Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XV - 15,251 in ROI (610 deaths) 2,645 in NI (194 deaths) (19/04) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,641 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Ficheall wrote: »
    Is that people in hospital or being admitted to hospital? One is good, the other is an indicator of a service at full capacity.

Its people being admitted with coronavirus. The rate has been dropping every day for several days now. The hospitals are not at capacity. The governor just said there that so far they have not needed to use any of the overflow beds they had set up in field hospitals and the hospital ship, and he hopes they won't have to. No one is being turned away, there are empty beds.

The peak hospitalization was 10 days ago and its been dropping since then. So yes, good news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Birdy

sounds like you've been touring the country

I went for my daily walk on my own. I kept my distance and stayed within 2km. I have windows in my house and I have been sunbathing in my back garden. I have had calls from people who have been to the shops. Not very hard George but it seems to be for the majority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,116 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

New deaths and new cases both up in Italy last 24 hrs, they are kind of moving in and around the same pace last few days.

https://twitter.com/caetuscap/status/1249005592804458497

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Birdy wrote: »
    I went for my daily walk on my own. I kept my distance and stayed within 2km. I have windows in my house and I have been sunbathing in my back garden. I have had calls from people who have been to the shops. Not very hard George but it seems to be for the majority.

This is all that's being asked of us

New deaths and new cases both up in Italy last 24 hrs, they are kind of moving in and around the same pace last few days.

https://twitter.com/DeItaOne/status/1249005906509082624

Why is their lockdown not working?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,020 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

BanditLuke wrote: »
    Self entitlement is a virus in itself

This was a paid political advertisement, authorised by Carl Marx, Vladimir Lenin, Joseph Stalin and Mao Zedong.

It is working clearly in that it's restricting it.

But it seems they are struggling to make inroads beyond that.

Nermal wrote: »
    I think it’s you who doesn’t get that people will not tolerate restrictions as we have now persisting until a vaccine is developed.

If you want evidence, go down to your local park.

Lifting restrictions even a little will cause a spike. Suppression is a failure. Singapore proves it. Let’s stop wasting hundreds of millions a week on it.

The park in the closet town to where I live has been empty any time I've had to pass it for the last two weeks, including today.

I have however seem a good few runners and cyclists around during the same time on the roads around my area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

cnocbui wrote: »
    Source?

Far too lazy to search for it. But it makes sense anyway because you should be balancing getting enough vitamin D with protecting your skin from UV damage. Skin with suncream on it might not be good for topping up your vitamin D levels so what do you want - less vitamin D or melanoma? Melanoma is a sneaky hoor of a cancer. I know which I'd rather avoid.

Probably because the reasoning behind the lock down was fallacious and was done for the sake of expediency.

The Chinese found that roughly 70% of infections were withing family groups, so they set up fever clinics so that the infected were separated from healthy family members and not locked up with them to ensure they infected them also.

Western governments didn't want internment camps/fever hospitals.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,313 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

The Italians certainly could give lessons on presenting data in an aesthtically pleasing way: https://www.epicentro.iss.it/en/coronavirus/bollettino/Infografica_10aprile%20ENG.pdf
    In fairness C the Italians could give lessons on presenting most things in an aesthetically pleasing way. :D

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭Nermal

It’s working very well at depleting their treasury and sending their living standards back to the 1950s.

Far too lazy to search for it. But it makes sense anyway because you should be balancing getting enough vitamin D with protecting your skin from UV damage. Skin with suncream on it might not be good for topping up your vitamin D levels so what do you want - less vitamin D or melanoma? Melanoma is a sneaky hoor of a cancer. I know which I'd rather avoid.

I know all about melanoma, and much more than I would like to, thanks. Not getting enough vitamin D is probably more likely to lead to negative health consequences than getting 15-20 min of sun exposure on your skin daily.

Probably because the reasoning behind the lock down was fallacious and was done for the sake of expediency.

The Chinese found that roughly 70% of infections were withing family groups, so they set up fever clinics so that the infected were separated from healthy family members and not locked up with them to ensure they infected them also.

Western governments didn't want internment camps/fever hospitals.

Would we not be better with isolation centers and isolate everybody with symptoms? I'd preferably like everybody to be tested and all positives isolated but the HSE thinks differently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,780 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Mr.S wrote: »
    Guards need to seriously have a presence in parks are on days like this with sun, still some idiots ruining it for everyone.

I'm just back from a park in Glasnevin where for the duration of my walk there were two Gardai on bikes who were proactive in approaching anyone and everyone who were not practicing social distancing...

There was a large group maybe 10-12, adults and younger people sitting in the middle of the football pitch just sitting in a circle enjoying drinks and chatting. It looked a bit close from a distance but obviously it was hard to tell but as soon as the Gardai approached they spread out further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 761 ✭✭✭kalkat2002

When you try a partial lockdown in a country without garda what you get is an easter bank holiday out there
    Well done for the ones staying home

Would we not be better with isolation centers and isolate everybody with symptoms? I'd preferably like everybody to be tested and all positives isolated but the HSE thinks differently.

Almost certainly would, but suitable venues are probably in short supply.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,947 ✭✭✭0gac3yjefb5sv7

Are any figures released today? Assuming there's no press conference..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

Ireland and Scotland have similar populations but their dead numbers are extremely high in comparison.

Meh what’s a million between friends when it doesn’t support my argument....

The US is taking up an ever bigger presence when looking at daily fatalities alone in global terms

Screen%20Shot%202020-04-11%20at%2011.18.10%20AM.png?itok=ju1qJ-do

Their total deaths have actually just passed Italy's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,318 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Are any figures released today? Assuming there's no press conference..

Yes, numbers are released every single day no matter what. Not sure about the briefing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Downlinz

Deaths will take a while longer to reduce considering it can take 3 weeks of symptoms before many die.
    It's being reported the case rates are remaining high as they're able to broaden the testing net rather than just testing those in high risk groups or within serious symptoms. Early indications are that the lockdown is working but it'll be another week before the deaths should start reducing in a major way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭easypazz

The UK are going to top the EU current + former members table by the looks of things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,765 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

beolight wrote: »
    Better comparison for deaths is deaths per million of population

Following gleaned from Coronavirusworldometer

Deaths per million is the column to look at ...this is the true barometer of how effective Governments have been in preventing the spread.No government spin master will mention this they would much prefer to direct your attention to testing and how they are according to themselves almost world class

Take a look at the countries and compare the suite of measures they have used to combat the virus ... dare I say masks, transparency on hot spot locations, effective contact tracing , border restrictions, quarantine measures for visitors spring to mind. Would also be interesting to get any information on how good their health system is

https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/

Sweden 86
    USA 54
    Ireland 58
    UK 50
    Italy 312
    France 202
    Spain 342
    Germany 32
    Holland 147
    Israel 11
    Poland 5

China 2
    New Zealand 0.4
    Singapore 1
    South Korea 4
    Taiwan 0.3
    Hong Kong 0.5

Your numbers seem to be wrong maybe some have updated since but the UK is 145 per million not 50 as you say.

Rest as below

Holland 154
    Sweden 88
    USA 60
    Ireland 58
    UK 145
    Italy 322
    France 202
    Spain 350
    Germany 33
    Holland 147
    Israel 11
    Poland 5

In this light I don't think Ireland is doing too bed.

UK bad and probably worse in relaity due to how they record deaths.

Holland really bad when compared to neighbours, they don't really have a lockdown, people can roam about and people being told that children do not carry the virus and it's ok for kids to play with each other.

Sweden's policies starting to show as a failure too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭Ce he sin

I think it’s you who doesn’t get that people will not tolerate restrictions as we have now persisting until a vaccine is developed.

If you want evidence, go down to your local park.

Lifting restrictions even a little will cause a spike. Suppression is a failure. Singapore proves it. Let’s stop wasting hundreds of millions a week on it.

You've obviously got a much better solution. What might it be?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭Gynoid

It’s working very well at depleting their treasury and sending their living standards back to the 1950s.

After all this is over I will await your reports back from an Italy that has been reduced to 1950s living standards. Can we make that deal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

I know all about melanoma, and much more than I would like to, thanks. Not getting enough vitamin D is probably more likely to lead to negative health consequences than getting 15-20 min of sun exposure on your skin daily.

I mean, I said 10 minutes and wasn't really rigid about it so what are you finding issue with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 819 ✭✭✭EDit

easypazz wrote: »
    The UK are going to top the EU current + former members table by the looks of things.

I actually think Belgium might end up topping it (sadly)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭blackcard

Am I right in saying that over 50% of deaths in Ireland due to Covid-19 occurred in nursing/residential homes?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

Strumms wrote: »
    Yes. I know a lot of Brazilians here and they talked about him with a general sense of fear when he was elected. Not a case of just disagreeing with his views and outlook... Worry for the country economy back home, families back home and the overall health of their nation. The word frequently mentioned in describing him.. ‘crazy’.. he certainly ticks most or all of those boxes.

He got 55% of the vote all the same so you must have been talking to people from the other 45%.
    Do you know much about the president before him?

You'd swear Brazil was a utopia before he came along