Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part IX - 785 cases ROI (3 deaths) 108 in NI (1 death) (20 March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,353 ✭✭✭Shn99

When will we return to normal does anyone know?

14th of May according to Marcella from Darndale, her fellas brothers dogs cousin is in the guards so he has all the inside goss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

niallo27 wrote: »
    I do understand your figures, I'm just adding to your point that I think a lot more than 700 or so were infected on the ship but just didnt test positive. I'm hopeful the actual mortality is a lot lower than 1.2%.

Perhaps some..but I doubt so many that it would change the statistic in any major way..I think if there were that many false negatives occurring it would be a recognised phenomena by now especially we would see the relaitves and social circles of many people that tested 'negative' getting the infection themselves and so it would be quickly recognised that many people are falsely testing negative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭ziggyman17

fritzelly wrote: »
    If Tubs tests positives that means the man in charge of all this has to go in to isolation :eek:

Do not give up your day job.............Comedy is not for you........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,137 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

If Tubs tests positives that means the man in charge of all this has to go in to isolation :eek:

I'm willing to accept that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭forgodssake

My friends 17 year old son tried to go out last night to meet his mates ...my friends reaction ..He went upstairs and packed all his sons clothes , handed the bag to him and told him if he left the house he could stay gone !. Needless to stay the young fella stayed in. We need more discipline towards our youth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

whodafunk wrote: »
    Excuse my ignorance but saw the video in Italy today - very serious situation and people of all ages hit with it. Do they have a different strain of it? Reason I ask eg: Dr Ciara Kelly did not require hospital treatment?

Most people will only have minor to moderate symptoms. Mind you, she said she felt pretty miserable for a few days.

I had been thinking Italy may have got a more potent variant but nothing reported and i am sure the virus genome has been cross referenced against the Chinese genome.

It may just be that they have a higher % of elderly people than linked to being a hot spot with concentrated cases. If this is the case, if Florida, the retirement state, were to get a similar occurrence, it is going to be pretty impactful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭Shoes and Boots

My friends 17 year old son tried to go out last night to meet his mates ...my friends reaction ..He went upstairs and packed all his sons clothes , handed the bag to him and told him if he left the house he could stay gone !. Needless to stay the young fella stayed in. We need more discipline towards our youth.
    Kidz are mirror of them parents.He is what parents gave him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

whodafunk wrote: »
    Excuse my ignorance but saw the video in Italy today - very serious situation and people of all ages hit with it. Do they have a different strain of it? Reason I ask eg: Dr Ciara Kelly did not require hospital treatment?

Most people will only have minor to moderate symptoms. Mind you, she said she felt pretty miserable for a few days.

I had been thinking Italy may have got a more potent variant but nothing reported and i am sure the virus genome has been cross referenced against the Chinese genome.

It may just be that they have a higher % of elderly people than linked to being a hot spot with concentrated cases. If this is the case, if Florida, the retirement state, were to get a similar occurrence, it is going to be pretty impactful.

wakka12 wrote: »
    Perhaps some..but I doubt so many that it would change the statistic in any major way..I think if there were that many false negatives occurring it would be a recognised phenomena by now especially we would see the relaitves and social circles of many people that tested 'negative' getting the infection themselves and so it would be quickly recognised that many people are falsely testing negative.

Or that some people are just naturally immune to it and can fight it easily and will never test positive for it at all. That's my hope and I dont think its thats crazy of a theory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

BKtje wrote: »
    The vast majority of people are healthy and it is they who my post is aimed at. There are lots of people here in Switzerland wearing face masks where the general message is the same as elsewhere. You do not need to wear a mask unless you are at risk in which case you should stay isolated as much as possible. If you do need to go outside protect yourself as needed. It is not at these at risk people who the no need for a face mask is aimed at. It's at the generally healthy populace who are using face masks and may one day force a front line worker or a person at risk to go without.

Surface contamination is not protected by a mask any better than a towel covering your face and regular washing of your hands. It is impossible to eliminate risk in our world, even before this pandemic.

Who am I to tell people what to do. I'm no one in the grand scheme of things. People were wondering why face masks weren't recommended when medical professionals use them and I attempted to explain. What people decide to do now is up to them. I just hope that in Ireland, Switzerland and any other country that there won't be a severe shortage of face masks. I think it's unlikely but I'm not an expert on their manufacture nor logistical supply.

What does worry me is people are overconfident when wearing a mask or using them incorrectly. Most are a single use item and would then need to be binned. I don't know how many people that wear them actually do that? They must have an enormous supply of them.

A quick google on the subject gives this or here. Front line staff are ALREADY reusing them and thus risking themselves and their patients. Those links are for the US but I guess it's a similar situation in many countries.

What would really help front line staff is to do all that and not unnecessarily wear masks. It's not an either or situation. We should try to do everything that we are told until this is beaten and then we can return to doing whatever we want.

I don't know what it is like in Ireland but Switzerland social distancing is being practiced by most though there are always plenty of idiots. That doesn't mean staying inside but just keeping a 2m gap between you and others who you don't live with. Unless of course your sick or at risk in which case into full isolation/quarantine with you.

I don't see the big problem with bulk buying per se. It reassures people that they are prepared. Certainly less of an issue than wearing face masks without a good reason in my opinion. The shelves are being restocked and once everyone has finished stocking up well then life goes on. It's an inconvenience more than anything.

My goal with these posts are not to give out to people who wear masks but rather to hopefully make them think, "Am i really at risk", "Do I need to wear this" or should this be saved for someone who really needs it. Each person will have to decide this for themselves.

Stay safe out there everyone and once more I'm no expert! :)

I'm in broad agreement. It's a numbers game. Just because there is a chronic shortage of masks globally doesn't mean we should tell people they are not effective in reducing risk. That is immoral in my book.

The US is screwed on this front. Switzerland has mandatory military conscription and everyone who has gone through that training as far as I know is trained how to use a respirator. Would be pointless training them to use them for a war situation then say they don't work during a pandemic. Wouldn't fly. It's as much about public perception / understanding.

I think the government should be repurposing industry right not to manufacture them, if needed. Germany has banned export of PPE equipment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Telling what ? Only 120 cases per day,when yesterday was 190 ????

He gave detail behind the modeling process, and discussed social distancing.

If that's the only detail you took out of what he said then rewatch it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

Sharon Corr, I want to hear from Jim

By mr Holohan today information,there will be no corona in Ireland in about 1 week time guys ! Yesterday 190 cases,today 120,tomorrow 60,day after tomorrow 0 and after -50,-120,-200.We will back to normal in about week time,that is the Leo plan !

?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

What utter crap are you rambling on with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭TTLF
    save the trouble and jazz it up

I think it was an attempt at a joke?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭bekker

niallo27 wrote: »
    Or that some people are just naturally immune to it and can fight it easily and will never test positive for it at all. That's my hope and I dont think its thats crazy of a theory.
    How can one have natural immunity to a new virus, other than being born to a mother with acquired immunity?

TTLF wrote: »
    I think it was an attempt at a joke?

:pac: Dear

There is Only 120 cases today guyz ! Mr Holohan Today Information ! Against 190 yesterday ! Check Coronavirus Ireland update !

We know :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,114 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

bekker wrote: »
    How can one have natural immunity to a new virus, other than being born to a mother with acquired immunity?

He was contradicting himself, you get immunity after getting infected - some people just have a stronger immunity and kill off the virus easily and quickly

So,by Mr Holohan,No corona in about 1 week time ! We back to normal from next week Friday ! Start spending ladz ! Leo economy need Boost !

Clearly a troll - moving along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,114 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Stop spamming the thread with crap

bekker wrote: »

Built up immunity to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

Stop! This!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Dr.Holohan says no justification for lockdown yet.

That'll really piss people off here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭skellig_rocks

Mobile subscriptions dropped massively in first two months in China. All mobiles in China are real name subscriptions

https://www.chinamobileltd.com/en/ir/operation_m.php

https://www.chinatelecom-h.com/en/ir/kpi.php

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

He was contradicting himself, you get immunity after getting infected - some people just have a stronger immunity and kill off the virus easily and quickly

Yes that's what I meant, but I think these people would never test positive.