Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid19 Part XI - 2,615 in ROI (46 deaths) 410 in NI (21 deaths)(29/03)*OP upd 28/03*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Naggdefy

If they do they'll be frozen in a bitter east wind. They next few days aren't going to be beach days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭FVP3

RTE asking the stupid questions already answered again. Most Irish journalists do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

Drumpot wrote: »
    So much being done so right by this leaving government.

People don’t seem to grasp how important these briefings are and how well organized our authorities have looked. They have excelled at communication.

I know this is going to get really bad but am convinced that however bad it gets it could of been a lot worse. Few country’s gets everything right, even less have been prepared or acted as quickly as I feel our government/authorities have handled this. This includes making changes as things change.

Bit slow at the 'containment' but maybe that was deliberate? Letting people return and infect others. But otherwise, putting on a solid face. Anyone criticising Harris is just a vacuous fool at this point.

• Site Banned Posts: 221 ✭✭SAM SO NITE

awec wrote: »
    I know this is a popular soundbite but without an economy there'll be no health service. All of these measures need to be paid for.

Without an economy, once this crisis is over we could be left with a health system that's unable to fund even the mundane stuff that we take for granted.

the cure shouldn't be worse than the disease.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,525 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Lundstram wrote: »
    He's been excellent since all this started. He's under severe pressure and has aquitted himself very well indeed.
    I agree entirely not his biggest fan.
    But he has handled this very well.
    The stress must be immense plus he has Crohns.

My folks are watching this from north and think they are all brilliant compared to info they are getting from politicians up there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,757 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Why are they not closing the f*cking airports? Shut the place down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭1wizards sleeve

Chesty08 wrote: »
    Army, don’t think we have one!

As far as I'm aware best part or 8000 not sure if that's exact. Or including the reserves. But they could play a v important.role. . But you knew that so pointless telling.you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

The government needs to quarantine Cork for the good of the nation.

I'd also like to see some action taken on this whole virus situation.

namloc1980 wrote: »
    No doubt there'll be gob****es at the beaches tomorrow regardless.

No people at the beaches.
    And yet, no prob having people in non essential offices, building sites, canteens, etc.
    It's all just for show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

shocksy wrote: »
    Jesus christ what is peoples obsession with the jogs and runs. They can f*ckin wait.

Tremendous sense of self entitlement and no concern for others health.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭unplayable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,462 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Pheonix10 wrote: »
    How are they going to lockdown this travel?

Cooperation. There won't be a Garda or a soldier outside your door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

Serious question:

Can I still walk the dog? Is it only to 2km?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Naggdefy

PsychoPete wrote: »
    It's so much effort keeping up with this thread

If you printed the 11 threads out they'd be longer than 2km:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭ITman88

awec wrote: »
    I know this is a popular soundbite but without an economy there'll be no health service. All of these measures need to be paid for.

Without an economy, once this crisis is over we could be left with a health system that's unable to fund even the mundane stuff that we take for granted.

Yeah it’s a double edged sword.

Beating this virus is a light warm up for the battle we will face!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,461 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Have I got this right...

Two people cannot go for a walk together?
    Even if they live in the same house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

paddythere wrote: »
    What about a 6 mile run? Are you expecting stay within 2km of your house during a run?
    Run 1k then do a circle and the 1k back. 1k + 2xPixR(1) + 1k = 8.2k = 5.17 miles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,148 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

So breaking the 2km/groups can be detained and fined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,912 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

Can we not just quarantine Dublin and Cork?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

shocksy wrote: »
    Jesus christ what is peoples obsession with the jogs and runs. They can f*ckin wait.

I doubt there has been one case of infection passed on or received from people running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

Serious question:

Yes

BarryD2 wrote: »
    Bit slow at the 'containment' but maybe that was deliberate? Letting people return and infect others. But otherwise, putting on a solid face. Anyone criticising Harris is just a vacuous fool at this point.

Of course it was deliberate. This level of containment won’t hold for more than 2 or 3 weeks and so it has to be timed properly. The medics think that this is peak transmission time. Is that had been brought in 2 weeks ago like so many people on here wanted, it would be close to falling apart

Did the Dr. just mention market research?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭Cork_Langer1

unplayable wrote: »

It's not a lockdown, people will still go out, fines won't be payed, stations will be full in a day if guards start detaining people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭dougm1970

just call it a lockdown leo and avoid confusion with the population by saying you are reluctant to call it a lockdown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Serious question:

Yes and yes. You must walk the dog alone (well with the dog obvs :P )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,598 ✭✭✭✭walshb

It can't be policed but that's not the point. You're meant to be a responsible citizen and follow the instructions.

There won't be a stick, but it's in citizens, not government's hands to slow this.

If our health service cannot cope, it's on US. Not Varadkar, Not Harris, not anyone else.
    Utter sense!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,211 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Can we not just quarantine Dublin and Cork?

What's Cork number?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,525 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Serious question:

Yes.
    2km should be plenty 4km round trip?