Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid19 Part X - 1,564 cases ROI (9 deaths) 209 in NI (7 deaths) (25 March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,604 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

walshb wrote: »
    Mackers closing all Irish and UK restaurants tomorrow....bada ba ba ba!

You can probably expect a big queue at some of them before they close so, the need to eat one last burger takes priority over thinking about the well being of others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭Level 42

I was in Cork city yesterday afternoon and there was a barbers jointed wtf is wrong with people.

Reminds me I need a haircut myself but no way am I going to go to some shop with some guy sneezing in there. Looks like a DIY job with a scissors so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,277 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

If you’re on Twitter follow @mlchealth, Marie-Louise Connolly, the BBC NI health correspondent, she’s a brilliant woman I’ve had very interesting DM discussions with her about the virus.

Hi Marie-Louise!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

Seen a few videos doing the rounds of the national guard swarming into Chicago and a few other places. A sea of HMVs rolling in, mad enough to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,038 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

eniskerry today - tonnes of people standing outside cafe's
    Lucan village today - a load of that lycra clad cycle crew stopping for a non socially distanced coffee at a cafe,

ice cream vans with queues everywhere, gigantic queue at woodies, its like we as a nation are trying to find loopholes to get next to hundreds of people.

Cyclists need to practice social distancing, no groups side by side on busy roads or any roads :mad:

Also why are DIY stores open?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,449 ✭✭✭✭walshb

You can probably expect a big queue at some of them before they close so, the need to eat have one last burger takes priority over thinking about the well being of others.

I’d be tempted myself, just to get the last Grand Mac....mmm....damn tasty!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,277 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Lucan village today - a load of that lycra clad cycle crew stopping for a non socially distanced coffee at a cafe,

ice cream vans with queues everywhere, gigantic queue at woodies, its like we as a nation are trying to find loopholes to get next to hundreds of people.

On a normal sunny Sunday you'd be mad to drive anywhere near Enniskerry with all the traffic, never mind during a lockdown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭Level 42

Quite a few cafes, bookshops and fast food places still open today. All with measures in place for social distancing. I'll be supporting these places that stayed open during the troubles.

Should you not support the ones that closed thinking of people instead though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

kowloon wrote: »
    This guy may have just saved a lot of lives.

Hopefully there's something in this. It's sounds like an absolute pack of crap though.

Sometimes when I have a cold, and it's cold outside too, I feel it going into my chest easily. I'm working hard with my needles knitting shawls to insulate my chest/torso.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

They have smartphones, a mini computer in their hands with maps and all sorts of sh1t and they're too dense to use it.

People with zero cop on, expecting their usual Sunday hangout to be uncrowded but lacking the foresight and brains to fathom out an alternative site. Bloodymindedly, they park up and join the throngs.
    maybe then being told monday dublin 13 and 2 allowed out to parks etc. dublin 3 and 12 on tuesday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,038 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

When need to close the airports, stop all flights

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

Acosta wrote: »
    And another win for the environment as many of them tend to throw the waste out the window of their cars when they're finished.

Bit unfair as the vast majority of people won't. It only take a few I suppose.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

wakka12 wrote: »
    Lockdown is loosening in Wuhan. Public transport will resume this week and people will be returning to work . Almost two months since lockdown now

The Chinese will soon rule the world and without needing to fire a shot in anger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

On a normal sunny Sunday you'd be mad to drive anywhere near Enniskerry with all the traffic, never mind during a lockdown

went up to powerscourt waterfall as you can drive almost right up to it without leaving the car, about 200-300 people there playing frisbee, football, having bbq's etc.. like nothing had happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,612 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭redarmy

Harvey Weinstein has reportedly been placed into isolation in a New York prison after testing positive for COVID-19.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,458 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Jin luk wrote: »
    You literally just said theirs certainly people who get a second bout of it? Id say that is reinfection no?

No it's not. The virus may remain dormant and then re-activate. This has been suggested extensively. To be "re-infected" they would need to be rid of it in the first place

redarmy wrote: »
    Harvey Weinstein has reportedly been placed into isolation in a New York prison after testing positive for COVID-19.

Can’t get a break, that lad!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭moonlighting_1

Just walked passed a Supermacs there. They were flat out, All the staff packed in like sardines bumping into each other.
    The drive thru was overloaded so some people parked their cars and went inside, There was a full queue out to the door.

We need a full shutdown of all non essential businesses in this country. Greedy business owners.
    I did a google search to try to find out whats Supermacs policy was for this event.
    instead I got a link to how he plans to open more businesses and make more money.

https://www.irishtimes.com/business/agribusiness-and-food/supermac-s-founder-aims-to-supersize-his-empire-1.4206806

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,291 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

The queues at Woodies are precisely because they are following social distancing guidelines : only a limited number of customers allowed enter the store. no under 16s allowed, markings on the floor and they've reduced their opening hours (closing at 6pm every day)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

probably hydroxychloroquine

It's not a vaccine, its part of treatment for people who have just become infected. There is indications it might help with the lungs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,029 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

speckle wrote: »
    maybe then being told monday dublin 13 and 2 allowed out to parks etc. dublin 3 and 12 on tuesday?

This is Ireland, not Japan....

People haven't the discipline to adhere to that here.

Just walked passed a Supermacs there. They were flat out, All the staff packed in like sardines bumping into each other.
    The drive thru was overloaded so some people parked their cars and went inside, There was a full queue out to the door.

We need a full shutdown of all non essential businesses in this country. Greedy business owners.
    I did a google search to try to find out whats Supermacs policy was for this event.
    instead I got a link to how he plans to open more businesses and make more money.

https://www.irishtimes.com/business/agribusiness-and-food/supermac-s-founder-aims-to-supersize-his-empire-1.4206806

That’s why the powers that be need to quit the stalling and fence sitting...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭perrito caliente

walshb wrote: »
    I’d be tempted myself, just to get the last Grand Mac....mmm....damn tasty!

You'd be tempted alright. Not a meat eater myself and I don't rate the vegetarian food in McDonalds, but I do enjoy the bean burger in Burger King, so if they close for Covid I'll definitely nip in beforehand for one last bite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭kevcos

The Chinese will soon rule the world and without needing to fire a shot in anger.

Profound.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

They deserve it. Us in the West have shown ourselves up to be a bunch of eejits who would prefer a bag of fish and chips vs staying safe from a deadly virus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Strazdas wrote: »
    The queues at Woodies are precisely because they are following social distancing guidelines : only a limited number of customers allowed enter the store. no under 16s allowed, markings on the floor and they've reduced their opening hours (closing at 6pm every day)

yeah but 100 people inside and 30 waiting outside is still 130 people in a non essential shop....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

You'd be tempted alright. Not a meat eater myself and I don't rate the vegetarian food in McDonalds, but I do enjoy the bean burger in Burger King, so if they close for Covid I'll definitely nip in beforehand for one last bite.
    might want to hurry they may be next
    https://twitter.com/newschambers/status/1241831742031486976?s=20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,855 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

McDonalds closed by 7pm tomorrow

Edit: Just seen spookwomans post above

Was just looking at the live footage of Time Square further up the thread. Never been to New York but it looks a bit naff? Anybody been there?

Never heard of either of those places.