Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part IX - 785 cases ROI (3 deaths) 108 in NI (1 death) (20 March) *Read OP*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Achasanai

igCorcaigh wrote: »
    I think our approach has been sensible, if a bit late.

I also think there will be a ramp up in interventions. I don't know what that could be though.

Lockdown may come, but maybe an intermediate step first. They did mention advising elderly people to isolate - cocooning - perhaps that's next, before people on the street are fined.

Yeah, I think our approach is the most sensible - very difficult to initiate no. 4 (China-style lockdown) in a country like ours. And yeah, I think they will reassess the situation if there's no discernible reduction relating to the measures introduced recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭Route1

Just go into lockdown for **** sake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭martin101

igCorcaigh wrote: »
    I don't know, but it's not fair to call kids maggots and idiots for just being kids. But yeah, parents have to be more aware now.

Didn't call the kids idiots. I said acting the maggot. Since when is that so bad? And yeah I stand by what I say their parents are idiots for letting them out. Don't be so offended so easy. Now is not the time to be a snowflake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Anyone with editing online clips experience. Could you edit tonight's Primetime to have the section where they are showing the hospital section?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,041 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Former Dublin hurler Mick Carton has revealed he has tested positive for coronavirus.

The 35-year-old father, who is now a firefighter, started to suffer from flu-like symptoms in recent days and decided to self-isolate.

However, soon after being tested for Covid-19 he was made aware that he had contracted the virus.

Taking to Twitter from his hospital bed, Carton has issued a warning to stay vigilant about all the different symptoms of the contagious disease.

"I had been self-isolating for a few days with flu-like symptoms, got tested and came back positive for Covid-19 on Saturday," he wrote.

"A few things I've learned; it's very tough self-isolating when you're feeling really sick, but texts and phone calls from friends and family really do help.

"The symptoms I had were a headache, chills and fever.

"I had no respiratory problems so don't just be looking for a cough," he added.

https://www.independent.ie/world-news/coronavirus/ive-got-coronavirus-former-dubs-ace-mick-carton-reveals-hes-sick-in-hospital-39054087.html

The symptoms seem different for some, I keep thinking temp of over 39 get checked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,385 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Hobgoblin11

HSE are scaling up , like Spider-Man

Dundalk, Co. Louth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,634 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

It will soon hit people hard that are not obeying the distancing rules when a loved one is on a ventilator in ICU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭sheepsh4gger

No but they have grotesque animal factory farms where diseases spread that could spread to humans, for that reason I don't think any of us can look down on the Chinese. We should perhaps think about how we keep animals worldwide, it might even mean, gasp, eating less meat.

The problem is with eating wild animals, bats especially as they carry diseases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,734 ✭✭✭20silkcut

No but they have grotesque animal factory farms where diseases spread that could spread to humans, for that reason I don't think any of us can look down on the Chinese. We should perhaps think about how we keep animals worldwide, it might even mean, gasp, eating less meat.

There’s more to it than that sanitation in China is about 100 years behind the west .

Check out this video from a South African guy who lived in China for 15Year

https://youtu.be/rbHxeOQA1Mc

Warning not for the faint hearted !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

Route1 wrote: »

relax - we've had 3 deaths, kids in blanchardstown and finglas have a higher kill rate this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,067 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

I've had some mild symptoms come and go the last three days, cough, headaches, burning/itchy eyes, pains at the side of my head, and a strange "swarming" feeling in my head (hard to concentrate) Feel grand now just the odd cough. No fever

Thinking of ringing HSE tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭Route1

begbysback wrote: »
    relax - we've had 3 deaths, kids in blanchardstown and finglas have a higher kill rate this year

Why not take preventive measures, would it not be a reasonable idea to try avoid a scenario like in Italy or Spain?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,384 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

billyhead wrote: »
    It will soon hit people hard that are not obeying the distancing rules when a loved one is on a ventilator in ICU.

Exactly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,295 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

If you go too soon with this, how do you get back out of it? The govt have to be really careful here......people would not accept a six week lockdown, their mental health would really start to suffer.

Was talking to my dad the other day (69 years old) and he was saying he wouldn't mind if he got the virus and died from it.

I, a bit perplexed as you can imagine, questioned his thinking. He said that from what he understands of it, people that get it are off their heads in and out of fevers and their breathing slows until they die. He reckons the respiratory system giving up, whilst you're so out of it with the 'flu', that you'd barely notice, and "with a few whiskeys in you" it'd be a grand way to go.

I did have to laugh, but it got me thinking: how do you actually die from this? It does seem to be mostly related to the breathing issue, from what I can see (it shuts down your ability to breath properly?). Are people dying in their sleep and over night with it, just by suffocating?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

Even then a lot of people won't put 2 and 2 together.

Sometimes you have to spoonfeed people truths like this before they get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭martin101

begbysback wrote: »

Hope your still saying that this time two weeks. Why not do it now before it gets totally out of hand? Ah sure it be grand eh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Ok believe what you want.

Those countries have worn masks for years due to air quality and pollution.

But fire away wear a mask, they offer no additional support to someone walking around a street if your not ill.

Again theres no proven benefit,

You are contradicting yourself.

There is no benefit but health workers need them to stop getting sick.

Do you actually listen to yourself? Have you ever had to apply critical thinking skills to understand something?

HSE said.....

They said it was low risk
    They now advise doctors it can last in the air for up to 3 hours after someone coughs. Imagine that in a supermarket. Do you think you won't get it cause the HSE said so. Good luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

Why not take preventive measures, would it not be a reasonable idea to try avoid a scenario like in Italy or Spain?

we are taking preventative measures, and each individual is entitled to restrict themselves even further if they so wish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

What is the comparable risk I wonder between our regulated and monitored (horrible as it is) factory farming vs seemingly unregulated wet markets or similar?

If the risk is similar you have a point, but you still can't account for the damage of suppressing information like this as well.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

The virus lives on surfaces for a surprising long time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,277 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

The problem is with eating wild animals, bats especially as they carry diseases.

oh I know, we're far better, but we still have some ghastly practices

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

I would hope they cop on before that, but you maybe rignt. Then, will they be talking to Joe about the HSE not doing enough... Soon enough? Its always someone else's fault types.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,384 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Was talking to my dad the other day (69 years old) and he was saying he wouldn't mind if he got the virus and died from it.

I, a bit perplexed as you can imagine, questioned his thinking. He said that from what he understands of it, people that get it are off their heads in and out of fevers and their breathing slows until they die. He reckons the respiratory system giving up, whilst you're so out of it with the 'flu', that you'd barely notice, and "with a few whiskeys in you" it'd be a grand way to go.

I did have to laugh, but it got me thinking: how do you actually die from this? It does seem to be mostly related to the breathing issue, from what I can see (it shuts down your ability to breath properly?). Are people dying in their sleep and over night with it, just by suffocating?

That's a grim question but an interesting one :)
    Pneumonia means your lungs get filled with fluid; there may be organ failure too.

I don't know how peaceful or not it is for people who pass, but very good question. We need a HCW here to answer that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,295 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

martin101 wrote: »
    Hope your still saying that this time two weeks. Why not do it now before it gets totally out of hand? Ah sure it be grand eh?

Those demanding a lockdown are probably isolated / loners and wouldn't even be impacted by it. It's a different for the broader society who are used to socialising and not being prisoners in their own home....it would hit them hard if it went on too long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,612 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

ShaneU wrote: »
    I've had some mild symptoms come and go the last three days, cough, headaches, burning/itchy eyes, pains at the side of my head, and a strange "swarming" feeling in my head (hard to concentrate) Feel grand now just the odd cough. No fever

Thinking of ringing HSE tomorrow

you're not you when you're hungry, have a snickers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭Mervyn Skidmore

Tell your Dad that just before you die from this, you gain complete awareness and your b*llocks explode. He might have second thoughts and start loving life again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,114 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Good breakdown here
    https://www.bbc.com/news/health-51214864

Really not something you want to go thru

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Hobgoblin11

I wish people would stop eating BATS all around the world, they are meant for other things. :(

Makes my stomach turn

Have a Snickers

Dundalk, Co. Louth