Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I want a shutdown NOW!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭Randy Archer

Seve OB wrote: »
    It’s funny that the worlds best athletes such as Mo Farah can run 10k in radius of about 90m but you must have more than 2km. :rolleyes:

Considering the drug allegations Mo has against him, not sure he is a perfect example to offer.

Not everyone has a treadmill but ya a pitch out to suffice

The fact that the chap wants hills as oppose to a pitch (hey,beggars can’t be choosers) to smash himself suggests he needs a bit of space for the auld head space cleansing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,259 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

We don't all have access to drugs of that quality

Daft comment. What have drugs got to do with the area of a running track?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭lucat

What jobs are counted as ‘essential’? Healthcare, shop staff and delivery drivers, airline staff, post office and other civil servants and building/maintenance jobs like electricians etc.?

Considering the drug allegations Mo has against him, not sure he is a perfect example to offer.

Not everyone has a treadmill but ya a pitch out to suffice

I have no idea about drugs. It’s not about drugs.

I can run (well I can’t run but I can try lol) as many miles as I like by doing laps of the block, or field or whatever by the house. There is no reason to require miles upon miles of road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭ITman88

15,000 Guards at most only 8,000 available at any given time to be on the streets. These restrictions need the buy in of the public and the two weeks will be a big enough ask. A relaxation of the restrictions needs to happen fairly soon after the two weeks, a rolling restrictive regime won't last long.

Yeah this is completely dependant in the public buy in.
    Come April 12th law and order will be under pressure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭chicorytip

The underlying message from the government here is - "the medical experts have no new advice or information for us. We simply can't predict what's going to happen from now on so let's all just do what we have been doing and hope for the best."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭CaoinDory

lucat wrote: »
    What jobs are counted as ‘essential’? Healthcare, shop staff and delivery drivers, airline staff, post office and other civil servants and building/maintenance jobs like electricians etc.?

Apparently they are not releasing the list till tomorrow... but it comes into effect from midnight. Load of.... cow dung!!!

Hubby has been told he has to go in cause he delivers lime to farms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭Stacksofwacks

topper75 wrote: »
    I've absolutely no idea how a 10k run through my rural community spreads a virus when I meet nobody. 2km? I thought they were a bit overboard with that radius and I cannot comply with that particular measure. A run in the hills keeps me sane even on good weeks.
    I'll be compliant in all other regards. The only way I could spread a virus with my activity over the past few weeks would be food shopping. But there is little I can do about that.

They want to reduce people going out and when they do narrow the distance as much as possible. I understand its a broad measure and may not suit everyone but If people start ignoring these measures because of reason x dosent apply to me etc then the measures wont work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

15,000 Guards at most only 8,000 available at any given time to be on the streets. These restrictions need the buy in of the public and the two weeks will be a big enough ask. A relaxation of the restrictions needs to happen fairly soon after the two weeks, a rolling restrictive regime won't last long.

You do realise the reason they are doing this is not spread the virus any further, in turn not to overwhelm the public health service. ICU's are already reaching capacity and triaging questions are looming as our ventilator gear right now is 600 for the whole country.

Its not about public convenience. The message is STAY AT HOME.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭ITman88

CaoinDory wrote: »
    Apparently they are not releasing the list till tomorrow... but it comes into effect from midnight. Load of.... cow dung!!!

From what I’ve seen very little can change, only essential services have been open until now anyway, perhaps take aways may close, other than that shops and garages will stay open

Not if the Guard can point to several supermarkets closer to your home than your current point.

In the UK, yes.

https://www.bbc.com/news/business-52033260

Maybe Dublin, if outside Dublin, ya be doing well to see “several supermarkets” in a given town . Why force people into shops like Aldi /Tesco where (a) they normally do not shop In and (b) much more importantly, will guarantee long ques?

Granted, people will probably panic buy in all shops tomorrow, especially the booze .

I can imagine some thick but under pressure copper Normally stationed outside the district going “are you being smart with me boy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

HalfBlues wrote: »
    Pulse check to see where they live and thatl quickly catch people out

Won’t catch the people who are out for good reason out.

Plus is everyone even on pulse? Even those who have never come to the attention of the Gardai?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

Not if the Guard can point to several supermarkets closer to your home than your current point.

In the UK, yes.

https://www.bbc.com/news/business-52033260

As long as you are within 2km of home (in any direction) you will be fine.

They better have electricians on that list! I’m getting rewiring done & it’d be a big fire hazard to leave it plus it’d risk my insurance renewal.
    Same with builders- my chimney stack is being rebuilt as it’s unstable. Strong wind could knock it down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Happy Now OP??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭CaoinDory

They better have electricians on that list! I’m getting rewiring done & it’d be a big fire hazard to leave it plus it’d risk my insurance renewal.
    Same with builders- my chimney stack is being rebuilt as it’s unstable. Strong wind could knock it down.

I'd imagine they would be. Energy requirements and all that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

ITman88 wrote: »
    From what I’ve seen very little can change, only essential services have been open until now anyway, perhaps take aways may close, other than that shops and garages will stay open

You got to be joking, i work in a business park ,several places still open and non essential including my place of work, this needed to happen.

I'd imagine they would be. Energy requirements and all that!

Hopefully. Hearing everyone complain about construction workers still going to work doesn’t fill me with confidence though.

But we are talking about the Republic of Ireland here and the new measures announced this evening.

This is not the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Still waters

Your electrician shouldnt walk out of a job in the evening leaving a potential fire hazard, if he does give him the road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Rodin

Should have shut the airports to non-essential passengers ages ago.

Ryanair don't even hoover up biscuit crumbs between flights... god knows what other treats are left behind from the preceding passengers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

STB. wrote: »
    You do realise the reason they are doing this is not spread the virus any further, in turn not to overwhelm the public health service. ICU's are already reaching capacity and triaging questions are looming as our ventilator gear right now is 600 for the whole country.

Its not about public convenience. .
    You do realise the gob****es who have not adhered to the restrictions and social distancing rules are not going to adhere to these new rules either. You get that right?

Your electrician shouldnt walk out of a job in the evening leaving a potential fire hazard, if he does give him the road

The job’s starting on Monday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Rodin wrote: »
    Should have shut the airports to non-essential passengers ages ago.

Ryanair don't even hoover up biscuit crumbs between flights... god knows what other treats are left behind from the preceding passengers

Better the spit some passengers are leaving on buses....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Still waters

It might have to be postponed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

fryup wrote: »
    Happy Now OP??

I doubt it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,131 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Eh why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭solidasarock

Ill let Leo know realdanbreen on Boards really wants a shutdown.

Good to see he got my message.

Thanks realdanbreen! You are the real hero.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭Macker1

To be honest I was expecting this a few weeks back and I had asked Senior Manager about traveling to work issues. Lo and behold during the press conference I was contacted and an email received with attached Letter stating I was allowed to travel to and from work as a critical worker. I really hope people comply with this lockdown as the next measures if required will be a lot more restrictive.

Lets keep each other safe.

Seve OB wrote: »
    I have no idea about drugs. It’s not about drugs.

I can run (well I can’t run but I can try lol) as many miles as I like by doing laps of the block, or field or whatever by the house. There is no reason to require miles upon miles of road.

The issue is your example of Mo Farrah ,a suspected doper

One minute you can run, then you contradict yourself. Make up your mind

People clearly are not going out just for the run. They need their head space ie country side ,hills etc for their mental well being etc

As for the drugs that you queried about earlier, we’ll, that sure helps to keep the mind stimulated and free from the boredom that is running on a track over and over and over ... ergo piss poor example by raising Mo Farrah

But yeah, if a 90 m space is all one has to exercise , that shall have to do . The chap never said that he wouldn’t obey the new rules either .