Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it just me or have SF vanished?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭all about the mane

And do all these plants and workers just stop making the drugs they are currently making. What about those patients? Also, does she realise how bespoke these facilities are? The regulatory requirements required to start production, the equipment, training etc. She hasn’t a feckin clue. Is she seriously meant to be SF’s spokesperson on health??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭aido79

She didn’t, she doesn’t have a ****ing clue what she is talking about . In a lot of cases companies would have to contract out the work to smaller companies to up batches.

She needs to be pulled up on this. Why is she allowed to go on camera and come out with nonsense without fact checking it first or even doing the slightest bit of research? Next she'll be expecting them to come up with a vaccine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,996 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

And do all these plants and workers just stop making the drugs they are currently making. What about those patients? Also, does she realise how bespoke these facilities are? She hasn’t a feckin clue. Is she seriously meant to be SF’s spokesperson on health??

Louise was a career trade unionist, a rabble rouser for SIPTU in the health sector, part of a failed attempt by SF to take over the union.

blanch152 wrote: »
    Louise was a career trade unionist, a rabble rouser for SIPTU in the health sector, part of a failed attempt by SF to take over the union.

The unions are the main reason the health sector is in the state it’s in. Great choice SF!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭tikkahunter

And do all these plants and workers just stop making the drugs they are currently making. What about those patients? Also, does she realise how bespoke these facilities are? The regulatory requirements required to start production, the equipment, training etc. She hasn’t a feckin clue. Is she seriously meant to be SF’s spokesperson on health??
    One of our drugs took about 2 years just to validate it in the plant , from passing clinical trails to getting to the patient can take 4 years . She is a clown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,076 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

In a lot of cases they would have to contract out the work to smaller pharmaceutical companies to carry out the batches . It’s complicated

I think you are spoofing tbh.

The HSE and NHS are in negotiations with a phama company Randox who say that they have 'stepped up' their production because of the Covid-19 virus.

Randox has stepped up its manufacturing operation in Co Antrim to escalate production of its Covid-19 test kits because it anticipates that governments will come under pressure, particularly in Europe, to test increasing numbers of people.

https://www.irishtimes.com/business/health-pharma/hse-and-nhs-officials-in-talks-with-randox-about-using-its-rapid-covid-19-test-1.4202579

According to google there are approx 180 other pharma plants in Ireland.

aido79 wrote: »
    She needs to be pulled up on this. Why is she allowed to go on camera and come out with nonsense without fact checking it first or even doing the slightest bit of research? Next she'll be expecting them to come up with a vaccine.
    It’s spouting populist ****e , telling the masses what they want to hear instead of just the truth and facts . It’s a worldwide pandemic and pharmaceuticals are really struggling. Like they need people to run the plants and they can get the virus as well . Sure I’m out now in isolation until my test results come back .

One of our drugs took about 2 years just to validate it in the plant , from passing clinical trails to getting to the patient can take 4 years . She is a clown.

Exactly. As a spokesperson for health you would think she would have some clue as to how things work. Scary to think she would get anywhere near the brief.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,927 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

SF are clowns, she won’t have talked without been given the go ahead by the rest of the gobs**ts

Let them talk, at this stage if another election comes around they will be back to the usual jobless free loaders supporters

The HSE and NHS are in negotiations with a phama company Randox who say that they have 'stepped up' their production because of the Covid-19 virus.

https://www.irishtimes.com/business/health-pharma/hse-and-nhs-officials-in-talks-with-randox-about-using-its-rapid-covid-19-test-1.4202579

Do you think those plants might be producing something else? They can just stop what they are doing and short the market for those patients. Great idea.

180 and and what do they make , listen you don’t have a clue what you are talking about . You can’t just start making kits because you are a pharma plant .You have to have the machines then validate them . The NHS and Uk government wouldn’t lie would they .

Do you think those plants might be producing something else? They can just stop what they are doing and short the market for those patients. Great idea.

In a crisis, anything is possible and everything should be on the table. And any politician is going to put possible solutions on the table and is not going to worry about upsetting a few easily annoyed.

Many many people and businesses have moved heaven and earth, why would the pharma industry not be asked to do the same?

Oh I fecking forgot...they might move if we upset them. :rolleyes:

180 and and what do they make , listen you don’t have a clue what you are talking about . You can’t just start making kits because you are a pharma plant .You have to have the machines then validate them . The NHS and Uk government wouldn’t lie would they .

Apparently, neither do you have a clue...as you immediately claimed a company couldn't step up to the plate and she was 'mouthing off'. As the IT article shows a fairly major one is waiting to do just that if they negotiate a deal with the HSE and NHS.

Now if you can show any back up at all that ALL other pharma plants can not do similar that would back up your position.

Apparently, neither do you have a clue...as you immediately claimed a company couldn't step up to the plate and she was 'mouthing off'. As the IT article shows a fairly major one is waiting to do just that if they negotiate a deal with the HSE and NHS.

Now if you can show any back up at all that ALL other pharma plants can not do similar that would back up your position.
    I am working in pharma for 22 years, I have more of a clue than you what goes on and how difficult it is to produce product on a daily basis .

In a crisis, anything is possible and everything should be on the table. And any politician is going to put possible solutions on the table and is not going to worry about upsetting a few easily annoyed.

Many many people and businesses have moved heaven and earth, why would the pharma industry not be asked to do the same?

Oh I fecking forgot...they might move if we upset them. :rolleyes:

It’s nothing to do with upsetting them. The pharma plants that are still in production are only still producing because they are making critical drugs. Drugs that patients are depending on. Do you just expect them to stop producing those medicines?

According to your mate earlier nobody is required to back up data with links, it’s in the charter

Hence why your knocking around so long :-)

It’s nothing to do with upsetting them. The pharma plants that are still in production are only still producing because they are making critical drugs. Drugs that patients are depending on. Do you just expect them to stop producing those medicines?

Nah we don’t need those cancer drugs or any of the rest of those medicines, SF told us to ramp up :-)

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    Nah we don’t need those cancer drugs or any of the rest of those medicines, SF told us to ramp up :-)
    Let them all eat cake

Yeah, let’s just drop all those patients that won’t survive without them. Louise wants action! Jesus wept

See Louise OReilly mouthing off on the news about Pharma plants having to step up to the plate .She is a lousy piece of ****e , the majority of pharma plants are already 24/7 365 and are struggling to keep up with batches . Not a word about the employees that have to go in and work in the plants risking bringing the virus home to their family if they become infected at work . Not all of us can stay at home and get paid for it .

Saw that and yes, she really is the lowest of the low.

It’s her ignorance that amazes me. Then again, she only has to be a brain cell smarter than her voters and that is quite obviously the case.

I am working in pharma for 22 years, I have more of a clue than you what goes on and how difficult it is to produce product on a daily basis .

But the IT article contradicts what you say. Production can clearly be ramped up in some facilities.

I don't doubt you work in a plant, but there are all levels of employees. So without anything concrete your end I will stick with what facts about this I can find.

My god lads and lassies, if you don't expect your politicians to speak up in a crisis (even if they are profoundly wrong) what kind of servile whipping dogs are you?

Try to imagine what it would be like when FG realise their goal of being in opposition...would Leo be 'mouthing off' everytime he called for something?

According to your mate earlier nobody is required to back up data with links, it’s in the charter

Hence why your knocking around so long :-)

No, they don't have to comply and that can speak for itself a lot of the time.

But the IT article contradicts what you say. Production can clearly be ramped up in some facilities.

I don't doubt you work in a plant, but there are all levels of employees. So without anything concrete your end I will stick with what facts about this I can find.

My god lads and lassies, if you don't expect your politicians to speak up in a crisis (even if they are profoundly wrong) what kind of servile whipping dogs are you?

Try to imagine what it would be like when FG realise their goal of being in opposition...would Leo be 'mouthing off' everytime he called for something?

Your politicians should speak up, even if they are profoundly wrong. High bar you are setting there.

So without anything concrete your end I will stick with what facts about this I can find.

Educate yourself:

https://www.drugs.com/fda-approval-process.html

What do you think ramped up means?

It means sourcing extra materials, training extra staff, distributing the experienced staff in new teams, and that's assuming the labs and lines have excess capacity or can be transferred to 24/7 production (which isn't possible for all products). All while maintaining extremely high quality control (because you make a mistake you could kill someone with lousy product, get your entire plant audited by national (and international) authorities).

Once you make the extra product, you need to boost storage, distribution, etc.

It's not like flicking a switch and anyone who doesn't know that shouldn't be given airtime on the news, let alone hold a position in a mainstream party.

The idea a plant that makes one pharma product could just transfer to making "tests" or some different product is so ignorant it's nearly beyond description.

You come across as a tad under informed. She wasn't talking about new drugs or a vaccine.
    Today at our briefing I urged the
    @HSELive
    to step up engagements with the pharmaceutical companies in Ireland to ensure that we have a secure & steady supply of testing kits & equipment as well as PPE for staff who need it

What do you think ramped up means?

It means sourcing extra materials, training extra staff, distributing the experienced staff in new teams, and that's assuming the labs and lines have excess capacity or can be transferred to 24/7 production (which isn't possible for all products). All while maintaining extremely high quality control (because you make a mistake you could kill someone with lousy product, get your entire plant audited by national (and international) authorities).

Once you make the extra product, you need to boost storage, distribution, etc.

It's not like flicking a switch and anyone who doesn't know that should be given airtime on the news, let along hold a position in a mainstream party.

The idea a plant that makes one pharma product could just transfer to making "tests" or some different product is so ignorant it's nearly beyond description.

As I said, in a crisis, what ordinarily seems impossible is suddenly possible.
    We already see some companies voluntarily switching their production lines to make essential supplies - for instance in France LVMH is converting its perfume factories to make hand sanitiser2, and in Spain, fragrance and fashion business Puig has offered the Government its production capacity for the manufacturing of hydroalcoholic and sanitising solutions3. In Italy, pharma company Menarini has converted its production plant to produce and donate disinfectant gel4. In the UK, distillery companies are said to be switching production to hand sanitiser5, and France's Pernod Ricard confirmed it is supplying its 96% proof alcohol to partners producing sanitising gel in the UK, France, Ireland and Sweden (with national tax authorities rushing to pave the way)6.

As I said, in a crisis, what ordinarily seems impossible is suddenly possible.

Clonakilty distilleries are now making hand sanitizer. A great initiative. People won’t die without their whiskey though.
    If a facility is producing a critical drug, they can’t switch. That’s the bottom line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,424 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

See Louise OReilly mouthing off on the news about Pharma plants having to step up to the plate .She is a lousy piece of ****e , the majority of pharma plants are already 24/7 365 and are struggling to keep up with batches . Not a word about the employees that have to go in and work in the plants risking bringing the virus home to their family if they become infected at work . Not all of us can stay at home and get paid for it .

It appears that SF are reverting to type. They are out of the spotlight for now as the government is busy running the country, so SF are desperate for a bit of attention or limelight. So a 'moan a day' is all they will give ya.

Pearse giving out about AIB
    O'Reilly giving out about pharma
    O'Brion will be out tomorrow giving out about something related to housing...

..but no one cares about SF anymore, at least for the time being.