Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part IX - 785 cases ROI (3 deaths) 108 in NI (1 death) (20 March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,721 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Chinese figures are bollix.

You haven't even seen the state of their writing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Longing

Strazdas wrote: »
    Definitely not Cheltenham anyway. There wouldn't have been enough time to get infected and then tested (the festival only finished on Friday evening).

Yes put it started last Tuesday week. So cases will be starting to show.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

greenpilot wrote: »
    We would not need feet in every town and village, just the major areas where anti social behaviour is common and where a certain demographic resides. Local Gardai can look after the rest

Would you parachute them in or would it be a land invasion via the dublin mountains for cover?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,313 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

mohawk wrote: »
    What a ****ty thing to do to an elderly person. Scumbags is right.

As an aside should we be telling pensioners be making arrangements to have pension paid to their bank accounts?

It's already available, but some don't want it.

There's a social aspect in collecting the pension from the post office that I can understand.

Though with the whole distancing stuff, anyone that has an elderly relative/neighbour should be advising it imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,978 ✭✭✭growleaves

We are all citizens equal under law less you forget.

You don't have to tell me that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,733 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Seriously will you calm down. The army are not going to be shooting looters or rounding up anyone. They are the army and not trained in law enforcement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,031 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

New laws they can detain without question or shoot

Shoot first, detain for questioning later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,041 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

There is no need for government formation talks, all parties should be working together during this crisis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,733 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Shoot first, detain for questioning later.

Yes the Irish army will be doing this in a week or too. Ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

Zero powers. We could get them doing constructive admin work perhaps in the stations to free up guards to patrol. Maybe delivering shopping to the elderly and vulnerable.

To Aid the Civil Power/Aid to the Civil Authority (meaning in practice to assist, when requested, the Garda Síochána, who have primary responsibility for law and order, including the protection of the internal security of the State).

https://www.military.ie/en/what-we-do/#anchor-2

Say one Garda and one soldier - Garda does the arresting, if the scumbag gets frisky, the soldier can assist.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

I was in Jackos army.
    If the call came.
    I’d serve again.
    Lovely pints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭Monkeynut

I'm getting checked for boardsamonia in the morning. I've been waiting a few days now. Wish me luck. It's a very tiresome, fatiguing disease. Get off it while you can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭Lashes28

The local playground was packed today. People aren't taking much heed to social distancing,kids are carriers act like you have it,etc etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

joe_99 wrote: »
    200k net increase in world population today . Culling this ain't

Long term it may, some evidence that the virus leaves scaring on the lungs. Which could lead to premature death for those folks in 10-20 years time. Now that's purely speculation on my part.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

bb12 wrote: »
    according to worldometers, today we have 113 cases per million population. china has 56.

This is very frightening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,011 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Blueshoe wrote: »

And to that you can add further evidence of suspect official attitudes in China:
    Chinese laboratory that first shared coronavirus genome with world ordered to close for ‘rectification’, hindering its Covid-19 research
    https://sg.news.yahoo.com/chinese-laboratory-first-shared-coronavirus-145827147.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭dougm1970

another day of milestones.....today has seen the global death rate hit 10,000....1,000 of which died in last 24 hours !!
    italy reported over 5,000 cases in one 24 hour period...and overtook china as the country with the most deaths to date.
    switzerlands cases increased by over 30% of previous total....now over 4,000.
    usa cases increased by over 25% of previous total.
    ireland increased by over 50% of previous total.
    almost 24,000 cases worldwide added today, which accounts for 10% of all reported cases globally, highest daily increase to date.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Naggdefy

30% of 557 is 167. I'd go with 30%, which would bring us to 15,000 month's end. Looking at other countries it would be unusual to get an increase of 52% followed by a similarly large increase.

Blushoe will probably go for 8-10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

Lashes28 wrote: »
    The local playground was packed today. People aren't taking much heed to social distancing,kids are carriers act like you have it,etc etc etc

Hopefully when the new law takes effect and the Minister issues the relevant regulations, the Army can go in a shoot the little feckers.

Shouldn't be necessary but you never know around here: ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

mohawk wrote: »
    What a ****ty thing to do to an elderly person. Scumbags is right.

As an aside should we be telling pensioners be making arrangements to have pension paid to their bank accounts?

Absolutely for the first point.

The second is very valid My mother has no bank account that can take inpayments. She is amazing for her age and has a very sharp mind. I once suggested to her setting things up like this and she said no. I want to go out and meet people. Its hard to argue with that, and it also keeps her in touch with others.

Today, she had no delay in the PO, met no-one and got a lift there and back. I tried to talk her out of it earlier but she had it all thought through and planned out. Except for the scumbags trying to steal her valuables while she was out. They got nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,927 ✭✭✭✭elperello

c.p.w.g.w wrote: »
    Long term it may, some evidence that the virus leaves scaring on the lungs. Which could lead to premature death for those folks in 10-20 years time. Now that's purely speculation on my part.

Not particularly helpful if you don't mind me saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,030 ✭✭✭daheff

saabsaab wrote: »
    Our increase in cases rises as expected. I wonder how many are related to Cheltenham or Italian Tourists? Any figures for this?

It's from the Italian rugby people now. Even the totals being more in Dublin is saying that.

It's just around the 2 week timeframe from when they came over now. We'll see big numbers the next 4 or 5 days now from this.

Then there'll be a week or so where the numbers won't be as bad & then another surge.

I think there's still 3 more weeks before we start to see this level off.

Hopefully then the social distancing measures /school closures will start to kick in and numbers will start dropping...unless there's loads of infected Brits flying in still

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

Blueshoe wrote: »

It's straight out of the communist playbook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭pH

DUBLIN (Reuters) - The prime ministers of Ireland and Britain agreed in a phone call on Thursday to align in so far as possible the neighboring countries’ actions to help slow the spread of coronavirus, a spokesman for the Irish government said.

The two leaders also agreed on the importance of close co-operation in the context of the operation of the common travel area between Britain and Ireland, which includes Ireland’s open border with British-run Northern Ireland, the spokesman added.

“The (British) Prime Minister outlined the steps announced yesterday to close the schools. The Taoiseach (Irish prime minister) welcomed this decision which had brought a greater closeness between the position in Ireland and Northern Ireland,” he said in a statement.

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-health-coronavirus-ireland-britain/irish-british-pms-pledge-to-align-closely-on-coronavirus-spokesman-idUSKBN2163XD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭saabsaab

To Aid the Civil Power/Aid to the Civil Authority (meaning in practice to assist, when requested, the Garda Síochána, who have primary responsibility for law and order, including the protection of the internal security of the State).

https://www.military.ie/en/what-we-do/#anchor-2

Say one Garda and one soldier - Garda does the arresting, if the scumbag gets frisky, the soldier can assist.

A warning shot or a bayonet pointed at someone should get their attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭sheepsh4gger

Martial law is no fun...
    Well it is to the oligarchs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,927 ✭✭✭✭elperello

It's straight out of the communist playbook

No surprise.
    They are a gangster regime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,011 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

pseudonym121 who has posted on these threads and would appear to have some medical knowledge and HSE experience, said that the diminished lung function would likely see many patients having a very short life expectancy - as in unlikely to get even half way to even 10 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,579 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

We win the war by finding the cases, we should be cheering the cases we find, and get to the point we can't find another. But this is a world wide thing, it ain't over till it's over unless we become like North Korea