CoVid-19 Part VIII - 292 cases ROI (2 deaths) 62 in NI (as of 17th March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭Maestro85

Woodsie1 wrote: »
    Cool cause im under no illusion how bad this **** is.
    Its stuff like "Italy has 7% death rate OMG" that gets me riled!
    Anyway ive to do a daily check and ill be back on tomorrow night to wind all the boardsies up with my giving out of overreactions:D

Happy Paddys day all

All the best and safe driving out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,002 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

Can’t believe HE just posted this :O

Better post this time ugh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,149 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

Cool cause im under no illusion how bad this **** is.
    Its stuff like "Italy has 7% death rate OMG" that gets me riled!
    Anyway ive to do a daily check and ill be back on tomorrow night to wind all the boardsies up with my giving out of overreactions:D

Happy Paddys day all

today its 7.94% do the calculations yourself total cases 31506 total deaths 2503

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,309 ✭✭✭Spon Farmer

joeguevara wrote: »
    Perhaps it is why you felt the need to comment on my personal situation, especially as it looked like I had something to hide.

You posted it on a public discussion board and now are crying that so rove commented on it

And I never said anything about “something to hide” - these are your words.

However if you feel the need to make the thread about you then fire away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,309 ✭✭✭Spon Farmer

Having had a **** now I can say with clear-headedness that you seem like a nice lad who is doing their best in the face of all the sh!t going down. You appear to be copping on to the seriousness of this as time goes on. It's a shame it has to be this way and I can understand your reluctance to accept it at first. The whole thing is f*cking retardedly ruining the world and it's completely invisible. Until people are collapsing in the streets.
    https://twitter.com/seemsyouforgot/status/1237820422281924608?s=20https://twitter.com/seemsyouforgot/status/1237820422281924608?s=20
    https://mobile.twitter.com/King_MY98/status/1237819475602354178?s=20
    So thank you immensely for what you're doing working in logistics. Nobody would think any less of you if you backed away from it for a while. What you're doing is ballsy af, sound shkin.

Testing there must have been very late catching up with their cases. I think that here, tomorrow will be when some of the people infected by Italian tourists last weekend start to manifest themselves in the numbers.

Sorry but we're containing it at this stage. We've gone long past mitigate. They're evacuating students from all student accommodations in Trinity with 48hrs to gtfo the country. They rolled out back slightly but they still have to be gone by tomorrow like, because it's going to be impossible to travel after that.

Welcome to the thread :D I can get behind the criticism of the theatrics but I have to say, OCD means you're doing something compulsively... That is actually an advantage in this situation so that you keep surfaces clear of contamination. It actually sounds like something from an apocalypse film.

Contagion was the number one rental on the Irish iTunes when the first case in Ireland was reported.

I think people were using it as guide if what to do

Better that that The Walking dead I suppose

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

Italy's death rate IS 7% (more actually). Whatever about people making forecasts, what's wrong with stating facts?

The whole thing seems excessive to me. And a bit surreal. And with each new bit of drama it seems like the population of the world is developing OCD.

If it was just people doing it I would say they are loons but it is also governments. They’d hardly be doing “lockdowns” unless it was really serious - they’d be “keep calm and carry on”.

Maybe this virus could be as bad as Spanish Flu and this is how to handle it.

Anyway that address to the nation lost whatever serious impact Varadkar intended but modelling the whole setup and the walk in on what the US president does when making “dramatic” announcements.

I can’t figure out which moment was worse - the “not all superheroes wear capes” bit or when he plagiarised Winston Churchill
    Is it excessive or isn't it? (It isn't).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,061 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Reeling in the years 2020 could be an epic one

It will involve a trolley load of toilet rolls!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,025 ✭✭✭grindle

Raconteuse wrote: »
    Italy's death rate IS 7% (more actually). Whatever about people making forecasts, what's wrong with stating facts?

Some people prefer to ignore facts to avoid depressive thoughts. Strange but true.

Reality's giving a lot of people a smack to the head right now, whether or not they want to hear about something (it IS exhausting, tbf) won't matter once they know somebody who drops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,061 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

There's so good clips of old tv programs, ads, sports,etc on this Youtube channel!

https://www.youtube.com/user/killianm2/videos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭05eaftqbrs9jlh

Contagion was the number one rental on the Irish iTunes when the first case in Ireland was reported.

I think people were using it as guide if what to do

Better that that The Walking dead I suppose

F*ckall (literally none) have experience of a pandemic and movies that try to paint a picture of the situation might help some people actually visualise the reality of it.

I have to admit, I cracked out a version of the game Plague Inc in early January when Covid-19 was first written about. It used to be called Pandemic when I was a teenager. You could never infiltrate Madagascar before they shut down everything, which seems fair, because neither has coronavirus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Gretas Gonna Get Ya!

No its really not ballsy at all:pac:
    Im not running head first into war for fcuks sake lol

The doctors and nurses are fighting a war right now in our hospitals! (That's not me overreacting - that's how many of them are describing it themselves)

You are keeping the supply lines open, so they can continue doing their job... and having been on the road myself, I know it's hard job even in better times!

So fair play to you lad. Thanks for waking up at crazy o'clock and getting important things where they need to be! You're playing your part! :)

grindle wrote: »
    Some people prefer to ignore facts to avoid depressive thoughts. Strange but true.
    Oh I know that's exactly what it is and it's not strange at all but then they shouldn't read discussions like this.

The people making frightening forecasts and aren't epidemiologists or virologists should give it a rest imo but the facts are important to spotlight for those in denial.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 13,340 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Oh... That dog, who tested weak positive for the virus? Has died :(

Guardian blog.

The people making frightening forecasts and aren't epidemiologists or virologists should give it a rest imo but the facts are important to spotlight for those in denial.

I get you, but it's impossible for the world to have huge amounts of forums and not have people talk about it. Case in point: Hiya!

Very sad to say but we're all very likely to know somebody over the next month or two. I know of two infected as it stands, and it'll grow. All we can sensibly do is avoid our old people, damage control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,022 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Speaking of people collapsing in the streets, I had a look at the temple bar cam out of curiosity earlier. I noticed in the clips underneath, there is a person lying on the ground. If you look at the sequence, 2 other people arrive and then the guards too. Maybe it was a fight or something but given the context it's a bit scary

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    Maybe it was a fight or something but given the context it's a bit scary

Isn't it sad that in our capital I have to presume it was a casual beating or an overdose rather than a virus... Hopefully they're okay, whatever the case.

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    Speaking of people collapsing in the streets, I had a look at the temple bar cam out of curiosity earlier. I noticed in the clips underneath, there is a person lying on the ground. If you look at the sequence, 2 other people arrive and then the guards too. Maybe it was a fight or something but given the context it's a bit scary

2 lads then cops come and one takes his jacket off and turns it inside out. a 3rd appears as jacket guy is at the bikes. looks like the first 2 do something to the 3r and then they have a dance around the place. :mad:

Bit of a pity seeing friends today on Facebook getting suckered into MLMs. Same will happen all over I guess with lots not working.

Haven't seen this yet, what are they selling? Handwipes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,350 ✭✭✭joeguevara

Hard to believe that people can openly swallow the misinformation and lies on these but disregard government guidance to save lives.

The two I saw today are colleagues who haven't worked since January. Both selling various types of milk.

Milk? That's an odd one. Alt-milks? Like oat and almond or something? UHT?

Google translate:

👉 Specializing in Goat Fresh Milk, Beef - Goat Yogurt, Beef - Milk Cake
    👉 BEST PRICE GUARANTEED IN THE MARKET
    👉 GENUINE PRODUCT THREE MILK COMPANY FOR
    —————————————
    ✅ Goat yogurt: 75 K / box 12 box 110 G
    ✅ Beef yogurt: 70 K / box 12 box 110 G
    ✅ Sticky yogurt: 80 K / box 12 box 110 G
    ✅ Aloe vera yogurt: 85 K / box 12 box 110 G
    ✅ Lemon yogurt: 90 K / box 12 box 110 G
    ✅ Cheese yogurt: 85 K / box 12 box 110 G
    ✅ Yogurt drink bottle 180 ml: 10 K
    ✅ Fresh Goat Milk 890 ml: 55 K.
    ✅ Fresh milk beef with / no sugar: 70 K / can 2 l; 35 K / bottle 890 ml
    ✅ White Beef / Chocolate Milk Cake 150 g: 25 K / box
    ✅ White Beef / Chocolate Milk Cake 180 g: 35 K / box
    ✅ White beef milk cake / chocolate less sugar: 35 K / box
    ✅ Caramel cream: 70 K / box of 12 cups

Holy crap, wasn't expecting that. Multiple friends doing this? Fúcking hell. Bless your patience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,140 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Closer to 8% at this point.
    The real figure is really higher as the above ignores those currently critical who add to the death toll.
    They aren't really marking cases as recovered too readily, so the deaths as a % of closed cases is misleading (46%)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 Iceman1984

Anyone in grocery retail will know things are nuts at the moment. We have a small independent grocery shop & I’m going against the grain & reducing our opening hours by 4 hours per day. If that doesn’t suit people we are offering free home delivery locally.
    I need to push delivery, I do not want customers in our store unnecessarily.
    I am feeling people have unrealistic expectations of grocery retailers at the moment, we closed Monday for 1 hour because people were not practicing social distancing. Had to physically put a staff member on the door & allow only a few in at a time.
    We put gloves & sanitizer outside our door for people waiting to come in & both were robbed. This pandemic will bring out the best in a lot of people but it will also bring out the worst. Please everyone be kind & understanding when out getting your groceries. Staying at home is not an option for us, people need food. We’d like to get home safe & healthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,350 ✭✭✭joeguevara

Iceman1984 wrote: »
    Anyone in grocery retail will know things are nuts at the moment. We have a small independent grocery shop & I’m going against the grain & reducing our opening hours by 4 hours per day. If that doesn’t suit people we are offering free home delivery locally.
    I am feeling people have unrealistic expectations of grocery retailers at the moment, we closed Monday for 1 hour because people were not practicing social distancing. Had to physically put a staff member on the door & allow only a few in at a time.
    We put gloves & sanitizer outside our door for people waiting to come in & both were robbed. This pandemic will bring out the best in a lot of people but it will also bring out the worst. Please everyone be kind & understanding when out getting your groceries. Staying at home is not an option for us, people need food. We’d like to get home safe & healthy.
    Would preorder via email and then collect work. Simple template excel and message a time for collection.

Iceman1984 wrote: »

Have heard the stories of people shouting etc at staff because they can't bulk buy. And then you have the ones that just wont cover their mouths or have any consideration for others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 Iceman1984

joeguevara wrote: »
    Would preorder via email and then collect work. Simple template excel and message a time for collection.

Our website has a very simple ordering platform, payment taken online.
    Also taking orders via social media & telephone.