Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid19 Part X - 1,564 cases ROI (9 deaths) 209 in NI (7 deaths) (25 March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭hetuzozaho

spookwoman wrote: »
    This is why paddy cosgrove was looking for some details to get this set up here. No names involved. Pretty impressive dashboard
    https://co.vid19.sg/dashboard

Where did he say that out of interest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,249 ✭✭✭joeguevara

Strange they don't do quotes within quotes here, would be easier to get the context without having to read the whole thread.

This is such a fast moving thread that is impossible to keep up. And usually I don’t want to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭NetChat101

The bank teller told me he is seeing elderly people que up and the SAME elderly people come in still maybe three times a week.

People are socializing in each other's homes and posting online about social distancing. Probably people in this thread too and the op.

In general the Irish people AREN'T doing it. They are just saying they will. And they won't do a lockdown either.

That's why I think the powers that be shouldn't be relying on this survey they're doing, it's been mentioned a few times by them. They said from the survey results they are happy that people are complying with all that's being asked of them, hygiene and social distancing etc.

Do you think some of those people who are contacted and asked the questions are going to say anything other than YES they are complying. As if they're going to say "Eh no, actually I'm not really complying with guidelines"!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,049 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

DOCARCH wrote:
    Only positive is that every time he opens his mouth he reduces his chance of being re-elected.

Many of us would like to see the back of this idiot, but never ever underestimate his possible reelection

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Imagine being that thick of a gombeen that the guards had to close a McDonald’s and tell you to go home because the que was too big and you were blocking a main road.
    Frightening the amount of thicko,idiotic gombeens who walk among us and their gombeenism is thriving in this environment.
    What a time to be alive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

Can i go to work today?

Do you work in the North or in Britain?

Do whatever you did yesterday, I imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,665 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

DOCARCH wrote: »
    Donald Trump, in his latest briefing, expects this will pass in weeks (rather than months)!

Fupping loon! Things only kicking off in the US.

Only positive is that every time he opens his mouth he reduces his chance of being re-elected.

He didnt say that. He said he is going to end shutdowns etc within weeks regardless of the progress of the illness because it's more important to get the economy back up and running.

And I dont know, latest surveys show that most Republican voters are actually satisfied with how he is handling this whole thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

BluePlanet wrote: »
    https://www.independent.ie/

Unfortunately the government are slow learners.
    It will take 10+ days of harsh lockdown before we see a benefit.

Perhaps the 'soft' approach taken hereto has made some ground in flattening the curve? i really don't know.
    But it's clearly not enough.

We have a blueprint on containing this virus from China, S Korea and Italy.
    The government cannot do the S Korea response as they do not have the test kits, nor do they have the guts to use mobile phone data for contact tracing.

That leaves the China response.
    Copying Italy should be avoided.

New Zealand going full lockdown route and they only have 100 odd confirmed cases.

They are taking advantage of their geography and we had a similar advantage albeit with the north complicating things a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,012 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

Pinch Flat wrote: »
    Yeah the UK has a pretty weird relationship with pets. They treat them almost better than people.

Lots of essentials like rabbit food, reptile food etc can't be bought in supermarkets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,049 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

ceadaoin. wrote:
    He didnt say that. He said he is going to end shutdowns etc within weeks regardless of the progress of the illness because it's more important to get the economy back up and running.

Yup, the economy is far more important than saving lives! What a scumbag

Discodog wrote: »
    Lots of essentials like rabbit food, reptile food etc can't be bought in supermarkets.

Surely you could buy/grow salads for rabbits?

Donald Trump, in his latest briefing, expects this will pass in weeks (rather than months)!

He takes tremendous breaths, huge breaths, really.

Don’t fcukin rabbits eat grass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,251 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

There won’t be an election this year

Also, Trump is so stupid he’s pretty much guaranteed to get infected so he’ll probably end up hospitalized from this. We’ll see how well his cures work then

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    Many of us would like to see the back of this idiot, but never ever underestimate his possible reelection

Yep the truth doesn't really matter in politics nowadays. Especially for the people who are his core support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭SlowBlowin

Don’t fcukin rabbits eat grass

Rabbits are a great pet during these hard times, quite edible and plenty of recipes.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,931 Mod ✭✭✭✭DOCARCH

Akrasia wrote: »
    There won’t be an election this year....

That crossed my mind!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,251 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Phoebas wrote: »
    A rapidly diminishing number I'd imagine.

Half of them think this virus was created in a lab somewhere and was released on purpose. When this ends there will probably be more anti vaccine loons, not fewer.

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

How could there possibly be a tested vaccine within 3 months?

100% correct reply to that daft post, oh, and username checks out by the way. When the vaccine is sourced, you're in charge of distribution Papi.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

Seems like many of the people who don't want a full shut down are those who are already working from the comfort of their own homes.

The rest who can't work from home deserve to be safe too.

SlowBlowin wrote: »
    Rabbits are a great pet during these hard times, quite edible and plenty of recipes.

In the pot if you’re stuck.
    Did you ever hear the saying “a Tyrone woman won’t buy a rabbit without its head for fear it’s a cat”.
    It’s an old proverb.
    Now, there’s a bit of learning for ye.

SlowBlowin wrote: »

Watching that prepping series on Netflix a lot of the preppers keep rabbits and chickens. Makes total sense, easy to feed and provide a good amount of food for small animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,444 ✭✭✭BluePlanet

New Zealand going full lockdown route and they only have 100 odd confirmed cases.

They are taking advantage of their geography and we had a similar advantage albeit with the north complicating things a bit.

Shuttering the island and a healthy supply of these new rapid test kits could be a game changer.

Rapid test kits return results within 15 min.

https://english.elpais.com/society/2020-03-23/640000-rapid-coronavirus-tests-arrive-in-spain.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,478 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

ceadaoin. wrote: »

And I dont know, latest surveys show that most Republican voters are actually satisfied with how he is handling this whole thing

Most republican voters are hillbilly rednecks with an iq of about 2.
    I work in an international company and the utter ****e and bile that comes out of republicans mouths is absolutely unbelievable. They’re just bat**** crazy.

Watching that prepping series on Netflix a lot of the preppers keep rabbits and chickens. Makes total sense, easy to feed and provide a good amount of food for small animals.

“Every hen dies in debt”
    There’s another proverb for ye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,613 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

Serious question and forgive me if it comes across as scare mongering.

But we are looking at the UK and saying they're fecked / got it wrong / put themselves into lockdown.

They have had 6650 cases
    We have had 1,125

Their population 66.44 million
    Our population 4.83 million

They've had a case for every 9990 people
    We've had one for every 4293

But they're much worse off than us?

How?

Well done with your calculations, it does indeed make you wonder why so many people 'posting here' criticise Boris & the UK so harshly in their approach to this unprecedented crisis.

On a south facing windowsill, dontcha know ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Akrasia wrote: »
    Half of them think this virus was created in a lab somewhere and was released on purpose. When this dnds there will probably be more anti backers, not fewer. Remember the 9/11 ‘truth’ movement

There's a reason he is calling it the Chinese virus.

Will blame the Chinese when trying to deflect from how he sat on his hands for weeks when action was needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

Well done with your calculations, it does indeed make you wonder why so many people 'posting here' criticise Boris & the UK so harshly in their approach to this unprecedented crisis.

How many are they actually testing though? They only started taking this seriously a week ago.

The fact johnson has to address the nation and stress the seriousness of the situation shows he is very worried about what lies ahead.