Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part IX - 785 cases ROI (3 deaths) 108 in NI (1 death) (20 March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭SuspectZero

spookwoman wrote: »
    Germany is constantly updating can change in an hour

Yes but the stats been quoted said there was only 2 serious/critical cases. it was higher than that a week ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,475 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

pH wrote: »
    Not gonna excuse the Maddow but ...

It's an extremely serious point. If we want to take this seriously we do need something like 'coronavirus hotels' where people can isolate outside of family homes. The number of households I'm aware of that are multi-generational is large, what should be in place is somewhere safe, warm, monitored and provided for that a person who tests positive can stay at zero (or very low cost) at a moments notice if they are worried about having to isolate in their household.

I can't find the source, but one Chinese study suggested 80% of transmissions were household transmissions.
    yes that what they said and we just had stats about how many young people are living with their parents in Ireland more then most other European countries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,991 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

Why?

Sometimes the Germans are just better at stuff than other nations...

I know that's not a very concrete conclusion, and a bit of a sweeping generalisation... but they kind of just are very efficient and organised as a group of people. And they tend to approach things differently to most of the countries around them!

I'd love to know more details about how exactly they're tackling it. My guess is that they must have put in place some very strict measures, and to a man (and woman) they are probably rigidly following those protocols!
    People here are definitely not rigidly doing anything. It's a combination of things, mostly to do with how different countries define this or that. I don't believe the German system is overwhelmed yet but I'm pretty sure it's coming.

They are setting up extra hospital capacity here in Berlin. They wouldn't bother if the system wasn't starting to fill up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

humberklog wrote: »
    The problem I have in thinking the German's are fiddling the mortality figures is that it would near on impossible to keep it a secret.
    Even if the authorities were marking an elderly cancer patient 's death (for e.g) down as cancer when he died whilst having the virus there would surely be a whistle blower from the 800,00+ medical service people in the state and that's not even including the families of the dead.

Don't get me wrong, there's an anomaly in Germany's figures but I can't see how such a large country with a massive public service with a very open media could keep a cap on number diddling.

Germany has never tried to keep anything quiet. There was a woman on joe Duffy who was in germany in a ward for one week. They weren’t testing anyone.

Either the whole world has it wrong or Germany is wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

silver2020 wrote: »
    One lunatic in Tesco Naas - he had 2 kids with him.

REFUSED to stand 2m from another customer behind the marked strips on the floor.
    Refused to keep distance from the checkout person.

Checkout person closed the till down when he continued to refuse and went to the staff area.

The Prick went to customer service (big man going to complain about checkout person and get them in trouble - setting an example to his kids)

Customer service call store manager. He listens for 30 seconds to the prick.

Trolley taken off him and told to leave the store immediately and banned from returning to the store for life.

Some people prefer to learn the hard way. It was a good lesson for the kid at the end of the day. "Follow simple requests and dont be a knob in life"

There is more like this man though. Trying to get some people to obey the 2m rule is very difficult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Pops_20 wrote: »
    It is but he's got no solutions, most of it outside the science is a bit of a whinge about the hype of viruses. People should play him at double speed, perfect for subtitles!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Gretas Gonna Get Ya!

While I agree they are good and efficient [geberalisations aside] They are not attributing death in the same way other countries.

For example a person who has diabetes and contracted the virus who subsequently dies , even though they had many more years in them is classed as having died by diabetes.

It’s fudging numbers and they likely extended that to serious patients. Hence the mystery as to why the aryan race are so good at dealing with it.

How do you know they are doing this?

Do you have any links to anything?

I have been struggling to find much info on what exactly they're doing differently...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Jurgen Klopp

Can anyone remember exactly when they last saw Germany with only a handful of deaths? Cause I'd swear it was only a few this morning and have suddenly jumped to 33 with a +5 for today

Must have been serious lag for the figures over last couple days, the serious/critical could jump too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

Yes but the stats been quoted said there was only 2 serious/critical cases. it was higher than that a week ago.
    Look at ireland doesn't exactly give all the info either, differnent regions different reporting templates

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,884 Mod ✭✭✭✭DOCARCH

Can anyone remember exactly when they last saw Germany with only a handful of deaths? Cause I'd swear it was only a few this morning and have suddenly jumped to 33 with a +5 for today

Must have been serious lag for the figures over last couple days, the serious/critical could jump too

Maybe Germany is on Boards! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,339 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Sawduck wrote: »
    Have been getting pains in my lungs for the past 2 days, also have sore throat and runny nose, I don't think these are symptoms of the virus but I'm going to self isolation regardless, some might say I'm over reacting but I don't care. Town looks a lot quieter too I'm wondering if others around here are doing the same

Should you not check also with the doctor to confirm you may need to tell others. Ya I agree anyone who is feeling sick so stay in. If you are sick your immune system is down so may catch it for real.

No in relation to you but I think some people are so freaked out and paranoid they have made themselves believe they have it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,031 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Sawduck wrote: »
    Have been getting pains in my lungs for the past 2 days, also have sore throat and runny nose, I don't think these are symptoms of the virus but I'm going to self isolation regardless, some might say I'm over reacting but I don't care. Town looks a lot quieter too I'm wondering if others around here are doing the same

I'm self isolating as much as I can and I don't have any symptoms.
    Everyone who can, should be doing the same thing.

The best message I've seen on this whole thing was that instead of trying to avoid getting the virus, assume that you have it and don't want to spread it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Had to make a local trip on foot today.
    Local intreo office:
    Queue outside, security guy on door.
    Security guy busy picking his nose while the herd outside were on top of one another. I cannot imagine them being closer if *no* covid-19 virus existed, they simply wouldn't be that close in a queue normally.:confused:

Lidl - no cleaning of trollies/baskets, minimal markings at tills, till operator barking at people to mind the markings (you'd have to be seriously looking for them to notice them) Old lady in front of me couldn't understand her (she was observing the distance thing)

Walkers out and about, two, three, four abreast - great that people are out and about but what the feck do people not understand about the distance part of this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭NuttKicker

BattleCorp wrote: »
    Germany's stats are a pile of bollix too.

They claim that their total number of deaths due to COVID-19 is 31 but France's total number of deaths is 8.5 times higher even though France has 4000 less confirmed cases.

Another stat that sticks out is that Germany are claiming to only have 2 people in serious, critical condition.

Source. https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/
    Main reason for this I have read is France had approx 5k ICU beds while Germany are prob best equipped in
    all of Europe with 25k ICU beds. ICU capacity will make the biggest difference to number of deaths as deaths really kick in once capacity is hit. No idea what each can increase the capacity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

spookwoman wrote: »
    Look at ireland doesn't exactly give all the info either, differnent regions different reporting templates
    It does now but they've only just started that. It will be weekly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭otnomart

cnocbui wrote: »
    Possibly in a previous edition of this thread, someone posted an age distribution of positive cases in Germany and they were on average, decades younger than in Italy, with relatively few people in the 70+ age bracket getting it. If that age distribution was correct, it is more than enough to explain the low death rate, but of course begs the question of why such a huge difference in age distribution?
    The Robert Koch daily report for Germany can be downloaded from this page in English.
    https://www.rki.de/DE/Content/InfAZ/N/Neuartiges_Coronavirus/Situationsberichte/Gesamt.html

From the latest:
    "Among these cases, 4,605 are male (56%) and 3,568 female (44%).

The age range is from 0 to 96 years, including 67 children under the age of 5, 199 children aged 5 to 14 years, 6,557 persons aged 15 to 59 years and 1,337 persons 60 years and older(see Figure 2). The age of 38 notified cases is unknown.The median age is 47 years"
    Based on this, I guess that they are not reporting deaths in case of comorbidities, and that they are only reporting a "death by coronavirus" only if the person had no other health condition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Owl Linda Lusardi the latest z lister to be struck down

madcabbage wrote: »
    Maybe Germany is just doing a very good job so far. Sure look at our stats, 2 dead and and 366 cases, we'll be doing very well if that death count stays in single digits.

It takes on average 5 days to show symptoms and on average 20 days from onset of symptoms to Death. Hence the wave analogy. Don't let the truth get in the way of a feel good Friday story. Haven't a clue what day it is a this stage :pac:

https://pdfs.semanticscholar.org/210a/892deb1c61577f6fba58505fd65356ce6636.pdf?_ga=2.73970898.1111571470.1584609703-484965398.1584609703

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,905 ✭✭✭✭Bob24

silver2020 wrote: »
    One lunatic in Tesco Naas - he had 2 kids with him.

REFUSED to stand 2m from another customer behind the marked strips on the floor.
    Refused to keep distance from the checkout person.

Checkout person closed the till down when he continued to refuse and went to the staff area.

The Prick went to customer service (big man going to complain about checkout person and get them in trouble - setting an example to his kids)

Customer service call store manager. He listens for 30 seconds to the prick.

Trolley taken off him and told to leave the store immediately and banned from returning to the store for life.

Nice combination of entitlement and lack of understanding of the situation :-/

Naming and shaming is how this kind of behaviour should be handled. Once his friends, neighbours, colleagues have seen the footage, your man might start behaving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

looks like this drug will be part of the mix

https://twitter.com/ScottAdamsSays/status/1240620268730470400

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,433 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Germany is about 10 days behind Italy. At that point Italy had 9,000 reported infections and 600 deaths.

Still no chance there is only 2 people in ICU in Germany. There was 9 deaths on March 17th and 4 each day on March 15th and 16th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭pH

Sir Oxman wrote: »
    Had to make a local trip on foot today.
    Local intreo office:
    Queue outside, security guy on door.
    Security guy busy picking his nose while the herd outside were on top of one another. I cannot imagine them being closer if *no* covid-19 virus existed, they simply wouldn't be that close in a queue normally.:confused:

Lidl - no cleaning of trollies/baskets, minimal markings at tills, till operator barking at people to mind the markings (you'd have to be seriously looking for them to notice them) Old lady in front of me couldn't understand her (she was observing the distance thing)

Walkers out and about, two, three, four abreast - great that people are out and about but what the feck do people not understand about the distance part of this?

Around West Dublin this morning, people out in force in the nice weather, chemists have locked doors, and a few shops seems closed, but many people out in force, walking with kids, buying coffee etc. Many elderly people too (though to be fair mainly walking alone). Busses reasonably empty but this wasn't rush hour by any means.

I would not be surprised if this level of 'social distancing' isn't enough to halt the outbreak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,997 ✭✭✭✭bilston

Premier League in England suspension extended until 30th April.

I know a lot of people will say they don't care and there are more important things, and this is true, but I actually find sport (pretty much any sport) quite soothing in testing times and we don't even have that on this occasion.

I'd love to think the Olympics might happen at the end of July, but no matter what the IOC say I find it hard to believe they will happen. But it is too early to make a call.

silverharp wrote: »
    looks like this drug will be part of the mix

https://twitter.com/ScottAdamsSays/status/1240620268730470400

Amazing news if true. I've heard similar reports so hopefully proves to be true.

Regarding drugs. There are beginning to be issues in the supply chain. Italian plants in the north are becoming overwhelmed in terms of people not going to work for fear of contracting the virus. I won't say anymore as it could be personally identifiable but this is an area that also has a wave affect. i.e it won't hit for some time but it's real.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

Pops_20 wrote: »

he seems like a smart guy. but how do you explain the massive sudden requirement for ICU and ventilation equipment? if this was nothing out of the ordinary this would not be the case. health systems would not be overloaded like we saw in wuhan, like we are seeing in Italy and Spain. it just doesn't make sense.

maybe someone can explain his argument better to me though, i'm not sure I fully grasp his logic.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

rossie1977 wrote: »
    Germany is about 10 days behind Italy. At that point Italy had 9,000 reported infections and 600 deaths.

Still no chance there is only 2 people in ICU in Germany. There was 9 deaths on March 17th and 4 each day on March 15th and 16th

Are the WHO confirming their figures? It doesn`t seem right at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭RebelButtMunch

pH wrote: »
    Around West Dublin this morning, people out in force in the nice weather, chemists have locked doors, and a few shops seems closed, but many people out in force, walking with kids, buying coffee etc. Many elderly people too (though to be fair mainly walking alone). Busses reasonably empty but this wasn't rush hour by any means.

I would not be surprised if this level of 'social distancing' isn't enough to halt the outbreak.

I agree, the social distancing thing will wear away and people will just start getting laid back as time goes on. It's natural I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

walshb wrote: »
    Owl Linda Lusardi the latest z lister to be struck down

I'm sure she'll keep us abreast of her progress..... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

Oddly I'm inclined to believe the German figures. They are a people known for efficiency and falling into line, unlike other nationalities in Europe.

If this outbreak was in the summer when millions of German older people head for southern Europe, the results might be different.

Sounds like they have managed to isolate their elderly quite well.

One of the most crucial stats in all of this is the proportion of elderly people infected. Does anyone have that for Italy?