Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part IX - 785 cases ROI (3 deaths) 108 in NI (1 death) (20 March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

mohawk wrote: »
    Initial numbers from Italy are indicting that children are not the main carriers of this particular virus. In that town they tested in Italy the majority of children didn’t test positive for the virus. You need to carry the virus to spread it.
    For many viruses kids are asymptomatic carriers but initial data is not supporting that for the virus.
    Can’t remember where I got that study from.

The expert WHO China group found the same thing.

It was not so much of children spreading to adults, more of adults spreading to the children.

But early days yet with this virus... a lot more study is needed to clear up the many unknowns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,230 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

I have a very long-shift ahead of me today. The neighbours threw a massive party. It is bloody frustrating to be woken in the middle of the night.

Did you call the Gardaí?

Because that’s certainly what I would have done

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Gooey Looey

The garda will be shutting down house parties if they are reported.

Family house parties? You can have a party without inviting anyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

My cousins neighbors cat eats food out of Leo varadkars wheelie bin and he said there’s definitely a lock down coming,involving the Irish army and live rounds.
    He even used pew pew sounds to mimic bullets flying.be ready folks.that same cat has its little paw on the pulse and is also a serious operator in predicting weather and the best times for cutting hay and turf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭Wrex

So these seems to be some optimism about drugs that have been trialed recently such as Chloroquine and hydroxychloroquine .

Could these types of drugs if proved successful for treating the virus , be a quick fix to the crisis we are in? Or, even if proved effective and supplied to people, we are still looking at weeks or months as we are?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭Ellie2008

A few articles this morning suggesting buying from small businesses online. It’s a tough one is it ethical in the current environment to have parcels circulating & postmen, sorters etc. working more then they need to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

300 new cases and 25 more deaths in Indonesia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

bilston wrote: »
    More good news from China regarding two consecutive days without community transmission...however can we believe their stats?

Either way it is clearly a much better picture there than it was six weeks ago, so that has got to be hope for the rest of us.
    It's that 6-8 weeks experience they already have. Between poster anecdotes and news report they do seem to be relaxing some of the restrictions. That suggests they feel they have it under control. After the initial denials they do seem to be a lot more open about details. There's also not much point in "juking the stats" at this stage. Even if they've hidden 20000 it's not going to make a whole lot of difference to anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,383 ✭✭✭olestoepoke

You'll need to get used to it, this could go on for awhile

WTF is wrong with people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭RandomName2

Ellie2008 wrote: »
    A few articles this morning suggesting buying from small businesses online. It’s a tough one is it ethical in the current environment to have parcels circulating & postmen, sorters etc. working more then they need to?

It is absolutely ethical. People should avoid human contact if possible.

SuperValue even advertises online 'Please help protect our staff and other people by ordering from us online'

If more people are needed for sorting and delivering (they probably will be) then they will be hired. Dominos and Amazon in America are both going on a hiring spree for exactly this reason.

If you can shop 'locally' online that would be really good for small businesses, but those businesses will have to have some sort of system in place where you can do so. I'm certain that a lot of them won't :(
    My cousins neighbors cat eats food out of Leo varadkars wheelie bin and he said there’s definitely a lock down coming,involving the Irish army and live rounds.
    He even used pew pew sounds to mimic bullets flying.be ready folks.that same cat has its little paw on the pulse and is also a serious operator in predicting weather and the best times for cutting hay and turf.

Okay, but I need clarification. Did you hear this directly from the cat, or were you just told this by your cousin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭XsApollo

wakka12 wrote: »
    300 new cases and 25 more deaths in Indonesia

Surprised they never sent us some viruses over the years.
    Some of the food markets there make Wuhan look like a 3 star Michelin restaurant.

3 out of 10

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Ellie2008 wrote: »
    They'll be continuing to work all the way through this but the idea is that it reduces the number of people who have to go out and the numbers you'll find together in a group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

Wrex wrote: »
    So these seems to be some optimism about drugs that have been trialed recently such as Chloroquine and hydroxychloroquine .

Could these types of drugs if proved successful for treating the virus , be a quick fix to the crisis we are in? Or, even if proved effective and supplied to people, we are still looking at weeks or months as we are?

Depends on what manufacturing capacity is like for these drugs.

Theres trails for an antiviral developed for Ebola. If it works theres no factory to build it so one would need to be repurposed.

Theres two arthritis drugs being trialled too. Both are biopharmaceutical so need highly specialised bio reactors in production.

It's not easy to ramp up. If it works do you just say sorry love **** your arthritis we need your drugs for something else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Gooey Looey

WTF is wrong with people?

Expect people to have a few drinks in their own home when they can't go out to mingle and socialise. We have 4 adults living here as my son (21) and daughter (22) live with us. You can expect we'll be having drinks at home with some music to cheer us up.

davedanon wrote: »
    I believe it looks like you don't know what the hell you're talking about.

I believe it looks like you dribble a little in your pants every time you write another completely irrelevant post on the covid19 thread.
    Maybe get a more productive hobby, Dave. Adults are talking here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭Ellie2008

is_that_so wrote: »
    They'll be continuing to work all the way through this but the idea is that it reduces the number of people who have to go out and the numbers you'll find together in a group.

To clarify most of the businesses are closed. On the one hand I still have a job so I want to support small businesses, on other Im uncomfortable sending parcels around when there is no strict need to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

I think a lot of places that are only closing now (Penney's, Ikea, etc.) are doing so because they're exhausting their stock levels, rather than because they've suddenly grown a heart for their employees. :(

I'd say it's more to do with it costing them more (lights, heating, wages) than they are making per day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭Fakediamond

Gynoid wrote: »
    ^^^I hope lots of people have finally adopted the eminently sensible practice of leaving your outer world shoes at the door.

No, never thought about this. Sooo much to remember. I did think about the incoming post this morning. The postman is handling so many peoples letters, then putting a hand in so many letterboxes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,746 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Lads I just think this deserves sharing. A team in Galway are currently trying to design an easily built and put together ventilator which can be rapidly built and deployed. It's to be an open source device so anyone or any nation will be free to use the designs to make their own. Non profit

Saw it in the journal this morning

https://www.thejournal.ie/emergency-ventilators-ireland-5051956-Mar2020/

They currently have about 36k of the 50k needed, just said I'd share it

https://www.gofundme.com/f/keep-breathing-fund-emergency-covid19-ventilators

Truly hope these guys are genuine but I'm almost always immediately suspicious of gofundme campaigns that require funding for projects that capture the zeitgeist..

There is no quick fix, but they can save lives. The most important thing is to keep the spread as low as possible now because if our health service gets overwhelmed then there won’t be enough resources to treat people even if there are treatments available

We’re looking at months of disruption regardless of any progress on a cure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭mohawk

Akrasia wrote: »
    If you can’t remember your source then all you’re doing is spreading gossip on the internet. Do you want to be ‘that’ person?

Have you seen the volumes of scientific studies so far on this virus. I have never seen so many about one topic. All data so far is very preliminary. All I did is point out that children may not be the primary carriers of this disease. Another study with more numbers could show that they are. A lot of people have decided that children are the problem when the safest thing to do is act as if everyone is a carrier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,746 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

gozunda wrote: »
    Covid-19 restrictions 'likely' to last longer than two weeks ...

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2020/0320/1124269-coronavirus-ireland/

Oh rlly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

The expert WHO China group found the same thing.
    It was not so much of children spreading to adults, more of adults spreading to the children.
    But early days yet with this virus... a lot more study is needed to clear up the many unknowns.

Afaik the expert group findings were based on observations during their brief visit to China.

The quoted article beliw cites four different sources including findings from a large scale Chinese study
    In a new study published in the journal Pediatrics, researches studied a group of 2,143 cases of children with suspected or confirmed COVID-19, which were reported by the Chinese Centers for Disease Control and Prevention between Jan. 16 and Feb. 8.

They found that more than 90 percent of the cases in children had no symptoms, or with mild or moderate illness. However, approximately 6 percent of the coronavirus cases in children were severe or critical. In comparison, 18.5 percent were critical in adults.

Mild cases, which are 52 percent of the participants, had symptoms most often seen in children with flu, including fever, sore throat, fatigue, and cough. Some mild cases had digestive symptoms such as diarrhea, vomiting, and abdominal pain.

Moderate cases, which account for 39 percent of all cases, led to pneumonia, causing fever and cough. However, in these cases, children do not experience shortness of breath. In severe cases, which accounts for 5 percent of the sample, had severe respiratory problems. Some of the severe cases progressed to severe conditions, requiring critical care.

https://www.news-medical.net/amp/news/20200319/Some-children-may-become-seriously-ill-with-coronavirus-experts-warn.aspx

It also detailed that many children who were infected appeared asymptomatic

Tbh there seems to a lot of rubbish on social media content that children cannot get or cannot spread the corona virus.

In the face of the above - why would anyone risk their children or others health?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭The Hound Gone Wild

https://vimeo.com/398334975

Here's a walkthrough of a hospital in Bergamo. Every corner is in use. This is the wave coming towards us.

Stay away from people outside of your home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭TheAsYLuMkeY

I'd say it's more to do with it costing them more (lights, heating, wages) than they are making per day.

Or because everyone will get by for the next couple of months with the Tshirts and shoes they have.

wonder would the government have had a polite word in their ear and asked them to cease trading based on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭plodder

The good thing about these two is apparently they are well understood in terms of safety, they are off patent, and are cheap to manufacture. The hydroxy- one is currently used for treating arthritis, which means some of it is actually being manufactured right now.

I guess the effect would be to reduce the impact on the health service, with possible preventative treatment for workers and an overall ability to treat more patients.

However, Sky were claiming yesterday that Trump had said they were "approved" by the FDA, but it turns out, only approved for further testing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭UsBus

I have a very long-shift ahead of me today. The neighbours threw a massive party. It is bloody frustrating to be woken in the middle of the night.

This would absolutely infuriate me. It's not on to waking people in the middle of a working week with late night parties at the best of times. To be doing it at the moment is disgraceful. I'd be letting them know it's not on, maybe call to their door all desheveled with a mask on and see how they take it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,017 ✭✭✭jackboy

Depends on what manufacturing capacity is like for these drugs.

Theres trails for an antiviral developed for Ebola. If it works theres no factory to build it so one would need to be repurposed.

Theres two arthritis drugs being trialled too. Both are biopharmaceutical so need highly specialised bio reactors in production.

It's not easy to ramp up. If it works do you just say sorry love **** your arthritis we need your drugs for something else.

Bio drugs would just be suitable to treat the worst cases as they are predominantly given intravenously rather than in tablet form. A cheap treatment in the form of tablets is required to lower the amount of cases needing hospital treatment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭Fakediamond

I hope this post in tongue in cheek. If not, I would have phoned the guards to clear the place out, they would have done it too, I’d say, completely irresponsible and selfish people.