Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

Garda Checks

We are not going outside it for shopping. That would be ridiculous unless you live in a rural area. There isn't a need for it for us and if we can prevent it we will.

Why did he lean right into her car? He was like twelve inches from her face?

And if there is no limit why stop her in a car? She can just lie about where and why she is going and he is risking her life and his own for nothing.

Absolute stupidity.

Can he verify she will go to tescos? no. It is pointless the only reason is to create the sense of fear that you would be caught. But its not working. And its risking the lives of guards and us.

It is working. There is a lot less traffic on the roads.
    I'm not sure why you would be so against it, when it's clearly put in place for the sake of the whole country.

bubblypop wrote: »
    I'm not sure why you would be so against it, when it's clearly put in place for the sake of the whole country.

Some people will just always get their back up against perceived authority regardless of logic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,239 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

bubblypop wrote: »

If they had kept a 6ft distance I wouldn't be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,239 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Some people will just always get their back up against perceived authority regardless of logic.

mm true.

'Little Hitlers':o

Sorry ..its a mindset. I think i get it from my mom. Its what she always says.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Killinator

But they are the minority.

A minority of a very large number can still be a large number.
    I've dealt with it first hand the last couple of days so I've a decent idea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,795 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Can he verify she will go to tescos? no. It is pointless the only reason is to create the sense of fear that you would be caught. But its not working. And its risking the lives of guards and us.

Believe it or not but many wouldn't lie to a garda so will answer truthfully. And your right most will fear been interrogated by the gardai so will stay in so it has the desired effect. If you are out for a legitimate reason you have nothing to worry about. I don't get the resistance to this, its for the good of the country to comply and get this over with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,360 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

They are being idiots. They stopped my mother going to the shop well within our 2km. Asked her what she was going for etc. Leaned right into the car.:mad:

I don't believe for one second he leaned right into the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,838 ✭✭✭✭blade1

No checkpoint in my area this morning.
    I'm a bit disappointed to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,888 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

blade1 wrote: »
    No checkpoint in my area this morning.
    I'm a bit disappointed to be honest.

Just keep driving till you find one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

...and keep us updated. When you run out of petrol, we'll all do sweet FA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,897 ✭✭✭✭road_high

So. Are these police state level checks going to last for the next 3 weeks? Or was that especially for the Easter Weekend??
    Had a friend that has his boot checked for groceries bringing them to his parents. Now I’m sorry if people think that this is necessary. I don’t and think it’s completely OTT. This is the kind of rubbish northerlies catholic’s has to deal with during the Troubles

I wasn't driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,511 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

road_high wrote: »
    So. Are these police state level checks going to last for the next 3 weeks? Or was that especially for the Easter Weekend??

Afaik these special powers were granted for 4 or 5 days, to cover the Easter weekend.

That's not to say you might not meet a checkpoint this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,470 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

NIMAN wrote: »
    Afaik these special powers were granted for 4 or 5 days, to cover the Easter weekend.

That's not to say you might not meet a checkpoint this week.

Powers were extended for another 3 weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭ShyMets

The massive ramp up in checkpoints was for the Easter weekend. While checkpoints will continue I suspect they won't be as numerous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,360 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Had a friend that has his boot checked for groceries bringing them to his parents. Now I’m sorry if people think that this is necessary. I don’t and think it’s completely OTT. This is the kind of rubbish northerlies catholic’s has to deal with during the Troubles

I really isn't.

You can't compare having the RUC pointing guns in peoples faces and passing on information to loyalist death squads with a Garda checkpoint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

Ive no issue with the checkpoints.

Checking the boot for groceries is a bit much though.

I thought they were taking a more collaborative approach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,247 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Ive no issue with the checkpoints.

Checking the boot for groceries is a bit much though.

I thought they were taking a more collaborative approach.

Theyre checking the boot for suitcases, fishing gear, camping gear etc... to make sure people arent going down the country for a holiday. Happening across a load of drugs while theyre at it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Theyre checking the boot for suitcases, fishing gear, camping gear etc... to make sure people arent going down the country for a holiday. Happening across a load of drugs while theyre at it too.

[running to car to empty ketamine and coke destined for Dingle] spoilsports.

ShyMets wrote: »
    The massive ramp up in checkpoints was for the Easter weekend. While checkpoints will continue I suspect they won't be as numerous

Yeah you wont see as many but the powers have been extended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Irish_peppa

Is there an actual up to date live Ireland Covid 19 Curve chart website that is updated regularly? Where are we on this curve Ide like to be able to check each day. Looked at the HSE website loads of statistics but no curve charts:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,371 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

There is but because of that batch of test results that came back from Germany the curve is heavily skewed at this point.

You can look at this

https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/country/ireland/

I'd suggest maybe the daily new cases graph would be a better illustrator where you can somewhat block out the outlier from the results.

Or just Google coronavirus Ireland and click the statistics tab.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭d15ude

Did read anything about that.
    Do you have a link?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,897 ✭✭✭✭road_high

I really isn't.

You can't compare having the RUC pointing guns in peoples faces and passing on information to loyalist death squads with a Garda checkpoint.

The intimidation ranged from pettiness to full on collaboration in terrorism. Clearly the nonsense that is going on here is of the later variety that I am referring to.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,696 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

d15ude wrote: »
    Do you have a link?

It was confirmed by the Taoiseach when he announced the restrictions were extended to May 5th.

d15ude wrote: »
    Do you have a link?

Confirmed in the same press conference that the extension was announced in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,580 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

The intimidation ranged from pettiness to full on collaboration in terrorism. Clearly the nonsense that is going on here is of the later variety that I am referring to.

You need to have a little chat with yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭kravmaga

F.A.O.,

To any any essential workers heading northbound now be alert to a Go Safe van very discretely hidden from view at side of slip road.. The road is empty , no traffic.

Coolock/Santry interchange there is a GO Safe Speed detection van very discretely hidden at the slip road of R104 J2 as you join the M1 northbound towards the airport. Its a 80 KMPH Zone folks, be aware.

This was at 15:45hrs today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,753 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Cyclists are definitely showing how low they really are out there these days, though not surprising from a group that think rules don’t apply to them the rest of the time either. They’re easily up there with the weekend holidaymakers in all this but they seem to be getting a free pass from the Gardai.

Some cyclists are Gardai

Are Garda strict checks finishing today as Easter weekend over?

I think special needs kids autistic kids can be taken for a spin more than 2km from their homes

No matter what people tell you, words and ideas can change this World