Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid19 Part XII - 4,604 in ROI (137 deaths) 998 in NI (56 deaths)(04/04) **Read OP**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

gabeeg wrote: »
    “So, we can continue to be able to assure people that the risk of an individual in this country today picking up this infection in the community in Ireland is extremely low.”

Tony Holohan, 4th March
    That's a lifetime ago and it was true then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,203 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Anyone know how many new cases today

Was it 278 or 298 but 8 deaths (RIP), a bad day again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 820 ✭✭✭no.8

Pandemic or no pandemic, there will always remain a population of skumbags here (like many places)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭bekker

I can only imagine its designed to scare people into compliance?
    Number plate check and id matching?

Dealers have a logistics problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

GM228 wrote: »
    Ireland Coronavirus Statistics - Day 31 - Monday 30/03/2020

REMOVED LARGE TABLE
    Coyote wrote: »
    I would ask people to spend a few minuets reading posts like this and try to understand the numbers.
    there is a large number or reasons that different countries have different reported cases. testing, reporting other reasons
    Ireland is testing a large number of people as a % of people reporting

Regards

Coyote

The data is incorrect.

E.G. ICU Cases shot up 176% between 20th and 24th March.

Hospital admission went up 61% in the same timeframe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

RobertKK wrote: »
    There was an article in the New York Times about people from Poland leaving the UK because they said they thought the measures the UK were taking were crazy and that their NHS is over rated compared to hospitals in Poland, and they wanted to return home as it was superior both in measures taken and in hospital care.

Is Belarus in the EU? I am just comparing within EU borders.

Belarus is pretty much a dictatorship. Certainly not in the EU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Was it 278 or 298 but 8 deaths (RIP), a bad day again

It's pretty good actually. Them numbers are really encouraging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭gabeeg

is_that_so wrote: »
    That's a lifetime ago and it was true then.

It was 26 days ago, and it was utter, utter rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭Nermal

https://read.oecd-ilibrary.org/view/?ref=126_126496-evgsi2gmqj&title=Evaluating_the_initial_impact_of_COVID-19_containment_measures_on_economic_activity

An OECD report costing the containment measures.

Ireland is one of the least affected countries.

Assuming the economy magically came back to life when the shutdown ends (totally unrealistic), the measures would still take 15% off full-year GDP.

This is costing us at least €865m per week in lost output.

In the years to come we will look on this as a death of Diana-style mass delusion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Not at that time. 20:20 hindsight is no insight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,102 ✭✭✭Lavinia

jackboy wrote: »
    Guards out pointing a scanner at cars but not stopping anyone. What is that about? It’s outside a town and definitely not a speed check.
    does sound like a speed check ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,153 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

GM228 wrote: »

DAY
    |
    DATE
    |
    Cases
    |
    New Cases
    |
    Total Cases
    |
    Case Increase
    |
    Daily Reporting Change
    |
    Deaths to date
    |
    Mortality Rate
    |
    Hospitalised
    |
    Hospital Rate
    |
    ICU
    |
    ICU Rate
    |
    *Recovered
    |
    Recovery Rate
    |
    Population %
    |
    **Current Active Cases

1|29/02/2020|0|1|1|0.00%|0%|0|N/A|NR|NR|NR|NR|NR|NR|0.000%|1
    2|01/03/2020|1|0|1|0.00%|0%|0|N/A|NR|NR|NR|NR|NR|NR|0.000%|1
    3|02/03/2020|1|0|1|0.00%|0%|0|N/A|NR|NR|NR|NR|NR|NR|0.000%|1
    4|03/03/2020|1|1|2|100.00%|0%|0|N/A|NR|NR|NR|NR|NR|NR|0.000%|2
    5|04/03/2020|2|4|6|200.00%|300.00%|0|N/A|NR|NR|NR|NR|NR|NR|0.000%|6
    6|05/03/2020|6|7|13|116.67%|75.00%|0|N/A|NR|NR|NR|NR|NR|NR|0.000%|13
    7|06/03/2020|13|5|18|38.46%|-28.57%|0|N/A|NR|NR|NR|NR|NR|NR|0.000%|18
    8|07/03/2020|18|1|19|5.56%|-80.00%|0|N/A|NR|NR|NR|NR|NR|NR|0.000%|19
    9|08/03/2020|19|2|21|10.53%|100.00%|0|N/A|NR|NR|NR|NR|NR|NR|0.000%|21
    10|09/03/2020|21|3|24|14.29%|50.00%|0|N/A|NR|NR|NR|NR|NR|NR|0.000%|24
    11|10/03/2020|24|10|34|41.67%|233.33%|0|N/A|NR|NR|NR|NR|NR|NR|0.001%|34
    12|11/03/2020|34|9|43|26.47%|-10.00%|1|2.33%|NR|NR|NR|NR|NR|NR|0.001%|42
    13|12/03/2020|43|27|70|62.79%|200.00%|1|1.43%|NR|NR|NR|NR|NR|NR|0.001%|69
    14|13/03/2020|70|20|90|28.57%|-25.93%|1|1.11%|NR|NR|NR|NR|NR|NR|0.002%|89
    15|14/03/2020|90|39|129|43.33%|95.00%|2|1.55%|NR|NR|NR|NR|NR|NR|0.003%|127
    16|15/03/2020|129|40|169|31.01%|2.56%|2|1.18%|NR|NR|NR|NR|NR|NR|0.003%|167
    17|16/03/2020|169|54|223|31.95%|35.00%|2|0.90%|84|37.7%|6|2.69%|5|2.24%|0.005%|216
    18|17/03/2020|223|69|292|30.94%|27.78%|2|0.68%|108|37%|7|2.40%|5|1.71%|0.006%|285
    19|18/03/2020|292|74|366|25.34%|7.25%|2|0.55%|140|38.8%|12|3.28%%|5|1.37%|0.007%|359
    20|19/03/2020|366|191|557|52.19%|158.11%|3|0.54%|173|31.1%|13|2.33%|5|0.9%|0.011%|549
    21|20/03/2020|557|126|683|22.62%|-34.03%|3|0.44%|211|30.9%|13|1.90%|5|0.73%|0.014%|675
    22|21/03/2020|683|102|785|14.93%|-19.05%|3|0.38%|239|30.4%|25|3.18%|5|0.64%|0.016%|777
    23|22/03/2020|785|121|906|15.41%|18.63%|4|0.44%|277|30.6%|36|3.97%|5|0.64%|0.018%|897
    24|23/03/2020|906|219|1125|24.17%|80.99%|6|0.53%|305|27.1%|39|3.47%|5|0.44%|0.023%|1114
    25|24/03/2020|1129|204|1329|18.13%|-6.85%|7|0.53%|340|25.61|47|3.54%|5|0.38%|0.027%|1317
    26|25/03/2020|1329|235|1564|17.68%|15.20%|9|0.58%|419|26.8%|59|3.77%|5|0.32%|0.032%|1550
    27|26/03/2020|1564|255|1819|16.30%|8.51%|19|1.04%|489|26.9%|67|3.68%|5|0.27%|0.037%|1795
    28|27/03/2020|1819|302|2121|16.60%|18.43%|22|1.04%|564|26.6%|70|3.30%|5|0.24%|0.043%|2094
    29|28/03/2020|2121|294|2415|13.86%|-2.65%|36|1.49%|645|26.7%|84|3.48%|5|0.21%|0.049%|2374
    30|29/03/2020|2415|200|2615|8.28%|-31.97%|46|1.76%|NR|NR|84|3.21%|5|0.19%|0.053%|2564
    31|30/03/2020|2615|295|2910|8.28%|47.50%|54|1.86%|NR|NR|84|2.89%|5|0.17%|0.059%|2851

NR = Not Reported

Source: Department of Health and the Health Protection Surveillaence Centre.

*"Recovered" rates are not reported by the Department of Health in the above link, these figures are taken from the Worldmeters and Johns Hopkins websites which use data suplied by the DoT to the ECDC under the WHO Guidelines for reporting. Recovered statistics can only be published as "recovered" following two successful tests of being clear of the virus under the WHO reporting guidelines, as a result it is likely the recovered data is skewed.

** Due to the above issue with reporting of revovered cases the number of active cases is also likely skewed.

Day 20 - Thursday 19/03/20 Stats
    Day 21 - Friday 20/03/20 Stats
    Day 22 - Saturday 21/03/20 Stats
    Day 23 - Sunday 22/03/20 Stats
    Day 24 - Monday 23/03/20 Stats
    Day 25 - Tuesday 24/03/20 Stats
    Day 26 - Wednesday 25/03/20 Stats
    Day 27 - Thursday 26/03/20 Stats
    Day 28 - Friday 27/03/20 Stats
    Day 29 - Saturday 28/03/20 Stats
    Day 30 - Sunday 29/03/20 Stats

Is the % increase for today correct?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

wakka12 wrote: »
    22,000 confirmed cases in the UK and 9,000 hospitalized, goes to show how lack of testing outside of the hospitals skews the confirmed cases number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭bekker

Wolf359f wrote: »
    He doesn't have up to date info as it has to be complied and isn't released daily, last update:
    Healthcare workers
    Travel related 85
    No foreign travel 268
    Under investigation 92
    Total 445
    *All statistics measured at midnight on Thursday 26 March.
    Not 'up to date', "no information".

Doctors in HSE infected/doctors in HSE = % doctors in HSE infected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭marilynrr

Coyote wrote: »
    i'm not under rating the number of people who might commit suicide, but the other option is open spread of covid19 and we have seen what Italy/Spain looks like with 1000 people a day dead.
    that number is only a small % of the people if the full country of Italy/Spain was allow to be infected. the numbers would be 100's times higher.
    people will be stressed or worried about loads of things without even covid19 but the clam we should just open up so a very small % of people are not stressed and let a lot more die is makes no sense

Coyote

I absolutely agree with this initial lockdown to spread the curve. I think we need to do it to give ourselves a chance.

But after that I expect maybe one extension at the most and measures easing up, they're going to have to.

It's not just stress, some people are now in lockdown in unbearable situations, in abusive households, or in households where they had been already planning on leaving their spouse, now they're locked up with them.
    Wait until we see the stories that come out after all of this about how this has all affected those people.

To make it worse then there are the doomsdayers saying we'll be in lockdown for a year or more until a vaccine comes out.

People need to be careful of what they say because for those in unbearable situations saying things like that might just push them over the edge.

Nermal wrote: »
    https://read.oecd-ilibrary.org/view/?ref=126_126496-evgsi2gmqj&title=Evaluating_the_initial_impact_of_COVID-19_containment_measures_on_economic_activity

An OECD report costing the containment measures.

Ireland is one of the least affected countries.

Assuming the economy magically came back to life when the shutdown ends (totally unrealistic), the measures would still take 15% off full-year GDP.

This is costing us at least €865m per week in lost output.

In the years to come we will look on this as a death of Diana-style mass delusion.

Surely its better to be safe than sorry

Its long since time the econmy served the people than vice versa anyway,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

darjeeling wrote: »
    Latest modelling from Imperial College group estimates ~10% of Italian population infected = 5.9M people (95% conf interval = 1.9M to 15.2M)

Even higher estimate for Spain: 15% = 7M (95% CI 1.8M to 19M).

link

Seems like an overestimate. That would put the mortality at the same as flu. The mortality rate for flu in Italy is 3 per 100,000
    https://wwwnc.cdc.gov/eid/article/13/5/06-1309_article
    For the 32 influenza seasons studied, excess deaths averaged 3 per 100,000 population (range 0–38) for P&I and 18 per 100,000 for AC (range 0–107). Influenza accounted for an estimated 57,243 deaths from P&I (average 1,789 per season) and 318,806 from AC (average 9,963 per season).

Already at this point the deaths in Italy put it at 19.2 deaths per 100,000
    https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 312 ✭✭73bc61lyohr0mu

Lost my job today. Great craic. I applied for the covid 19 payment on welfare. It says I needed to apply for job seekers as well. Did that. I'm guessing that was what's supposed to be done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,353 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Over in Greece, political figures have been prompted to volunteer half of their salaries over the next two months to help the cash-strapped state combat the novel virus.

I wonder if we'd ever see the same here?

Lavinia wrote: »
    does sound like a speed check ?

Yep

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

twirlagig wrote: »
    I noticed that this evening. They’re everywhere... why would you dump them in the middle of a street? I live in a small town, only about 2 shops open in the whole length of the town and there’s a bin every 20metres or so...

Typical Irish behaviour pandemic or no pandemic. Same story with the disgraceful fly tipping, Now is the perfect opportunity to implement a zero tolerance approach here to stamp out this behaviour once and for all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,203 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

niallo27 wrote: »

How so, we have a backlog of testing and social distancing has been in place since second week of March, when are we expecting the surge peak?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭sterz

And 31 days ago Ireland recorded it's first case. Give over ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,201 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

I wonder if we'd ever see the same here?

There is no requirement for that.

Makes no difference to anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,235 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Harris looks wrecked over on twitter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭gabeeg

is_that_so wrote: »
    Not at that time. 20:20 hindsight is no insight.

There was major outbreaks in Asia at the time.
    Italy had over 3,000 known cases when he said that. Spain had over 200. Germany 59 etc etc

It wasn't a matter of hindsight. All that was required was regular sight.

They had that come-to-jesus moment where someone scared the crap out of them. Prior to that they were objectively terrible.

Holohan, given his position, should have been far more knowledgeable and wary of the virus. Instead he was telling us it was grand and there was no threat to Paddy's day.

Whitewash all this if it makes you feel more secure

STB. wrote: »
    Serious lack of reagents. I gather that's why a lot of tests had to be dropped on the 24th. Had to be more pin point with them. That is the case as of the weekend where Senior HSE staff gave individual presentations to the press and said as much.

It also explains why ICU fugures more than tripled between the 20th and the 24th. ICU figures went to 88 with COVID19. Thats people turning up in a bad way, some of which were probably awaiting tests. They are the quite serious cases, requiring ventilation. Covid19 and normal ICU patients share overall ICU capacity.

And thats where the trouble lies. Only 500 ICU beds between public and private, at this time.

But that 88 was not the number of people in ICU it was the total number who have passed through ICU since our first case. This ICU figure being misreported as current number is getting very very annoying as it’s giving a false picture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

“So, we can continue to be able to assure people that the risk of an individual in this country today picking up this infection in the community in Ireland is extremely low.”

Tony Holohan, 4th March

I was slow to understand the process but it came to me.

The main transmission route for the virus is human to human transmission.

At that time, the 4th of March, there was only 1 or 2 confirmed cases in Ireland and the authorities were scrambling to put their contacts into isolation.

At that time, the risk was low.

The situation has now changed in which they have addressed with the new restriction measures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,591 ✭✭✭bennyl10

Incorrect. Slightly over 11%.

Slightly under 11.
    10.12%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,442 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

niallo27 wrote: »

Team said current numbers are unsustainable in press conference