So what are the positives surrounding the Covid19 coronavirus?

Dr. Bre wrote: »
    My dishwasher is sick off me

Then make sure you remember to take her out for dinner and buy her something nice when all of these restrictions end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

maxsmum wrote: »
    I think a positive is a lot less interest in what 'celebs' are at, influencers and the like, because they're doing f*&k all like the rest of us, thank goodness for the news finally highlighting something of interest rather than what lip gloss so-and-so has been gifted

Yeah there have been a few milk and water attempts by some to shimmy their way back into the limelight - off the top of my head - Ronan Keating spawned another child, yer one (Duffy?) drip feeding more "clues" about her ordeal and Linda Martin mentioning she "might have had the virus a month ago". :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Dr. Bre wrote: »
    My dishwasher is sick off me

wash up at the sink, another chore that will help to keep you active

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭pinkyeye

I think there must be a lot more small birds around this Spring. I imagine there are much fewer getting killed by cars as they go around building nests etc. Nature is getting a chance to breathe.

God that's a good one, also a lot less roadkill around. I live rurally now and usually have to close my eyes a few times a day at cats, foxes and rabbits dead on the road.

Just realised there's far less now. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

pinkyeye wrote: »
    ... a lot less roadkill around. ...
    Depends who nature is. The poor jackdaws and rats won't get any €350 per week to lockdown.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 621 ✭✭✭Slim Charles

pinkyeye wrote: »
    God that's a good one, also a lot less roadkill around. I live rurally now and usually have to close my eyes a few times a day at cats, foxes and rabbits dead on the road.

Just realised there's far less now. :)

You may be consequently causing more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

topper75 wrote: »
    Depends who nature is. The poor jackdaws and rats won't get any €350 per week to lockdown.

Aye, but the seagulls are cleaning up. Clever ****ers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,760 ✭✭✭AllForIt

pgj2015 wrote: »
    The whole thanking health care workers is strange, it is their job, that is what they signed up for, what are they going to do? quit their jobs because there is a pandemic? if there were riots every day would the police all quit as well or would they expect a round of applause and celebs making cringy videos thanking them?

Nothing wrong with publicly acknowledging the work of the NHS personal, but taking it cringe level is just that, cringe.

There was a video on Twitter the other day of a health worker in tears saying she quite her job for lack of PPE. Like you say pgl, this is what they signed up for and to quit for not being 100% protected seems to go against the noble reason we are told ppl go into healthcare. Imagine if the firefighters who looked for bodies in Ground Zero said hey I'm not doing that, it's too dangerous. And of course many did die.

crime rate is down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,462 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

AllForIt wrote: »
    Nothing wrong with publicly acknowledging the work of the NHS personal, but taking it cringe level is just that, cringe.

There was a video on Twitter the other day of a health worker in tears saying she quite her job for lack of PPE. Like you say pgl, this is what they signed up for and to quit for not being 100% protected seems to go against the noble reason we are told ppl go into healthcare. Imagine if the firefighters who looked for bodies in Ground Zero said hey I'm not doing that, it's too dangerous. And of course many did die.

A lot of what I'd like to say in this post, I've just said in my mind.

Nurses signed up to a role in which they expected they would have the tools to do their job.

How do you think firefighters would feel if there were no helmets and fireproof clothing available for them.

A lot of what I'd like to say in this post, I've just said in my mind.

Nurses signed up to a role in which they expected they would have the tools to do their job.

How do you think firefighters would feel if there were no helmets and fireproof clothing available for them.

I'm not sure if you are agreeing or disagreeing with me.

I would expect firefighters and health care workers to do what they signed up no matter what.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

I think there must be a lot more small birds around this Spring. I imagine there are much fewer getting killed by cars as they go around building nests etc. Nature is getting a chance to breathe.

Definitely
    Have been out digging the garden the last few weeks and I've seen so many
    Lovely bird song in the morning too

And now the house martins have arrived, followed soon by swallows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,462 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

I would expect firefighters and health care workers to do what they signed up no matter what.

Ok, so, they have no helmets or protective clothing, but they still run towards something which will put them at a vastly increased risk because of this fact.
    Would you commend them for this, or shrug your shoulders and say that's their job?

Would you expect an electrician to work on live conductors without insulated tools because that's the job he signed up for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,925 ✭✭✭KaneToad

I wouldn't. I wouldn't expect "no matter what" to apply to any job. A job is just a job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,819 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

suppose all the quizzes that are been run online during this time on social media

Some are only real for fun and dont have answer sheets/apps but i have played ones which use Google Forms and Kahoot

https://www.goosesquizzes.com/

this is the one i play often and is pretty good and pretty challenging

Ok, so, they have no helmets or protective clothing, but they still run towards something which will put them at a vastly increased risk because of this fact.
    Would you commend them for this, or shrug your shoulders and say that's their job?

Would you expect an electrician to work on live conductors without insulated tools because that's the job he signed up for?

You made a terrible analogy there. Electricians don't sign up to be an electrician to save lives.

I think you are deliberately missing my earlier point.

KaneToad wrote: »
    I wouldn't. I wouldn't expect "no matter what" to apply to any job. A job is just a job.

You are proving my point for me. Going into medicine or equally a firefighter, is not 'just a job'.

Why are we clapping for them if it's 'just a job'.

You made a terrible analogy there. Electricians don't sign up to be an electrician to save lives.

I think you are deliberately missing my earlier point.

So, you think anybody who has signed up to save a life, is willing to jeopardize theirs in order to do so. In fact, they must jeopardize their life if it is a choice between saving someone or protecting themselves. Is that your view?

Yes

Yes

Ok. Do you know what the Safety Health and Welfare at Work Act is?

Do you think it shouldn't apply to front line medical staff, gardai, ambulance crew, firemen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Ok. Do you know what the Safety Health and Welfare at Work Act is?

Do you think it shouldn't apply to front line medical staff, gardai, ambulance crew, firemen?

Of course not. They should be willing to work naked if they want to save lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭wheresthebeef

Yes

I can tell you now that when I signed up to be a nurse, the risk of dying on the job was not made clear. If I wanted to get killed in my line of work, I'd have joined the army or become a crash test dummy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,242 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Many will die but it is a sacrifice you are willing to make.

We salute you brave Sir.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 332 ✭✭deathbomber

What a twat, myself and my wife contracted the virus, she is a nurse and got the virus in work. She has the right to have the necessary ppe available when dealing with contagious diseases, her hospital was short of ppe. You just have no clue mate, stop posting crap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,171 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Animals not getting blasted with shotguns, hunted with dogs and coursing meetings off.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

Have ye noticed the number of large bumble bees around? I guess there are less cars around to mow them down. They do seem quite big this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,506 ✭✭✭✭BoatMad

Have ye noticed the number of large bumble bees around? I guess there are less cars around to mow them down. They do seem quite big this year.

Was seeing them myself yesterday , great little creatures , I’d say wildlife this year will be profuse , Garda boat turning back fishing boats on Shannon lakes , the pike will be well fed this year

an increase in funny video's on youtube...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Now that you say it, 3 enormous bumble bees in my house the last few days. Two I managed to set free but one met death by dog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭Hoffmans

Nature will benefit it is probably nature fighting back against the thumping it's being taken in past decades, have Noticed lot more birds singing in the trees
    https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-8109819/Coronavirus-lockdown-Italy-leads-notable-drop-air-pollution.html