Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid19 Part XI - 2,615 in ROI (46 deaths) 410 in NI (21 deaths)(29/03)*OP upd 28/03*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Steer55 wrote: »
    Anyone know if building sites are now closed?
    Not so far but they did have 48 hours to comply with distancing. The list when it's published should confirm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,566 ✭✭✭Risteard81

Hooked wrote: »
    If it were me... I’d be on the road now.

The news only broke last night. Explain you were at work when it broke and this is the first chance you’ve had to move. Can’t see anyone with even half a brain turning you around.

Drive safe.

Explain nothing. It's none of their business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,131 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Risteard81 wrote: »

Wow folks we have a rebel here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

crossman47 wrote: »
    That is a lunatic comment. I happen to know many civil servants are working flat out, barely getting home to sleep. Have a bit of cop on - they are trying to cope with a fast moving emergency.

You would like to think they have plans in place for different phases of lockdown. I agree with the original poster. They had a few days to sort this out, instead of it's a lockdown from midnight. Oh you want to know what businesses affects, we will tell ya over the weekend. Its pathetic.

DOCARCH wrote: »
    That's not official (yet).

It was on the 11 0 clock news.
    My advice to people, get off this thread and get your information from official sources.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭tromtipp

Don't know about phones but I used diluted bleach yesterday on a 'new' laptop and it hasn't harmed it (took care not to let wetness get into the innards). Went to the laptop repair shop in response to an 'emergency' - in another world. I'm so glad I went for a reconditioned replacement, now that this phase of the lockdown has landed. Wondered at the time was my feeling I wanted to avoid going back into town a bit ott.

For clothes, you'd be better to wash them - soap and water is the BEST cleanser. If you're staying at home, wearing easily washable things shouldn't be a problem.
    I know alcohol can be good for cleaning phones, but can a diluted bleach solution be used as well to clean phones. Also are there any good disinfectants that won't stain clothes like bleach would?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

I think this goverment and it's advisors have done a great job so far but they really should've had a specific and comprehensive list ready of essential jobs that can carry on. There's a lot of confusion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭Bandito909

Yes, they are.

Source?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,756 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Achasanai wrote: »

Exactly. Although we're due a 'big' shop, we're waiting until the end part of the week with the hope that any panic buying will have died down by then.

Just going to order online.. sod waiting in long queues. Going to ration whatever food we do have until this delivery arrives. Then we'll immediately place the next order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,086 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Of course you can. Go home to see her. Leo can mind his own business.

So many pointy edges.

Bandito909 wrote: »
    Source?

The news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,794 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Of course you can. Go home to see her. Leo can mind his own business.

Just make sure to fill up. Some petrol stations are doing maintenance work when it's slow on the roads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭Curious_Case

For those who still don't understand the 2km radius restriction, it's like this -

Connect yourself to your front door or gate using a 2km length of imaginary thread (actually a little longer to facilitate knot making at both ends)

You can now go wherever you like as long as you don't stretch or break the imaginary thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

old_aussie wrote: »
    Good luck Ireland

Yeah Ireland are getting the ones the Spanish no longer want ........
    Coronavirus: Spain stops using Chinese test kits after its found they have a 30 per cent accuracy.

The research found nose swabs developed by Shenzhen Bioeasy Biotechnology had an accuracy rate of less than 30 per cent.

https://www.news.com.au/lifestyle/health/health-problems/coronavirus-spain-stops-using-chinese-test-kits-after-its-found-they-have-a-30-per-cent-accuracy/news-story/c87b6929a0447d9d00a14b0938735c68

It's collecting PPE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

cnocbui wrote: »
    Bleach breaks down to salt water fairly quickly, it's not a danger to the oceans and probably would be mostly broken down in passing through storm water drainage systems.

Should, in theory, be neutralised before it hits storm drains. An overload of salt water will shock water courses.
    I know alcohol can be good for cleaning phones, but can a diluted bleach solution be used as well to clean phones. Also are there any good disinfectants that won't stain clothes like bleach would?

A bleach solution (1 part bleach to 99 parts water) is good.

Normal washing powder is fine, soap breaks down the lipid coating on the virus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭khalessi

niallo27 wrote: »
    You would like to think they have plans in place for different phases of lockdown. I agree with the original poster. They had a few days to sort this out, instead of it's a lockdown from midnight. Oh you want to know what businesses affects, we will tell ya over the weekend. Its pathetic.

THis might surprise ya but sometimes tds do stuff off the bat despite being advised not to as things may not be ready to roll out but they do it anyhow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

extremely confusing from the government regarding factories and other non retail businesses. there appears to be no restrictions there at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,756 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

For those who still don't understand the 2km radius restriction, it's like this -

Connect yourself to your front door or gate using a 2km length of imaginary thread (actually a little longer to facilitate knot making at both ends)

You can now go wherever you like as long as you don't stretch or break the imaginary thread.

Who are you engaging with here? Toddlers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,780 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Some people might need an actual length of thread wrapped around their waist and attached to their front door to conceptualize this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

pjohnson wrote: »
    So many pointy edges.
    Risteard is feeling grand though, and has no worries - so what's the issue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,487 ✭✭✭circadian

Anyone got that diagram that shows the spread and how staying at home reduces it? It's red dots with the stay at home ones in grey.

Really simple but effective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,356 ✭✭✭NATLOR

is_that_so wrote: »
    He's now taken to threatening anyone he think he can blame. We all share a level of frustration about this and he's taking it a lot worse than most.

His daily pressers are something to behold (comedy gold if it wasn't so serious)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

lawred2 wrote: »
    Who are you engaging with here? Toddlers?
    Adults who behave like toddlers.

So, so many adults who behave like toddlers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,086 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Raconteuse wrote: »
    Risteard is feeling grand though, and has no worries - so what's the issue?

I'd say the education system for producing people like that tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭Mervyn Skidmore

niallo27 wrote: »

This comment is pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

froog wrote: »
    extremely confusing from the government regarding factories and other non retail businesses. there appears to be no restrictions there at all?

Non-retail businesses will be dealt with in a separate list and advice to be published today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

I don't know if this has been posted already so apologies if it has.

'Two metres not enough' when social distancing

But a new analysis by the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in the US has found that viral droplets expelled in coughs and sneezes can travel in a moist, warm atmosphere at speeds of 10-30 metres (33ft-100ft) per second, creating a cloud that can span approximately 7-8 metres (23ft-27ft).

The researchers also warn that droplets can stay suspended in the air for hours, moving along airflow patterns imposed by ventilation or climate-control systems.

It seems as though we have greatly underestimated the aerosol nature of virus transmission. Whatever the reason. I've seen in some guides on PPE use the term eye protection. Doesn't stipulate goggles or face-shield. They are not the same and do different things.

There is even a warning on this thread that you can't talk about airborne. Think it needs to be updated at this stage.

Number of healthcare workers getting this is very high.

https://www.independent.ie/world-news/coronavirus/two-metres-not-enough-when-social-distancing-39083182.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

What kind of lunatic would you need to be to go on a cruise after what happened on the Princess Cruise Ship?

Have you seen the worst debacle of all The Ruby Princess in Australia? A few weeks back I posted about watching videos from Australia where people embarking were being interviewed and they were all extremely blasé about the risk of getting on the ship. Out of curiosity I looked up what happened last night and it was probably the biggest corona-cruise ship disaster of all. Numerous people on the cruise got ship and either the crew or Princess cruises made the decision to suppress the information completely. When the cruise was over they arrived in New South Wales and somehow the port authorities just let the ship dock and everyone disembark. 1/3 of the passengers were international passengers and they were told to either leave Australia right away or find a way to self-isolate for 14 days. Most of them went straight to airports and flew home. Australian passengers were told to go home and self-isolate but told it was fine to use public transport to get there.

This is now recognised as being the largest source of cases in Australia with at least 293 passengers since testing positive and numerous contact infections stemming from these passengers. British passengers said they flew home after disembarking and were already back in London, having taken two flights home, by the time they heard there had been an outbreak on the ship. Some started showing symptoms in the following days. It's been an absolutely massive fuçk up.

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-australia-51999845

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2020/mar/28/interstate-coronavirus-cases-from-ruby-princess-jump-as-32-queenslanders-test-positive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭khalessi

pjohnson wrote: »
    I'd say the education system for producing people like that tbh.

Parents are the primary educators so I would look closer to home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭random_banter

Went for my test earlier. Have seen Gardai out this morning carrying out checks on people who are out and about. On the way back went through a checkpoint - they were stopping everyone on the road- drivers, cyclists, runners, walkers.

I just put the window down a crack and held up my mask in front of my mouth and said I was on the way back from the test. “Grand, take care”.

Didn’t catch the conversations they were having with others.

All in all I was glad to be seeing it policed in some way.