Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid19 Part XIV - 8,089 in ROI (288 deaths) 1,589 in NI (92 deaths) (10/04) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,448 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

kingbhome wrote: »
    Can't see it going back to normal on the 12th

No chance. Will be extended to end of April. Then hopefully a slight easing.

CMO and government ministers have been in public saying it'll be difficult to maintain these restrictions long term

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,448 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Tootsie_1 wrote: »

Take that with a pinch of salt. Some of those locations are not 2k from each other.
    It's also quite easy for a garda to call for more gardai. Theres a public order unit assigned to that area at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭bekker

wakka12 wrote: »
    Is there a proper lockdown in Turkey right now like in Europe or what? Cases there have grown by 2000% over the last fortnight. First confirmed cases was 3 weeks ago and now 24k cases, 9th most in the world, along with the US it is by far the fastest growth in the world
    Turkey was sitting on the problem for geopolitical reasons, it's has been engaged in aggressive military expansionist operations and could not afford to admit vulnerability.

Also pre-emptive measures would have impacted the already weakened lira.

It only started reacting beyond border and geographic travel restriction when internal medical social and political pressure grew to a level that was no longer suppressible. Less visible was the virtual imprisonment of Syrian refugee camps, to prevent COVID-19 driveen mass exodus.

New restrictive measures include seeking approval from local governors before making intercity trips, and the closure of picnic areas, forests and archaeological sites over weekends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭easypazz

So approaching 5000 dead in the UK as of 9am this morning and the surge hasn`t really begun there yet.:(

Based on population we should have about 360 deaths to be equivalent.

We locked down before them, which leads me to believe this is our surge, its just we don't have a clown like bojo or trump in charge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Phoebas wrote: »
    1. Under what specific legislation would you have seized private property?
    2. Can you envisage any negative consequences for the supply of other PPE or other equipment from such a move?

The problem with the internet is that there's always someone who thinks they have better answers than the teams of professionals who do this stuff for a living.

Didn’t stop Germany or Italy doing it. Or turkey robbing plane loads of gear bound for Spain when the plane stopped to refuel.

Spinelessness is rampant in this country, just like when we were told ‘how would we like it if Italy stopped all flights from Ireland’. Pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,140 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Phoebas wrote: »
    In a bid to become more environmentally friendly, Aer Lingus phased out using single use aircraft a few years ago.

Brightened my day up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,345 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

easypazz wrote: »

We locked down before them, which leads me to believe this is our surge, its just we don't have a clown like bojo or trump in charge.

Might be a bit optimistic, I don’t think this is our surge.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,917 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

The 2km element is due to end April 19th, but the work from home/schools closed/most businesses closed element is in place anyway until April 19th, as that part came first.

I would imagine the 2km part will extend to April 19th, possibly another week after that and quite frankly, I would be extremely surprised if they do not lift it then.(specifically the 2km bit, whatever about anything else)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,551 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

German lab doing 2k test results per day for us.
    Is the reason the numbers have went up because 2000 is more than we were doing per day?
    Or are they extra in top of what we were doing and we're now up near 4k tests per day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

Must be some issue with the lockdown up the street from here, 2 vans and a police car arrived

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Rodin wrote: »
    The management and staff of nursing homes have a lot to answer for.

They brought the virus in to residents and let it spread like wildfire.

Given most nursing home residents are already in single rooms, the outbreak there is a national scandal.

Nursing homes closed to visitors and got crap from Harris and the CMO for scaremongering. Imagine how much worse it would be if they had buckled under political pressure and kept them open to visits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭kilkenny31

I dont think you can measure it like that. They are a lot more urbanised than us so would expect to have a greater number of cases per capita.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,771 ✭✭✭Speak Now

Jaysus even Bowers giving it the "I heard from a friend". Upset Gardai? Radio for back up and move them on. We need enforcement not wishy washy stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭woohoo!!!

UK numbers are a work of fiction

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭easypazz

MadYaker wrote: »
    Might be a bit optimistic, I don’t think this is our surge.

I dunno, we moved before UK on social distancing and closing bars, so I dont see how we will have a surge after them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭Hrududu

FFS. If they tighten things more because idiots can’t stay away from a beach or pier on a sunny day I’ll be so annoyed.

Had to go to the shop yesterday evening and it was noticeable how many people were out and about compared to last week

Speak Now wrote: »
    Jaysus even Bowers giving it the "I heard from a friend". Upset Gardai? Radio for back up and move them on. We need enforcement not wishy washy stuff.
    Water cannons, won't be long in moving or keen to repeat the experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

khalessi wrote: »
    THe gowns I was referring to in my post were not those that were sent. These jumpsuit coverall are more complicated to put on then what they expected to arrive

oh and how did I know is becuase I spent 20 years nursing and I know the gear they had and am also in contact with my fellow nurses

Fair play. You mentioned hazmat suits ten days ago which you said were in short supply and needed to fight covid and gowns not sufficient. You said they had the gowns but they are not sufficient.

My question was if you and I knew this why wear they not expecting this type of equipment? Bearing in mind anyone with a TV could see this is what is needed to prevent HCW getting sick.

Surely the 10 days could have been used to train. I’ve nothing against yourself or colleagues. Quite the opposite in fact. We have a higher percentage of HVW Ill and this is a huge concern for the general public.

HSE spin machine in overdrive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,622 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Spains death rate has seen its third daily decline, along with Italy.

Some great news finally starting to come around.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

spookwoman wrote: »
    Must be some issue with the lockdown up the street from here, 2 vans and a police car arrived

A domestic issue maybe?

easypazz wrote:
    I dunno, we moved before UK on social distancing and closing bars, so I dont see how we will have a surge after them.
    They went full shutdown before us though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,799 ✭✭✭threeball

woohoo!!! wrote: »
    Water cannons, won't be long in moving or keen to repeat the experience.

Dont know if we have water cannons but a shot of pepper spray might get them to **** off sharpish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

A domestic issue maybe?

think i was just one person acting the b*llox on their own, drink involved

threeball wrote:
    Dont know if we have water cannons but a shot of pepper spray might get them to **** off sharpish.
    You might have to be inside 2 metres to administer a shot of pepper spray.
    Also people might starting spraying germs around the place after being hit with the spray.

threeball wrote: »
    Would need to get too close. Water cannon cos no risk to police then

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Lwaker. wrote: »
    Trump and Johnson exposed with the pandemic

Varadkar not doing too bad late starting but covered his tracks well

Both wilfully ignorant therefore massively failing in their roles. Will it be a resigning matter, it should be but I doubt it.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

I see that the HSE state:

After shopping
    Wash your hands immediately when you get home.
    Sort out your shopping on a cleared, disinfected area.
    Wipe shelving with sanitiser and a paper towel, then throw the towel away.
    Wipe the outside of all canned or hard surface packed goods (tetra packs). Use a paper towel and warm soapy water or sanitiser. This is because coronavirus can survive on hard surfaces for up to 72 hours.
    If you'd rather not clean the food packaging, you could leave non-perishable foods in a safe place for 72 hours instead.
    Remove outer food packaging and throw it away.
    Try not to touch the inner packaging of items such as yoghurts.
    Wipe down your fridge and cupboard handles using sanitiser on a paper towel.
    Wash your hands after you have unpacked and put your shopping bags away.

But other health articles say, "you're not going to eat the can or the wrapping", just wash your hands and don't touch your face before doing so.

I still haven't heard of many supermarket workers falling ill, so I am hopeful this is minimal risk (insofar as nothing is devoid of risk).
    ZX7R wrote: »
    The issue regards supermarket started by an English professor ,then it was picked up by some health organization that I never heard of.
    The world health organization is of the opinion on the matter is that spread in supermarkets is inconclusive at the present time and more investigation is needed.

Ficheall wrote: »
    And the WHO would never be tardy in getting their act together and acknowledging that something was a problem..

Fair point Ficheall. But no-one has really explained the 'extent' of the supermarket problem - how many staff getting it? Risk compared to close contact i.e. not passing by shoppers briefly and washing hands etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

"Little bit of sun" ??? It's been pissing down here in Cork all morning which is probably not a bad thing. Part of the problem is that those who are going against the social distancing advice know the worst they will get is a dressing down from a Garda which they will probably boast about to their friends afterwards. If people knew they were going to get fined maybe they'd think twice before behaving irresponsibly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,799 ✭✭✭threeball

eagle eye wrote: »
    You might have to be inside 2 metres to administer a shot of pepper spray.
    Also people might starting spraying germs around the place after being hit with the spray.

Cattle prod then. Pricks ruining it for eveyone else. You wont be able to go out your front door after arseholes like this. I can guarantee it mostly the same heads as 2 weeks back also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

That is true, but it is difficult to know when the positive tests here were taken. There could be several days delay in reporting the numbers, because of lack of reagents, tests being sent to Germany etc. etc.

Therefore I am not sure if we have seen all the results from the Italians let loose in Dublin, or all the results of the Cheltenham fiasco yet.

I certainly hope that we are over that potential surge by now.