Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part IX - 785 cases ROI (3 deaths) 108 in NI (1 death) (20 March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,041 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

43% Irish cases from travel abroad

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,385 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Something stinks about this virus. How it has moved all over the globe in no time whatsoever. I can't help but feel that it was already rampant throughout the world

Air travel. Look at the amount of imported cases here from Northern Italy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭breadmonster

Kaisr Sose wrote: »
    Some things never change. My elderly mothers house was broken into this afternoon when she went out to collect pension. She was only out for 25min, so they were watching her.

A very vigilant neighbour seen them force a window and called the Garda who rushed up in masse. Two members of a mobile type background now in custody. However, two Garda were injured while responding (crashed car) and i believe hospitslised.

My mother, the legend she is for a 92 yr old, got quite a shock on returning home to see all the Garda cars and vans at her house. Thankfully, she was totally unphased, and was offering to make the Gardaí tea while they took a statement from her.

And to think our primary concern was protecting her health, not her home. Total scumbags to violate her home like this in thse times. At least they now have their own perios of social distancing while in lockdown in the station.

need new laws for this type of **** during this crisis - life sentence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,393 ✭✭✭ZX7R

statesaver wrote: »
    What's that ?

Ranger wing
    Military aid to the Civilian power

But don't worry the laws that were issued today won't give any extra powers to them
    They are still bounded by civil law and can only assist Garda when called upon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭joe_99

A world culling

200k net increase in world population today . Culling this ain't

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

I mean, that couldn't possibly be true could it.

Chinese figures are bollix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭httpete

So as the numbers continue to get even worse in Italy, how do we think things are going to be in the UK and NI very shortly?

Once Italy realised the scale of the problem they implemented a severe lockdown, and hopefully we will see the positive effects of that soon. When Ireland and the rest of Europe realised the scale of the problem they begin implementing severe measures themselves.

But in the UK and NI, pubs, shops, general businesses, gyms, schools and unis are still open, with schools and unis due to close tomorrow. But pubs, shops, gyms, and businesses in general are still open however, it is absolutely crazy at this stage. They also aren't bothering to implement nearly as strong a testing regime as Ireland. Unlike Italy, currently there is no expected timeframe for when the upcoming disastrous UK numbers begin to level off as they haven't implemented measures nearly as strict as the rest of Europe..life is continuing as normal still over there.

One of the most important measures we could have taken weeks ago was to stop flights from Italy earlier. My God we can only dream of the amount of upcoming pain that could have been avoided if we had taken this step earlier. In general, every country can only wish they had stopped flights from Italy and China earlier.

So why on Earth do we still have multiple flights going back and forward daily to the UK, and London in particular? London is so densely packed the virus has to be spreading like wildfire. This is nuts, who knows what the true number of cases is yet as they aren't testing properly..I can only imagine how bad things are going to be there soon.

We were too slow to stop flights from Italy. We are already too slow to stop flights from London, but FOR GOD SAKE AT LEAST STOP THEM NOW!!!

For example:
    My husband works for an internet company and they have had a rash of calls from UK numbers calling to check that their internet is up and running in their holiday home in Ireland before they come over here to wait it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 CymbaltaMan

greenpilot wrote: »

Where ????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,996 ✭✭✭✭bilston

Downlinz wrote: »
    The strain in Wuhan is predominantly thought to be milder than the one we appear to have in Europe.
    What's happening in Italy with a near 10% death rate is certainly not comparable to a seasonal flu.

Yeah but the number of cases in Italy will be a hell of a lot higher than 40,000. It's probably at least 10 times that amount.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Our increase in cases rises as expected. I wonder how many are related to Cheltenham or Italian Tourists? Any figures for this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,924 ✭✭✭✭elperello

This is it wrote: »
    Covid 19 will be done and dusted by the time I read all that.

Read it.
    At once scary, practical and hopeful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭bfa1509

That guy who makes the announcements is CONSTANTLY fidgeting with something.

I see Eoghan Murphy was self isolating from returning from travel abroad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 909 ✭✭✭coastwatch

Umpalumpa wrote: »
    HSE is now booking entire hotels in Dublin for overflow of cases. Booking them for 12 months

Thats good news.
    The NHS in the UK are doing the same. Going to use some hotels for accommodation for extra health staff and some as temporary "step down" treatment units to free up hospital beds.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2020/mar/19/hotel-chains-in-talks-to-turn-properties-into-nhs-hospitals-coronavirus

ZX7R wrote: »
    Ranger wing
    Military aid to the Civilian power

But don't worry the laws that were issued today won't give any extra powers to them
    They are still bounded by civil law and can only assist Garda when called upon

I was curious about this. A few nights ago, a large group of scumbags were running wild, smashing up vehicles, in Cherry Orchard Dublin
    I am curious, what if any powers , would the army have if called to a scene like this.

Can they even put their hands on a person? What if they were just abused and told to f off

bfa1509 wrote: »
    That guy who makes the announcements is CONSTANTLY fidgeting with something.

Kind of a high pressure job in fairness.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,884 Mod ✭✭✭✭DOCARCH

Sharon is very excited about bad news! Roll on Miriam!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,924 ✭✭✭✭elperello

need new laws for this type of **** during this crisis - life sentence

Definitely need judges to take note of date of offence and impose extra tariff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 CymbaltaMan

Jake1 wrote: »
    I was curious about this. A few nights ago, a large group of scumbags were running wild, smashing up vehicles, in Cherry Orchard Dublin
    I am curious, what if any powers , would the army have if called to a scene like this.

Can they even put their hands on a person? What if they were just abused and told to f off

New laws they can detain without question or shoot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,755 ✭✭✭threeball

What was the excuse for failure to deal with it before this crisis.

I doubt people would have tolerated even scumbags being shot on sight pre virus. Right now I think there'd be 90% support.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

growleaves wrote: »
    I agree there's a degree of entitlement to it, but there's also a reason for it.

If the articulate and influential people in society are bullied by soldiers they're not going to forget it and you're not going to hear the end of it if you live to be 110.

WTF does articulate and influential people in society have to do with it? :confused: We are all citizens equal under law less you forget. We are all in this together. Any feelings of entitlement should disappear when the security of the state is at play. The point is a 19 year old private enforcing a curfew doesn't give a fvck who you rugger buggered with nor should he.

No matter what part of the country you are from there should be no-one thinking they are an exception at this time. We all have to act in the collective interest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭Dr. Colossus

Omackeral wrote: »
    Which would you rather, test positive for Covid-19 or watch an episode of Mrs Browne's Boys from start to finish?

I would rather spend a month in Syria.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭greenpilot

We have 7,300 active personnel and 1,663 reserves minus 565 currently on active duty overseas.

We are so sparsely populated that we would need the army in every town and village.

Obviously Dublin, Cork, Limerick and Galway would need more resources than elsewhere.

A week of high profile presence would tell people the **** is real.
    Fines for disobedience.

We would not need feet in every town and village, just the major areas where anti social behaviour is common and where a certain demographic resides. Local Gardai can look after the rest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭Umpalumpa

coastwatch wrote: »
    Thats good news.
    The NHS in the UK are doing the same. Going to use some hotels for accommodation for extra health staff and some as temporary "step down" treatment units to free up hospital beds.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2020/mar/19/hotel-chains-in-talks-to-turn-properties-into-nhs-hospitals-coronavirus

Including our own I know of 2 other hotels beside us that have been contacted. In total its 2000 beds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

saabsaab wrote: »
    Our increase in cases rises as expected. I wonder how many are related to Cheltenham or Italian Tourists? Any figures for this?

Definitely not Cheltenham anyway. There wouldn't have been enough time to get infected and then tested (the festival only finished on Friday evening).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Jake1 wrote: »

Zero powers. We could get them doing constructive admin work perhaps in the stations to free up guards to patrol. Maybe delivering shopping to the elderly and vulnerable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Do they really think that everyone that has lost their job will find one in 6 weeks? That makes no sense whatsoever, more and more places are closing, how on earth do they think they will get a job in 6 weeks, they'll need to extend that to 6 months.

you can learn a lot in 6 weeks basic training.
    • public order
    • CBRN drills

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭saabsaab

threeball wrote: »
    They should have enacted a law saying looters and thieves will be shot while they were at it today. Frontline have no time for this sh1t now. Scumbags will use this as an opportunity.

True. Martial type law shoot if necessary.

Omackeral wrote: »
    Which would you rather, test positive for Covid-19 or watch an episode of Mrs Browne's Boys from start to finish?

I'd live in Mrs. Browne's bloomers to not catch it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

Chinese figures are bollix.

Source ?