Supermarkets - the Megathread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,662 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

odyssey06 wrote: »
    People who have to do their shopping on foot.
    People with small fridges and no freezers.

Infairness it just takes abit of planning.

I had an under the counter fridge with the small freezer ice box thingy, if you are trying to fit stuff into the ice box in their original packaging it's not going to work. Freezer bags are your friend here. Remove your meat from packaging and you will fit lots in. Granted you may need to sacrifice the tub of ice cream and you will have to decide what frozen potato product... Chips, croquettes, roasties you want to eat during the week as you will only have space for one packet along with your meat.

There was a couple in the queue in front of me, he had a rucksack and she had a fold up crate on wheels, so they were obviously walking...everyone I know that walks to the supermarket that doesn't have a car has some sort of wheelie system for bringing home the shopping, usually one of those granny trolley things, jeepers even if it meant bringing a cabin luggage wheelie suitcase surely you can manage more than 3 days worth of food home.

Also plan your shop, there's no need for phone calls home, open your presses look at what brands, sizes etc you use. If the supermarket doesn't have it make an executive decision and pick up an alternative... We're in the middle of a pandemic and we are being told not to touch our faces... Why would you take out your phone, touch it with your germy fingers and put the infected phone up to your face.... Makes no sense.

Yes packing up your shopping takes abit longer when you are on your own, but only by an extra few minutes, better than that then doubling your chances of picking up and bringing home the virus.... Or if you both have the virus and don't know it... There's two people rather than one infecting the supermarket.

Sam Hain wrote: »
    Touched is probably not the best turn of phrase in this instance.

What an awful thing to say.

I have small children, the youngest is still in a pram but the eldest hold my hand whenever we are out.

There is absolutely no way I'd let them touch a stranger. Even on walks I'll pull them in closer to me to make space. That was even before all this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭Naked Lepper

anyone know if boots in liffey valley is open? need to buy something (non pharmaceutical related)

Don't throw out garden rubble - make a bee and bug hotel.

Make sure they adhere to social distancing though :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭Billgirlylegs

Is this true?

I wouldn't appreciate any business being told I am old/frail/vulnerable.
    Different matter entirely if they invite me to contact them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,502 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Why the fool is there families of 2 and 3 doing shopping together????????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,717 ✭✭✭BarryD2

Out doing weekly shop this morning. From looking about, I'd reckon about 3 out of 4 people being careful enough. But the feckless 25% carry on as normal. Fella crowding in at the checkout, two women having the gab, people reaching in past you to grab something etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,908 ✭✭✭Nollog

Infairness it just takes abit of planning.

We don't use any wheels, just foldaway backpacks.
    Mainly we do it to shop around for the best prices on things, also it feels healthier going more often for less than going once for a lot.

Obviously we've stopped and only do one shop a week now.
    We made a list, and one of us goes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭AulWan

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Just been to Lidl Belgard for the 9-11 elderly hours .Well I got their at 8;55 and no queue , it was fine inside but no priority whatsoever given to the elderly .The worst offenders for not keeping distance where the staff who were stacking .I wanted frozen fish and had to ask the stacker to move away while I got it .I am fuly aware they have to stack of course but he needed to move so I didnt have to reach across him

As I left at 9;30 A queue had formed , as far as I could see no priority queue for the elderly .
    It was fine though with plenty of stock , plenty of room and no checkout queue .But they could do better regarding the priority slot but all in all it was grand and stress free . Now just need to find room for it !!

At this stage, the elderly are supposed to be coccooning and not going to supermarkets at all, so I can see them winding back on dedicated slot for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,418 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

AulWan wrote: »
    At this stage, the elderly are supposed to be coccooning and not going to supermarkets at all, so I can see them winding back on dedicated slot for them.

0ver 70 yes . Their hour was for over 60’s
    But yes I imagine their are not enough over 60 now needing the three hours . They probably will wind back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,141 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

There was a couple in the queue in front of me, he had a rucksack and she had a fold up crate on wheels, so they were obviously walking...everyone I know that walks to the supermarket that doesn't have a car has some sort of wheelie system for bringing home the shopping, usually one of those granny trolley things, jeepers even if it meant bringing a cabin luggage wheelie suitcase surely you can manage more than 3 days worth of food home.

I get what you are saying, not saying it can't be done, but if you are 1 person with a trolley or cabin sized suitcase shopping for 2 (or 2.5) people, then shopping every 3-4 days may be more manageable (and is an unreasonable risk) - especially if you only have one of those under counter fridges with an icebox to put the stuff away into.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

jeepers even if it meant bringing a cabin luggage wheelie suitcase surely you can manage more than 3 days worth of food home.

Walking 2 miles to and from the shop, shopping for 5 people? No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 Ich liebe Berlin

Why the fool is there families of 2 and 3 doing shopping together????????

I'm probably going to get slated here but I work in a supermarket and the ONLY people bringing children into the shop with both parents are travellers and Roma. It's a fact.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,717 ✭✭✭BarryD2

I'm probably going to get slated here but I work in a supermarket and the ONLY people bringing children into the shop with both parents are travellers and Roma. It's a fact.

Are there no staff at entrance door, counting numbers in & out. Surely they could stop them?

But point taken, quite a few travellers around local town here and the concept of 'social distancing' seems to be beyond some of them from what I've noticed in my odd visits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

I got to skip the queue this morning due to my age. The beard must be growing out grey again - I'm 45. My first senior moment.:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,205 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Supervalu sundrive kimmage about an hour ago. The amount of shoppers in pairs was a joke. I'm not talking elderly, I'm talking couples in their early 20's right up to a pair in the late 50's (who spent more time snogging and groping each other than shopping).

Hard enough to get your few bits and pieces while one dope is blocking the aisle with his trolley while she's standing there asking him his opinion on different biscuit types.

Pity the virus didn't attack on the stupid in society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,815 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

odyssey06 wrote: »
    People who have to do their shopping on foot.
    People with small fridges and no freezers.

Yeah in rental properties (especially apartments) those tiny under the counter friidges with a freezer box are ubiquitous. Used one myself for years, for two people they are an absolute head melt.

Also not everyone owns a car, plenty who cycle or walk everywhere and rent a Go Car when they need one. Im on a motorbike myself and am limited to the amount I can get home in one go. Since this started Ive taken a second bag which I rest on the fuel tank. Only problem is it blocks the speedometer but its not really a biggie anyway as you've a fair sense of what speed you're going by the amount of wind on your face.

Farmers across Europe bank on improvised armies of pickers to save harvest

A suggestion: There are lots of teenagers stuck for something to do at the moment, they are at very low risk of infection and I am sure there are many families could do with another income stream in the present circumstance. Why not get them to work productively instead of the work the devil makes for idle hands.

Problem with employing teenagers is then the employer comes under child protection legislation and has to be Garda vetted. Fruit picking farms rely on cheap foreign labour that lives on the farm for the whole summer, once accomodation is provided then minimum wage legislation does not apply and the farmer can pay these Slovakians a pittance. Be very difficult to find Irish adults willing to do back breaking work of picking fruit for 50+ hours a week and then live in a caravan on site for months on end while getting paid feck all.

Walking 2 miles to and from the shop, shopping for 5 people? No.

Would you not ask a neighbour?

I know people like to do their own shopping.... I totally get that I'm the same. However I'd have no problem at all if someone asked me to collect their shopping in the supermarket carpark after they finished their shop.

They could drive home and you walk home.... Social distance is maintained. 2 miles down the road, they'd be down and back in less than 20 mins, not a big ask.

Seemingly they are one of the biggest at risk groups too if it gets onto a halting site.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Seemingly they are one of the biggest at risk groups too if it gets onto a halting site.

Yeah apparently the inter marrying has negative health effects.

...plus the poor sanitation and the living at close quarters bit.

Halting site 5 km from my home. Council spent 1.5 million extending it for an ever enlarging family group. Pretty sure sanitation facilities were part of the tender process also more space between the 'stands' than what you would get in most private estates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,317 ✭✭✭Sam Hain

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Only if you think like that , we dont

thou doth protest too much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,657 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

They actually get priority Covid-19 testing because of this. Your average person won't get tested if they have, say, three symptoms unless they meet other conditions (frontline worker, contact with case), but Travellers will get tested with two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭stevenup7002

To the manager at Dunnes who brushed against me twice while running up and down the shop and then came right up to me to complain that the wheels of my trolley were slightly over the taped line at the checkout: I think you're missing the point.

Halting site 5 km from my home. Council spent 1.5 million extending it for an ever enlarging family group. Pretty sure sanitation facilities were part of the tender process also more space between the 'stands' than what you would get in most private estates.

Not arguing with you - it's just it depends on how well the portaloos, social distancing rules are maintained. We've probably both been in palaces that've turned into kips and kips that are sparkling. It is a potential cluster to use a well used term.

I realise no argument, btw not portaloos. Fully kitted out bathroom and laundry room plus a small kitchen for each stand. Mate worked on the site . Up to the residents to maintain their own hygiene the tax payer at great expense provided the facilities. If they suffer because of their own inactions my sympathy will be non existent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,815 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

To the manager at Dunnes who brushed against me twice while running up and down the shop and then came right up to me to complain that the wheels of my trolley were slightly over the taped line at the checkout: I think you're missing the point.

Never underestimate the ability of a Dunnes Stores maanger to go on an ego driven power trip. They get kicks out of treating staff like sh1te, humiliating them in the aisles is common. The rotten culture of Dunnes comes right from the top, its a nasty company who hate playing by the rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭seanl77

Just a small bit of advice from a tesco worker, as far as I'm aware we are the only store open this Easter Sunday, as in dunnes, lidl, supervalu all shut. Certainly are in my location anyway, please keep this in mind while shopping before then. Already dreading customers moaning about queues that cant be avoided, especially if all the other stores are shut. We can only let a certain amount of people in the store so the line outside will be huge no doubt. Thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 Ich liebe Berlin

BarryD2 wrote: »
    Are there no staff at entrance door, counting numbers in & out. Surely they could stop them?

But point taken, quite a few travellers around local town here and the concept of 'social distancing' seems to be beyond some of them from what I've noticed in my odd visits.

Yes, there is security on the door but who wants to take on Travellers or Roma? They would have you up in front of a judge and we all know who the judge would side with.