Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part IX - 785 cases ROI (3 deaths) 108 in NI (1 death) (20 March) *Read OP*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,662 ✭✭✭Duke of Url

niallo27 wrote: »
    And add anyone who went panic shopping, add anyone that didnt quarantine when the first case in china came out. How far do we go back. Hindsight is a wonderful thing.

Anfield, Cheltenham and Crufts is not hindsight. Everyone who attended these events knew of the risks.

The Government also knew the risks of the flights coming from Milan for the rugby.

None of this is hindsight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    191 new cases with 69 in Cork
    Cork has a total of 62 cases. It had 48 yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭snowgal

Italy treated the initial closures like a holiday.

Kids out etc playing people out and about.

We are doing the exact same thing.

We are not doing the same thing.... Italy was way worse initially, with partial lock down. They were in pubs, restaurants, short holidays, beaches, family gatherings for many days. People here more or less started social distancing and staying in almost immediately. I know we had some dumbasses over the first few days but nothing close to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,038 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

yermandan wrote: »
    No underlying condition indicated for the 3rd death according to Dr T

RIP

Do we know what part of the country from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

weemcd wrote: »
    You are putting yourself and others at an unnecessarily high risk. People are dying.

I'll repeat.

People are dying. It doesn't get any more serious than that.
    no $hit how many road deaths and other are there daily from way lesser unecessary risks that people take, this virus aint falling anyhwere near deaths we have on day to day basis. so i get where OP is coming from, and this joke of distance keeping wont make it go away, as eventually most will contract it one way or another, since buying time option is only for those who would face critical situation anyway, as been outlined today any real treatment is about year away. and people nor businesses wont be able to live like this forever, so coming to terms and accepting risk most can manage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

Is it me, or do the numbers on worldometers make it look like the UK is further ahead than we are in terms of infection rates?

If they are, their lack of social distancing, especially in the pubs, is going to bite hard.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

RIP

Do we know what part of the country from?

The East

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭bb12

WFH so it's grand.

Don't laugh at me, but when I go out for a walk (on my own), I wear surgical gloves underneath other gloves and I don't give a fk who thinks that's mad.

It may be useless, but gives me a bit of confidence. I watched the YouTube about how to remove surgical gloves correctly, for the record. The outer gloves go into quarantine in a basin of milton and washing up liquid outside the back door, I have three changes.

Am gonna look ridiculous when the weather gets warmer, but I won't care either. Every little helps.

The brother earlier slagged me and said I'm a model for contracting it. LOL with much touching of wood.

i've been wearing surgical gloves for the past week anytime i have to into a shop or at the fuel pumps.

up to now wasn't comfortable enough to wear my respirator in public, but that's coming with me on my next shopping trip

Cork has a total of 62 cases. It had 48 yesterday.

I thought 62 / 69 of the new cases were Cork, apologies if wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭Mervyn Skidmore

scamalert wrote: »
    no $hit how many road deaths and other are there daily from way lesser unecessary risks that people take, this virus aint falling anyhwere near deaths we have on day to day basis. so i get where OP is coming from, and this joke of distance keeping wont make it go away, as eventually most will contract it one way or another, since buying time option is only for those who would face critical situation anyway, as been outlined today any real treatment is about year away. and people nor businesses wont be able to live like this forever, so coming to terms and accepting risk most can manage.

Found Danny Healy-Rae.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,393 ✭✭✭ZX7R

snowgal wrote: »
    We are not doing the same thing.... Italy was way worse initially, with partial lock down. They were in pubs, restaurants, short holidays, beaches, family gatherings for many days. People here more or less started social distancing and staying in almost immediately. I know we had some dumbasses over the first few days but nothing close to them.

Also the numbers tonight will shock a lot of the public also.
    You will see more people adhere to the social distancing.
    I'm supposed how many are adhering to it already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,012 ✭✭✭kingshankly

Italy also nearly snog the face of each other when the meet which can’t have helped we basically say howya 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

I thought 62 / 69 of the new cases were Cork, apologies if wrong
    It's 62 total. ~180 in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,277 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

The Gov really needs to tell people what we should be doing regarding going outside etc. Are they going for herd immunity over time? From what I can see it's even busier in many places as kids are out and about, and lots of people are still going to work, and parks and public spaces are far busier than usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,817 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

scamalert wrote: »
    no $hit how many road deaths and other are there daily from way lesser unecessary risks that people take, this virus aint falling anyhwere near deaths we have on day to day basis.

Italy had only three deaths as of February 23. I wonder was there a scamalerini making the same 'point' on their version of boards back then...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭Dubh Geannain

harr wrote: »
    That number might get people back inside .. the amount of teenagers and kids wandering around today was mad. All shops trying the best they can but parents need to up responsibility for where kids are.. local playground full today local park near even had families having picnics.
    This is exactly what happened in Italy, people told to stay home took it as an extra holiday and went out on family breaks and to socialise in groups.
    We are following that pattern now ...
    Time for the full lock down

Ourselves and one other family on our row of houses look to be adhering to the advice. The remainder that have kids (5 different families) have them all out on the street playing together this week. I said to my wife the parents might as well be in each others kitchens for tea.

At the weekend the residents WhatsApp group had a well intentioned message about looking after the older members in the estate with some of the same people happily volunteering their availability. They could cause more harm than good though.

I take the kids out each day to the green for a kick around and a bit of a run. They both under 7 and are accepting that they're not allowed out near the other kids. We're very fortunate to have a nice back garden too which they are still out in as I type. My OH was walking with our newborn yesterday and had to make haste when she saw that she was spotted by a couple of young girls that were making a beeline to her to have a goo.

I don't know if/when the message will hit home.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

Is it me, or do the numbers on worldometers make it look like the UK is further ahead than we are in terms of infection rates?

If they are, their lack of social distancing, especially in the pubs, is going to bite hard.

Massive difference in population and density

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,511 ✭✭✭harr

snowgal wrote: »
    What I have noticed is people stuck to it ok for the first couple of days ... Boredom Set in today and people and families are heading off for days out..its all gone very lax yesterday and today. Need to shut down all public parks , playgrounds and anywhere else people might gather.
    A clear direction from government needs to happen on what shops and services stay open.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Ffs 191 new cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭martin101

I haven't been in work in a few days as I'm doing work on the house. Due back in Monday. I was not going to wear gloves or a mask due to my inner irishness of thinking what will people think of me doing that. But I don't care now.

The amount of teenagers in gangs out is fcuking disgraceful, lockdown needs to be way stricter, curfewing too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭lbj666

The government knows that there will be a percentage that will still act the bollocks, thats what they have modelled for. Whats been implemented probably follows the 3rd simulation moderate distancing in the famous Washington post article.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/graphics/2020/world/corona-simulator/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Hobgoblin11

You would think the Chinese would be having a long hard look
    at themselves now, rather than gloating how great their doctors are

Dundalk, Co. Louth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Ffs 191 new cases.

Ffs what. Nearly every post you put up starts with this.

Its expected

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Ffs what. Nearly every post you put up starts with this.

Its expected

Its shocking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,662 ✭✭✭Duke of Url

Sorry I still don’t get how healthcare workers are making up 1/6 of confirmed cases.

I get that they are on the front line but with a low rate of total confirmed this is a massive number.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

josip wrote: »
    The windows have started to rattle and Graces7 has the cats inside...

So funny. Having a dig at an elderly person. Fair play. Did you get that validation you were seeking that's missing from your life?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

The amount of teenagers in gangs out is fcuking disgraceful, lockdown needs to be way stricter, curfewing too

There is no lockdown.

We're being asked to social distance, work from home etc.

These numbers would have been infected before this started. From what I can see social distancing is going well, people are paying more attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭Mervyn Skidmore

Yep, unfortunately parenting seems to be a thing of the past.