had to be broken up by police, Spanish and French cops had to practically batter people to keep them indoors when restrictions came into effect and Italy has to deal with looters on the rise. We're not that bad.

I don’t think it’s fair to compare us to Italy. They have completely different restrictions and were actually in lockdown. We are allowed leave our houses for exercise, that is a huge difference. Italy has been in lockdown much longer. These people breaking guidelines were doing it less than a week into being asked not to mix with other houses

GinSoaked wrote: »
    Shouldn't really be going to two supermarkets when I could get all my shopping in one :o But I do go early in the morning when there are very few people around where I shop.

I think that is very different to socialising!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,888 ✭✭✭✭road_high

We've been amazingly compliant and the good-will has been huge. In Irish society though there's always been a large body of virtuous do-gooders that can't help but curtail others regardless- only need to look back at the imposition of the 8th Amendment to see how it manifests itself. There's always been a certain level of begrudgery and "you must be miserable like me" bubbling away under the surface. An unprecedented event like this presents an opportunity to bring that out. With a little bit of moral superiority thrown in which is irresistible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭99nsr125

Some people resist
    Because they question
    Because freedom is something they feel more.

We need these people, they protect us from tyranny.

Ireland has few actually resisting, look at Australia or Sweden in comparison.

That in itself may demonstrate why we remained British subjects for so long.

99nsr125 wrote: »
    Some people resist
    Because they question
    Because freedom is something they feel more.

We need these people, they protect us from tyranny.

Ireland has few actually resisting, look at Australia or Sweden in comparison.

That in itself may demonstrate why we remained British subjects for so long.

And there’s your other reason - fight the gubberment because they’re all out to get you.