Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid19 Part X - 1,564 cases ROI (9 deaths) 209 in NI (7 deaths) (25 March) *Read OP*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Get Real wrote: »
    Yeah, closer to 4000 full and part time, then as other posters mentioned, the spin off jobs.

400 million patties made and exported from Waterford each year. Hopefully that takes the sting out of it for local staff there due to exports to France, Germany etc. But there'll be curtailment of hours.

Also then the delivery company, security company providing a contract, the egg supplier in Monaghan, even milk supplier and Ballygowan. Thousands of units a day cut.
    That's Martin Browers fecked then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Mc Donald's seem to be closing to public but they also said they will look at supplying food locally. Maybe feeding quarantined, homeless and hse working staff ?

Which would mean they would need alot of their staff for prep and production.

I think that is to use up existing stocks so they are not wasted. Not sure it's going much beyond that tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 894 ✭✭✭cian68

voluntary wrote: »
    Is the State still asking people to queue in an post offices to get their social welfare payment? If so then it's maybe a time to use bank transfer instead to avoid the virus community transmission?

Yes. I found it quite tense in the post office last week despite everyone in the queue keeping their distance. I've heard they'll give two weeks tomorrow to avoid everyone having to go back the following week but I'll believe that when I see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭maestroamado

I find it very interesting that a guy from the World Health Org. said on radio yesterday that they already have pretty well all of the info on the Virus. He also said that it would normally would take 12/18 Months to have this level of info on any new unknown virus.
    I wonder are we being told everything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭TommyKnocker

Mc Donald's seem to be closing to public but they also said they will look at supplying food locally. Maybe feeding quarantined, homeless and hse working staff ?

Which would mean they would need alot of their staff for prep and production.
    Surely with a strong immune system being a plus if you were to contract this virus McDonalds is the last thing you should be eating?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

Monday morning business as usual. Virus what virus

The danger of emergency powers in some countries, Hungary (!!)
    https://www.theguardian.com/world/2020/mar/23/hungary-to-consider-bill-that-would-allow-orban-to-rule-by-decree

The UK govt is insisting 2 years is reasonable for their measures (!), at least Ireland's is reviewed in 6-9 months I believe.
    Dangerous times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭citysights

Are Supermacs closed as well?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

Disheartening to see so much issues over the weekend with social distancing. Some people seem to have no self discipline whatsoever.

I was saying to the wife that it's like a dangerous mix of ignorance and arrogance - it's all blown out of proportion and I'm healthy so it won't affect me much anyway.

voluntary wrote: »
    https://www.echolive.ie/nationalnews/An-Post-introducing-two-week-Social-Welfare-payments-bb554c48-907b-4164-9326-51f1f549b41f-ds

This is ridiculous.
    We ask people not to go to parks where there may be other people but at the same time telling 150.000 or so people who lost their jobs due to covic-19 to queue in post offices to collect their dole? Nobody thought this is asking for a disaster??? WTF can't they do bank account transfers for a few weeks?

If someone lost their job from last week onwards they fill out a different form. Name and address details, pps number, who you worked for, when you finished and your bank details.

This is paid directly into bank and you have 6 weeks to then apply for jobseekers. I don’t know if they’ve changed the jobseekers application but I’m sure they are working on having that paid directly into a bank account too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭Fakediamond

I find it very interesting that a guy from the World Health Org. said on radio yesterday that they already have pretty well all of the info on the Virus. He also said that it would normally would take 12/18 Months to have this level of info on any new unknown virus.
    I wonder are we being told everything?

I’d say the Chinese had the resources to gather and collate the info quickly. Only speculating though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,708 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Disheartening to see so much issues over the weekend with social distancing. Some people seem to have no self discipline whatsoever.

I was saying to the wife that it's like a dangerous mix of ignorance and arrogance - it's all blown out of proportion and I'm healthy so it won't affect me much anyway.

You can't fix stupid, unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

Sir Oxman wrote: »
    The danger of emergency powers in some countries, Hungary (!!)
    https://www.theguardian.com/world/2020/mar/23/hungary-to-consider-bill-that-would-allow-orban-to-rule-by-decree

The UK govt is insisting 2 years is reasonable for their measures (!), at least Ireland's is reviewed in 6-9 months I believe.
    Dangerous times.

Called this on another thread. A crisis like this is Christmas day to autocrats and despots.

What's worse, many governments will now be very tempted to adopt tracking and tracing technologies as adopted by China and South Korea (which is a democratic country, but isn't shy about employing invasive technology to trace infections).

For many millions, this stuff will be the new normal when the crisis subsidies. We will have to remain vigilant in the free world not to be duped by politicians with autocratic tendencies to undermine our liberties under the pretext of fighting the virus or the future threat of a further outbreak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

Fair play to Canada for pulling out of the Olympics, the Japanese are probably holding on so they don't take a financial hit before it is necessary. Awful for the athletes who has prepared for this for so long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭maestroamado

Tony EH wrote: »

They say the only thing there is no medical cure for is "ignorance"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Fiery mutant

Tony EH wrote: »

So true. Been limiting numbers into our store for the last few days (outside company advise) boss comes back from holidays yesterday, and immediately says to let more people in, all the while complaining the company should be on lockdown.

Boils my piss.

We should defend our way of life to an extent that any attempt on it is crushed, so that any adversary will never make such an attempt in the future.

cloudatlas wrote: »
    Fair play to Canada for pulling out of the Olympics, the Japanese are probably holding on so they don't take a financial hit before it is necessary. Awful for the athletes who has prepared for this for so long.

I think once all of the 20 or so testing centers become operational here during the week the spike in positive tests will mean shutdown.
    Those centres should have been open a week ago. A backlog of 40,000 people waiting for a test.

So true. Been limiting numbers into our store for the last few days (outside company advise) boss comes back from holidays yesterday, and immediately says to let more people in, all the while complaining the company should be on lockdown.

Boils my piss.

My Neighbour is self isolating and waiting to be tested after developing symptoms last Wednesday. She works in Lidl and if she has it, I’d bet my house it was when all the idiots rushed to the shops to panic buy.

Boils my piss.
    The absolute low level of management skills managers in this country have is embarrassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,015 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

The "general public" are just too stupid to be allowed wander around and bunch up as they currently are.

Oooops, I forgot my greeting.

MORNING !!!!!

Yesterday, I watched a few YouTube videos on how to prune roses. Mine now look like they been head shaved by an army barber :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Achasanai

Blueshoe wrote: »
    Monday morning business as usual. Virus what virus

How do you mean? Public transport rammed? Traffic into Dublin at a standstill? People milling around Grafton Street and the IFSC?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Looks like public areas, beaches, forests, mountain walks & parks etc are going to be shut down with Gardai to enforce.

We aren't going for a lockdown well because we're basically supposed to be doing it anyway. We've been told for weeks now about distance, work from home, don't go out if needed.

Yet some gob****es over the last 2 weekends couldn't help themselves and found the need to pile the whole family into cars and go up the mountains and the beaches.

Its possible to go out and get your exercise in without having to go to these areas. To the minority of the population who haven't obeyed social distancing, they're about to ruin it for everyone. Seems to be an irish thing of when your told to do something some people do thr opposite.

Achasanai wrote: »
    How do you mean? Public transport rammed? Traffic into Dublin at a standstill? People milling around Grafton Street and the IFSC?

No. My workplace and how some of the other staff are interacting with each other. Iv taken Wednesday and Thursday off for that reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭copperhead

Does anybody know if this virus is mutating,
    Looking at the figures from Italy spain etc and now the UK
    And there seems to a higher mortality rate as compared to China, in Italy there are reports of people in there 30's and 40's dying with no understanding conditions,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,839 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Looks like public areas, beaches, forests, mountain walks & parks etc are going to be shut down with Gardai to enforce.

We aren't going for a lockdown well because we're basically supposed to be doing it anyway. We've been told for weeks now about distance, work from home, don't go out if needed.

Yet some gob****es over the last 2 weekends couldn't help themselves and found the need to pile the whole family into cars and go up the mountains and the beaches.

Its possible to go out and get your exercise in without having to go to these areas. To the minority of the population who haven't obeyed social distancing, they're about to ruin it for everyone. Seems to be an irish thing of when your told to do something some people do thr opposite.

We have a discipline problem here. If the Germans are told not to do something they don’t do it.

Blueshoe wrote: »
    No. My workplace and how some of the other staff are interacting with each other. Iv taken Wednesday and Thursday off for that reason.

Complain to management then if the company isn't following guidelines. These are probably the same people who went for their mountain hikes over the weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,363 ✭✭✭Jim Gazebo

For those of us still at work, it's very easy to forget we are in the midst of a pandemic.

How I would love that opportunity to forget for a few hours a day that there is a pandemic ☹️

Dr. Bre wrote: »
    We have a discipline problem here. If the Germans are told not to do something they don’t do it.

Its mind boggling. The majority of the country are compliant. Then you have the minority who are just idiots.
    Temple bar last weekend and the pubs get closed.
    Beaches and parks etc this weekend and now they'll get closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Jin luk wrote: »
    They go into closed cases deducted from confirmed cases

So the 700+ or whatever the current number is does not include those who have recovered from it?