Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid19 Part XI - 2,615 in ROI (46 deaths) 410 in NI (21 deaths)(29/03)*OP upd 28/03*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,598 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Are all of your 52K posts this insightful? :rolleyes:

52 k?

I'm actually envious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭Mervyn Skidmore

Are the "lockdown" cohort on here finally satisfied?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

DellyBelly wrote: »
    It's till midnight? My family have a place in West Cork it's okay to head there tonight so I presume? Better to be in lockdown by a beach rather in the city I think. Thank goodness I didn't have a glass of wine this evening
    Don't think there would be a problem to head down in the morning if you are going there to sensibly self isolate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Don’t know how the airports are staying open makes this 2 weeks pointless if passengers are still coming in. Cargo etc is fine

Numbers show they're more likely to catch it when they get here than bring it back with them,.

Can we put an end to this narrow minded idea that we're importing and spreading from those all our new cases?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 395 ✭✭Class MayDresser

Are all of your 52K posts this insightful? :rolleyes:

It's called humor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭timmy_mallet

Doom merchant

He'd love it on here so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,341 ✭✭✭dan786

owlbethere wrote: »
    With new restrictions coming in tonight:

Would we be allowed to shop in a larger supermarket in town or do we have to remain local and shop in a small local shop?

The 2km restrictions is only for excercise and not for other essential needs which includes food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 smallfryy

It's till midnight? My family have a place in West Cork it's okay to head there tonight so I presume? Better to be in lockdown by a beach rather in the city I think. Thank goodness I didn't have a glass of wine this evening

Oh wow!! Definitely, get your supplies and chill out by the beach! Your 2 weeks will fly. So lucky!

I'm in a manky estate and all our kids are acting disturbed and rabid and this point...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

gmisk wrote: »
    I think a serious amount of people have taken up jogging in the last month.
    I walk the dog rain or shine...I would have rarely seen anyone out running now cant move for them. I am walking a seriously zig zag route to avoid them
    Yeah, it's been like Picadilly Circus in the forest park beside me this last couple of weeks. Normally you might see 1 or 2 an evening.

obi604 wrote: »
    Please everyone read and understand this.

And also stop going on about your bloody runs.

No, we can run, it is advised by the medics

• The 'list' they keep going on about, where is it?
    I've been trying to find out factual information around asthmatics and if they are considered high risk as family member has it pretty bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭adam88

Lads. Calm it down,,,,,,, there’s no one actually reading these as they’re being posted so fast

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 trisha e

walshb wrote: »
    He is a fidget

Same every time he is on

He was the same with his specs initially.someone must have told him to stop
    Himself and Harris are doing a marvellous job in very difficult circumstances

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭Tomrota

FVP3 wrote: »
    Most have already, near me anyway. My fear is a lot of small shops will close, as customers dwindle.

There are still many open near me. Surely if people are only allowed outside for essential services, they should close the coffeeshops, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭Palmach

The key word is asked. Unless you are really acting the maggot the guards won't bother you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

Nice Terminator 2 reference, in fairness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

fullstop wrote: »
    Yes and yes. You must walk the dog alone (well with the dog obvs :P )
    If nothing else we are going to end up with a population of very fit dogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭bb12

the cure shouldn't be worse than the disease.

the economy will pick up again. there is so much money sitting in peoples savings accounts in this country...nobody can spend a cent at the moment as everything is closed, so once the restrictions are lifted, there'll be a flood of cash flowing again...and it'll probably be the middle of summer too, so more diy, barbeques and probably increased sales of alcohol as everybody will have an end-of-pandemic party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

owlbethere wrote: »
    With new restrictions coming in tonight:

Would we be allowed to shop in a larger supermarket in town or do we have to remain local and shop in a small local shop?
    I think you can justify doing a shop that will cost you less. Local shops will not have all you need anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭timmy_mallet

Are the "lockdown" cohort on here finally satisfied?

No, they're like Brexit voters and Trumpists, who won and are still moaning. They wont be happy till the world is burned down.

Thargor wrote: »
    I work in a medical device factory, do you think that will be classed as essential or will it be shut on Monday?

Am 95% certain medical device and pharma will remain open. Heart attacks, strokes, dialysis etc is not stopping. Most of these have no more than 8 to 12 weeks supply in the market so shutting them down would cause massive problems worldwide in the coming months. And the Medtronics and Other suppling much needed vents and other supplies will need to be busier than ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,511 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

The 2km thing is to stop muppets crowding each other.

The most serious measure is over 70s have to stay in.

That is a tough one to take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Jjjjjjjjbarry

Are all food suppliers who supply shops now shut for two weeks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 395 ✭✭Class MayDresser

adam88 wrote: »
    Lads. Calm it down,,,,,,, there’s no one actually reading these as they’re being posted so fast

Those apostrophes helped, great idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

froog wrote: »
    it's actually a really good point.

my mother was telling me about TB back in the day. thousands dying all over the place. it sucked but people got on with stuff.

It’s not a good point at all, it’s quite stupidity suggest social media has any role in what countries like China, Russia or any other country are doing. It’s just stupid because china in particular were the first to completely shut down and they don’t care much about social media.

If people just “get on with it” , millions of people will die. You don’t write off millions of people because it’s an inconvenience. We can afford to take these measures.

People keep talking about the economy with absolutely no idea what they are talking about. These measures are to buy us time to manage the crisis and to find a cure. The economy will have a blip and recover like it always does and always has, its hyperbolic waffle to suggest otherwise without even some sort of example that shows us how a few months of disruption will end up... worst scenario in my view is basically a lower standard of living. Maybe not as many holidays or cars, but not poverty.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,301 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Nice Terminator 2 reference, in fairness

The younger folk wouldn't have picked it up, Leo must be a fan :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Roger_007 wrote: »
    All efforts should be concentrated on devising ways to protect the at-risk groups. The rest of us can just take our chances.

Great idea. Let everybody get sick at once so the health system is completely shut down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,570 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

This 2km thing is a load of codswallop. I've been driving out to the middle of nowhere to walk my dogs where there is nobody else. If I walk them within 2km of my house I can't avoid people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,341 ✭✭✭dan786

No. They are an essential service provider.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

No. Food production is an essential service.