Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid19 Part X - 1,564 cases ROI (9 deaths) 209 in NI (7 deaths) (25 March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,683 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

I went out to the curragh yesterday with both kids. Drove in at the entrance and it seemed everyone decided to gather at the same place. 10s of cars and big groups of people wandering around. I drove an extra 5 minutes through, and then there was nobody. Got out for a while, and saw probably 10 people in that time, all away from everyone.

The reason people are going out and ending up in groups is because they are sheep. "Oh look, someone else is here, this must be a good spot"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,097 ✭✭✭Unearthly

Sky News are really pushing the idea that UK might be in lockdown in 24 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

Folks, I know it's only speculation and no-one other than those in power know the full score but do you think we're going to get to a stage where the postal system goes into lock down? The company I work for has been hit by the pandemic but the part of the company I work for is still managing to make money- but it all depends on goods coming into and going around the country.

Intercontinental air-shipping is more or less finished for the next few months you'd think looking at all the flight cancellations and the likelihood of several major carriers going bust.

Can't speak to sea shipping, but you'd expect severe delays on that side of things too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,185 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Looks like public areas, beaches, forests, mountain walks & parks etc are going to be shut down with Gardai to enforce.

We aren't going for a lockdown well because we're basically supposed to be doing it anyway. We've been told for weeks now about distance, work from home, don't go out if needed.

Yet some gob****es over the last 2 weekends couldn't help themselves and found the need to pile the whole family into cars and go up the mountains and the beaches.

Its possible to go out and get your exercise in without having to go to these areas. To the minority of the population who haven't obeyed social distancing, they're about to ruin it for everyone. Seems to be an irish thing of when your told to do something some people do thr opposite.
    Ok I'm one of what you call a gobs**ye but let me explain my day.

We all piled into the car and went to a well know local beach.

The car parks were very busy.

Myself my wife and two of the kids got out of the car, we were out for 5 mins at most, I went for a 200m walk and kept my distance from everyone I could.

There were some groups of young people hanging around together but most of the people there were as individuals, pairs or family units.

From what I could see even though the place was busy there was a good deal of social distancing going on.

So if everyone did like we did, as in got out for 5 mins, stayed apart from others etc then I don't see the problem.

Just because there are a lot of people in a public place/woodland/beach area does not mean that they are ignorant of the dangers, as I said most were keeping their distance.

It's not like a packed club on a Saturday night or a full stand at a sports event.

Oh and we applied hand sanitizer once we got back into the car.

Yurt! wrote: »
    I'd be confident that the actions have worked to an extent, but the figures coming out simply aren't credible at this stage of the pandemic observing how it spread around Europe.

Hundreds of millions of journeys were being made around Chinese New Year that would have had it spread to every corner of the country.

Ultimately, the communist party will conjur up whatever set of figures suit them and is politically expedient. It's not like their inexperienced covering things up and literally 'hiding the bodies.'

You're not saying they've worked to an extent, you're saying they don't work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭iwillyeah1234

Britain has effectively re-nationalised their railways

https://www.theguardian.com/world/live/2020/mar/23/coronavirus-live-updates-uk-us-italy-germany-europe-outbreak-cases-meetings-bans-update-latest-news?page=with:block-5e7873a98f08e0999e6b85fc#block-5e7873a98f08e0999e6b85fc

Sky News are saying that Britain will go into lockdown by "close of play today" - showing pictures of crammed tube trains ( utterly crazy)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

Ok I'm one of what you call a gobs**ye but let me explain my day.

We all piled into the car and went to a well know local beach.

The car parks were very busy.

Myself my wife and two of the kids got out of the car, we were out for 5 mins at most, I went for a 200m walk and kept my distance from everyone I could.

There were some groups of young people hanging around together but most of the people there were as individuals, pairs or family units.

From what I could see even though the place was busy there was a good deal of social distancing going on.

So if everyone did like we did, as in got out for 5 mins, stayed apart from others etc then I don't see the problem.

Just because there are a lot of people in a public place/woodland/beach area does not mean that they are ignorant of the dangers, as I said most were keeping their distance.

It's not like a packed club on a Saturday night or a full stand at a sports event.

On and we applied hand sanitizer once we got back into the car.

Hope no-one coughed upwind from you, just saying..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

We went out yesterday to get out of the house and enjoy some of the sun...we went up the Dublin mountains for a drive but we didn't get out of the car at any point during the trip, we didn't stop on the mountain and gather with other people - we just drove and talked.

I couldn't believe how many people were acting like it was a regular spring day , the mountain routes were jammed with parked cars and people walking in large groups up , down and around the mountains...any cafes / chippers opened again were jam packed.

You'd swear it was any other day.

You're not saying they've worked to an extent, you're saying they don't work.

Not what I said at all. The situation in China is improved (I know this as I'm in regular contact with people in mainland China). The same people acknowledge that the numbers being declared by the government - both new cases and deaths - aren't credible.

These people would be a mix of expatriates and Chinese.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

Not what I said at all. The situation in China is improved (I know this as I'm in regular contact with people in mainland China). The same people acknowledge that the numbers being declared by the government - both new cases and deaths - aren't credible.

These people would be a mix of expatriates and Chinese.

What is life like in China now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,457 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Our bus and rail services...

Any restrictions on them, or about them?

Or are they taking full loads of passengers if presented?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

This is this country's fate if people don't stop fcuking around

Think about the consequences of your own actions. Stick with the self-isolation.

Italian Mayors losing it with people who will not stay at home during their lockdown.

https://twitter.com/i/status/1241696164782669824

From Laura Kuennsberg of the BBC:
    "(UK) Govt considering next steps like closing non-essential retail or whether to start treating people flouting the stay at home advice as acting against the law - all being discussed - huge decisions, nothing final"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭bigroad

Its the same in large car parks.
    You could park over in the corner hundreds of feet from any other car but within minutes a sheep will be parked right up close to your car.
    I think a lot of people have lost the ability to think for themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

walshb wrote: »

The buses have the first 8 seats taped and empty for safety of the driver, and for the past week no bus I've been on has had more than four passengerrs (due to business dropping, not enforcement) in Cork City - maybe worse in Dublin though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭frillyleaf

greenpilot wrote: »
    Why are people who already have the virus being tested? People with no symptoms should be tested and, if clear, they are the ones who should be isolated to protect them from others who have the virus. Is it not a waste of resources testing those already showing symptoms?

We need to get an understanding of where we are to place more restrictions if needed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭Reati

bmcc10 wrote: »
    12yr old girl with no underlying health issues fighting for her life. Heartbreaking.

https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/health/coronavirus-young-girl-latest-updates-17963483

As a side note, the figures as of Friday night show ~15% of cases here are under 24.

17 of those cases are under 14.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭Mac-Chops

Glendalough only closed yesterday and you'd the Dublin mountains, hellfire etc.

They were all jammed yesterday agian

The Old Military Road was like the M50 at rush hour in places yesterday.

Have never seen as many cars/cyclists/walkers out in force.

Just goes to show how many would otherwise be in a beer garden on a sunny day like that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Business as usual on Dublin Bus.

wadacrack wrote: »
    What is life like in China now?

Spoke to someone a few hours ago via WeChat. In their city (relatively distant from Wuhan) things are slowly returning to normal but many businesses are still closed. There is an app system to manage people who are out and about. Don't fully understand it, but it's like a permission slip system that gets inspected going into malls / restaurants.

Another I spoke to a few days ago, who lives in a third tier city also quite distant from Hubei / Wuhan is still in full lockdown. Not something you'd read about in the press either foreign or Chinese as the party is doing a victory lap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,109 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Unearthly wrote: »
    Sky News are really pushing the idea that UK might be in lockdown in 24 hours.

Kite flying by the British government.

They are on the exact course of Italy - they have more deaths now than Italy had at the same number of cases.

Desperation - they need to do something draconian to ensure people comply. Asking won't cut it for a portion of the population unfortunately.

We were told there was a low to moderate chance of getting it in Ireland.

We were told you had to be within one metre for 15 minutes to contract it.

I'd be more confident now listening to the Chinese, Italian and Spanish doctors than ours. Stay in, do not go out unless absolutely necessary (food and medication) is their advice.

Weren't you were posting about how you were enjoying your time in the pub and at a party your aunt who arrived in from the U.K. and how everyone was being a bellend for wanting the pubs closed, when this advice was being provided by the Chinese, Italians etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭frillyleaf

A negative test is a wasted test. You could test negative today, you may contract it tomorrow so it means nothing. Confirming those who actually have it is their plan

Does anyone know the average turn around for testing in other countries? I feel our figures are due to the delays in testing. I personally know of people waiting over a week at the stage for their families to be tested.

Hopefully I’m completely wrong but it doesn’t look like we are testing fast enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,748 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

business as usual but nearly every business I've seen in the past while has had about max 5 people on it... loads of empty buses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭snotboogie

Intercontinental air-shipping is more or less finished for the next few months you'd think looking at all the flight cancellations and the likelihood of several major carriers going bust.

Can't speak to sea shipping, but you'd expect severe delays on that side of things too.

Which major "intercontinental" air freight company are close to going bust?

Sky news - they reduced the tube service in London, to encourage people to stay home. But this has led to packed tube trains instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

At least Harvey Weinstein got it, there's the upside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Achasanai

Business as usual on Dublin Bus.

Feck all passengers though. The bus that passes my place would be jammed right now, but there were four passengers that I could see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

DubInMeath wrote: »
    Weren't you were posting about how you were enjoying your time in the pub and at a party your aunt who arrived in from the U.K. and how everyone was being a bellend for wanting the pubs closed, when this advice was being provided by the Chinese, Italians etc.
    Haha, gonna see plenty of that! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭RandomName2

28 year old Irish guy on the radio there saying that he almost died from Covid-19, and that he only survived because of the emergency ambulance available. Healthy and leads an active lifetstyle, but with mild asthma.

I think it did the world a disservice describing this disease as only something geriatrics had to be afraid of, and that young people had to be responsible, because they were otherwise totally immune.