Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part VIII - 292 cases ROI (2 deaths) 62 in NI (as of 17th March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,817 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Contsctless payment rising to €50!

Not much use if one doesn't have a smartphone, or is a BOI customer....
    But!
    Set up Google Pay or Apple Pay and the tap to pay limits arent a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,853 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Jesus, it is devastating what is happening in Italy, how on earth is it so bad there yet not so in likes of germany etc? Are figures being downplayed elsewhere?

I don't know if this is true but I've been told that Germany aren't counting their death rate correctly. If someone with cancer catches COVID-19 and dies, their death is being put down as cancer and not COVID-19.

That may not be true but it sounds reasonable.

The health service can't work miracles in Germany so it's unbelievable that they have 27 deaths in total out of 11,302 cases when the USA have had 117 deaths out of 7,730 cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,027 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

fritzelly wrote: »
    And its now at 8:45

Woo Hoo....Pascal non stop until then, hopefully gives us 10k each to stoke the economy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

Church of Irl doesn't exist?

Fuk, that will be news to most of my family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,122 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

wakka12 wrote: »
    How could Italy experience such an increase like that like a week after a complete lockdown? Where are all the infections coming from, how could they still be happening, when almost everyone in Italy is indoors all the time?

Because the symptoms can take up to 14 days to show.

They're only in lockdown 5 days.

As Leo said this is only the start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭leavingirl

The teachers want to remain on full pay. That's grand. Let's check in again in 12 months when the 2nd emergency budget is announced and all teachers get a 20% pay cut.

The least ye could do is work for Simon over the next six months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,106 ✭✭✭Christy42

splinter65 wrote: »
    Our schools are only closed until the 30th of March. What do you think will have changed by then?

Well that is wrong. They are closed at least until the 30th of March. Easier to say two weeks and add on later than to say 6 months and need to back track when things go nicer than expected

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭joe_99

bekker wrote: »
    2016 Census Ireland 78% Catholic, just over 13% Muslim, just under 10% no religion.

Only figures available, anything else is simply based on ad hoc anecdotal gossip in individuals' social circles.

13% Muslim ??? What are you on about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,013 ✭✭✭kingshankly

splinter65 wrote: »
    Our schools are only closed until the 30th of March. What do you think will have changed by then?

Please please forget about 30th of March will be luck very lucky to see kids at school come September might even be longer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,143 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

A CR adjustment just showed up in the credit column of my online bank account. Haven't a clue what it is but credit me a few extra bob so hapoy days. Anyone care to explain what it is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

How could Italy experience such an increase like that like a week after a complete lockdown? Where are all the infections coming from, how could they still be happening, when almost everyone in Italy is indoors all the time?

If someone got infected at start of lockdown it will be 2 weeks before some even realise they have it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,604 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

I fear the UK is heading the same way as Italy- possibly worse. Thanks to the idiotic strategy of their Government, up until the recent u-turn, London is likely going to see a steep rise in confirmed cases in the days ahead because of their bungling.
    What good is our strategy really, if travel between Ireland and the UK is not now severly curtailed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,302 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Widespread infection and a health service that is completely overwhelmed and unable to cope with the numbers.

Many of the deaths are happening because the Italian health service cannot treat them properly (or at all)......a disaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

The number of cases in Europe has now far surpassed China, by several thousand. At least 85,000 cases in Europe now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,445 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

A CR adjustment just showed up in the credit column of my online bank account. Haven't a clue what it is but credit me a few extra bob so hapoy days. Anyone care to explain what it is?

What does the narrative say?

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭DOCARCH

The number of cases in Europe has now far surpassed China, by several thousand. At least 85,000 cases in Europe now

One way of looking at it! :eek: With half the population of China!

Turtwig wrote: »
    They look to be coming off an exponential growth rate. It'll take time for numbers to drop but the key point is you wouldn't expect a factor of ten increase. That comes as little solace but it's a positive.

That's exactly right.

If you plot the new cases as a % of the overall, they are flattening out now, as are Spain. This is what happened in China too, and they got out of it. They are also testing more, so by definition likely to be picking up more positives. Another thing to bear in mind is that the numbers are only reflective of positive tests. Actual cases are going to be a significant multiple of that in any event.

Doing the same exercise for USA (new cases as % of overall) you would see a continuing sharp upwards trend, true exponential growth.

We need to stick with what we're doing, and be ready to bite down harder. We are changing our course and will see the benefits in 2 or 3 weeks. The cases that are being picked up now are people who were infected before we introduced restrictions. There will still be cases from then on, but many, many less than there might otherwise be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,017 ✭✭✭jackboy

Possibly this is what flattening the curve looks like. These numbers could be repeated for a while before then reducing quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 Hedgehod55

leavingirl wrote: »
    The teachers want to remain on full pay. That's grand. Let's check in again in 12 months when the 2nd emergency budget is announced and all teachers get a 20% pay cut.

The least ye could do is work for Simon over the next six months.

Jesus, would you ever f**k off out of this thread with your constant teacher-bashing. Take it somewhere else, this is not the thread for it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

I wouldn't trust the chinese numbers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Icepick

We need a total lockdown bar food shops and pharmacies.
    Still too many people who won't cop on.

Are people returning from SPain, etc. ordered to self quarantine for 14 days? Is this checked by anyone if so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,997 ✭✭✭✭bilston

+4207 in Italy, 475 new deaths,
    And the media were saying it's slowing there ????

literally the end of the world.

I see no end to this, no end ....

There had been a stagnation for a few days, but today has been a bad blow.

The lockdown should start taking effect soon and that will hopefully start to ease the pressure on the health service there.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,313 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Jesus, it is devastating what is happening in Italy, how on earth is it so bad there yet not so in likes of germany etc? Are figures being downplayed elsewhere?
    Could be all sorts of factors B. Older population demographic because though younger folks have died the vast majority who have died are over 70. More interaction between the generations which is more common in Latin cultures so more spreading of the virus upwards from younger people, especially kids who tend to show no symptoms. More apartment living which means more shared areas and surfaces. Even maybe because they're more tactile than northern cultures.

There might be a localised biological reason too. I've been reading some very early research that suggests people with Group A blood are more prone to suffering more serious symptoms than Group O people. Maybe there are higher proportions of the former in northern Italy when compared to say Germany? I do recall reading a paper on Neandertal genetics in modern DNA and seem to also recall that northern Italians show some genetic differences to southern Italians(the latter have more archaic admixture).

Testing plays into this too. The more they test in an area the lower the death rate goes, because they expose more of the 90 odd percent who have mild symptoms. If which is what goes on at the start of something like this they're only testing hospital cases, or people with obvious symptoms the fatality percentage looks far worse. Kinda like if you decided to study the rate of broken bones in a population by measuring how many fractures you saw in a casualty department. You'd be convinced people were snapping bones on a daily basis. :)

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭otnomart

darjeeling wrote: »
    There's a Northern ireland one from Feb 26 as well, which also groups in with the big European set of sequences.

So we've five virus genomes from Ireland in total, all imported from Europe, and two or three might be linked - would need patient history to know this.
    All 5 are highlighted here: https://nextstrain.org/ncov?f_division=Limerick,Northern%20Ireland,Dublin&l=radial&m=div.

Thanks again for this!

In the map with I see a link with South America, what is that about ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,670 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Love it, Pascal just told the landlords **** off and help tenants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

dmc17 wrote: »
    Our schools aren't opening on the 30th March

No they won’t. They will remain closed now until September at the earliest.
    But the vast majority of working parents think that the schools will open after Easter at the very latest.
    What is being done here to help these parents?
    Who will mind their children until September while they go to work?
    Johnson has announced just now that the children of frontline workers can continue to go to the school to allow their parents to continue fighting the virus.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

I very much doubt the secondary schools will be back until September.

The primary schools might get back in June.

Agreed - At best there might be some kind of work-around for Leaving Certs , but the rest almost certainly won't be back this school year..

The next "window" to be announced will probably be to say , "No return until after Easter mid-term" as for most people that would only really be an extra week to ten days of kids being home unexpectedly ( excluding the actual mid-term).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭Call me Al

I fear the UK is heading the same way as Italy- possibly worse. Thanks to the idiotic strategy of their Government, up until the recent u-turn, London is likely going to see a steep rise in confirmed cases in the days ahead because of their bungling.
    What good is our strategy really, if travel between Ireland and the UK is not now severly curtailed?
    Johnson was just saying they're closing the schools because the curve is moving a certain way.
    How can they possibly know what way the curve is moving while they're only testing the people in hospital?
    How can that be scientific?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭bekker

joe_99 wrote: »
    13% Muslim ??? What are you on about?
    Apologies, decimal point wrong position, >1.3%, should have double checked, just posted and moved on. No excuse!