Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part IX - 785 cases ROI (3 deaths) 108 in NI (1 death) (20 March) *Read OP*

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

We need some new clichés.

Pissing against the wind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭gabeeg

threeball wrote: »
    Every sickness is a disease. How about they come round to your house and test you. Full Hazmat, the lot. You test negative, but for the next 3 months you're a leper. Is that what you propose?

This thing is everywhere, stop for a coffee, you'll touch a cup, a stirrer, a lid, a sugar sachet, and a milk dispenser. Every single interaction has the risk of infection yet you think you can track this by knowing where a person lives. Its time people screwed their head on and had a think besides waffling on about lockdowns, diseased people, suppression strategies and all the rest of the panic induced bullsh1t, follow the advice given and get on with life.

The advice is not to get on with life.

It's to alter it drastically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭RugbyLad11

Wearing gloves or mask are useless unless your already ill. It's been recommended time and time again not to wear masks unless you have a respiratory issue.

No need to wear gloves, your potentially doing more harm with them on..better to wash your hands

haha I assure you a n95+ grade mask is not useless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

The horse is bolted now. The limited shutdown came too late. Contact tracing has likely been a failure as unless you employ chinese type rigour, technology and numbers its no use.

At this stage all we can do is keep old people isolated.

We were always going to hit this stage when we failed to ban flights early to Italy and when we failed to impose isolation on those who returned from Italy. The Italian fans coming over probably didn't help and the government didn't even bother telling the Cheltenham punters to isolate.

Our only hope now is older people don't get it in large numbers. They probably shouldn't even be going to the shops at this stage.

The limited shutdown didnt work mainly due to lazy, irresponsible and all round crap parents.

I've walked the dog through St Annes park in dub 3 every day this week and it full of groups of teenagers.

People have been told what to do and they refuse to do it so if we want to point fingers then it at the general populace - they need to be forced to do things as they dont have the cop on/selflessness to do the right thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,511 ✭✭✭harr

Prof Luke O'Neill is a bit of header.
    Absolutely , he was on the late late a few weeks back telling everyone not to worry and to travel away as you had a very low chance of getting it .
    He seems to have done a uturn on his advice as he is on lockdown himself because he traveled not so laid back now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

Wearing gloves or mask are useless unless your already ill. It's been recommended time and time again not to wear masks unless you have a respiratory issue.

No need to wear gloves, your potentially doing more harm with them on..better to wash your hands

I agree about the mask. But gloves can make a difference and every customer in a shop should be forced to wear them. If we had a proper government they would enforce strong measures like this.

Its very unlikely most people who go shopping wash their hands beforehand and many are likely covid infected. If you don't wear gloves you could bring it home and infect everyone in the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,114 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

So I haven't been out for 5 days - are people wearing masks now?

Saw a few people today including a couple who only had it over their mouth and another with it over their chin :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

That's nonsense. It spreads through air. If you have a mask you SHOULD wear it (if it's rated for viruses). The only problem is that boomers will make fun of you and report you to store security.

Sorry but that's utter crap. It's not spread through air. Unless you have contact with someone who has it then you wont get it. It's not airborne in that sense.

Again and I can back this up with various medical articles, only healthcare workers or those with an at risk illness should wear them. If your healthily it makes absolutely no difference if you wear them, it can still enter via the eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭LessOutragePlz

I know people are sick of hearing the phrase "flatten the curve" but, this video explains why we need to do it very well.

Lol at the people fantasising about the army coming in to shoot scumbags. Won't be long until their foaming at the mouth to wipe out the knacks and the dole scroungers.
    Boards.ie will never change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,591 ✭✭✭bennyl10

The limited shutdown didnt work mainly due to lazy, irresponsible and all round crap parents.

I've walked the dog through St Annes park in dub 3 every day this week and it full of groups of teenagers.

People have been told what to do and they refuse to do it so if we want to point fingers then it at the general populace - they need to be forced to do things as they dont have the cop on/selflessness to do the right thing.

We don’t even know if it hasn’t worked or not

We won’t know anything about the social distancing results for another week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

harr wrote: »
    Absolutely , he was on the late late a few backs telling everyone not to worry and to travel away as you had a very low chance of getting it .
    He seems to have done a uturn on his advice as he is on lockdown himself because he traveled not so laid back now.

"The biggest health crisis of the 20 century"

He said that. No joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,733 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

I agree about the mask. But gloves can make a difference and every customer in a shop should be forced to wear them. Its very unlikely most people who go shopping wash their hands beforehand and many are likely covid infected. If you dony wear gloves you coild bring it home with you infecting everyone in the house.

Gloves are worse. How many times are you going to wash your gloves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 460 ✭✭martco

My sister was diagnosed + referred by GP on Monday morning so nearly 5 days now
    apparently as a priority case as there's a child with Down Syndrome in the house
    she's worse now but holding steady at moment
    there are 5 of them in lockdown in the house, Dun Laoghaire area

still no HSE call to test

I doublechecked with GP the referral was done

Can anyone give me a steer on the testing timeframes at the moment please? I'm starting to wonder whats going on??

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭branie2

I imagine that a decision to close a restaurant, pub and any other business is not taken lightly

RugbyLad11 wrote: »
    haha I assure you a n95+ grade mask is not useless

And this is why theres a lack of them in the health service, people have them when they dont need them.

Read up on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,367 ✭✭✭campo

igCorcaigh wrote: »
    No that's wrong. Vaccine will give immunity, but no point in giving it to the young first.

They will more than likely be prioritised for HCW.

Okay but point stands that without a vaccine first the herd won't just become immune to a virus, well unless you are Wolverine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,757 ✭✭✭threeball

campo wrote: »
    Pretty sure herd immunity only kicks in once a vaccine is found and given to the young first, we then get the immunity from them.

Never heard of the human race just becoming immune to a virus without a vaccine being given first.

Such sh1te, humans have been around millennia. Vaccines about a centuary, what did we do before that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭ironingbored

VP of Chinese Red Cross on a visit to Milan:

"Too many people still out on the streets and not wearing masks.

All economic activity must stop, everyone must stay at home. Everyone needs to play their part."

https://video.repubblica.it/dossier/coronavirus-wuhan-2020/coronavirus-il-vice-presidente-della-croce-rossa-cinese-a-milano-troppi-in-strada-e-senza-mascherina/356304/356870?ref=fbpr&videorepmobile=1

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

"The biggest health crisis of the 20 century"

He said that. No joke.

Give or take a century.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,367 ✭✭✭campo

Such sh1te, humans have been around millennia. Vaccines about a centuary, what did we do before that.

Die

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,031 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Die off in our thousands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭Monkeynut

Meat from a pigs sty in a bat cave. Looks yum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Hedgehod55 wrote: »
    Probably the least surprising post in the thread given the absolute shite you come out with regularly here.

I'm surprised you haven't learnt your lesson by now, after outing your mate Noreen Spicer the other day with a FB screenshot and snitching on McGettigan's bar for being open. Obviously your IQ hasn't increased since you're still tagging the bars were at, like the complete edgelord that you are.

Good lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

You can't

.. and anyway, the border isn't just the line on this island, it also involves traffic going too & frow between the two islands, and you can't cut off flights & ferries.

You can, use silicon

Gloves are worse. How many times are you going to wash your gloves?

Gloves are an awful lot worse that's the point, you wear a glove and come into contact with covid or any other virus, it's now on the gloves, you touch god knows what throughout the day, falsely thinking that because you have gloves on it's less risk, but no, everything you touch potentially now has virus left on it.

Compared to washing your hands a few times a day and getting rid of any potential virus each time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭gabeeg

Sorry but that's utter crap. It's not spread through air. Unless you have contact with someone who has it then you wont get it. It's not airborne in that sense.

Again and I can back this up with various medical articles, only healthcare workers or those with an at risk illness should wear them. If your healthily it makes absolutely no difference if you wear them, it can still enter via the eyes.

so you're saying we should all be wearing masks and goggles

gotcha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

bennyl10 wrote: »
    We don’t even know if it hasn’t worked or not

We won’t know anything about the social distancing results for another week.

Well we know its not happening so thats a relatively good example of it not working.
    We cant blame politicians, etc - although that seems to be a lot of peoples default.
    People have been treated like adults and asked to do something, a good chunk of society havent and the inevitable solution is that we'll be forced

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

campo wrote: »
    Okay but point stands that without a vaccine first the herd won't just become immune to a virus, well unless you are Wolverine

They will develop immunity from exposure to the virus or the vaccine.

People cannot develop immunity from exposure to those who have been vaccinated. At least that's what I thought you were saying.

gabeeg wrote: »
    so you're saying we should all be wearing masks and goggles

gotcha

Eh nope neither