Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XV - 15,251 in ROI (610 deaths) 2,645 in NI (194 deaths) (19/04) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,399 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

Micky 32 wrote: »
    Someone i know in his 70’s used one of those phones up until last month. Still works perfectly :-)

These days a phone may be seized as it contains material evidence, back then it was seized as it could be a murder weapon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,109 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Do you believe them?

"reported" new cases ;)

No, of course I don't believe them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cameramonkey

"reported" new cases ;)

No, of course I don't believe them.

So you think they have none?

Meanwhile in Russia (which sent shoddy equipment to Italy for propaganda purposes)

https://www.theguardian.com/world/live/2020/apr/13/coronavirus-live-news-global-cases-italy-new-york-death-tolls-slow-latest-updates

skynews-coronavirus-covid-19_4954486.jpg?20200324135440

skynews-putin-coronavirus_4954565.jpg

The virus doesn't come for Putin, Putin comes for the virus.

Someone earlier posted a link to a video with over 40 ambulances waiting outside a hospital in Moscow. With one driver saying he was waiting over 15hrs to deliver a patient. Bloody heartbreaking

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 154 ✭✭Jenbach110

Wolf359f wrote: »
    I always think, what if it was WWII and like London and the blitz, we had to have blackout blinds at night.
    Just takes one person to open the blind or have a nighttime BBQ for a bomber to see the light and flatten the town.
    One person's action affects many!

Absolutely no way would a Folkewolfe pilot have spotted someone who had opened a blind on Shepards bush

Jenbach110 wrote: »
    Absolutely no way would a Folkewolfe pilot have spotted someone who had opened a blind on Shepards bush

Maybe, but he would have spotted the DJ with the strobe light and the tacky 80's music at the street party!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 154 ✭✭Jenbach110

Maybe, but he would have spotted the DJ with the strobe light and the tacky 80's music at the street party!

Spitfire incomming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,614 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Jenbach110 wrote: »
    Spitfire incomming

Or day 2 in the attic with Anne Frank, the Irish man says 'feic that, I'm not Jewish, I'm going down pub'
    Everyone's actions effect more then themselves.

A further 103 crew members on the USS Theodore Roosevelt aircraft carrier have tested positive for coronavirus. Brings the total to 550 from the ship so far.

One crew member has been admitted to intensive care in Guam.

A further 103 crew members on the USS Theodore Roosevelt aircraft carrier have tested positive for coronavirus. Brings the total to 550 from the ship so far.

One crew member has been admitted to intensive care.

It's hard to imagine a virus has the potential to knock out a state of the art aircraft carrier. Sailors on a long deployment on a sub would be feeling lucky. Probably stressed as they could become the main line of defence.
    How did it not spread as much on planes? Such a long flight and close proximity to people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,116 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

One crew member has been admitted to intensive care in Guam.

The one where the captain wrote the long letter to Trump (5 pages is too much for him to read) and promptly got dismissed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,116 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

It's hard to imagine a virus has the potential to knock out a state of the art aircraft carrier. Sailors on a long deployment on a sub would be feeling lucky. Probably stressed as they could become the main line of defence.
    How did it not spread as much on planes? Such a long flight and close proximity to people.

<tinfoil_hat>
    Take out all foreign military and take over the world
    </tinfoil_hat>

fritzelly wrote: »
    The one where the captain wrote the long letter to Trump (5 pages is too much for him to read) and promptly got dismissed?

That's the one. Captain should have wrote half the first page saying Trump is the best ever president... Then end with... Get us all off the ship!

fritzelly wrote: »
    <gemma>
    Take out all foreign military and take over the world
    </gemma>

I prefer Gemma tags for state of the art tin foil ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,623 ✭✭✭Micky 32

One of the deaths due to this virus, was young and no underlying conditions was on a flight from the UK. When he got back he was notified that someone on the plane 2 seats ahead of him was positive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭OneEightSeven

92925828_2887778417968804_4413851720170340352_n.jpg?_nc_cat=101&_nc_sid=110474&efg=eyJpIjoidCJ9&_nc_ohc=4MVsNNQQ4sEAX_aQuNn&_nc_ht=scontent-dub4-1.xx&_nc_tp=14&oh=44bc58a276f5c1a794aa9a1d2ad11528&oe=5EB8EA86
    To make 2002 even worse, flat-rate dail-up wasn't introduced until early to mid-2003.

Micky 32 wrote: »
    One of the deaths due to this virus, was young and no underlying conditions was on a flight from the UK. When he got back he was notified that someone on the plane 2 seats ahead of him was positive.

I understand there would be some that would have cought it. I just figured how infectious it is, how cramped planes are and how long people would be on them, that they would have caused a spike in cases is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,623 ✭✭✭Micky 32

I understand there would be some that would have cought it. I just figured how infectious it is, how cramped planes are and how long people would be on them, that they would have caused a spike in cases is all.

Having said that he could have caught in the uk and not on the plane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭bb12

Tandey wrote: »
    How much of a mortgage did these people get on average?

Someone paying 1200 a month who has a mortgage of I reckon say 320k plus over 30-35 years.
    It’s not possible to get a mortgage of over 220k on 55k in Ireland let alone 320k.

you're only referring to people who have taken mortgages out in the past couple of years when the central bank restrictions kicked in.

plenty of people on 55K paying 1200 or more a month with older mortgages

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭padz

I've just looked in on this thread from Time to time, wondering have any of yis figured it out yet? That it was a rouse to deflate an obviously over inflated world economy, are yous still wearing your mask's or what's the latest?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 MaureensFry

bb12 wrote: »
    you're only referring to people who have taken mortgages out in the past couple of years when the central bank restrictions kicked in.

plenty of people on 55K paying 1200 or more a month with older mortgages

Are ye just referring to Dublin prices here? Plenty of people with new mortgages on 55K paying 1200 a month.

Walt Disney World in Florida has announced it is to furlough 43,000 workers indefinitely from April 19th.

The theme parks around the world were closed in the middle of March.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

Speak for yourself, freshpopcorn..... :)

pbPyC0pl.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

I spent a lot of Sunday sleeping so I'm still up and wide awake and full of energy. Good morning to you all.

Have a look at this:

https://www.medrxiv.org/content/10.1101/2020.04.10.20053207v1

The about about the MMR vaccine. Its saying it may help with the covid19. Much and the same kind of stuff as the BCG. Early days in their studies.

French President Macron to address the nation tonight and announce at least several weeks more of lock down describing the situation in France as "very serious".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭tails_naf

Looking at the world stats per population, it seems ireland is one of the worst, if you exclude all the small countries like Andorra, etc. Of the countries with a few million population there's only really 4 or 5 countries with more cases than us. This is not down to just testing as we're way below many countries on testing per population. Any ideas why? Is it down to what's being counted, or something else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭MastiffMrs

owlbethere wrote: »
    I spent a lot of Sunday sleeping so I'm still up and wide awake and full of energy. Good morning to you all.

Have a look at this:

https://www.medrxiv.org/content/10.1101/2020.04.10.20053207v1

The about about the MMR vaccine. Its saying it may help with the covid19. Much and the same kind of stuff as the BCG. Early days in their studies.

Something I was wondering about the BCG... how are they able to use it now considering it was not available in Europe since April 2015? Is it only in Australia?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭autumnbelle

Why is Australia doing so much better then here?