Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid19 Part X - 1,564 cases ROI (9 deaths) 209 in NI (7 deaths) (25 March) *Read OP*

MarkY91 wrote: »
    Only a matter of time until a high profile celebrity or personality does from the virus. Young or old. I think only then will some people realise the severity of the pandemic will hit some people that ANYONE can contract it and ANYONE can die from it.

Rumour circulating last week. RUMOUR. That Prince Phillip had died and nothing has been said to avoid panic and/or mourners outside the palaces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

KaneToad wrote: »
    Donald Trump is another example of a ruthless, brash billionaire. Maybe we could get him on board too?

Sure what could go wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭Renjit

It's been well over two weeks since the Italy lockdown..how the hell are thousands per day still being confirmed if they're on severe lockdown procedures?

Even if some people are breaking rules, it's surely just a miniscule amount as 99% of people there are surely decent human beings and the police/army would be putting a stop to anyone they seeing acting the bollocks.

It seems to be leveling off now. Soon we may see fewer case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,951 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

So Charles has it but his wife tested negative. A little odd that.

One of the first confirmed cases here was a guy in Wicklow who returned form skiing in Italy so was tested ( he showed no symptoms) , He was on the radio yesterday ,

7 of the group of 18 tested positive, Some couples who shared rooms tested positive and the other negative,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭Logan Roy

It's been well over two weeks since the Italy lockdown..how the hell are thousands per day still being confirmed if they're on severe lockdown procedures?

Even if some people are breaking rules, it's surely just a miniscule amount as 99% of people there are surely decent human beings and the police/army would be putting a stop to anyone they seeing acting the bollocks.

Testing backlog presumably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭Corkgirl20

I’ve just seen Prince Charles has tested positive. God help him he’s 71. Maybe the UK might cop on a bit more now. I’ve friends in the UK and I’m looking at their social media’s and it’s as if nothing’s changed !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,849 ✭✭✭facehugger99

branie2 wrote: »
    The fact that Prince Charles has the virus just shows that anyone can get it.

Don't be ridiculous.

Have you ever seen that video of him trying not to shake hands?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭Hrududu

igCorcaigh wrote: »
    It must be very widespread in UK?
    It's not like the royals would be out and about on the Tube.
    Yeah but think of all the staff they probably have around them all day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭SophieLockhart

Rumour circulating last week. RUMOUR. That Prince Phillip had died and nothing has been said to avoid panic and/or mourners outside the palaces.

Not sure if you should be posting that without a shred of evidence.... I don't think the death of a 98 year old would cause 'panic' anyway...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cameramonkey

Over 70% of the spread in China has been between family members.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,951 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Call me a cynic but anyone find it odd that number for children testing positive is very very low but yet out of all the kids who have it Greta Thunberg is one , oh and of course she fine just self isolating ,

One could say it seems like a move for more attention when she is not being spoken about , ( by the parents not her)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,880 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

So Charles has it but his wife tested negative. A little odd that.

You'd wonder how much 'close contact' is going on at their age...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,301 ✭✭✭patnor1011

Because no lockdown is going to stop it. It may slow it down but even that is disputable as even with what Italians did there is still considerable movement of people which are in what is considered essential services or industry.
    Hell Chinese even welded people in apartment blocks and still could not get rid of it. There is talk about second wave there as they relaxed lockdown in some places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

prosaic wrote: »
    Still waiting to see significant flattening of the curve. For the past 10 days, the exponential growth in cases has been roughly constant with about 21% increase per day (used line fit on log of numbers). By start of April, there'll be about 900 or 1000 cases per day. Of course, some of this could be due to increased testing rates.

We won't be able to test at that level and its probably a waste of resources doing so.

We should probably move to sample testing of the population to tell us what proportion are infected, and also testing of hospital cases at some stage. And also antibody testing.

Not sure if you should be posting that without a shred of evidence.... I don't think the death of a 98 year old would cause 'panic' anyway...

RUMOUR!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,301 ✭✭✭patnor1011

Call me a cynic but anyone find it odd that number for children testing positive is very very low but yet out of all the kids who have it Greta Thunberg is one , oh and of course she fine just self isolating ,

One could say it seems like a move for more attention when she is not being spoken about , ( by the parents not her)

A lot of celebrities could not resist some virtue signalling. The best of them is Madonna talking naked from her bathtub and response from people doing the same from their toilette.
    Something to enlighten the mood in this hard times. Free entertainment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Here's what other countries are doing to protect their healthcare workers.
    They also have vastly more experience in dealing with this type of outbreak.

https://twitter.com/drdanchoi/status/1242630987407818752?s=20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭pH

is_that_so wrote: »
    From Guardian feed @08:36. Not sure I'd fancy this being announced here myself!

Meanwhile here's more on that Dutch situation.

https://www.dutchnews.nl/news/2020/03/dutch-coronavirus-measures-may-be-slowing-growth-health-chief-tells-mps/

From the article:
    Initial estimates show that the infection rate – the number of people infected by a carrier – is on or below one, rather than two to three as it was earlier, Van Dissel said. ‘The exponential growth of the outbreak would appear to have been halted.’ This would mean technically that number of infections would rise in a straight line rather than a curve.

No it doesn't. If we can get R0 below 1.0 then the number of current infections decreases exponentially - these curves go down just as quickly as they go up (well technically for a number of reasons it's slightly less steep, but it's still an exponential decay curve).

This is an important point, all this obsession with 'flattening the curve' is nonsense. The key metric should be to get the spread rate below 1.0, which means the disease shuts down just about as quickly as it appeared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,769 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

pH wrote: »
    Apparently not. Prince Charles (and Camila) were both tested on the NHS under the standard testing regime, no queue jumping or special treatment at all, honest guv'.

haha it took a medical team of 22 on call for months 24/7 to deliver a Royal baby so somehow I dont think Charles was waiting for a test along with the great unwashed
    The medical team consisted of two obstetricians, three midwives, three anesthetists, four surgical staff, two special care baby-unit staff, four pediatricians, one lab technician and three to four managers.
    https://www.independent.ie/style/celebrity/celebrity-news/kate-middleton-had-22-medical-staff-assist-in-princess-charlottes-delivery-and-everyone-was-sworn-to-secrecy-34745015.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Here's what other countries are doing to protect their healthcare workers.
    They also have vastly more experience in dealing with this type of outbreak.

https://twitter.com/drdanchoi/status/1242630987407818752?s=20

There's more. Are we actually protecting them. We have an awfully high proportion of cases who are health care workers.

https://twitter.com/drdanchoi/status/1242631109785071616?s=20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,804 ✭✭✭plodder

The teenagers taking part in the 'Corona challenge' should be shot on sight.
    So, I guess this is not the generation that's going to save us from global warming after all ....

Seriously though, the media hype it up one way one week (teenagers are the future!) Next week, they are unfairly demonising the whole lot of them. Ivan Yates whipped it up on his program yesterday with someone pointing out, young people's brains aren't fully developed until their mid twenties. Imagine someone had pointed that out in the context of Greta T and the whole climate crisis.

Also an elderly lady texted into the program that she saw a group of teens, looking at her, and she knew what was going through their mind - to do this stupid stunt. She just knew it ... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭Hrududu

Quick someone reset the Greta clock. God it took a while to get slagging her today lads. Sloppy work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,011 ✭✭✭✭Dohnjoe

Younger people generally tend to have milder symptoms. Experts estimate there could be 10x or more (potentially significantly more) the number of reported cases due to the lack of testing and testing kits. Thunberg was on a train tour of Europe before all this kicked off, so she could be right when she says she may have had it - but she can't be tested because Sweden is only testing the most severe cases

I know some people who have had the symptoms but haven't been able to get tests

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,849 ✭✭✭facehugger99

One of the first confirmed cases here was a guy in Wicklow who returned form skiing in Italy so was tested ( he showed no symptoms) , He was on the radio yesterday ,

7 of the group of 18 tested positive, Some couples who shared rooms tested positive and the other negative,

So you can tell who's has a good sex life basically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

Hrududu wrote: »
    Quick someone reset the Greta clock. God it took a while to get slagging her today lads. Sloppy work.

Fuckin loser old men constantly giving out about some kid, fuckin weirdos the lot of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Naos

To the posters that are saying the amount of test results we are producing is pathetic, what is your solution?

Bearing in mind that there is only a finite amount of testing that can be done in the labs and that you need people who are actually qualified to conduct these tests (normally requiring 5+ years of education).

So if your solution is more labs or more lab technicians then that's fine but please provide details as to how we would achieve that in the 2-3 month timespan since this virus has been known or speculated to be as impactful as it has been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭jv2000

GP called me this morning and said despite meeting criteria before i'm not priority now so won't be tested. I don't mind that too much as I know there's more high risk people than me out there. However, she said it's highly likely i have some form of respiratory tract infection but there's nothing really she can do for it, just continue to self-isolate. Fair enough, but I would've thought GP's could still prescribe antibiotics or are they afraid if it is COVID that i have that antibiotics would have adverse effects?

It actually sounds like the GP suspects you do have COVID-19 but cannot get you a test as there is a shortage and you are not high priority. This would explain not prescribing antibiotics as they will have no benefit and unnecessary use of antibiotics is discouraged due to the whole immunity issue. Purely speculation on my part and I hope you feel better soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Achasanai wrote: »
    How is it 'creative accounting'? The real important figure is how many we're testing per population, which I believe is relatively high (compared to other European countries) for the stage that we're currently at.

We can test as many as we like, but if the swabs are unusable by the time they get to the labs, its creative accounting and a PR move.

204 Confirmed cases today, 18% increase. 1 additional death, no new recoveries. Total active cases are 1317. Total cases to date are 1329.

506883.PNG

Charts and spreadsheet:
    https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1IMavHMFAT59NaRmSJxfHIVxAhiT46CmzL0tj0Esqalc

I've been looking at this everyday. It's great, thanks so much.

Any chance you could reduce the size of some of the columns so I don't have to scroll across? "Total recovered" for example does not need to be that wide. "Total active cases" is the perfect size as it fits the words perfectly without wasting space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,789 ✭✭✭✭josip

Fics wrote: »
    If some thug coughs or spits at me and I "defend myself" am I liable for assault or do I have the right?

Perhaps liable, but only if you get caught.
    Bigger risk from a thug is they might be carrying something and seeking confrontation.
    Or appear alone, but have friends waiting nearby.
    So if you intend to do something, know what is you're going to do, do it quickly, effectively and without warning, and exit stage right pronto.