Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part VIII - 292 cases ROI (2 deaths) 62 in NI (as of 17th March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,019 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Lets see how we run a Health Service when the tax-receipts dry up. It's costing €20bn a year for a sh;te one at the moment so let's see what we get for €10bn a year for the next decade.

How many lives will that cost?

Presumably the 'fcuk the economy' brigade will have gone to ground by then.

Nobody sane want's to harm the economy, it's just that they value their mothers more than the government's ability to have a huge tax haul. Clearly you are different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,043 ✭✭✭sReq | uTeK

Some positive news....

-China has closed down its last coronavirus hospital. Not enough new cases to support them.

- Doctors in India have been successful in treating Coronavirus. Combination of drugs used: Lopinavir, Retonovir, Oseltamivir along with Chlorphenamine. They are going to suggest same medicine, globally.

- Researchers of the Erasmus Medical Center claim to have found an antibody against coronavirus.

- A 103-year-old Chinese grandmother has made a full recovery from COVID-19 after being treated for 6 days in Wuhan, China.

- Apple reopens all 42 china stores,

- Cleveland Clinic developed a COVID-19 test that gives results in hours, not days.

- Good news from South Korea, where the number of new cases is declining.

- Italy is hit hard, experts say, only because they have the oldest population in Europe.

- Scientists in Israel likely to announce the development of a coronavirus vaccine.

- 3 Maryland coronavirus patients fully recovered; able to return to everyday life.

- A network of Canadian scientists are making excellent progress in Covid-19 research.

- A San Diego biotech company is developing a Covid-19 vaccine in collaboration with Duke University and National University of Singapore.

-So it's not all bad news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,991 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

The mother, she works in Marks and spencer where told this morning before the store opened that they are not allowed to wear gloves and they will be allowed to go off the floor to wash their hands every half hour. No explanation has been given.
    I think that's actually ok. I mean wearing gloves is good if you are somewhere where you can't wash your hands regularly. I have taken to slipping on latex gloves while shopping before binning them after I put the trolley back.

I would prefer if I could just wash my hands afterwards before touching my steering wheel again but that's not practical for customers.

The gloves don't stop you getting the virus if you touch your face anyway. I see limited use for them if a person has hand washing facilities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,247 ✭✭✭joeguevara

Numerous medics are now in ICU in Italy.

I have tried to search for news reports on this but can’t find any.

Caught lodger twice now coming straight in the front door from work without washing his hands in the understairs sink and promplty opening the fridge grabbing handle to grab a can, pllonks himself down on couch and grabs remote control:mad: thats after me telling him I sterilised whole house

Have you tried cellophane wrap with butter and dettol at head/face height ? Will get the point across.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

I'm just sayin...where are our songs?

Get your act together Bono :pac:

Well I'm blaming you for broaching this topic.

https://www.theguardian.com/music/2020/mar/18/bono-coronavirus-song-italy-let-your-love-be-known
    U2 frontman Bono has performed his first new music since 2017 with a song inspired by Italians quarantined during the coronavirus outbreak.

He posted the new song, Let Your Love Be Known, to his Instagram account with the caption: “For the Italians who inspired it… for the Irish… for ANYONE who this St Patrick’s Day is in a tight spot and still singing. For the doctors, nurses, carers on the front line, it’s you we’re singing to.

Some positive news....

-China has closed down its last coronavirus hospital. Not enough new cases to support them.

- Doctors in India have been successful in treating Coronavirus. Combination of drugs used: Lopinavir, Retonovir, Oseltamivir along with Chlorphenamine. They are going to suggest same medicine, globally.

- Researchers of the Erasmus Medical Center claim to have found an antibody against coronavirus.

- A 103-year-old Chinese grandmother has made a full recovery from COVID-19 after being treated for 6 days in Wuhan, China.

- Cleveland Clinic developed a COVID-19 test that gives results in hours, not days.

- Italy is hit hard, experts say, only because they have the oldest population in Europe.

- Scientists in Israel likely to announce the development of a coronavirus vaccine.

- 3 Maryland coronavirus patients fully recovered; able to return to everyday life.

- A network of Canadian scientists are making excellent progress in Covid-19 research.

- A San Diego biotech company is developing a Covid-19 vaccine in collaboration with Duke University and National University of Singapore.

Have you got a few sources handy? Thanks in advance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭dummy_crusher

RugbyLad11 wrote: »
    A virus with such a high death rate wouldn't spread fast

Based on what?

COVID-19 has an estimated R0 of 1.4 - 3.9 (?3.4% mortality?)

Ebola has an R0 of 1.5 - 2.5. (25% - 90% mortality)

Obviously, the larger gap for COVID is because we don't know as much about it, but there is a large overlap here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Anyone else still think this feels not real ? I woke up this morning for the first time in a while not thinking about it, momentarily thought it was all a dream

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

RugbyLad11 wrote: »
    It's actually probably better if they go and wash their hands every 30 mins, because they might be a false sense of safety with the gloves.

They would need to change their gloves literally every min in order to stop them passing from one person to another.

We were talking about this the other day. Had to drive OH to his workplace (he is WFH) to collect something. He insisted on wearing his gloves in to pick it up. then got back in the car with his gloves on :confused: I told him it would make more sense to go in without gloves and use the sanitiser that is specifically in my car for that very reason when he gets back in. What is he going to do with a pair of leather gloves that could now have Covid germs on them - rub some sanitiser on them? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Some positive news....

Sources for these since it has been doing the rounds on social channels since yesterday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Irish_peppa

Am I the only one that has this weird sense Im in some sort of weird dream sequence or alternate universe. I keep looking out the window to get a grasp on things but keep finding myself feeling in a weird state of "is this real":confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

holyhead wrote: »
    Leo possibly should have announced he is not going to take his wages until this passes or at least show some solidarity with those who have been laid off

Ah here.

wakka12 wrote: »
    Anyone else still think this feels not real ? I woke up this morning for the first time in a while not thinking about it, momentarily thought it was all a dream

I just posted the same thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭RandomName2

Nermal wrote: »
    Like I said, driven by emotion. All of us, parents or not, have to die of something.

I'm totally in favor of looking at things without emotion, and just from a pragmatic point of view.

For instance I have felt that the migrant crisis was dealt with mainly from an emotive, and not a rational position.

If the only vulnerable people were infirm individuals in nursing homes, who are only kept alive due to regular intervention from the nursing home management (due to financial motivation, not ethical) you might actually have a point.

That isn't really the case though.

The later and less radical the response to covid-19, the more economic damage is done. Our current economic woes were generated due to the sluggish and lackluster response by Europe to the threat of covid-19. Their motivation was mainly monetary. How's that working out for them?

The insinuation is that those affected by the disease are predominantly economic burdens. The callous nature of this first has to be addressed. In civil society we implicitly accept that people will be well treated from cradle to grave. It is the reason why our society works, why we surrender some civil liberties to the state, not to mention a lot of the money we earn in taxation. People on pensions aren't a net negative if they contributed to the finances of the state that is caring for them! What incentives are there for people to work towards a better society in the future, if it is clear we are willing to throw a large section of society into the dutbin at the first sniff of a crisis?

Covid-19 also affects people of all ages. Sure, older people are more affected, but so are all people with underlying conditions. Most of these people would be very productive, and many are very young. Malaysia has reported its first two deaths, one being a 31 year old, the other a 60 year old. I'm guessing that both people had underlying conditions. Many people do.

Finally if the health service becomes overwhelmed, which, let's be frank, wouldn't take much, we are going to have deaths indirectly related to covid-19, from people who would normally be suffering from conditions easily treatable in a functioning health service, but who now perish for lack of available care.

I think this is something worth saying. This is much more than just being emotional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,043 ✭✭✭sReq | uTeK

Have you got a few sources handy? Thanks in advance.

The majority of this post, all 99% was iterated by Professor Luke O'Neill, immunologist from Trinity. He was on a Pat Kenny NewsTalk this morning.

You can readily download the podcast.

The interview was excellent as well as all the positive news coming out he also gave detailed information on how best to live a healthy lifestyle to build up the immune system.

Everyone should go listen to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭iwillyeah1234

"Good news from South Korea, where the number of new cases is declining."

the South Korean approach is a textbook case on how to deal with outbreaks like this.

Key part : the South Korean police were mobilised to stamp out , and arrest people , spreading fake news and rumours

"We are promptly asking the telecommunications regulator and site operators to delete or block false information that can lead to social confusion"

But with that stick, there was also the carrot - from the Washington Post:

"South Korea was one of the worst-hit countries in the early stages of the coronavirus outbreak. But an aggressive response has made it one of the exemplars in the midst of the pandemic — thanks to its swift implementation of a mass-scale testing regime as well as its consistent, transparent messaging to the public throughout the arc of the crisis."

mass testing
    transparent messaging

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

What do you think is likely to happen when they 'return to normal'?

Source

I sincerely hope this is the case and manufacturing will be able to keep up with demand.

That report suggests an ON/OFF trigger for suppression techniques over a 2 year period. I highly suggest reading it.

While I've followed Niall Ferguson from the start and he clearly is a world renowned expert. He is not infallible. The model the used to advise UK government assumed that 5% of people infected would need critical care. They went with an estimate based on other viral pneumonia instead of using the 10% which was clearly observable in China and Italy.

UK has used this "error / update" to update their approach.

With that said the numbers are incredibly scary. Particularly next autumn. When the 1918 pandemic occurred that's when the largest number of deaths occurred.

Ultimately have the HSE said what the expected infection rate percentage will be if we have success in flattening the curve?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

INMO Trolley Watch figures for March 18th 2020

https://www.inmo.ie/Trolley_Ward_Watch

Only 16 beds short today in Irish hospitals.

Most of them in Kerry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

joeguevara wrote: »
    I have tried to search for news reports on this but can’t find any.

A quick google through up the following:

https://www.birminghammail.co.uk/news/world-news/medic-aged-46-dies-coronavirus-17929745
    A 46-year-old paramedic who worked as an emergency call handler has become one of the youngest victims of Italy's coronavirus outbreak.
    Dad-of-one Diego Bianco, who worked in Bergamo, is one of an estimated 700 emergency workers who have contracted Covid-19 in Italy.

Italian newspapers reported that he didn't smoke, didn't drink and was a healthy man with a seven-year-old son who always used the necessary protective equipment.

Also covered on Sky News a while ago. Italian medics treating their own colleagues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,391 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Brown Thomas and Arnotts closing at 5 until further notice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

Bumping, because we should shine a focus on the positives.

Some positive news....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

I wish people would kindly feck off mentioning ‘lockdown’. Most of them can’t even define what it means when you ask them to. Utter gobschites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

wakka12 wrote: »

I did for the first few days. Woke up blissfully ignorant then had that horrible "reality setting in" moment a few seconds later. Now, it has just become the new normal. We are both lucky enough to be working from home and are well stocked up so no need to leave for the next month anyway. I was never a crowd seeker anyway, to say the least so I don't notice a huge difference! I miss the office banter though.

I think it is as real as it gets, but I also think the damn media are having a total hard on about it and am getting quite sick of the constant updates. Am trying to limit myself to just reading the news once daily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭Squeaksoutloud

And keeping the positives going...see below:

https://twitter.com/RiganoESQ/status/1240000906931974152

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

Brown Thomas and Arnotts closing at 5 until further notice

Smart Decision...but that is going to add another 10,000 to the dole que?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

jonnny68 wrote: »
    Leo Varadakar really needs to take a step back and think about what he is saying on national TV, the calm before the storm is he for fcuking real as if many people aren't already panicking and anxiety through the roof that was the single worst thing he could have possibly said live on TV and i see he's getting serious stick for it too....

And if he watered it down and took a softly softly approach, you would be on here in a few weeks time complaining that he didn't call it as it was and warn people. You are simply one of those type people that are never happy and will always find something to complain about.

I have no love or even like for the man but he made a good speech in difficult circumstances.