Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XV - 15,251 in ROI (610 deaths) 2,645 in NI (194 deaths) (19/04) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

I drove by a park earlier and there is nothing the gardai can do. It was packed.

It's more packed today than on any other sunny day I can remember.

Is there really going to be that much spread with people walking in parks 2 metres apart?

There is very limited information on whether this disease spreads in the outdoors, never mind when people are avoiding each other and most of the times 2 metres plus apart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

There has to be a happy compromise, this is not going to be perfect. It is not going to be sunny every day, the rain will arrive soon. Let people have some minor enjoyment with very low risks, we are in this for the long haul.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

easypazz wrote: »
    2 people stand side by side in the queue. When they get into shop they split up and do 2 different lists, with 2 trolleys and pay separately.

I don't get the shaming here.

I understand and thank you for helping others. I was just pointing out that there's extra people out there when they don't have to be. The two I saw were not doing a huge shop when they were inside.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,313 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Can someone more sciencey explain how vaccine will work if there's different strains of a vaccine? And if a virus mutates, how will such a vaccine help?
    OK, better minds will be along shortly, but in very simple terms and a simple analogy...

You're a sentry(immune system) for a big castle(the body). You're getting reports from other sentries of some sort of invasion, but the details are sketchy, but as more and more sentries are attacked and fight back you hear down the line that these attackers look like humans. Two legs, two arms, big dopey heads on them, fuzzy bits on top. So you keep an eye out for humans and when you see one you shoot it and after a while the attack is repulsed and the second a human shows up again you blow its head off. That's kinda like your immune system at work naturally.

Now what a vaccine does it's like all you sentries get a call on the radio(the vaccine) to keep an eye out for these humans and what they look like, so if they show up, you again blow their head off on sight, without having to learn by fighting them off. Job done.

Mutations. Humans come in all shapes and sizes and colours, but all look like humans. So a slow mutating virus like Covid still looks human to the sentries and the radio call is still accurate. The first wave might look like say African lads, the second mutated wave look like European lads, but they still look human so you shoot them on sight. Job done. Flu viruses mutate more rapidly and in more ways, so they might show up with no arms or two heads or four legs and you think "hmmm don't look like humans" and you let them in and you have to learn all over again, so vaccines are harder to keep up to date.

If you know what I mean.... Fair play if you do. I confused meself.,

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,116 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

There has to be a happy compromise, this is not going to be perfect.

I suppose.

The other side of the compromise is weeks more of the same lock down from the 5th of May.

Personally I don't want to make such a compromise for a day of sunshine but each to their own.

Around town today you can imagine the 1,000's of new extra cases that are going to emerge over the next couple of weeks.

It also sets a precedent for people not to take it as seriously.

People don't care because they think it won't happen to them.

Fixed for yeh!

Is there really going to be that much spread with people walking in parks 2 metres apart?

There is very limited information on whether this disease spreads in the outdoors, never mind when people are avoiding each other and most of the times 2 metres plus apart.

It would probably be spread between the 3 old biddies I saw gossiping outside the shop and no distancing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭GeorgeBailey

Birdy wrote: »
    People seem to have given up with the 3 week extension. It is like the summer holidays.

People stopping for social chats.

People mixing with other households.

People in houses they don't live in.

People playing sport in a communal area.

Cyclists more than 2km from home.

Elderly out walking and/or sitting in communal areas.

Queues outside the shops that are open.

This is not going to work. People won't take it seriously until someone they love gets critically ill.

sounds like you've been touring the country

There has to be a happy compromise, this is not going to be perfect. It is not going to be sunny every day, the rain will arrive soon. Let people have some minor enjoyment with very low risks, we are in this for the long haul.

Mixing with people is a risk. I wouldn't call it low risk considering that you just don't know who might have it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Cant speak for other parks but I'm in my local park in shankill at the moment, yes there are people in the park but everyone I've seen is within a family unit and walking a full path width apart. Now it might not be the same in every park but there isn't an issue with social distancing here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,021 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Mr.S wrote: »
    People in the parks today are definitely not 2m apart, my local one is full of people lounging on the grass.

To be honest, i think sunbathing should be as allowed as exercise, given that vitamin D and exercise are the two things for which there is actual scientific grounds to believe are beneficial for the immune system.

People not observing a 2m distancing might be members of the same household. It can be difficult to sort out who should be 2m apart from those who don't have to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭easypazz

BanditLuke wrote: »
    You don't get a lot of stuff.

I get it now. Next time we will stand 2 metres behind each other in the queue so as not to upset the shamers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

cnocbui wrote: »
    To be honest, i think sunbathing should be as allowed as exercise, given that vitamin D and exercise are the two things for which there is actual scientific grounds to believe are beneficial for the immune system.

People not observing a 2m distancing might be members of the same household. It can be difficult to sort out who should be 2m apart from those who don't have to be.

You only need like ten minutes of non-suncream sunlight a day to get enough though. Standing on a balcony would fulfill that.

New York reports 783 new deaths in last 24 hours (777 yesterday).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,540 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

welcome back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭easypazz

Not going to plan for doctor Trump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 624 ✭✭✭beolight

easypazz wrote: »
    Check out population on wikipedia and divide it into number of deaths, then let us know.

Better comparison for deaths is deaths per million of population

Following gleaned from Coronavirusworldometer

Deaths per million is the column to look at ...this is the true barometer of how effective Governments have been in preventing the spread.No government spin master will mention this they would much prefer to direct your attention to testing and how they are according to themselves almost world class

Take a look at the countries and compare the suite of measures they have used to combat the virus ... dare I say masks, transparency on hot spot locations, effective contact tracing , border restrictions, quarantine measures for visitors spring to mind. Would also be interesting to get any information on how good their health system is

https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/

Sweden 86
    USA 54
    Ireland 58
    UK 50
    Italy 312
    France 202
    Spain 342
    Germany 32
    Holland 147
    Israel 11
    Poland 5

China 2
    New Zealand 0.4
    Singapore 1
    South Korea 4
    Taiwan 0.3
    Hong Kong 0.5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,398 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,641 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

The hospitalization rate in New York is going down every day. I think they have hit the peak now. Obviously deaths will continue to rise for a few days but should drop off soon. That's good news

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

Uganda are next level, way ahead !

cg9vu3jm9zq41.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,549 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

welcome back

Can’t get rid of a snow king.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,502 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

Wibbs wrote: »
    OK, better minds will be along shortly, but in very simple terms and a simple analogy...

You're a sentry(immune system) for a big castle(the body). You're getting reports from other sentries of some sort of invasion, but the details are sketchy, but as more and more sentries are attacked and fight back you hear down the line that these attackers look like humans. Two legs, two arms, big dopey heads on them, fuzzy bits on top. So you keep an eye out for humans and when you see one you shoot it and after a while the attack is repulsed and the second a human shows up again you blow its head off. That's kinda like your immune system at work naturally.

Now what a vaccine does it's like all you sentries get a call on the radio(the vaccine) to keep an eye out for these humans and what they look like, so if they show up, you again blow their head off on sight, without having to learn by fighting them off. Job done.

Mutations. Humans come in all shapes and sizes and colours, but all look like humans. So a slow mutating virus like Covid still looks human to the sentries and the radio call is still accurate. The first wave might look like say African lads, the second mutated wave look like European lads, but they still look human so you shoot them on sight. Job done. Flu viruses mutate more rapidly and in more ways, so they might show up with no arms or two heads or four legs and you think "hmmm don't look like humans" and you let them in and you have to learn all over again, so vaccines are harder to keep up to date.

If you know what I mean.... Fair play if you do. I confused meself.,

You should send that to game developers .....make a fortune

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,038 ✭✭✭Ficheall

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    The hospitalization rate in New York is going down every day. I think they have hit the peak now. Obviously deaths will continue to rise for a few days but should drop off soon. That's good news
    Is that people in hospital or being admitted to hospital? One is good, the other is an indicator of a service at full capacity.

NDWC wrote: »
    I haven't seen my partner or family for over a month, today is probably the nicest day we've had since last August and I'm staying inside as I've been instructed to.

So the stories of parks being packed and people flouting the restrictions, if true, are soul destroying to people like myself :(

I know, it's this type of nice spring weather I really like. It's not too hot and not too cold. I want to go out, I want my life back, go for a coffee in town, a sit down meal, go shopping, all the normal stuff... I've been out twice in the past week to get some groceries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭Nermal

So any relaxation of the current restrictions will lead to a spike in new cases/ICU admissions/deaths until such time as an effective vaccine is developed or if the virus mutates into a less deadly strain. (No guarantee that either of these things will happen.) The end all restrictions now brigade still don`t get this fact.

I think it’s you who doesn’t get that people will not tolerate restrictions as we have now persisting until a vaccine is developed.

If you want evidence, go down to your local park.

Lifting restrictions even a little will cause a spike. Suppression is a failure. Singapore proves it. Let’s stop wasting hundreds of millions a week on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

I know, it's this type of nice spring weather I really like. It's not too hot and not too cold. I want to go out, I want my life back, go for a coffee in town, a sit down meal, go shopping, all the normal stuff... I've been out twice in the past week to get some groceries.

Go out for a walk, would probably do you good for a while. Fresh air and a bit of exercise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

Distribution of laboratory confirmed cases of COVID-19 in the EU/EEA and the UK, as of 11 April 2020 @ 08:00 hrs.

novel-coronavirus-cases-EU-UK-2020-04-11.png?itok=bcG4XuOK

Larger clickable version here :- https://www.ecdc.europa.eu/en/cases-2019-ncov-eueea

You only need like ten minutes of non-suncream sunlight a day to get enough though. Standing on a balcony would fulfill that.

Source?
    How long should we spend in the sun?

Most people can make enough vitamin D from being out in the sun daily for short periods with their forearms, hands or lower legs uncovered and without sunscreen from late March or early April to the end of September, especially from 11am to 3pm.

It's not known exactly how much time is needed in the sun to make enough vitamin D to meet the body's requirements.
    https://www.nhs.uk/live-well/healthy-body/how-to-get-vitamin-d-from-sunlight/

When I was a young lad, we used to dream of having two rooms; a balcony would have been pure luxury, I tell you!

The sun doesn't always shine in this country - except when there is a pandemic based lock down, of course - so there isn't a daily aspect to it, you need to have a daily excess of vitamin D that gets stored in fat, to see you through periods where there isn't enough sunlight. In other words, you should make vit D while the sun shines, not just hay. You need both to see you through winter.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

https://www.expressnews.com/news/local/article/Thousands-hit-hard-by-coronavirus-pandemic-s-15189948.php

10000 people queued at a food bank in San Antonio in Texas this week in their cars

The Italians certainly could give lessons on presenting data in an aesthtically pleasing way: https://www.epicentro.iss.it/en/coronavirus/bollettino/Infografica_10aprile%20ENG.pdf