Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part IX - 785 cases ROI (3 deaths) 108 in NI (1 death) (20 March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,015 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Pretty obvious we do need a stricter lockdown to keep the feral fùcks inside.

Ideally we shouldnt but again as with the pubs having to close. The mind numbing stupidity of a few means it has to change for everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,662 ✭✭✭Duke of Url

You would think the Chinese would be having a long hard look
    at themselves now, rather than gloating how great their doctors are

Is it so hard to say Chinese Government and not Chinese like the population?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,427 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Sorry I still don’t get how healthcare workers are making up 1/6 of confirmed cases.

I get that they are on the front line but with a low rate of total confirmed this is a massive number.

I think they said a lot of them didn't get it in work.

Got it from overseas travelers coming back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 769 ✭✭✭Dayor Knight

lbj666 wrote: »
    So you are telling me that by the time they got home on Saturday, they have shown symptoms and made it through the backlog of testing.

Cheltenham gang and our other already established scapegoats in temple bar wont start appearing on stats for another 4-5 days by in which case numbers will be so high that that theyll be buried amongst the figures.

That's alright so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,852 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

owlbethere wrote: »
    There's personal responsibility here for sure for people who travelled from Ireland to the UK for Cheltenham, our government is equally to blame for not bringing in measures to quarantine people on their return.

Should be a new heading in the daily stats ..Travel from Cheltenham 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,103 ✭✭✭This is it

Blueshoe wrote: »
    What are you talking about. It is within my margin of error

How do you work that one out? You said 45, then you said 45 with a margin of +/- 2. It's 191.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭Marty Bird

GM228 wrote: »
    37.7% required hospitalisation as of the 16th.

Poor reporting so I couldn’t believe it was so high.

🌞6.02kWp⚡️3.01kWp South/East⚡️3.01kWp West

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,453 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Ffs what. Nearly every post you put up starts with this.

Its expected

Ffs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Hobgoblin11

Semantics! One and same

Dundalk, Co. Louth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 692 ✭✭✭hurikane

We don't have enough PPE especially masks because **** in the public are walking around wearing FFP3 masks. I had to review a patient today with a reused facemask and gown.

Can’t believe a word you say. Are 50% of of all healthcare workers out of work now due to contact with coronavirus patients like you said? No.

You’re here for the likes / thanks, talking nonsense, looking for outrage. We can do without your nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

The Gov really needs to tell people what we should be doing regarding going outside etc. Are they going for herd immunity over time? From what I can see it's even busier in many places as kids are out and about, and lots of people are still going to work, and parks and public spaces are far busier than usual.

I think that for the collective good of the country, we need to find a way to get through to those who might pay no attention to the news or are otherwise a bit feckless when it comes to personal and social responsibilities.

Maybe we need Mrs Brown to address the nation in an impromptu special on TV3 and the Adrian Kennedy Show with a front page spread in the Daily Star where she points an angry finger at the reader with "STAY THE FECK HOME" written in a speech bubble?

I'm not saying that this will fully solve it and I'm sure that more could be done but I would see this as a start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

Its shocking.

How is panic ,hype and hyperbole going to help. You can keep stuff to yourself you know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

I missed today's briefing.

I91 new cases ☹️

Is there any history to go along with this?

How many related to travel?
    How many related to community transmission?
    How many of them at home self isolating?
    How many in hospital?
    How many is in ICU?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    The amount of teenagers in gangs out is fcuking disgraceful, lockdown needs to be way stricter, curfewing too

We're not in lockdown though.
    We're being asked to social distance, work from home where possible.

And from what I can see people are being mindful of social distance, public transport numbers are down 75%, buses and trains practically empty.

Theres nothing wrong with being out of the house

Boggles wrote: »
    I think they said a lot of them didn't get it in work.

Got it from overseas travelers coming back.

As in the healthcare workers were the travellers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭bb12

The amount of teenagers in gangs out is fcuking disgraceful, lockdown needs to be way stricter, curfewing too

i look forward to seeing the army lads giving them a few slaps when lockdown comes in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,817 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Sorry I still don’t get how healthcare workers are making up 1/6 of confirmed cases.

I get that they are on the front line but with a low rate of total confirmed this is a massive number.

Presumably any health worker who has been anywhere near a COVID patient gets tested...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

everyone knows the Chinese are a great bunch of lads

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Alot are associated with travel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,029 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Granny kicks the bucket, they get a house.
    Teenagers think they're immortal, edgy and dont give a fcuk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,978 ✭✭✭growleaves

You will see more people adhere to the social distancing.
    I'm supposed how many are adhering to it already

There's a photo in the papers of Leo Varadkar and Simon Harris standing next to a medical scientist - about 20cm away at most. No nose or mouth protection.

No comment on it from... anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭EmptyTree

martin101 wrote: »
    I haven't been in work in a few days as I'm doing work on the house. Due back in Monday. I was not going to wear gloves or a mask due to my inner irishness of thinking what will people think of me doing that. But I don't care now.

But wearing gloves is one of the worst things people can do, gloves give a false sense if security, people won't wash or sanitise their gloved hands as frequently and will just spread it even more. Even if you have gloves people will still touch their face (albeit not as frequently) and this is one of the primary routes of becoming infected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,041 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

martin101 wrote: »
    I haven't been in work in a few days as I'm doing work on the house. Due back in Monday. I was not going to wear gloves or a mask due to my inner irishness of thinking what will people think of me doing that. But I don't care now.

We need Bubble Boy's outfit

I went out today for shopping, gloves and scarf on but quiet a lot around, I kept my distance even though in aisles some had no cop on, even queue skipping

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

billyhead wrote: »
    Out for a solo stroll earlier and people are simply not observing the social distance requirements. Hanging around in groups and up close to one another. We really are a stupid nation.

Thick people exist everywhere, we don't have a monopoly on it. I was out for a stroll too and for the most part people were observing social distancing with gangs of teens being the ones most likely to be the ones ignoring the recommendations.

Like many I'm I pretty shocked with the figures coming out of Italy and wondering is there something were are missing in they way they are dealing with the crises. Yesterday morning I was walking to work in Cork city centre and I passed an Italian cafe on Washington St. that is basically an Italian community centre, with many of the city's Italian regulars frequenting it. It was packed to the rafters as if nothing was wrong WTF! Have they got a death wish? Or are the only paying attention to Italian media and ignoring where the actually live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭youtube!

snowgal wrote: »
    We are not doing the same thing.... Italy was way worse initially, with partial lock down. They were in pubs, restaurants, short holidays, beaches, family gatherings for many days. People here more or less started social distancing and staying in almost immediately. I know we had some dumbasses over the first few days but nothing close to them.

Correct and right and might I just add that people need to realise that we are not like Italy in so many ways

1) We have a much lower population density

2) We have a much lower % of old people

3) We are ahead of them in terms of actions we took..yes we could have been even quicker but we are still ahead

4) When we greet people we do not give them a double kissy kiss huggy type of thing

5) Ever seen Italian streets? High buildings and narrow streets, virus is rampant in these areas

6) We don't wave out hands all over the place constantly when we talk

7) We are a more reserved people in general so please rest easy we are not and will not go the same path as Italy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,427 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

As in the healthcare workers were the travellers?

Or infected by someone close to them that traveled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

UK 643 new cases and 40 deaths.

Austria also recorded it's highest daily total today with 376 new cases.

France has reported it's highest number of daily deaths, with 108 deaths today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Tippex

RugbyLad11 wrote: »
    I thought GPs don't do the testing? An ambulance will come to your house

The GP's order the test and you either get a scheduled slot in a test centre or they send a paramedic to take the test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,883 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

Oh my god. I just heard about the new cases. That's an absolutely dreadful amount of new cases for us to deal with.

This is now beginning to get a lot more worse than I would expect. If anyone in this country is reading this & still not listening to the official health advice. Do it now. Listen to our medical professionals & act on their guidelines immediately. It is absolutely critical for you to do so while you still can. You are doing a great disservice to the country if you are not listening to them by continuing your daily routines whilst doing nothing about it. It is absolutely vital for you not to mess this up so that your lives could be ruined by this virus forever. You need to adhere to the guidelines now to secure the betterment of your health. If you don't do it & you are one of those people who are within those new cases today or from the past few days. May god help you if you are in this situation. The medical professionals are the only people to help you now during this crisis. They are the only ones who can help you get better by surviving from this virus.

It's also very sad to hear about the deaths in both NI & in the east. I hope they RIP.

Semantics! One and same

Got it. You are a drunken, paddy provo.?