Has anything genuinely creepy or unnerving ever happened to you?

SingleHugeIberianmole-size_restricted.gif

Quick off topic - what's that movie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,510 ✭✭✭Be right back

Years ago I used to work in a creche/playschool. One day, I was standing with my back to the door( which was open) when the child,about 3 years old, nearest to me was looking at the door with a strange look on her face. I asked her what was wrong, only for her to say, 'the man'. Turned around, no-one there. Side exit was closed. Not sure what happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

^^^^^^^^^^^^

gary glitter ?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Quick off topic - what's that movie?

The grudge 2004

"The robin in the garden,

That was me,

I'm still here, Loving you..

Until we meet again. "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,187 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Stayed in this hotel in Cork once but didn't experience anything weird. It is said that guests have reported seeing the ghost of a woman who is believed to have died while giving birth back when the hotel was an infirmary, while broken mirrors and equipment have terrified guests and staff alike. Rumour has it that in between rooms 318 and 319 there is a closed off room, 325, which cannot be accessed on its own!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,510 ✭✭✭Be right back

saabsaab wrote: »
    Stayed in this hotel in Cork once but didn't experience anything weird. It is said that guests have reported seeing the ghost of a woman who is believed to have died while giving birth back when the hotel was an infirmary, while broken mirrors and equipment have terrified guests and staff alike. Rumour has it that in between rooms 318 and 319 there is a closed off room, 325, which cannot be accessed on its own!

Had just started to read your post when I guessed it would be about the North infirmary!!

eviltwin wrote: »

Some of the people working in the shops nearby bless themselves when you tell there where you work which is a bit disconcerting.

eviltwin......is this the carlow town shopping centre you work in by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

saabsaab wrote: »

Why would room 325 be in between 218 and 319?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭beveragelady

I don't believe in anything supernatural but this encounter gives me the shivers when I think about it.

I used to walk my dogs in the woods surrounding a site of historical interest near when I lived at the time. Most people parked their cars and went right, up towards the site of interest. I always went left, through the woods and along a track that went the long way around, and ended approaching the carpark from the other direction. I usually went at night, because I work during the day and because I just loved the woods at night. I had a headtorch but I rarely used it. I have good night vision and I knew the woods so well that could almost always get all the way around my moonlight. I still prefer to do my dogwalking at night, it becomes habit.

The track was very rough, in parts almost not a track. It was muddy in places, brambley in places, and there were places where somebody over my height (About 5'3") would have to stoop under branches. There were long sections of it where I think mine were the only footsteps that travelled it. This is wild woodland, not carefully managed forestry.

One wet night at about 10:00pm I was about 30 minutes into my walk, stomping happily along under the trees, with one dog snoffling along ahead of me and one guarding the rear. It was a very uneven part of the track that ran along a rocky slope. The lady ahead of me suddenly froze and dipped her head in the way dogs do when they're not happy. She took two steps backwards towards me and threw me a look to tell me to do the same. The man behind me growled. About 20 feet ahead in a pool of darkness I saw something small and pale move upwards in an arc. I reached up to my torch and flicked it on and lit up a man, standing to one side of the track. He was wearing a dark top and pale jeans and runners, not clothes suitable for wandering in the woods at night in the rain. He didn't appear to have a torch or a light of any sort.

The small pale thing I had seen moving upwards must have been his hand, because he was standing at a slight angle to me with both his hands over his face.

I thought I must have given him a fright so like an eejit I said "Hello!" as cheerily as I could manage. He didn't move, just stood there with his hands covering his face. A few seconds passed. It suddenly was very clear to me that I had not encountered a fellow crepuscular nemophilist, there was no good reason for a man to be waiting in the dark hiding his face. He hadn't been moving, the dogs would have heard him much earlier if he had been walking. He had just been standing there, in the rain, miles from a road.

The dog behind me, usually a harmless friendly chap, turned his low growl into a snarl. The lady in front took another slow step backwards and also snarled. I lost my nerve, turned off my torch and ran back towards the carpark, sticking to my little-used track. For a few moments I heard him crashing about behind me, but because I didn't have a torch on and he didn't appear to have one at all, he must have lost me fairly quickly. When I stopped to catch my breath a few minutes later I heard nothing at all. As soon as I could see the carpark I grabbed the dogs and hunkered down in a thicket, watching to see if anybody was moving near my van. I must have stayed there for an hour, freezing cold, before I was sure it was safe to go out into the open. There wasn't a peep out of the dogs though, they were fully aware that their cooperation was required.

I told a friend the next day what had happened and she said to go to the guards. I called in a couple of days later but when I started to tell the nice guard the story it came out like I was the weird one, frightening people in the woods at night. Nothing came of it.

I had other encounters while walking the woods in the dark, but that one was the only one that left me feeling creeped out.

I've left a detail out of the story because it's so unbelievable that if I included it you would dismiss the whole thing as a work fiction.

... I just loved the woods at night. I had a headtorch but I rarely used it...
    Good post. I never thought I'd say this to a 5 foot 3 lady but you've bigger liathroidi than me :eek::D
    I've left a detail out of the story because it's so unbelievable that if I included it you would dismiss the whole thing as a work fiction.

you're gonna have to tell us now that you mentioned it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

We won't, we promise!!

you're gonna have to tell us now that you mentioned it!

It's not supernatural or aliens or anything, it's dog-related.

We don't mind if it's dog-related. We're all canine lovers here.

come on..don't leave us hanging

Ok, but you're going to think I'm taking the piff.

The dog who was out in front is a collie mix and an uncertifed genius. She's 12 and a half now and she still does things that amaze me. I could bore you all night with implausible tales of her feats of intelligence. She had a very bad start in life though and that, combined with her brains, has made her very odd. People always remark that she seems to look at them very intensely and they don't always mean it as a compliment. She's working things out all the time.

So, one of the useful things I teach the dogs is 'back, back, back.' It means "Come back and walk along quietly behind me, no dashing forward." If I say it in a whisper it means all that and also, "I'm not messing, this is not a drill, we have to be careful and quiet."

The minute she spotted the stranger in the woods she took a step back and checked to make sure I was doing the same. She often did this, sometimes if she saw a fern blowing in the wind in a way she found unacceptable she'd try to back me away from it.

This time though, and I swear I'm not making this up, she gave three sharp hissed breaths. She's a talker; she barks, she'll yowl at me if she's feeling under-appreciated, she makes funny chattery noises when she's glad to see me, she blows raspberries at me in the mornings. She has never made this breathy sound before or since. I'm completely convinced she was saying 'Back, back, back' in a whisper as clearly as she could.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭sanjose1

My wife is from Central America, she grew up on a farm. They kept the horses in a compound across from their house, you had to cross some open fields to get access. One morning they arrived to let out the horses to find the manes of some of the horses had been intricately woven, a bit like a young girl might have done to her hair. They had no clue as to how that might happen as anybody crossing the fields at night would stir the dogs. They found it amusing the first day but then it happened so often after that they became tired of it, especally as it took a lot of work to undo the patterns. She or the family had no clue as to what was going on. It couldnt be a monkey or any type of animal as the patterns woven were too complex. They couldnt figure out how anybody could access the area where the horses were kept, not that anybody would want to cross fileds there at night anyway (loads of nasty snakes there). Eventually it stopped and they never figured it out

RE:beveragelady - maybe it was some homeless guy or crusty living in the woods?

That dog sounds amazing (no sarcasm!)

Great post!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

The dog who was out in front is a collie mix and an uncertifed genius. She's 12 and a half now and she still does things that amaze me. I could bore you all night with implausible tales of her feats of intelligence. She had a very bad start in life though and that, combined with her brains, has made her very odd. People always remark that she seems to look at them very intensely and they don't always mean it as a compliment. She's working things out all the time.

So, one of the useful things I teach the dogs is 'back, back, back.' It means "Come back and walk along quietly behind me, no dashing forward." If I say it in a whisper it means all that and also, "I'm not messing, this is not a drill, we have to be careful and quiet."

The minute she spotted the stranger in the woods she took a step back and checked to make sure I was doing the same. She often did this, sometimes if she saw a fern blowing in the wind in a way she found unacceptable she'd try to back me away from it.

This time though, and I swear I'm not making this up, she gave three sharp hissed breaths. She's a talker; she barks, she'll yowl at me if she's feeling under-appreciated, she makes funny chattery noises when she's glad to see me, she blows raspberries at me in the mornings. She has never made this breathy sound before or since. I'm completely convinced she was saying 'Back, back, back' in a whisper as clearly as she could.

I had a collie, an uncanny one, and can well believe this.

fryup wrote: »
    RE:beveragelady - maybe it was some homeless guy or crusty living in the woods?

I was in those woods every single night, I would definitely have known if they were inhabited. This did not take place in an area popular with crusties or the homeless. And even so, it doesn't explain why he was standing out there in the rain with his hands over his face...

It's not supernatural or aliens or anything, it's dog-related.

Have you been back to the woods since at night? Fair play if so. Have you seen the man again?

I went there the following day to visit the spot by daylight. There was a trampled spot where he had been standing but nothing else. I continued to go there every night until I moved away from the area. Now I haunt different woods. They're not as nice but I never ever meet anybody.

Sometimes for a treat I'll drive back to those woods and follow my track in the dark. I know it so well I can still do most of it without a torch. It is almost completely overgrown now, which makes me think I really was the only person who used that particular route. Then the woods took a hammering from Ophelia and fallen trees have made it completely impassible in places so I have to invent detours through the undergrowth.

If you have never tried it, you should. Take a walk at night, turn off your torch and stand for a while until your eyes adjust. Then start walking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

I like night walking but if it was me, there is no way I'd have returned to the same place I'd had to run from a creepy man inthe dark. Have to agree with the liathroidi commenf!

I went there the following day to visit the spot by daylight. There was a trampled spot where he had been standing but nothing else. I continued to go there every night until I moved away from the area. Now I haunt different woods. They're not as nice but I never ever meet anybody.

Sometimes for a treat I'll drive back to those woods and follow my track in the dark. I know it so well I can still do most of it without a torch. It is almost completely overgrown now, which makes me think I really was the only person who used that particular route. Then the woods took a hammering from Ophelia and fallen trees have made it completely impassible in places so I have to invent detours through the undergrowth.

If you have never tried it, you should. Take a walk at night, turn off your torch and stand for a while until your eyes adjust. Then start walking.

Nah, you're good. Something about woods at night give me the creeps. No bother by day.

the woods took a hammering from Ophelia and fallen trees have made it completely impassible in places so I have to invent detours through the undergrowth.

ya sure, i will

tenor.gif

I like night walking but if it was me, there is no way I'd have returned to the same place I'd had to run from a creepy man inthe dark. Have to agree with the liathroidi commenf!

I was a timorous child, afraid of dogs and the dark and things that could never possibly happen. I don't know what changed but gradually my outlook altered. I have a stubborn streak and now I refuse to have 'fears.' That doesn't mean I'm never afraid and it doesn't mean I'm not cautious, it just means I don't ever get to say "I'm not doing that because I'm afraid." Sometimes I might say "I'm not doing that because there is a clear risk," but that's not the same thing.

Bono tells us "If you stop taking chances, you'll stay where you sit. You won't live any longer, but it'll feel like it."

An unpleasant side to this is that I have developed a contempt for people who let their silly fears limit their lives.

My mother died when I was 20 in January 1997. Father died when I was a baby. My one sister had a job in Sligo or somewhere. I was home alone. My 21st birthday was coming up and despite the recent death of my mother I wanted to mark my 21st with some sort of a party.

I had though that having it in the house might not be respectful considering some of my freinds were a bit messy at times. What else could I do?

So it was a week or 2 to go and I still wasn't sure. I was on the phone in my mother's bedroom to a sensible college friend. He seemed suprised that I would consider a party in the house given her recent death. I thought maybe he was right but sure "it would be grand" and put down the phone.

At that moment a sewing machine in her room started to turn. "Ker clunk, ker clunk, ker clunk". It was a 1950's Singer with an table and foot tredal driving a big wheel.
    I went over and stopped it, and said "OK I won't". It didn't move by itself again.

I think it was my mother because of the situation and because her death cert. was on the sewing machine.

She never tried to communicate to me again that I noticed. While I missed her terribly for a very long time I concluded it was better that someone be gone fully and not semi-there and advising from time to time.

In the end I had the party in my best friend's house and it was great fun.

The sewing machine was never my mother's it was given to my sister by a neighbour and my sister used it for a while. I think my mother wanted to tell me something and it was the handiest thing available to her!
    I know it happend for real because of the phone call. I know it wasn't a case of the sewing machine just rocking after I got up and disturbed the floor because it went "round and round" not just oscillating for a second.

That was my one and only experience worthy of reporting here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,187 ✭✭✭saabsaab

gozunda wrote: »
    Why would room 325 be in between 218 and 319?

A mystery? In between floors?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭who what when

While theres nothing paranormal or ghoulish about your story I do believe you are a very lucky lady and had you (and your dogs) not been so alert I dont believe you would alive today.

That guy meant you harm. He knew your movements. He knew you were coming along that track. He was crouched down by the track in order to pounce on you as you passed. He covered his face so that he couldn't be recognised again or even worse he was known to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

I don't believe in anything supernatural but this encounter gives me the shivers when I think about it.
    Super creepy. Why would he be hiding his face like that?
    But if it was someone you knew waiting to ambush you like the poster above says, why would they ambush someone who they know will have two dogs with them. Even small dogs can go wild when their owner is attacked.
    Could the creepy man have escaped from prison, mental home or something maybe.