Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid19 Part XI - 2,615 in ROI (46 deaths) 410 in NI (21 deaths)(29/03)*OP upd 28/03*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭iwillyeah1234

At this stage I would actually be relieved, and would welcome Italian/French/Spanish style restrictions from Monday on let's say.

whilst i fully sympathise with your sentiments, you have to remember that we operate under Common Law and policing by consent - like the British system.

This is utterly different to the Napoleonic legal system in Italy/Spain/France.

My best guess is that the Gardai are watching how the British police have implemented the lockdown in England, and are advising the government on how to implement something similar within our Common Law legal system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,086 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Really wonder if they’re faking the numbers when I hear form a nurse who works at a hospital that they’re underreporting.

Well the testing has been a disaster and the ICU figures are two days old and cumulative (for some reason).

So pretty clear the "official" numbers are a poor reflection of reality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭Not in Kansas

Video from NY hospital

https://nypost.com/2020/03/27/coronavirus-in-ny-video-shows-disturbing-crowded-hospital-er/

"A shocking new Facebook video shows disturbing, crowded conditions inside the emergency room at Jamaica Hospital Medical Center in Queens — with gurneys crammed side by side and sick patients waiting on chairs amid the coronavirus pandemic."

The very hospital Trump was born in. Wonder what he has to say about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,129 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

rossie1977 wrote: »
    We have to be realistic and understand any lockdown is going to take 3 weeks just to see exponential growth level off and another couple of weeks for it to fall.

And a lockdown is no joke, one trip to supermarket/or pharmacy per week but only by written request. Personal use of cars not allowed, public transport suspended.

People here are struggling now and all we did was shut a few pubs and schools.

I understand all that, but I think it has to happen. Look at the number of deaths in Italy and Spain and they are in full lockdown.

Better to do it now with more or less immediate effect. We will cope.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

We have to be realistic and understand any lockdown is going to take 3 weeks just to see exponential growth level off and another couple of weeks for it to fall.

And a lockdown is no joke, one trip to supermarket/or pharmacy per week but only by written request. Personal use of cars not allowed, public transport suspended.

Of course it's no joke, but it's necessary. But it seems to me that people are following Homer's school of thought, i.e. "If it's hard to do, it's not worth doing, boy.".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 Not Now John

My wife redeployed within HSE today to a swab centre, starting next week. We knew it would probably come, but it's real now. It should be a controlled environment at least. I really feel for staff at hospitals and their families.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank all those who went to Cheltenham or took their skiing holidays post February, et al. You are special kinds of Oirish, and no mistake. The best kind. I hope ye had your craic, because that's all that matters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,760 ✭✭✭stockshares

And according to my sky tv listings another news update at half 8 on virgin media one tv.

Is it Virgin Media Only?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,917 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

Everything is shut.I don't know where you are living but the only things open around me in a fairly wide radius are supermarkets and pharmacies.
    Nobody is out and about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,202 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

No DOH briefing tonight but Taoiseach speech, it's getting bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

elperello wrote: »
    There was an announcement at the start that some of it was filmed before restrictions commenced.

She was actually talking to someone about what the kids could do when not in school . So it was very relevant to stand back , there was only a two foot table between them

I would like to take this opportunity to thank all those who went to Cheltenham or took their skiing holidays post February, et al. You are special kinds of Oirish, and no mistake. The best kind. I hope ye had your craic, because that's all that matters.

They should be refused any treatment and locked somewhere when they show up to stop them infecting more innocent responsible people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

its past 7.30 now and no official notification of the announcement which is supposedly at 8.30. fake news i reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

Oh shut up!

If only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,591 ✭✭✭bennyl10

Strange RTE haven’t mentioned this briefing yet..
    But Reilly and VM seem sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭Downlinz

I think they might be preparing people for the gardaí to become more heavy handed after a week filled with incidents of kids and teens generally using the situation to cause havoc and spread fear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭iwillyeah1234

eagle eye wrote: »
    He'd win by landslide if he did.

as well as his amazing command of the details , which by itself is impressive enough, i have to say , it's the "Nu Yawk" accent that really does it for me ( and possibly many Americans).. no nonsense, get things done, "GoodFellas" , "Serpico", Robert De Niro - all sorts of cultural references seem to trigger when you hear Cuomo doing his press briefings.

And I honestly don't think its fake - it's damn obvious he loves his native "Nu Yawk" with a passion. And it really shows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,393 ✭✭✭MonkieSocks

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xkyO1DTqoWQ

Good interview by Chris Cuomo ( Governor Cuomo's brother) with Dr. Fauchi on CNN last night.

I also saw this guy on Cnn last night, he was also on CNBC.

He was in China for a metting about the virus
    Fmr. Harvard Medical School professor Dr. William Haseltine discusses the measures China has taken to curb the coronavirus, why he considers Easter too early to re-open the U.S. economy and what he thinks the U.S. should be doing now. Aired on 3/26/2020.

=(:-) Me? I know who I am. I'm a dude playing a dude disguised as another dude (-:)=

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,202 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

banie01 wrote: »
    Not gonna lie...
    Thought for a second that was a pic of BoJo on his sick bed ;)

The hair :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,384 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

as well as his amazing command of the details , which by itself is impressive enough, i have to say , it's the "Nu Yawk" accent that really does it for me ( and possibly many Americans).. no nonsense, get things done, "GoodFellas" , "Serpico", Robert De Niro - all sorts of cultural references seem to trigger when you hear Cuomo doing his press briefings.

And I honestly don't think its fake - it's damn obvious he loves his native "Nu Yawk" with a passion. And it really shows.

It's this sort of nonsense that got Trump elected.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

There will be no Govt. announcement this evening. Maybe on Monday if there is a further steep rise in ICU cases/deaths over the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭brendanwalsh

My wife redeployed within HSE today to a swab centre, starting next week. We knew it would probably come, but it's real now. It should be a controlled environment at least. I really feel for staff at hospitals and their families.

Yes and they’ll be the very ones clamoring for a ventilator and giving out when there’s none available for their grandmother they infected

If only.

Quality as always.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭Logan Roy

niallo27 wrote: »
    How many phases are there. Nearly every retail shop, pubs and restaurants are shut. How the **** do you not think we are not at phase 1.

There's an awful amount of ****e being spouted about "lockdowns" in here. Has been for weeks now. They could announce every single business to close and everyone to stay in the home if they like, who's going to police it?

New Home wrote: »
    Of course it's no joke, but it's necessary. But it seems to me that people are following Homer's school of thought, i.e. "If it's hard to do, it's not worth doing, boy.".

I don't think that's fair. We can know that a lockdown is necessary and also be terrified of it.
    What lockdown means for you may have a different meaning for someone else. People who are in abusive relationships, children in abusive homes, those who are mentally unwell, impoverished living conditions.
    Rationally I will agree with whatever the Government puts in place but I will still be scared and will understand how difficult it could be for many.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,591 ✭✭✭bennyl10

There will be no Govt. announcement this evening. Maybe on Monday if there is a further steep rise in ICU cases/deaths over the weekend.

So why are TV3 specifically saying announcement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Naos

Vicxas wrote: »
    We're on the curve and it isn't as sharp as we thought it was going to be at this stage.

Or as a nation, we're making a pretty decent effort to blunt that curve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 761 ✭✭✭marilynrr

We aren't even close to phase 1 of a lockdown here in Ireland

Completely disagree. A certain % of the population are behaving exactly as they would be if they were in a full on lockdown.
    I'm not sure how many that is but I know plenty of people who are at home, with only one household member leaving the house once per week to buy the essentials.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,384 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

bennyl10 wrote: »
    Strange RTE haven’t mentioned this briefing yet..
    But Reilly and VM seem sure

Gavin Riley just said there is a press conference at 8.30 with Leo and Simon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,129 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

whilst i fully sympathise with your sentiments, you have to remember that we operate under Common Law and policing by consent - like the British system.

This is utterly different to the Napoleonic legal system in Italy/Spain/France.

My best guess is that the Gardai are watching how the British police have implemented the lockdown in England, and are advising the government on how to implement something similar within our Common Law legal system.

Fair enough, I did mention this aspect in my post.

Fines, breaking up groups, sternly telling people to go home that kind of thing could be tried.

Another week of this and we will be back to square one. The ICUs are filling up very fast, sadly. That must concentrate minds.

Giving up a bit of freedom for a while is well worth it for the sake of everyone around you. Tough measures now will yield dividends. It should not be delayed much longer really.