Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid19 Part XI - 2,615 in ROI (46 deaths) 410 in NI (21 deaths)(29/03)*OP upd 28/03*

Beasty wrote: »
    "I want to Break Free!"

Speaking of which... Update from prison situation.

All staff are social distancing as much as possible. All staff must be clean shaven in the event FFP3 masks are required (this is particularly fun for some of us seeing lads with Ronny Drew style beards as babyfaces for the first time ever, a bit of a laugh in a crappy time!). Prison visits have ceased. Prisoners are on staggered unlock. Social distancing is being enforced more stringently as time goes on. No more than half a dozen or so out on one landing at a given time. Hygiene is king at the moment, industrial cleaning is constant. There is an area segregated in the event of any prisoner being diagnosed with symptoms. It's a wild ride.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,456 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Can I still buy stamps anywhere?

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭kingtiger

pjohnson wrote: »
    Ridiculous letting the thick fùck home. Should lock him up for the nations good. Dumb fùckwits like that are the whole problem.

€500 on the spot fine for people who don't have a valid reason to be out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,449 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Can I still buy stamps anywhere?

Post office maybe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭Gynoid

storker wrote: »
    Aaaargh!!! The cruelty! That gets me to just 100m short of the sea front! A curse on our conversion to metric measurements! :)

Nòoooooooooooooo!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

An online friend of mine in America with terminal brain cancer got this letter from her hospital. She’s 40. I hope things don’t get bad in her home state and that she doesn’t catch coronavirus. Shit like that is just so scary. To see it written starkly like that is so shocking. I understand the rationale but holy living fuck. And she’s a pretty long-term survivor so she could have a few more years left.

768-C27-CB-DA0-C-4665-84-E0-EC751-FEA5-ACD.jpg?dl=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,456 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

namloc1980 wrote: »
    Post office maybe?

They staying open?

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,499 ✭✭✭Yester

If anyone is interested in a good investment opportunity I have a small business that is ready to mass produce a neck collar that can help enforce the 2km rule. I'm thinking it will look a bit like this..

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fbvX3elSaaY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Normally don’t agree with The Scum, but they have a point here.

There was factories in this country that hmade or had the ability to make PPE. BSN in Thurles for example, that closed during the Celtic tiger and production moved abroad to places like China.

What I’m hoping comes out of this is manufacturing brought back to Europe and the USA in retaliation to this.
    I think so, the rampant capitalism that allowed for the outsourcing of everything will rein back in. There was a school of thought which believed that a primarily service-oriented economy was a "more evolved" one, but clearly when you lack direct access to manufacturing facilities, then you may be crippled when a global emergency hits.

This was due anyway - the carbon cost of manufacturing everything in China and shipping it around the world was enormous.

For countries in the EU, this will present a good opportunity to build decent local manufacturing bases. Every country doesn't need to be individually self-sufficient.

If we weren't an EU member right now, we'd be in serious ****. We'd be food secure, but running out of almost everything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭Tandey

Yeah not even a fine.

Roger_007 wrote: »
    I just got off the phone to my ‘elderly’ (76), who lives alone. I was checking to see if she was OK and did she need anything. She said if she needed anything she would go out and get it. She has no intention of ‘cocooning’ herself. She’s as healthy as a trout and walks a couple of miles every day. She intends to continue doing exactly that.
    I don’t think she’s the only one who will refuse to be ‘cocooned’?

Covid-19 doesn't care if she is as "healthy as a trout". The overwhelming evidence is that people over 70 are substantially at risk. But some people just refuse to listen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,463 ✭✭✭shinzon

bit of light relief

Shin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭Tandey

They staying open?

Yes.

NetChat101 wrote: »
    Saw this mentioned on another forum and the understanding there was that this applies to someone who has a repeat prescription, maybe for blood pressure tablets, and usually has to go in every month for a months worth. Under this new situation it might be the case that the pharmacist could decide to give them more than one month's supply, so effectively giving them medication beyond normal date of their prescription, not medication beyond it's "use by" date.

Not saying that is the case, just another view of it.

You are correct. Pharmacists can already give 7 days 'emergency' cover for people on repeat prescriptions. It's now extended.

People cannot read

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,549 ✭✭✭✭Alun

froog wrote: »
    also it seems a lot of people missed a very troubling comment in the middle of all this - leo said pharmacies will be able to give out medicine past it's sell by/use by dates.
    No he didn't. He said that pharmacies were being allowed to dispense medications on the foot of expired prescriptions which would normally require a visit to the doctor to get renewed. And at the discretion of the pharmacist.

They staying open?

Yes. Essential service along with banks and credit unions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭Gynoid

An online friend of mine in America with terminal brain cancer got this letter from her hospital. She’s 40. I hope things don’t get bad in her home state and that she doesn’t catch coronavirus. Shit like that is just so scary. To see it written starkly like that is so shocking. I understand the rationale but holy living fuck. And she’s a pretty long-term survivor so she could have a few more years left.

768-C27-CB-DA0-C-4665-84-E0-EC751-FEA5-ACD.jpg?dl=1

Ah Christ, a cruel letter for her.

530 pages, multiple threads and people still don't appear to understand how transmission of the virus happens.

You don't need to be touching an infected person to get infected folks. Transmission can happen through inanimate objects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭kilkenny31

seamus wrote: »
    I think so, the rampant capitalism that allowed for the outsourcing of everything will rein back in. There was a school of thought which believed that a primarily service-oriented economy was a "more evolved" one, but clearly when you lack direct access to manufacturing facilities, then you may be crippled when a global emergency hits.

This was due anyway - the carbon cost of manufacturing everything in China and shipping it around the world was enormous.

For countries in the EU, this will present a good opportunity to build decent local manufacturing bases. Every country doesn't need to be individually self-sufficient.

If we weren't an EU member right now, we'd be in serious ****. We'd be food secure, but running out of almost everything else.

Agreed the EU needs to pull together and be strategic. We can continue to buy our non essential crap from China like Christmas lights and toy soilders. The the chineese government also need to accept some responsibility for this outbreak, in a globalised world every country needs to accept it has a responsibility to the people of the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭otnomart

kilkenny31 wrote: »
    If the eurozone doesn't come up trumps this time around or if Germany drags its heels and their obsession about inflation prevents the Eurozone from taking drastic measures then Ireland and smaller countries will seriously have to consider exiting the eurozone. I think it's clear the the Euro was a mistake. Too many different economies at different stages of growth being dictated to by the needs of one economy.

Personally, I do not agree that the Euro was a mistake.
    However, if all European Countries do not realise that this is the most serious crisis since WW2 (and the EC was created to avoid just that: a repeat of WW2) and that this crisis needs to be overcome with extraordinary meaures, the EU will die.

Strong article by former ECB Chief on FT (this FT article is free to read):

We face a war against coronavirus and must mobilise accordingly https://www.ft.com/content/c6d2de3a-6ec5-11ea-89df-41bea055720b

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,063 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

wadacrack wrote: »
    The PPE is not anywhere near good enough, Have a look at an Irish Healthcare worker compared to one in China. Its not good enough and they should have planned for this in January

Do you remember that 2nd press conference announcing the number of infections, which were in single digits, mind, when they said they were not expecting any significant increase in numbers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,187 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

If you order a takeaway how does it work with the restrictions when the delivery guy person comes to your house in terms of delivering it and paying him the person?

froog wrote: »
    also it seems a lot of people missed a very troubling comment in the middle of all this - leo said pharmacies will be able to give out medicine past it's sell by/use by dates. odd thing to say unless he's expecting a mass shortage of essential medicines very soon.

No he didn't. Christ almighty, people just have no common sense. He said they can give out medicine on out of date "prescriptions" so people don't need to go to the doctor etc. Use your brains people please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭khalessi

If you order a takeaway how does it work with the restrictions when the delivery guy person comes to your house in terms of delivering it and paying him the person?

online payment only
    will drop food at front door ring bell and walk away for contactless delievery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Hobgoblin11

Hazmat suit time

Dundalk, Co. Louth

Pay online/over the phone when ordering. Delivery person will leave food at the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭sterz

Doesn't appear to be much of a change in attitude this morning by the looks of things. People still going around in groups and totalling dismissing the message sent out last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

kingtiger wrote: »
    €500 on the spot fine for people who don't have a valid reason to be out

Totally unenforceable. It’s not backed by any legislation and it would be very difficult to pass a law which would have to list all the valid reasons why a person might be out. Even then a person can state any reason and the Gardai have no way of verifying it.

You don't need to be touching an infected person to get infected folks. Transmission can happen through inanimate objects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,566 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

You were talking about your delight with more card less cash the other day and now you have to ask this?