Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Practicalities concerning optional activities

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,535 ✭✭✭antimatterx

Hi

I'm not sick, and I also don't have any symptoms of Covid-19. No one in my family does either. I'm working from home as my company is gone 100% remote. I'm cracking up inside all day so in the evening I go for a Run, and also walk my dog.

Is this OK to do?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,390 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Yes, as long as you stay 2 metres from anyone you meet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭KiKi III

kjt wrote: »
    Hey there,
    Are you in/close to Dublin? If so I can do a shop for you tomorrow and drop it off at your door?
    (if you're further out I'm sure somebody else here will be so kind as to offer?)

https://www.tesco.ie/clickandcollect/ could be an option but if not I can do it.

Somebody suggested the Garda, I think this is a nice easy one that people here on boards can sort out. No need to be wasting a Garda car on something like this.

Thanks so much and also thanks to the two people who PMd offering help!

I am sorted now :)

Boards to the rescue!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

No problem walking outside as long as you keep distance to other people.
    In fact, you definitely need to get out a bit every day or go nuts :D

Just be mindful of touching things, use gloves or something as a barrier between you and objects.

Edit
    Since this was merged with a "can I go to shops" thread, don't go to shops but it's ok to go outside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭jrosen

Yes, we have been out for as much as possible every single day. We stay away from people. Dont stop to chat to those we usually would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭kjt

Brilliant, I am delighted you got sorted. :-)

Thanks for taking this so seriously and respecting the people who need to work through this!

Stay safe!

(To all the people in the thread that said 'Ah yea, sure go for it'. You need to cop on. The Gov needs to step up like they did last Thursday, next step is needed NOW - We need to go into lock down for at least a week. We need to help nurses & docs make it through this. We're not going to see how bad this is for another 7-9days and the hospitals are already getting busy.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Gonad

Also looking for some advice . Kids grandmother is alone the last few weeks .

My missus is thinking of going to get her to bring her to our home . There is me the missus and kids here . None of us showing any symptoms . I think it is too risky and a bad idea for granny but at same time I understand how hard it is for granny all alone the last 2 weeks and possibly for god knows how long .

My missus wants to go collect her and says she might as well self isolate with her and our kids here with us .

I think it’s a bad idea even if nobody showing symptoms . What do you think ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,454 ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

While out keep the hands away from the face and give them a good scrub when you get back home before you touch anything.
    I was out for a run early this morning with very few people about and am taking the kids out now to burn off some energy (again there will not be too many people about).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭Gaz

We are in the same boat but you could pick it up when you go to the shops (community transmission is on the rise) and then pass it on to granny. Being an older person she is then at serious risk.

Just not worth it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Gonad wrote: »

My missus is thinking of going to get her to bring her to our home . There is me the missus and kids here . None of us showing any symptoms . I think it is too risky and a bad idea for granny but at same time I understand how hard it is for granny all alone the last 2 weeks and possibly for god knows how long .

My missus wants to go collect her and says she might as well self isolate with her and our kids here with us .

Not a good idea unfortunately because even if you all pass two weeks with no symptoms at some point one of you will be going out to shop etc and then you may bring it back with you. The only way it could work is if she is 100% isolated within the house which is probably worse than being on her own psychologically - knowing life was happening just beyond the door.

A better solution is to visit Granny directly (DO NOT PASS GO DO NOT COLLECT VIRUS) and socialise outside in the garden at a safe distance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭BohsCeltic

I wouldn't risk it. My Mother hasn't seen my nephews in a while, either have i as my Mother stays with me and is in the high risk category so taking no chances.
    I let my Mother use my laptop or phone to video call on messenger. You could maybe call up and stand at a distance from them outside the garden.

Even my Sister will not come into my home. Some may think a bit over the top but this is a serious thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,261 ✭✭✭krissovo

Tough call to make and only you as a family can make it. Personally the grandparents are off limits in our house for now. I did buy my dad a 2nd hand ipad so the kids have a video call for an hour a day and we call in the evening for some engagement, he only had a non smart phone until last week.

I dropped shopping off to my mother in law yesterday and she was quite desperate for contact but we spoke for a bit through the conservatory. She has a smart phone and her church group has a whatsapp group to stay in touch.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,468 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Threads merged - it is getting pretty ridiculous the number of threads we are getting covering similar topics, all of which have been covered in the megathreads repeatedly, and all of which have received extensive coverage in the media as well as official sources

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,535 ✭✭✭antimatterx

Hi

I'm not sick, and I also don't have any symptoms of Covid-19. No one in my family does either. I'm working from home as my company is gone 100% remote. I'm cracking up inside all day so in the evening I go for a Run, and also walk my dog.

Is this OK to do?

I posted this as it's own thread. The conversation is v confusing looking

I see mixed opinions on this.

I’m of the opinion that there is no point in closing schools, pubs, shops, working from home etc if we simply continue to be out and about.

Glendalough was packed the other day. Many parks and beaches are the same. My area has kids out playing and teenagers hanging around. Adults out walking and stopping for a chat.

It seems like almost the opposite to what our leaders and experts are asking of us.

If everyone in the country goes for a walk today, what’s the point in closing and so many losing their jobs?

What do you think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,239 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Its fine to be outdoors ....keep 2meters distance from people and don't stay around them longer than 15 mins. (my mom added the last 15 min part in the hse hasn't said it)

They posted on RTE about people doing out door workouts on their streets etc.

And places are opening social distancing markets.

You catch it from coming into close contact with people. You don't catch it from the great outdoors. In fact its probably going to boost your immune system.

Avoid crowds. Avoid communal areas that people touch.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,291 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

outdoors is less risky for spread compared to offices, pubs and public transport, but yeah driving around yesterday I saw a fair number of groups of people with no distance between them. A neighbour of mine who would be in her 80's has had a near constant stream of her family going in and out. Boggles the mind.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,739 ✭✭✭storker

I see mixed opinions on this.

I’m of the opinion that there is no point in closing schools, pubs, shops, working from home etc if we simply continue to be out and about.

Glendalough was packed the other day. Many parks and beaches are the same. My area has kids out playing and teenagers hanging around. Adults out walking and stopping for a chat.

It seems like almost the opposite to what our leaders and experts are asking of us.

If everyone in the country goes for a walk today, what’s the point in closing and so many losing their jobs?

What do you think?

The problem, as I understand it, is people packed close together indoors. Glendalough is in the open air so shouldn't be a problem if people are maintaining a 2 metre distance. A family doesn't need to maintain this distance since they are all living in close proximity anyway. So as long as you have families, individuals and couples maintaining their 2m distance from other families, individuals and couples, they should be OK. The area around Glendalough is big enough to support a lot of people doing this. What they shouldn't be doing, though, is popping into the hotel for lunch.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,468 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Thread merged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭paddythere

Currently, on my street there is a gathering of about 6-8 neighbours standing around chatting...all female....for the last 45 minutes.

My mother is going crazy after only 5 days of this.

My girlfriend went to the supermarket 3 times yesterday despite my pleas.

Why can't women just sit the **** down and enjoy chilling out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

paddythere wrote: »
    Currently, on my street there is a gathering of about 6-8 neighbours standing around chatting...all female....for the last 45 minutes.

My mother is going crazy after only 5 days of this.

My girlfriend went to the supermarket 3 times yesterday despite my pleas.

Why can't women just sit the **** down and enjoy chilling out?
    Feel better now?

storker wrote: »
    The problem, as I understand it, is people packed close together indoors. Glendalough is in the open air so shouldn't be a problem if people are maintaining a 2 metre distance. A family doesn't need to maintain this distance since they are all living in close proximity anyway. So as long as you have families, individuals and couples maintaining their 2m distance from other families, individuals and couples, they should be OK. The area around Glendalough is big enough to support a lot of people doing this. What they shouldn't be doing, though, is popping into the hotel for lunch.
    https://www2.hse.ie/conditions/coronavirus/protect-yourself.html

It actually specifically says avoid indoor places.

The HSE should give guildlines as to HOW people can go out. As people have said if they don't ...others will ignore it.

This has to be sustainable for the next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭paddythere

is_that_so wrote: »
    Feel better now?
    A little

My dad went to play golf with his mates yesterday. He has asthma!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Outdoors are fine lads, the virus is not airborne.

Prob cleaner than our own homes.

We do need to worry about other people though and contact.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Gretas Gonna Get Ya!

If the virus is not airborne, how is it getting into people's lungs then genius?

Is it crawling into their mouth? :p

I think being outdoors is okay, but we need to keep our distance from others and avoid overcrowding places like parks etc - better to go for a walk/jog somewhere less popular, like some random stretch of road with very little people around.

If the virus is not airborne, how is it getting into people's lungs then genius?

Is it crawling into their mouth? :p

I think being outdoors is okay, but we need to keep our distance from others and avoid overcrowding places like parks etc - better to go for a walk/jog somewhere less popular, like some random stretch of road with very little people around.

Its airborne. Keep 2 meter distances from people outside your family. Wash your hands when you get back in. Change your clothes daily.

But you can go out. You can and should do things.

Parks are fine. You just keep away from people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Gretas Gonna Get Ya!

Its airborne. Keep 2 meter distances from people outside your family. Wash your hands when you get back in. Change your clothes daily.

But you can go out. You can and should do things.

Parks are fine. You just keep away from people.

I think I'll keep 2 meters from my family as well... it's a great excuse if nothing else! ;)

Do I have to change my underwear daily too? I doubt they have any coronavirus on them! (Just every other virus apart from that one!) :D :pac:

Seriously though, I am avoiding public parks when exercising... it's where everyone else goes for a walk/jog. There may be a lower risk of getting it in the open air, but still I'm just avoiding built up areas for now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭tipperaryboy

What are people’s view on visiting family all being young and relatively healthy? Should it be completely avoided