Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid19 Part XI - 2,615 in ROI (46 deaths) 410 in NI (21 deaths)(29/03)*OP upd 28/03*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭forumdedum

paddythere wrote: »
    What about a 6 mile run? Are you expecting stay within 2km of your house during a run?

A guy ran a marathon on his balcony :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,696 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

billyhead wrote: »
    How can they enforce the 2km rule?

Tag our ankles?

To thine own self be true

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,917 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

I expect this thread to go significantly quieter now.

There is no real change to my life for the last 2 weeks out of this announcement. We were barely going anywhere anyway.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,922 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

antodeco wrote: »
    Missed this due to rte player being a dick. When does this kick in?

Midnight tonight .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

That the construction sites closed down?
    Yes, it's non-essential.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭17larsson

So construction sites stay open or closed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

BoatMad wrote: »
    you'd cheer this !, the biggest restriction in civil liberties ever seen in this state
    This is a very special moment for some people, they've been waiting for it for weeks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Naggdefy

What about a 6 mile run? Are you expecting stay within 2km of your house during a run?

Run around in small circles:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,590 ✭✭✭✭walshb

FVP3 wrote: »
    Why. What else can they do? Lock everybody into their home fully? Give the locks to the State?

Hey, I just made a statement. That’s all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Jaysus they had to hire two sign language people for the two speeches!!

Wasted funds. Typical FG

Different accents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

At this point I say **** the economy.

Not as simple as that.

Poverty causes very bad outcomes for peoples general health.

This need to be done now though , agree with it totally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,148 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

antodeco wrote: »
    Missed this due to rte player being a dick. When does this kick in?

Midnight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭Tandey

That the construction sites closed down?

It’s not official. He said their is a liar that will be provided of those who can work.

Edit. A list

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Did Leo quote Terminator 2

Brilliant.

Yes he did! I bet it was deliberate. I hope it. That was hilarious. This is the best declaration of martial law I've seen yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,696 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Do laps instead.

To thine own self be true

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,248 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

BanditLuke wrote: »
    Why did they wait until now? Ridiculous

Because after seeing what people did in the supermarkets (almost looting, considering that there were reports of people leaving the shops without paying with their trolleys full) they were afraid of riots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭Steve F

sonofenoch wrote: »
    Jack the Ripper murders all happened within 2km of where he lived.......make of that what you will

Flawed...they never found out who he was let alone where he lived :0)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,074 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

BanditLuke wrote: »
    Why did they wait until now? Ridiculous
    What do you expect from a caretaker government?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,517 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

eagle eye wrote: »
    You know if you want people to take things seriously you shouldn't be putting Harris up on that stage.
    Yeah why would the minister for health be on the stage during a pandemic....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭kilkenny31

This is all fine but it won't be enforced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

Has our rent been frozen?

Frozen as in no increase . But you still have to pay it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,449 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

No doubt there'll be gob****es at the beaches tomorrow regardless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭Steve F

sonofenoch wrote: »
    Jack the Ripper murders all happened within 2km of where he lived.......make of that what you will

Flawed...they never found out who he was let alone where he lived :0)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,774 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

They should have done this last week.
    Things are getting worse so it is reactive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

whiskeyman wrote: »
    Proud of these actions.
    Feel it's right.

It's next level from where we are.

We can all do this.

So much being done so right by this leaving government.

People don’t seem to grasp how important these briefings are and how well organized our authorities have looked. They have excelled at communication.

I know this is going to get really bad but am convinced that however bad it gets it could of been a lot worse. Few country’s gets everything right, even less have been prepared or acted as quickly as I feel our government/authorities have handled this. This includes making changes as things change.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,917 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

OU812 wrote: »
    Serious question.

Have to bring the dog to the vets next Friday to have 30 stitches removed from an injury.

Vets is about 4km away from the house.

Can I do it (assuming the vet is open)?

I can't see why not.
    My GP is about 10km away. I had a child with a 39.9deg temperature today and I needed a prescription, after a phone consultation, with the GP. Doctor doesn't do emailing scrips. As far as I am concerned, I will be going to my GPs office if it is needed.

Right now this is about as bad as it gets, as far as I am concerned. The only thing they can now say is absolutely no walks, and to be honest, in what they have done, I doubt they will do that. IT is very interesting that they are doing this until April 12th - and not April 19th, which was the date given the other night for the last set of restrictions. The whole thing is extremely methodical, and I wouldn't be in the least bit surprised if they are following very specific "tipping points" in the numbers, when making the decisions. They do seem to have an exact timeline in their heads based on specific increases in numbers.

I cannot fault them so far, they are doing a very good job (much as I am incredibly angry about the whole thing).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

eagle eye wrote: »
    You know if you want people to take things seriously you shouldn't be putting Harris up on that stage.
    He's been excellent since all this started. He's under severe pressure and has aquitted himself very well indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,565 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

It's so much effort keeping up with this thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

OU812 wrote: »
    Serious question.

Have to bring the dog to the vets next Friday to have 30 stitches removed from an injury.

Vets is about 4km away from the house.

Can I do it (assuming the vet is open)?

Yes. Family emergencies have an exemption.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

Hopefully this is enforced and the Gardai are given whatever powers they need to enforce it. Massive fines for people breaking rules would have been nice.