Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid19 Part XI - 2,615 in ROI (46 deaths) 410 in NI (21 deaths)(29/03)*OP upd 28/03*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,450 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

You know what he meant.

All non essential flights should stop. We have no clue who is coming in on them, there is no screening or mandatory isolation of people coming in. They are free to spread it as far and wide as possible if infected, including in taxis, buses and the Luas.

We should at the very least introduce temperature screening - this is a far faster method than full covid 19 testing of identifying who might be at the peak of their infection.

This will end as disastrously as not stopping Italian flights for 2 weeks after it started to take off there.

All non essential flights are basically stopped anyway, theres limited flights to bring irish citizens home. Plus the vast majority of flights are arriving with a handful of people on them. The airport is empty

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

3rd day of "lockdown" and the Tube in London is still dangerously packed

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-8154805/Fury-Sadiq-Khan-grows-workers-forced-packed-Tubes-3rd-day-coronavirus-lockdown.html

ALL PASSENGER FLIGHTS TO/FROM LONDON NEED TO BE STOPPED NOW!!

At this stage how many passengers are still on those flights? In any case the virus is already widespread throughout Ireland now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭iwillyeah1234

Got a text from Three.

From Three. Staying in touch with friends and loved ones has never been more important. That's why we've removed data limits on our All You Can Eat Data service, made vital calls free and our network is ready. It's all part of coming together, even while we have to stay apart. Find out more at 3.ie/Here-to-Help. Opt Out m.three.ie/mp

I would like to publicly commend them for making the unlimited data packages unlimited. Unprecedented move by them that will do a lot im sure.

it took global pandemic that is threatening the entire global economy for them to actually make their unlimited packages unlimited.

good god.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Naggdefy

I don't like singling out groups but in my local towns construction workers are the worst for staying too close to you in shops and 'spluttering' for want of a better word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭US2

Brought my newborn son to see grandparents for the first time, though the window. Forgot to film it though, what a waste of time it was having this son

When the lunatic 'Herd Immunity' tactic was dreamed up, as a way to hurry the pandemic along to keep the money men happy, the science behind the idea was very thin on the ground.

Very, very, very thin indeed.

The science relied on a coronovirus experiment using 4 Chinese monkeys ! (not peer reviewed)

FOUR bloody monkeys !

You could not make it up !!!

All the rest of the Herd Immunity 'science' was just pure conjecture and extrapolating from previous flu epidemics.

The 'Herd' notion changed only when the UK realized that the necessary 60% infection rate in the general population, would result in a projected 1/4 million deaths. They changed tack and are now trying to minimize the death rate, but the damage has already been done... by Cheltenham, Crufts, football matches, concerts etc.

Are we still allowing the Brits entry without checks at the border ?

Are we asking them to isolate or quarantine ?

If not, we are effectively engaging in the same nasty underhand 'Herd Immunity' by stealth.

"Herd immunity" was aggressively pushed by Dominic Cummings, a dangerous charlatan who should never be within an asses roar of high office. Reflects quite poorly on Johnson that such an odious creature would have his ear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭iwillyeah1234

darth_maul wrote: »
    Advice sent to local retailers in UK below,
    Has any such advice been given to shops here, maybe forward this to your local independent store.
    …....…..............................
    Local shops while essential, have to realise that they are a huge vector for cases in their areas, while some of this is unavoidable some extra measures should be taken during the timeline of this pandemic to protect staff and customers.

- Staff should be trained and ensure that a minimum of 2 meters is kept between them and customers at all times, screens at tills can be used if this distance can't be maintained.
    - A clean hands station should be at all entries and has to be strictly adhered to.
    - Staff managing queues or doors should kept well back from customers at all times. They should never approach or touch customers.
    - Any non automatic doors should be left permanently open to prevent touching of handles.
    - Staff with any symptoms at all should be sent home. And encouraged to come forward if they feel anyway unwell.
    - Staff must wash hands regularly, every 15-30 mins ( preferably with soap and water rather than hand sanitiser)
    - Staff numbers on floor should be reduced to an absolute minimum while the shop is occupied,
    - Staff stocking shelves (while shop is open) should have that aisle cordoned off either 2 metres each side or whole isle cordoned off,
    - Consider closing regularly during day to clean all touch surfaces and to restock shelves safely,
    - Queues at tills should be kept to a minimum, but any customers queueing should be kept at 2m apart.
    - Consider a one way system in store to prevent customers coming down aisles in both directions.
    - Consider limiting numbers entering the store, so that social distancing measures can be maintained.
    - Touch surfaces should be cleaned regularly, ( ensuring that any cleaning product doesn't drip and create slip hazard)
    - No children (under 12s) should be in store at any time, no exceptions.
    - All trollies and baskets should be cleaned after each use. Remembering that soap and water is very effective against this virus
    - Customers should be encouraged to use contactless payments, (although this cannot be enforced)
    - Customers should be encouraged to limit their time in store, lengthy conversations should be discouraged especially at busy areas like doorways, entry areas.
    - Consider having separate entry and exit points to keeps customer interaction at a minimum.
    - Premises with Fuel pumps, should have either gloves or hand sanitiser available, if not handles should be cleaned after use.

i'm living in England - they're doing all that at my local Tesco Express.

No more than 2 allowed in at a time. Folks have to queue 2 metres apart outside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,019 ✭✭✭kingshankly

Had to cycle to work to get some things, just now. There are people all over the streets in Dublin city centre. Groups of junkie types drinking in the sun and loads of pedestrians. Doesnt feel like a lockdown at all.

The streets are full of scum bags on bikes young lads up to no good

For the last 3 weeks we've been in 'next week will tell a lot' mode. Thankfully so far we've been relatively ok deaths wise and with ICU.

I don't know what's going to happen. I don't know if a surge is delayed. I don't know, maybe we'll cope throughout the crisis.

Too many people think they know...but they don't. One day at a time and keep doing the right things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,148 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

US2 wrote: »
    Brought my newborn son to see grandparents for the first time, though the window. Forgot to film it though, what a waste of time it was having this son

What?

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,939 Mod ✭✭✭✭DOCARCH

You know what he meant.

Yes I did....

Flight schedules have already been drastically reduced.

I'd be pretty confident that the vast majority of people taking flights these days are for essential purposes.

Had to cycle to work to get some things, just now. There are people all over the streets in Dublin city centre. Groups of junkie types drinking in the sun and loads of pedestrians. Doesnt feel like a lockdown at all.

16C and spring warmth isn't the best for us. Hopefully as temps drop into single figures it will cool a lot of their tails!

I never thought i'd be giving out about spring warmth!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Varadkar himself stated that there is no lockdown. The government shut down non essential businesses and banned events and gatherings. And he asked the public to implement social distancing. Lockdown is a media buzzword.

The only real lockdown was in China.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

kowloon wrote: »
    The unlimited data package wasn't unlimited?

There's always caps on "unlimited" data packages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

Distribution of laboratory confirmed cases of COVID-19 in the EU/EEA and the UK, as of 26 March 2020 @ 08:00 hrs

novel-coronavirus-cases-EU-UK-26-03-2020%20.jpg.png?itok=1DCMm6Ge

A steep rise today, making the ? flattening of the curve over the previous few days an illusion.

:-(

Larger clickable version here :- https://www.ecdc.europa.eu/en/cases-2019-ncov-eueea

I think a real problem in 2 weeks by the Easter Weekend will be lockdown fatigue. If that corresponds with 16-20C weather it will be hard to keep people at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,610 ✭✭✭shocksy

Naggdefy wrote: »
    I don't like singling out groups but in my local towns construction workers are the worst for staying too close to you in shops and 'spluttering' for want of a better word.

There is a huge majority of them that are disgusting anyway.

I seen 8 or 9 of them yesterday all huddled up at lunchtime, laughing, joking, hugging and play fighting. Absolute fools, showing complete disregard to social distancing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

For the last 3 weeks we've been in 'next week will tell a lot' mode. Thankfully so far we've been relatively ok deaths wise and with ICU.

I don't know what's going to happen. I don't know if a surge is delayed. I don't know, maybe we'll cope throughout the crisis.

Too many people think they know...but they don't. One day at a time and keep doing the right things.
    The "next seven days" pitch IMO was to encourage us to stick to the distancing, the next seven days from now is as we pass 14 days since schools closed and distancing was advised. I also think it's a behaviour management tactic so that people don't freak out at the idea of weeks or months of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Same.
    I just walked to the shop at lunchtime, but far more cars out on the road.
    The Government must be aware of ultimately how we behave, which is why they know they can't enforce a 'lockdown'.

We're not in a lockdown anyway - just a range of various measures needed to slow the spread of the virus.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

I remember as word spread throughout May 1986 the fear at the time. I was 10. Countries like Sweden were beginning to show a raise in radioactive material in milk there, then Britain and finally us.

Today Tonight told us while radioactive traces were in our grass from rain it was safe to drink milk :) I can't recall the East Coast been told to stay indoors but just a lot of fear initially which subsided by late May.

It wasn`t too bad for Ireland then. Sure we weren`t even told that we needed iodine tablets.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,511 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

An appeal has been launched in the Czech Republic to "save" the equivalent of 1,305,552 pints of craft beer that will go off "within weeks" if it is not drunk

Things just got real serious in the Czech Republic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭MipMap

kyote00 wrote: »
    BCG vaccine was widely used in Ireland in the 70s/80s in schools, IIRC

I got this when I was a kid. Still got 3 small dots on my arm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

shocksy wrote: »
    There is a huge majority of them that are disgusting anyway.

I seen 8 or 9 of them yesterday all huddled up at lunchtime, laughing, joking, hugging and play fighting. Absolute fools, showing complete disregard to social distancing.

First bit - nice. :rolleyes:

What difference does it make bollixing at lunchtime when you're like sardines on site for 8 hours a day, and crammed into a van on the way in and home?

Scaffolding is 3foot wide - how are you supposed to even pass by a lad and observe social distancing?

All the big sites being open is a disaster, now they'll start closing one by one and make an even bigger economic mess than if they all just shut at once.

I feel for Leaving Certs.

99% sure it will go. But they need clarity. I'd find it impossible to focus on studying, trying to filter out all that's going on in the background.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭Kunkka

I just can't believe it's just been two weeks since the schools closed. It feels like months...

We are going to remember this the rest of our lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,353 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

whiskeyman wrote: »
    Same.
    I just walked to the shop at lunchtime, but far more cars out on the road.
    The Government must be aware of ultimately how we behave, which is why they know they can't enforce a 'lockdown'.

We're not in a lockdown anyway - just a range of various measures needed to slow the spread of the virus.

Yeah it's just weird that every other country seems to have army with guns on the streets and empty city centres, i dont get why we are an outlier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Kunkka wrote: »
    I just can't believe it's just been two weeks since the schools closed. It feels like months...

We are going to remember this the rest of our lives.
    Leo's speech was 11 days ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

When the lunatic 'Herd Immunity' tactic was dreamed up, as a way to hurry the pandemic along to keep the money men happy, the science behind the idea was very thin on the ground.
    (Snipped)
    They changed tack and are now trying to minimize the death rate, but the damage has already been done... by Cheltenham, Crufts, football matches, concerts etc.

Are we still allowing the Brits entry without checks at the border ?

Are we asking them to isolate or quarantine ?

If not, we are effectively engaging in the same nasty underhand 'Herd Immunity' by stealth.

To be fair, the Brits weren't the ones travelling from Ireland to Cheltenham or Premiership matches, so perhaps that blame should lay on Irish shoulders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,662 ✭✭✭Duke of Url

6 more deaths in Wales.